Indian Economy: News and Discussion

Dark Sorrow

Have you researched the cost escalation due to delay in mumbai metro and bullet train ?? Add loss of reputation to that as well , since project is funded by japan with easy interest . These are thriving urban areas of india . No need of research .
This was the same reasoning used by rajapaksas during Hambanthota port or airport.
This is the same reasoning used by Pakistani establishment to justify CPEC. We have seen how those projects ended.
Japanese are not funding it. Japanese are giving loan and will charge interest. The interest might initially appear small but the amount is huge.

Government had a great incentive to publish research of RoI and how delay is affecting it but still no research on RoI.

Citation Needed - I read somewhere that as term of loan Japanese companies and technologies have to be preferred hence Indian companies will be working with Japanese companies.

tribendra bisoi..

This was the same reasoning used by rajapaksas during Hambanthota port or airport.
This is the same reasoning used by Pakistani establishment to justify CPEC. We have seen how those projects ended.
You cant be serious to compare maharastra and gujurat to pakistan srilanka .. Even if you have have you researched about the loan condition with japan ?

Varzone

I feel like that secret reason is really clouding your judgement on this hence you are making false equivalency with those two projects which have absolutely nothing in common whatsoever.

Varzone

More than 90% people traveling between Mumbai-Pune are daily up-down passengers.
Many people from Pune work in Mumbai and vice versa.
If such high speed service is available in between Mumbai-Pune ridership will be enormous.
Their is also a large section of population working in IT who does to Pune on Monday works for a week and returns on Friday evening and vice versa. If bullet train starts this section will also do daily up-down.

If Maharashtra state government is expected to pay for bullet train it should pay for one that benefits its domicile and economy the most.
I really feel it will benefit Maharastra the most... Nobody is trying to go to gujju land but i know lot of people from gujrat coming for business, education and travel to Mumbai

tribendra bisoi..

Citation Needed - I read somewhere that as term of loan Japanese companies and technologies have to be preferred hence Indian companies will be working with Japanese companies.
loans will be available at 0.1 per cent interest and India can repay them in 50 years with a moratorium on repayments up to 15 years .

You think we ll end up like srilanka pakistan with above condition because we are connecting two rich states of india ?

Physx32

Do you have heard the arguments against Aarey forest chopping and construction of car shed in Aarey or are just supporting it because of BJPs affinity to the project.
Do you have heard the arguments suporting chopping of 2000 trees and construction of car shed in Aarey or are just against it because of Congress', Libtard's and semi-literate environmentalist's opposition to the project.
Read this:

Ya'll Nibbiars The HOS Embassy properties in bangaluru struggling for rentals?. @another_armchair Nibba?.
Not much idea bro.. but from what I heard, IT parks, commercial properties have been in bad shape since the pandemic.

Besides, fresher hiring has also dropped this year, teams are being trimmed, work load is increasing..do the math.

Wait 6 months for some direction and clarity.

Had been to my old place last week.. there was a commercial property built on a 10k sqft plot.. about 6-7 floors high with three floors occupied by an IT consulting company followed by brand shops and other small businesses. At least four floors have been taken up by a school now... no sign of the old IT consulting company... BC it is on the main road with no playground or parking space to speak of..but that's the state of affairs.

Not much idea bro.. but from what I heard, IT parks, commercial properties have been in bad shape since the pandemic.

Besides, fresher hiring has also dropped this year, teams are being trimmed, work load is increasing..do the math.

Wait 6 months for some direction and clarity.

Had been to my old place last week.. there was a commercial property built on a 10k sqft plot.. about 6-7 floors high with three floors occupied by an IT consulting company followed by brand shops and other small businesses. At least four floors have been taken up by a school now... no sign of the old IT consulting company... BC it is on the main road with no playground or parking space to speak of..but that's the state of affairs.
Ya'll Nibbiars sad despite increase in the IT Exports peoples are struggling to get a job and having pay cuts. And We are in the Jobless Growths.

Ya'll Nibbiars The GOM in talks with the Tata Intsrumensts for the Semi Conductors Investments.

Kaun se duniya me hai bhai.
Post COVID period have been terrific for IT professionals. Huge salary boost and record hiring
Ya'll Nibbiars 2022 not 2021.

afako

Hindufying India
Aarey car shed is not a fiasco but rather valid concern.
Don't blame delay Line-3 on Aarey car shed. Lot of work on Line-3 is still pending.
Do you even know what is Aarey? It's not a forest. It's already used for commercial purposes. Cutting even half of Aarey for betterment of Mumbai public should be done if that works out. We have enough trees in this world, we don't need to save few more. Mumbaikars who sweat their life daily deserve very comfortable travel and subsidized.

Ya'll Nibbiars sad despite increase in the IT Exports peoples are struggling to get a job and having pay cuts. And We are in the Jobless Growths.
Jahan redundancy dikhega, udhar chataai hogi. The IT industry is diverse... doesn't mean there won't be layoffs post appraisal or people won't end up in PIP. Pata nahi log kis bubble mein jeete hain.

My cousin's colleagues are CCIE's. Two of them got thrown out last month from a big bank. Why? Maybe their performance was sub par compared to what's expected of experienced CCIE's. Ab office ka bhi address dena padega kya? Not in Bangalore, but in Western India. Andaja laga lo.

Crazywithmath

Two different cases

The trees were chopped down in a single night amidst protests and petitions in court. No government department works with efficiency to go and chop down the forest in middle of the night.

All SC said is no new trees are being cut in 2022 but the fact remains back in 2019 more than 2000 trees were chopped of in middle of the night.
It never ceases to amaze me that India has a bunch of egomaniacs masquerading as environmentalists who even oppose metro rails and HSRs.

Yet no research has been published regarding RoI.

At the end of day it should not end up like Hambanthota port or airport.

Their are lot of priority projects that need funding. We must not end up with dead investment.
You mean to say DPRs don't give ridership projections? Do you even know anything about the procedure that is followed before tenders are awarded?

Mumbai-Pune Expressway currently handles approximately 60,000-2,00,000 (extrapolated) vehicles per day.
Between 25,000 and 30,000 commuters travel between Mumbai and Pune everyday by train.
Are you seriously comparing HSRs with expressways?

Dark Sorrow

Do you even know what is Aarey? It's not a forest. It's already used for commercial purposes. Cutting even half of Aarey for betterment of Mumbai public should be done if that works out. We have enough trees in this world, we don't need to save few more. Mumbaikars who sweat their life daily deserve very comfortable travel and subsidized.
Its phenomenally short sighted and fool-hardy statements.
Couple tea vendor or eatery having stall the end of road doesn't count as commercial activity.
Large scale commercial activity started post 2019 when trees were cut in dead of the night.
Finally no more socialist BS, nothing needs to be subsidized, if one wants to use a service or facility he/she/they pay for it.

Crazywithmath

In the US, environmental scientists are aggressively pitching for high speed railways and here we have democracy ke theekedars doing rr about muh MaharShTrA woN't BeNEFiT .... muh RoI ..... muh we will become SrI LanKa saaar ..... protecc EnvIronMent sAArrrr ...

Dark Sorrow

Are you seriously comparing HSRs with expressways?
Its all about daily ridership quantity. Maharashtra state will benefit for with Mumbai-Pune HSR.
Still I am waiting to see numbers for bullet train project. All I see are generic statements.

Dark Sorrow

loans will be available at 0.1 per cent interest and India can repay them in 50 years with a moratorium on repayments up to 15 years .

You think we ll end up like srilanka pakistan with above condition because we are connecting two rich states of india ?
Still its a loan 0.1% of 5000 crores is still 5 crores (using SI. If one CI the amount will be much more) + Japanese companies have to be preferred.

Crazywithmath

Here is the abstract of a paper that does a social cost-benefit analysis of Metro Rail in a typical Indian city (Delhi in this case);

The growing demand for public transport in mega cities has serious effects on urban ecosystems, especially due to the increased atmospheric pollution and changes in land use patterns. An ecologically sustainable urban transport system could be obtained by an appropriate mix of alternative modes of transport resulting in the use of environmentally friendly fuels and land use patterns. The introduction of CNG in certain vehicles and switching of some portion of the transport demand to the metro rail have resulted in a significant reduction of atmospheric pollution in Delhi. The Delhi Metro provides multiple benefits: reduction in air pollution, time saving to passengers, reduction in accidents, reduction in traffic congestion and fuel savings. There are incremental benefits and costs to a number of economic agents: government, private transporters, passengers, general public and unskilled labour. The social cost-benefit analysis of Delhi Metro done in this paper tries to measure all these benefits and costs from Phase I and Phase II projects covering a total distance of 108 kms in Delhi. Estimates of the social benefits and costs of the project are obtained using the recently estimated shadow prices of investment, foreign exchange and unskilled labour as well as the social time preference rate for the Indian economy for a study commissioned by the Planning Commission, Government of India and done at the Institute of Economic Growth. The financial internal rate of return on investments in the Metro is estimated as 17 percent while the economic rate of return is 24 percent. Accounting for benefits from the reduction of urban air pollution due to the Metro has increased the economic rate of return by 1.4 percent.