Indian Economy: News and Discussion

notaname

Sundar Pichai, Mark Zuckerberg believe Big Tech has too many employees who are chilling instead of working

sauntheninja

A different era.
Govt is today has already ensured that lots of smartphone components are already being built in India that Indian vendors can take advantage of. Besides Indian companies are different beasts today.

Look at india motorcycle manufacturers not only they protected indian market from chinese onslaught but also leveraged base in India to drive out chinese motorcycles from Africa.

Mobile manufacturers can do the same .

One more thing . This move might encourage chinese brands indian high rankers to establish completely independent entity to make in India.
Curious what components are made in India I know samsung opened a display manufacturing facility in Noida a couple a years ago but other than that i can't think of anything?

No a single component is "manufactured" in India. I think they mean assembly of electronic components on PCB.

Samsung do manufacturer OLED Displays in Noida. Wow. I am pleasantly surprised 🙀.

sauntheninja

No a single component is "manufactured" in India. I think they mean assembly of electronic components on PCB.

Samsung do manufacturer OLED Displays in Noida. Wow. I am pleasantly surprised 🙀.
Wonder if this move will encourage indian companies to invest in r&d and actually start making these components here or will they take the easier root of importing components forever

Shuturmurg

Some of major expansion works going on in Indian railways :

1. Double/ tripling/ quadrupling of thousands of kms of line :

2. Full electrification.

3. Doubling overhead wire electricity capacity in Delhi-Mumbai, Delhi-Howrah, Mumbai-Chennai and Kolkata-Chennai routes to support vande bharat.

tribendra bisoi..

Tata Group plans to invest over Rs 11,000 crore in setting up a mobile phone and component manufacturing plant in Tamil Nadu . wants to cater to Apple's sourcing needs and other global OEMs' requirements .

angryIndian

It seems you haven't properly studied history books. When Gandhi talked about Swadeshi movement he meant complete deindustrialization. He hated all industries and machines with a passion. He wanted to bring humanity back to stone ages.

Before 1991 India was deindustrialized. It was almost impossible for anyone to set up industry because of socialist planned economy nonsense that came from Nehru Gandhi duo's failed economic idealisms. Even Industries left behind by British where nationalised and almost destroyed.

Today a lot more products are made in India compared to those times. Even foreign companies are now manufacturing in India and buying components from small Indian companies.

Sorry to burst your nostalgic bubble but there was never a time in Independent India's history when India was some kind of manufacturing powerhouse before 1991.

The Atmanirbhar Bharat Modi ji started is the first ever holistic and realistic approch towards slowly reducing reliance on foreign goods.

BTW first mobile phone bought by you was Indian??? or are you just throwing that for sake of argument.
I am not contesting whether India is more industrialized now vs in the past. It's common knowledge that the level of Industrial infrastructure now is far greater than at any point in history.

ALL I am saying is that the concept of Athmanbhar Bharat is not something new.It has been there for ages in one form or the other. All the PSUs that you see today are a product of that self-reliance drive.
So if someone says that all these are recent ideas, I would seriously disagree.

Yes I agree all the previous governments screwed up even after liberalization, Especially the UPA government that ratified the FTA with ASEAN countries stalled everything in the name of environmental clearance and then brought in that stupid Retrospective Tax laws.

Having said that the pace of industrialization even to this date is not sufficient enough.
The share of manufacturing as a % of GDP has not increased even by 1% nor has there been any job creation. Rather we are seeing a decline in labour participation. Almost all targets that were set in 2014 for 2022 have not been achieved.

Problems in manufacturing in India is immense.You mentioned about the power supply, but it's still unreliable to this day. Secondly, due to many factors, many of the industrial sectors are running on low-profit margins because of which neither they are able to hire people nor pay them decent wages.

Industrialization is not something that we can brush aside by saying "trying our level best". The very survivability of a country depends on it or else it is a straight path to socio-economic collapse.
At the stage where India is there is no scope for "slow and steady into future". It should be a quantum jump and on a war footing.

I am not contesting whether India is more industrialized now vs in the past. It's common knowledge that the level of Industrial infrastructure now is far greater than at any point in history.

ALL I am saying is that the concept of Athmanbhar Bharat is not something new.It has been there for ages in one form or the other. All the PSUs that you see today are a product of that self-reliance drive.
So if someone says that all these are recent ideas, I would seriously disagree.

Yes I agree all the previous governments screwed up even after liberalization, Especially the UPA government that ratified the FTA with ASEAN countries stalled everything in the name of environmental clearance and then brought in that stupid Retrospective Tax laws.

Having said that the pace of industrialization even to this date is not sufficient enough.
The share of manufacturing as a % of GDP has not increased even by 1% nor has there been any job creation. Rather we are seeing a decline in labour participation. Almost all targets that were set in 2014 for 2022 have not been achieved.

Problems in manufacturing in India is immense.You mentioned about the power supply, but it's still unreliable to this day. Secondly, due to many factors, many of the industrial sectors are running on low-profit margins because of which neither they are able to hire people nor pay them decent wages.

Industrialization is not something that we can brush aside by saying "trying our level best". The very survivability of a country depends on it or else it is a straight path to socio-economic collapse.
At the stage where India is there is no scope for "slow and steady into future". It should be a quantum jump and on a war footing.
Ya'll Nibbiars The rapid phases Industrialization happen after the 1990s then the Industrialization growth rate was at double digits. Till the Asian financial crisis and Pokhrans.

Contrary to popular belief Mudiji does not give favourite status to Gujarat or U.P unless CM intervenes in the matter personally. I have seen proposals of Gujarat being turned down by Centre for lack of merit or being against the rules. In a recent policy decision the centre returned the proposal of additional funding saying all states are equal and that Gujarat should arrange its own funds
:hehe:
Ya'll Nibbiars of the Gujarat was receiving favouritesem ot would not in the 5 spot in the FIIz and UP would be in the top fives.

karn

Ya'll Nibbiars of the Gujarat was receiving favouritesem ot would not in the 5 spot in the FIIz and UP would be in the top fives.
Can you qualify that assertion ?
Parks are alloted based on the state govts acquisition of land and provision of link infra electricity water etc . Pretty sure UP(post Yogi) and gujrat govts have been better on these points.

U.P is different case. For U.P I said CM intervention. Yogi ji is handling the state exceptionally and is quick to ring PMO whenever he requires extra support. PM office has special attention towards U.P and if Mahant ji dials Mudi there is no scope of saying No
:troll:

proud_indian

Can you qualify that assertion ?
Parks are alloted based on the state govts acquisition of land and provision of link infra electricity water etc . Pretty sure UP(post Yogi) and gujrat govts have been better on these points.
Ya'll Nibbiars The recent FDIs data. And correction The sixth Positions.

Ya'll Nibbiars The Mumbai Nagpur expressway, And for the 1st time in the world 16 of the SLIPFORM PAVER machines15m width were operational all at once. The Rest of 240 construction vehicles like excavators,compactors under Writgen were manufactured in the Pune.

FZsGeoTaMAAp_xf.jpeg
FZsGgFvaQAALCey.jpeg
FZsGhPSaIAAANBx.jpeg
FZsGijZacAMEnWn.jpeg

OFBkaRakhwala

Ya'll Nibbiars The 120mm Rain in Seoul in 12 hours. The Developed cities in the world are not equipped with flooding like Mumbai. And 250 MM rain in a few hours is a very common sight in Mumbai. Surprisingly, Mumbai haven't seen such heavy rain this year. The Mumbai takes that with ease for 2 days every month in Monsoon, 120mm in 12 hrs is drizzle for Mumbai.
When we look at first world cities drowning at 100 mm, we are lot better wirh our rain management. Mumbai should not be judged by Hindmata, Kings Circle and Milan Subway. And this year despite heavy rain Hindmata area did not see flooding the infra is improving finally.

View attachment 167008View attachment 167009View attachment 167010View attachment 167011
Kek Seoul is also like Mumbai drowning every few years, they are fked with the Climate Change