Indian Economy: News and Discussion

buddy u r talking about impossible task....when indian critisize india day nd night, how do u think indian will not criticize other countries?? u will find all types of minded people in countries. u can find some people in pakistan nd china, who like india. same u can find "many" indians, who lv pakistan nd china😝. so u cant control this. even if u donate ur kidney to a country. u will find liker nd disliker of u from that country. personal level we should make good relationship with other countries people, but at national level (as a representative of country) we should open minded to criticize nd praise any nation. always good offense is better than defense.
There's a difference between individual users and an overall pattern. The overall picture for Indian netizens is that we're cursing out countries left and right while getting insulted. There are very few productive conversations or propagation of positive aspects of our country from our netizens.

Here it's better to take the initiative and put forward positive things about India and lure engagement from foreigner into these discussions, which will be a learning experience for them. We can talk about the trade between India and ancient Rome with Italian netizens. We can talk about the complex stonework of ancient Indian temples when foreign netizens are talking about ancient architecture. We can talk about our startup ecosystem to tech enthusiasts. We can talk about our nature and wildlife to those who don't know about them. There are a million possibilities if we're proactive and creative in getting engagement and putting forward the aspects of India that we want to be seen. Few YouTubers like Praveen Mohan and Odd Compass have done an excellent job there, but it's not yet a pattern on Twitter or Reddit.

Also we should be actively learning from positive examples. For example there should be engagement with Israeli netizens about their tech ecosystem and military experience, or with Japanese netizens about their culture and social etiquettes. Even when we're positive, it's the boring old "We Indians love Israel" or "Indians supports our Russian brothers". Unproductive platitudes, ignoring the massive opportunity the internet gives us to actually speak to and learn from these people.

Now that we are there in the internet in massive numbers, it's better to concentrate our energies on productive and positive conversations with those millions of users who have nothing against India. This will automatically make millions if not billions of foreign netizens positive towards Indians and India, and who'll bat for us whenever there are anti Indian trolls. Right now Indian netizens are mostly stuck being baited by racists and trolling them back. That should be a side activity, not our main online activity with the rest of the world.

BTW, those idiots who simp for pakistan online are even worse. The one country that they should be cursing at, they do not.

vin bharat mahan

Kumaoni, Uttarakhand
There's a difference between individual users and an overall pattern. The overall picture for Indian netizens is that we're cursing out countries left and right and while getting insulted. There are very few productive conversations or propagation of positive aspects of our country from our netizens.

Here it's better to take the initiative and put forward positive things about India and lure engagement from foreigner into these discussions, which will be a learning experience for them. We can talk about the trade between India and ancient Rome with Italian netizens. We can talk about the complex stonework of ancient Indian temples when foreigner netizens are talking about ancient architecture. We can talk about our startup ecosystem to tech enthusiasts. We can talk about our nature and wildlife to those who don't know about them. There are a million possibilities if we're proactive and creative in getting engagement and putting forward the aspects of India that we want to be seen. Few YouTubers like Praveen Mohan and Odd Compass have done an excellent job there, but it's not yet a pattern on Twitter or Reddit.

Also we should be actively learning from positive examples. For example there should be engagement with Israeli netizens about their tech ecosystem and military experience, or with Japanese netizens about their culture and social etiquettes. Even when we're positive, it's the boring old "We Indians love Israel" or "Indian supports our Russian brothers". Unproductive platitudes, ignoring the massive opportunity the internet gives us to actually speak to and learn from these people.

Now that we are there in the internet in massive numbers, it's better to concentrate our energies on productive and positive conversations with those millions of users who have nothing against India. This will automatically make millions if not billions of foreign netizens positive towards Indians and India, and who'll bat for us whenever there are anti Indian trolls. Right now Indian netizens are mostly stuck being baited by racists and trolling them back. That should be a side activity, not our main online activity with the rest of the world.

BTW, those idiots who simp for pakistan online are even worse. The one country that they should be cursing at, they do not.
i dont think u believe in kaliyug nd its nature, but i believe in it 100%...ur goodness take as weakness, ur badness take as strongness (most time). that kind of world we r living. but i appreciate ur positiveness. we need both type of people. who kicks hard nd who heal others.

Disagree .. inflation targetting is the priority . Pumping up nominal growth with inflation is for meme economies like turkey .
I'm talking about WPI deflation, having it negative has negative consequences as well, apart from slow GDP growth.

Yes, eradicating open defecation was a significant achievement, and perhaps some areas like yours did improve significantly in cleanliness which is good, but I am not finding a whole lot of difference in the average Indian street 10 years ago vs today. So there's a LOT of work to be done there.

The more difficult problem are the ubiquitous haphazard buildings that are being built everywhere with zero regard for beauty or architectural tradition. Mile after mile of peeling paint cement houses with ugly fronts and roofs, are 90% of India's urban landscape till now. All encompassed by posters and shoddy storefronts with encroached sidewalks.
You are not finding any improvement anywhere means nothing.

There has been a large scale impact of the Swach Bharat abhiyan. People became more aware and barring few fringe states and areas, cleanliness improved by large margin.

Sanad. Since TATA is there and some level of supply system can be easily established there.

Also does GOI allowing MG to expand. They are pretty much struggling with Capex due to SAIC shadow ban by us.
Some Indian player or business should buyup the majority equity in MG.

I'm talking about WPI deflation, having it negative has negative consequences as well, apart from slow GDP growth.
even if we take your understanding as is..

what is govt supposed to do when WPI deflator is negative, which in turn becomes a positive value because it is a deflator?

WPI inflation becomes negative when recovery from inflationary shocks happen, and when prices come back to normal.

Ya'll Nibbiars The recent DY. CM Visit to Japan may yield results in this.

1 . Versova Virar Sealink. 63,000 crore + from the JICA.

2 . Sumitomo Investment of 30,000 crore ruppes in India majority in Mumbai.

3 . NTT additional investment in the Data centre.

4 . Sony's Investment in Maharashtra probably inbthe from of the R&D Centre.

5 . The JICA Investment Support for the Samruddhi HSR.

You are not finding any improvement anywhere means nothing.

There has been a large scale impact of the Swach Bharat abhiyan. People became more aware and barring few fringe states and areas, cleanliness improved by large margin.
Read the second paragraph. Look at the average street in India and compare it to other middle income countries. The problem is far beyond literal garbage piles. If you're satisfied with the dismal appearance of our cities, then it proves the point of my initial post.

Below is what 90% of the streets in India look like, outside the high income apartment societies or villages. According to Swachch Bharat Abhiyan the below is a success because there are no garbage piles or literal shit.

Screenshot (125).png

Screenshot (126).png

Azaad

Read the second paragraph. Look at the average street in India and compare it to other middle income countries. The problem is far beyond literal garbage piles. If you're satisfied with the dismal appearance of our cities, then it proves the point of my initial post.

Below is what 90% of the streets in India look like, outside the high income apartment societies or villages. According to Swachch Bharat Abhiyan the below is a success because there are no garbage piles or literal shit.

View attachment 223585

View attachment 223586
Try to find political solutions to the problem. Empower the Mayor instead of the Municipal Commissioner or the BDO or the DC. Reduce the term of the house to 2.5 yrs instead of 5 .

That's true devolution of powers instead of this woke farce of women's reservation & if the latter was deemed essential it should have been restricted to panchayats , ZPs , Municipal Townships & Corporations & no further .

That was what Mani Shankar Aiyar , the loud mouth was aiming for before the babudom struck back & severely diluted the Panchayati Raj Act . 3 decades on nobody's even talking about it . It suits the local & central leadership of political parties too for there's one less contestant to the purse strings of the exchequer.

Further it's essential along with the census & delimitation we confer more autonomy to all cities above 5 lakhs to self govern depending less on the state government for local funds , infrastructure , development programs health , sanitation , education & governance.

blackleaf

Kese kese gadhe bethe hain
Don't know when will this L1 system die
Why are we still buying trains from CRRC? Even if the majority of the train sets are locally "assembled" , most of the components will probably be shipped from China.
Chinese companies should be banned from these competitions.

At least with other foreign companies like Alstom, the trains will be partially designed in India and made in their Indian factory where the components can be gradually indeginized.

Arjun Mk1A

Why are we still buying trains from CRRC? Even if the majority of the train sets are locally "assembled" , most of the components will probably be shipped from China.

At least with other foreign companies like Alstom, the trains will be partially designed in India and made in their Indian factory where the components can be gradually indeginized.

May be pre 2019 orders. Both Kolkatta and Bengaluru have CRRC trainsets.

No new orders to them anymore.

Reactions: SKC

Concard

That's not completely true. BMRCL tender states anyone who wins the tender has to procure 75% of the components locally and has to set up a factory within the country. CRRC after winning the tender tried playing the game that they can't set up a factory but instead ship all the metro cars from China. But BMRCL didn't agree and threatened to cancel their tender and confiscate their bank guarantee which they deposited.

But I agree on your point that we should not allow Chinese companies to take part in our tender.

Anupu

I am not sure in this case, but if any project is financed by NDB (BRICS Bank) companies from all member countries must get a fair chance to bid for the contracts in the project.

blackleaf

That's not completely true. BMRCL tender states anyone who wins the tender has to procure 75% of the components locally and has to set up a factory within the country. CRRC after winning the tender tried playing the game that they can't set up a factory but instead ship all the metro cars from China. But BMRCL didn't agree and threatened to cancel their tender and confiscate their bank guarantee which they deposited.

But I agree on your point that we should not allow Chinese companies to take part in our tender.
I heard about that. Any news on whether CRRC is going to follow the terms of the tender to setup the factory in India?

The Chinese are very loathe to give up any manufacturing and will always try their hardest to keep as much as possible in China. Even the car factories that companies like BYD or MG are proposing are basically knockdown assembly plants to avoid tariffs while most of the components will be Chinese.

At least with European companies like Alston, they are much more willing to move manufacturing to India because of lower labour cost and less focus on manufacturing back home. Even the South Koreans and Japanese much more willing to move manufacturing to India as they no longer rely on lower end manufacturing back home. The Chinese still try to keep as much manufacturing in China for any deal.