So what we should do now? Government should recall foreign missions from US and Europe in protest ??![]()
Airbus Takes Off in China – DW – 10/26/2006
Troubled airplane manufacturer Airbus got some good news finally. On Thursday, the company won a Chinese order of 150 A320 aircraft and agreed to set up a plant in China, the world's most lucrative aviation market.www.dw.com
No point arguing with them.Inko yearly >$1B ka business bhi samajh nahi aa raha haiSo what we should do now? Government should recall foreign missions from US and Europe in protest ??
TATA is private company, government has no role in negotiations. It up to TATA what is best for them.
People have to be gently reminded of where we started our IT services exports.No point arguing with them.Inko yearly >$1B ka business bhi samajh nahi aa raha hai
Saying that we should move up the ladder. Like Without moving up $1B to majak mai ho jata hai business!
Raat ko nashe karte baithe hain dono!
Japanese and Chinese companies have been in Vietnam from atleast a decade, and we've just got started. Building trust, moving businesses, realigning supply chains, finding and upskilling local suppliers etc takes time.Man the most disappointing thing about our economic growth is lagging merchandise exports. Vietnam, a country with fraction of population and fraction of area, had much faster export growth than us. It nearly now exports as much as we do.
I call it 4 mistakes of India:
Though we still have chance, it is sad to see Vietnam and Indonesia taking away lot of manufacturing out of China. The most important problem right now I think is incompetencies of most of state govt, which are unable to create conducive policies to attract investment and resolve local infrastructure issues. We have so much to offer: large market size, large and cheap labour force, skilled engineering workforce, etc but we are still unable to fully capitalise on it.
- Not controlling population explosion in 1970-1990s.
- Not focusing on skilling our labour force in 1990s just after liberalisation.
- Not focusing on labour intensive low skilled manufacturing in 1990s and 2000s, which we are trying to attract right now. If we had focused on it then, we would have been climbing value chain ladder. Services growth is good, but without labour intensive manufacturing, it is impossible to bring out surplus labour from agriculture. Medium and high end services require at least graduation, whereas low skilled manufacturing mostly requires on-site training.
- Not focusing on infrastructure and logistics in 2000s when our economy was booming. Without removing such bottlenecks, it was impossible to maintain the boom we had in late 2000s, though our growth sputtered for different reasons. That growth was in any case going to plateau in sometime. The infamous policy paralysis in early 2010s along with lack of focus on infrastructure took out all steam from our growth.
Vietnam's exports are propelled by only 2 sectors. Electronics & Textile. India's exports are much more diversified than that of Vietnam's.Man the most disappointing thing about our economic growth is lagging merchandise exports. Vietnam, a country with fraction of population and fraction of area, had much faster export growth than us. It nearly now exports as much as we do.
Though we still have chance, it is sad to see Vietnam and Indonesia taking away lot of manufacturing out of China. The most important problem right now I think is incompetencies of most of state govt, which are unable to create conducive policies to attract investment and resolve local infrastructure issues. We have so much to offer: large market size, large and cheap labour force, skilled engineering workforce, etc but we are still unable to fully capitalise on it.
- Not focusing on labour intensive low skilled manufacturing in 1990s and 2000s, which we are trying to attract right now. If we had focused on it then, we would have been climbing value chain ladder. Services growth is good, but without labour intensive manufacturing, it is impossible to bring out surplus labour from agriculture. Medium and high end services require at least graduation, whereas low skilled manufacturing mostly requires on-site training.
- Not focusing on infrastructure and logistics in 2000s when our economy was booming. Without removing such bottlenecks, it was impossible to maintain the boom we had in late 2000s, though our growth sputtered for different reasons. That growth was in any case going to plateau in sometime. The infamous policy paralysis in early 2010s along with lack of focus on infrastructure took out all steam from our growth.
I dont think either Boeing or Airbus will ever do final assembly of civilian aircraft in India. These activities are huge job generators and their home governments and workers unions will put a lot of pressure on them to keep these jobs back home. At most they will source some parts from India that's all.Mate I am impatient, I would like to see at least narrow body Civilian jet Aircraft assembly lien in India in next 10 years. For that we need to climb value chain in supply of components.
Govt has roles in such huge dealing when such huge amount goes out without any generationSo what we should do now? Government should recall foreign missions from US and Europe in protest ??
TATA is private company, government has no role in negotiations. It up to TATA what is best for them.
Modi was invited as macron and Budan was invited. That's it.Govt has roles in such huge dealing when such huge amount goes out without any generation
Then what was mudiji in meeting doing when deal was being signed
It's incompetence sir they weren't able to role out huge incentives for them to avoid so they let it go
Now minister comes into media and says they should assemble them here but giving them no incentives
It's just talk sir
In hindsight these aspects probably looks like mistakes, but while it was happening it was par for the course, there was an element of cause and effect taking place.Man the most disappointing thing about our economic growth is lagging merchandise exports. Vietnam, a country with fraction of population and fraction of area, had much faster export growth than us. It nearly now exports as much as we do.
Lol. The only reason Airbus Tianjin exists is because of CCP pressure.When did Chinese pressurised Boeing and Airbus ??
Sir there are waysModi was invited as macron and Budan was invited. That's it.
We are no longer live in Licence Raj. Government could facilitate the deal but can't negotiate or put pressure.
You want aircraft assembly but may be TATA don't want it? May be TATA have different priorities.
No should start preparing for next protest script.. arrey Indian companies ko order nahin mila dalal tata indigo goi waale.So what we should do now? Government should recall foreign missions from US and Europe in protest ??
Mate all such are talks. All I am asking is we should at least derive same benefits that China drove through such deals. We should have maximum value for big sum of money we are expending.I dont think either Boeing or Airbus will ever do final assembly of civilian aircraft in India. These activities are huge job generators and their home governments and workers unions will put a lot of pressure on them to keep these jobs back home. At most they will source some parts from India that's all.
I remember there were some talks going on with Embraer manufacturing small /medium jets in India. Let's see how that goes.I personally feel that might be our only real hope. Some kind of a joint venture with an Indian company would be good.
![]()
India Eyeing Partnership With Embraer, Sukhoi To Make Small Jets Locally: Report
The government will keep 51 per cent equity with an Indian firm, while asking the foreign partner to do technology transfernews.abplive.com
Yaar IT ka haal dekh ke hi bola. IT outsourcing business grew no doubt but how much did they climbed value chain? That is to say how many software product companies do you see ? Barring payment gateways, Zoho and ecommerce sites. We yet to have even our own designed telecom standards. Its only when China came up with 5G patents. Govt was forced to ramp up research in 6G. Again which Govt push.People have to be gently reminded of where we started our IT services exports.
At zero. Not at 100 billion p.a.
Vietnam is a factory proxy of China to circumvent Trump era sanctions & trade/tariff barriers. Its export growth is not organic like Taiwan, South Korea or Thailand.
Every single dollar in exports reduces our dependence on foreign remittances. That's a definite plus.
Yes, things should've moved at a more rapid pace but that's how we roll and its not like the West voluntarily rolled out the red carpet for India. We have repeatedly faced barriers, more so in Europe.
What’s the difference between account deficit and trade deficit?Good news
If it comes true, I predict India's GDP to be almost $4 trillion ($3.9 in worst case) in next fiscal year which starts from tomorrow.
If we become trade surplus in next few years then India's GDP growth will explode.
Trade deficit is the difference between overall imports and overall exports.What’s the difference between account deficit and trade deficit?
Current account deficit = (total exports + total incoming investments + remittance) - (total imports + total outgoing investments + outgoing remittance)What’s the difference between account deficit and trade deficit?