Indian Economy: News and Discussion

Cheepek

there seems to be some deep angst here, still not convinced about utility of aadhar, even in 2023?
Angst over? None here.

Am all for extending it to property in order to weed out benami property and killing the real estate bank-broker-neta cartel.

Linking aadhaar to property could also cut land grabs and result in early dispute settlement.

As there is a lot of overlap between center and state, there is bound to be opposition from vested interests... but if it can be linked with govt. welfare programs than why not to properties?

Start with commercial properties, would be easier to run as a pilot.

even today it's not free, GoI is making the payment on behalf of the users.
someone has to pay the bills for running the backend system.

Per the above article, over Rs. 5000 crores was spent on printing and distributing cash. Not sure about the latest figures.

Some babu in the finmin probably knows adding a tiny transaction fee to UPI transactions will result in another lottery for the government like cess on petrol & diesel. It will be one money tap that will never run dry.

Per the above article, over Rs. 5000 crores was spent on printing and distributing cash. Not sure about the latest figures.

Some babu in the finmin probably knows adding a tiny transaction fee to UPI transactions will result in another lottery for the government like cess on petrol & diesel. It will be one money tap that will never run dry.
Well then babu should implement it, we need a financially strong and powerful government don't we?

is it not happening in other states?
just a few weeks back i gave biometric ID at sub-registrar office in some property related matter.
Is the biometric data centrally accessible by the IT department?

Someone sitting in a central govt office can find out the last 30 transactions through my aadhaar linked bank accounts.

Can someone sitting in a govt office find out how many properties I own based on my aadhaar id or pan card?

fooLIam

Well UPI system at some point will have to earn for itself so that cost of running can be paid.
Can’t go like this forever. Also Indians at its core are socialist as fuck. I remember &lurkerbaba once shared link of survey ,Most Indian took that survey came out as socialist.

Well UPI system at some point will have to earn for itself so that cost of running can be paid.
Can’t go like this forever. Also Indians at its core are socialist as fuck. I remember &lurkerbaba once shared link of survey ,Most Indian took that survey came out as socialist.
Just like Air India and so many other govt psu's did(earn for itself) over the decades and continue to do so?

Cheepek

Ayushman 2.0 in works for 400 million mid-income citizens

Well then babu should implement it, we need a financially strong and powerful government don't we?
Ah yes, why not?

After all, they saved bharatwasis from the clutches of evil western capitalists who owned the system and also the data of Indians all the while making 'astronomical' sums in merchant fees.

Now please pay a small fee for our UPI services. Trust us, it won't hurt much.

Someone sitting in a central govt office can find out the last 30 transactions through my aadhaar linked bank accounts.

Can someone sitting in a govt office find out how many properties I own based on my aadhaar id or pan card?
assuming so, there must be some legal procedure for IT department to follow in states where, land records are digitised. even without digitisation, I.T department & E.D always had access to land records.

from your posts, not really able to gather whether you understand the issue or not, assuming we are still continuing on the post by falconslayers.
if your core point is socialism zindabad, then our discussion ends here.

from your posts, not really able to gather whether you understand the issue or not, assuming we are still continuing on the post by falconslayers.
if your core point is socialism zindabad, then our discussion ends here.
Where did I even remotely hint at socialism?

Angst over? None here.

Am all for extending it to property in order to weed out benami property and killing the real estate bank-broker-neta cartel.

Linking aadhaar to property could also cut land grabs and result in early dispute settlement.

As there is a lot of overlap between center and state, there is bound to be opposition from vested interests... but if it can be linked with govt. welfare programs than why not to properties?

Start with commercial properties, would be easier to run as a pilot.
In theory everyone wants to kill the real estate bank-broker-neta cartel!

But would you agree to sell your property at the official local Authority rates rather than at the black-market circle rates??

Please sell your property at the authority circle rates first and then give us Gyan on doing all these things.

Do you know for sure that they can't??

In theory everyone wants to kill the real estate bank-broker-neta cartel!

But would you agree to sell your property at the official local Authority rates rather than at the black-market circle rates??

Please sell your property at the authority circle rates first and then give us Gyan on doing all these things.
Who is the Govt to decide on circle rates?

Here again, the Govt. wakes up one fine morning and decides to tax real estate transactions to guarantee a steady cash flow.

Will you pay circle rate to a seller even if he is desperate and is willing to sell for less?
No.
You still pay the stamp duty/registration fees at circle rate if the transaction value on paper is LESS than the circle rate.

Hey I am in desperate need of money. Am willing to sell my property at 3000 per sqft. The Govt. rate is 3700, the current market rate is less than the govt rate and I've been trying to get rid of this property for over a year.

Will you pay him 3700 out of gregariousness or pay him 3000, the rate he is demanding?