Indian Economy: News and Discussion

Ya'll Nibbiars The Web Werks – Iron Mountain JV to invest 1,400 crore rupees to set up its data centre at Rabale in Navi Mumbai, Maharashtra. This will be company's third data centre in the MMR and seventh in the country.

download (20) (7).jpeg
images - 2023-06-09T103330.626.jpeg

@SKC What are the options for factory/workshop expansion?
Supoose I requested a land parcel of 1.5 acres now I want to further increase my worshop/factory to 3 acres. Do they consider this during allotment of land?
Who are you requesting the plot from??
Search for the empty plot and buy it. In an Industrial area where there are multiple fixed size plots, who would you expand ?? You have to buy only na the other plots!

on the funding bit, by now it is clear that banking system can't handle NPAs, Banking system is not interested in funding NPAs since the R&D success rate is not 100%, VCs are not interested in funding R&D in India they'd rather do it in the west, Indian govt are already doing their bit in selected areas.

so perhaps some gyani people will have to come up a India specific funding model.

or perhaps it is simply the case that 30 years is too shorter a time for thinking of these sort of things.

just looks at what happened to ONDC, donno how many people noticed but there was a targeted campaign against ONDC last month using price comparisons with incumbent players as the theme. defending the product against targeted campaigns also needs funds.
"Only 18% startups fail over 10 years," says Prof. Ashok Jhunjhunwala, President, IITM Research Park & IITM Incubation Cell

1686299048184.png

This is pretty good. I believe the start up failure rate in the US is about 50% in 5 years.
U.S startup ecosystem is two three decades old, In India it is still in hand holding mission mode phase, and these numbers are from one academic institute.
as time passes whether these averages for all India will hold up is something to be seen.

Crazywithmath

This data is very limited. I think from IIT incubators only.
Across all sectors the failure records would over 75%.
IIT M research park is an excellent hard tech incubator; they do not brag about those 10 min grocery delivery start-ups pegged at artificially inflated valuations. Hope more IITs follow.

That is not the point.
We are talking about how many startups remain functional after certain duration of time.
Not discussing whether IIT has best incubator or not.

If IIT startups are managing 82% success rate after 5 years, then it shows the quality of incubator there automatically.
Was saying that genuine hard-tech start-ups with viable business models would always thrive unlike those service focussed overvalued edtech and grocery delivery start-ups where the market is already crowded enough and hence the higher success rate @ IITM and yes, IITM does not represent the pan India picture.

IIT M research park is an excellent hard tech incubator; they do not brag about those 10 min grocery delivery start-ups pegged at artificially inflated valuations. Hope more IITs follow.
That is not the point.
We are talking about how many startups remain functional after certain duration of time.
Not discussing whether IIT has best incubator or not.

If IIT startups are managing 82% success rate after 5 years, then it shows the quality of incubator there automatically.

Crazywithmath

Coz take an example in PLI
It's basically being controlled by babuz from releasing of incentives till scrutinization
It's a complete bureaucratic process
From demo to gst everywhere he has bypassed many cabinet procedures and directly engage with secretaries
Even majority of his financial policies are way dependent on bureaucrats for implementation
I am not sure what to read into it. While I have no intention to defend babus it is also a fact that Foxconn, Wistron and Dixon (also Pegatron?) have received PLI payments and faced no issue. Samsung is slated to receive the disbursement for the 2nd year (going by the article) although there seems to be issues concerning their claimed benefits in the first year. IIRC Samsung also faced some tax scrutiny last year (along with cheeni assemblers like Xiaomi, BBK etc) and also in the past;

Concard

There is one thing which makes Bangladesh fully dependent on other countries particularly India. They have no land for vast deployment of Solar. Most of the land is used for agriculture and remaining is always under the threat of flooding in Monsoon. This limits their options in diversifying energy sources. They have a nuclear power plant coming up which is built by Russia. We all know Nuclear power plants are expensive as hell since you need to put up capital upfront. Wiki says their Nuclear power plant costs close to $13 billion and they have 2,500 Russian specialists working on it. It's generating capacity is 2,400 MWe.

They have no vast deposits of Coal either. Now no country including China will fund coal power plants in other countries. Bangladesh cannot build it even if they want to as they will be under pressure from Western block. You don't want to anger your biggest customers where 90% of your exports goes to. This leaves them with only natural gas as the option which is as of now the most expensive fuel out there used in electricity generation. In future they will be importing more electricity from India to meet demand. We will have enormous leverage over these scumbags.

Ya'll Nibbiars who says we are poor. Amir log bhare pade hai desh mein.

jai jaganath

Many didn't get the joke I feel
He was indicating 'hopeless' to the statement where person says whether India can build a similar system or model in 10 million which is bit bogus
Again that's what I read yesterday and understood if someone can clarify then better

Many didn't get the joke I feel
He was indicating 'hopeless' to the statement where person says whether India can build a similar system or model in 10 million which is bit bogus
Again that's what I read yesterday and understood if someone can clarify then better
You are mirror imaging your opinions just like you usually do.
the Indian moneybags who are quoted in the news article, have understood what he meant and what they must do.