Indian Economy: News and Discussion

ym888

Yeah but countries like China and Vietnam have done and also come very close to every point which he quoted so u and Vietnam have flourishing manufacturing capability
India doesn't even fulfill one point which he mentioned so we have to struggle as we don't see our nation willing to fulfill any of the point
Vietnam's infrastructure is not up to that standard,

But Vietnam's geography and Confucian culture make it easy to attract investment from East Asia

Excellent road/rail infrastructure
Roads are source of corruption for all the parties involved unless the project is very big like a Expressway or is well monitored by a minister that will allow no corruption.
So Roads will always be compromised in small towns.
Excellent Ports infrastructure
No Gov managed port can be efficient, better off leasing the port to Adani who has excellent port management.
Che7
ap and 24x7 availability of power
Can be done for sure but afsars need to be spanked for it.
Labour flexibility
What is that?
The country where you manufacture from has to have good FTAs with consumer countries covering the goods you want to manufacture and export
That's jon for the Bureaucracy
Less import duty on production inputs
Can be done
Supportive govt
Kek
Law & Order( i.e no chimpouts by worker destroying your factory )
IN, Police etc have been rather useless in this regards.

The Saffron Knight

Needs to be 10% tho since this figure is probably the result of a "rebound" from 2 years of corona lockdowns.

India is not a one party authoritarian state so obviously getting manufacturing investment is hard.
A good location for manufacturing for export has many dependencies like
  • Excellent road/rail infrastructure
  • Excellent Ports infrastructure
  • Cheap and 24x7 availability of power
  • Labour flexibility
  • The country where you manufacture from has to have good FTAs with consumer countries covering the goods you want to manufacture and export
  • Less import duty on production inputs
  • Supportive govt
  • Law & Order( i.e no chimpouts by workers destroying your factory )
It will take some time( maybe a decade ) also subject to global economic conditions, we aren't in a "boom" period of world economy, where investment money flows like water.

When people want to set up the manufacturing base they think of places like Vietnam, not India, perhaps our country is #4 or #5 on the list.
However one edge we have is large domestic market, that can be used to a degree to ameliorate our other deficiencies, that's what the govt is doing.
A report on Top Manufacturing Destinations.
IMG_20220626_142541.jpg

2021-Manufacturing-Risk-Index-14(1782133157937991).jpg

2021-Manufacturing-Risk-Index-15(1782133164898564).jpg

India tops the list in 2 out of the 3 parameters.

You can find the full report here.

Roads are source of corruption for all the parties involved unless the project is very big like a Expressway or is well monitored by a minister that will allow no corruption.
So Roads will always be compromised in small towns.

No Gov managed port can be efficient, better off leasing the port to Adani who has excellent port management.

Can be done for sure but afsars need to be spanked for it.

What is that?
You can hire and fire whenever necessary, no socialist laws to force you to keep people when they are not needed, currently they get around this in India by hiring "temps", ofc temps get no benefits like full employee in factory.

In Chongistan, this model is used for iPhone manufacture, especially before Christmas season where lots of assembly line workers are hired to fast and high volume production, after this peak of 2-3 months of furious assembly and shipping is done, the workers are let off.
Chongistan is factory of the world, so workers find jobs somewhere else pretty quick.

These are very high conditions

There are very few countries and regions that all meet the above conditions
China comes close with all those, so that's the "target" towards which the parameters have to be improved.
It is a good target also because of "factory of the world" status, the infrastructure and power requirements there are global scale because their manufactured products go to every continent in the world.

But Vietnam's geography and Confucian culture make it easy to attract investment from East Asia
Their electronics production is focused in this province called Bac Ninh, it has a river running through it right to the sea + it's close to the capital Hanoi and in North Vietnam so it's ez to get production inputs for cheap via road or sea.
Considering this is a small area they just have to focus infra improvements to this region.

India Super Power

A report on Top Manufacturing Destinations.
View attachment 161531
View attachment 161540
View attachment 161542
India tops the list in 2 out of the 3 parameters.

You can find the full report here.
These parameters stats charts and graph have no value as they can be made as a person wants and fits some agenda be it for or against India
In reality a company looks into many factors which actually affects them rather than going through these charts, this is where we lag companies don't want to invest bcoz of our infra non skill workers govt law and order
So we ourselves need to manufacture our companies need to be provided all initiatives for it as not much critical goods will be manufactured in India by foreign companies so only option is Indian companies but again problem is our businessmen are not dynamic nor intellectual nor modern thinking personalities so even they are big problem

Vietnam is safest bet for the west.
Building India is creating a frankenstein monster like China for them. Especially we clearly stated that we are not interested in being their puppet.

But their is limit to how much Vietnam can absorb of what leaves China naturally some of the spill over will come to us and if Gov gets it's shit together than we can make an independent rise of industry.

If it leaves chong it's going to go to ASEAN first assuming it's for export.
We have the big and tasty bait of sorta large domestic market for certain products so govt making use of that to the max, the most basic type is to raise duties on boxed fully built products, companies that do big volumes of sales here will then either start their own or outsource ESDM to a 3rd party company who will assemble their products here, at the start, later on suppliers for subcomponents can also be got to migrate here.

Anyway this is a stop gap, we need to make the industrial "ecosystem" here fit for export oriented production.

Theu can distribute it to Thailand, South America but they are not going to repeat the Chinese experiment with India. That you be assured.
In any case, our tryst with labour union itself is a major turnoff for a stable manufacturing base

Theu can distribute it to Thailand, South America but they are not going to repeat the Chinese experiment with India. That you be assured.
In any case, our tryst with labour union itself is a major turnoff for a stable manufacturing base
Thailand and Malaysia are saturated, the current candidates are Vietnam and Indonesia( a small island called Batam that is close to Singapore )

West would want another giant market like chongs to grow their own stagnated economies, China serves as a concentrated huge markets for their companies, much over their overseas revenue is from Chings.

tribendra bisoi.

There is a perception here about manufacturing vs higher end IT ITES service sector and other service sector .. Please dont be driven by this mentality . It is true IT ITES does not create mass scale low skilled jobs . But a guy working in IT earning 50k - 1 lakh a month ll need a vacation to travel to goa , buy dress every few weeks , will watch movie , go to restaurant bar pub , will buy fancy gadgets from Amazon , use various Apps . The indirect job creation is much more than what is perceived . And you get it without polluting environment . So have little gratitude for these IT fellows .

India received 83 billion $ FDI in 2021-22 and year before around same . Vietnam receives around 30-35 billion $ FDI . I have not seen data but india might be receiving a lot of funding for startups . Check japanese investment in indian infrastructure . Recently we signed free trade agreement with Australia , Agreement with EU and England is in process .

Lots of people here are driven by perspective rather then data . There are many specialized manufacturing zones around the country . Well connected to port via rail and road network , There are even plug and play architecture , single window clearance , Both state center providing subsidies .

karn

There is a perception here about manufacturing vs higher end IT ITES service sector and other service sector .. Please dont be driven by this mentality . It is true IT ITES does not create mass scale low skilled jobs . But a guy working in IT earning 50k - 1 lakh a month ll need a vacation to travel to goa , buy dress every few weeks , will watch movie , go to restaurant bar pub , will buy fancy gadgets from Amazon , use various Apps . The indirect job creation is much more than what is perceived . And you get it without polluting environment . So have little gratitude for these IT fellows .

India received 83 billion $ FDI in 2021-22 and year before around same . Vietnam receives around 30-35 billion $ FDI . I have not seen data but india might be receiving a lot of funding for startups . Check japanese investment in indian infrastructure . Recently we signed free trade agreement with Australia , Agreement with EU and England is in process .

Lots of people here are driven by perspective rather then data . There are many specialized manufacturing zones around the country . Well connected to port via rail and road network , There are even plug and play architecture , single window clearance , Both state center providing subsidies .
The issue is highly paid people in India should spend money on local goods .. or all it does is increase our trade deficit from all those electronics imports .. thank God at least furniture is coming back here .
This Vietnam example given by other members is weird . Maharashtra has the GDP per capita of Vietnam.
Vietnam performs at the level of our best exporting states .

tribendra bisoi.

The issue is highly paid people in India should spend money on local goods .. or all it does is increase our trade deficit from all those electronics imports .. thank God at least furniture is coming back here .
This Vietnam example given by other members is weird . Maharashtra has the GDP per capita of Vietnam.
I have a opinion .. Usually manufacturing drives service sector when economy gets matured . In case of india service sector can drive manufacturing with proper policies .

Varzone

I am surprised nobody is talking about Germany. We should start attacking their imports since their energy and production costs will continue to skyrocket. That is the meat of the industrial goods and machinery sector.

The bungholes in Germany made such incredibly stupid energy decisions and spent an absolute gargantuan amount of money on renewables with no proper feasibility study. Their solar output is dismal and they have closed their nuclear plants + Russia will squeeze their supply to escalate EU gas prices.

We need to destroy German Industry and now is the time! :india2:
Import substitution and then exporting those inputs to other countries should be our path - I can't imagine German exports being competitive other than being the only source of those goods. China will take over this market if we don't take actions.

Industry insiders on DFI can give their input on this to help us understand where we stand

NutCracker

Intel expands in India, unveils new design and engineering centre

While unveiling chip giant Intel's new facility in India, Rajeev Chandrasekhar said that by 2025, India's digital economy should reach $1 trillion

Intel, the world’s largest maker of computer processors, is expanding its design and engineering footprint in the country.
Intel India on Friday unveiled a centre with 453,000 square feet spread over two towers, which can accommodate 2,000 employees. It will help advance cutting-edge design and engineering work in clients, data centres, graphics, artificial intelligence, automotive segments and IoT (Internet of Things), where devices communicate with each other intelligently.

“I am walking into the Intel campus after many years,” said Rajeev Chandrasekhar, Union minister of state for electronics and information technology, who on Friday visited Intel’s Bengaluru campus to unveil the new state-of-the-art facility.
Chandrasekhar was hand-picked by Vinod Dham, father of the Pentium chip, to work at Intel as a senior design engineer and a CPU architect during 1986-91 in Silicon Valley in the US. He later returned to India to pursue entrepreneurship.

“Those years when we were building Intel, we lived and worked much more frugally. We had (dark) grey carpets and horrible orange cubicles and some workstations. But we had the ‘can do’ spirit of Intel,” said Chandrasekhar, who did master’s in computer science at the Illinois Institute of Technology, Chicago.
The centre features facilities including IoT-based systems like desk-booking platforms, an interactive kiosk for occupancy status and floor layouts, and real-time room occupancy indicators. One floor of 70,000 square feet is dedicated to high-tech R&D labs for silicon design and validation purposes. The facility sports a host of employee amenities such as over 50 video-enabled conference rooms, phone booths, collaboration spaces, breakout zones, and lounge areas.
Intel has the largest design and engineering operations outside the US, with facilities in Bengaluru and Hyderabad. It has nine such design and engineering centres in India, which include eight in Bengaluru and one in Hyderabad. The Santa Clara, California-based company said it had invested over $8 billion in India to date and continued to expand its R&D and innovation footprint in the country. Its workforce in India has increased to about 14,000.
Prime Minister Narendra Modi recently said India’s consumption of semiconductors was expected to cross $80 billion by 2026 and $110 billion by 2030. Modi urged the industry to make India a global hub for semiconductors.
Nivruti Rai, country head of Intel India and vice-president of Intel Foundry Services, said: “We have been working very closely with the government. We were showcasing some of the innovations that Intel is driving in India.”
“There are 650,000 villages in the country. We talk about 3G, 4G and 5G in the cities, but rural villages are unconnected. So, we are trying to build solutions where the villages can get connectivity in a manner which is affordable and scalable.”
Many countries are also looking at autonomous driving. But Rai said Intel India was working on collision avoidance systems for the automotive industry.
“We are building connectivity solutions and driver-assist systems and customizing it for India use cases.”

We need Fabs , enough obsession with this designing and vlsi labs. These scumbags will not let us prosper.

Varzone

I have a opinion .. Usually manufacturing drives service sector when economy gets matured . In case of india service sector can drive manufacturing with proper policies .
No. We need jobs and move away from agriculture. Everyone can't be a IT worker or Service industry worker.
+ Indian market will absorb the manufacturing we do so pur imports will be in control and boost our exports.

I don't know where this mentality of ignoring manufacturing comes from - complacency from IT growth and no knowledge about unemployment problem in India.
Just an example of mobile exports should be enough to understand; imagine importing instead.

tribendra bisoi.

PLI scheme may soon cover apparel makers

Textile export may touch 100 billion in next 5 years ( currently 44 billion ) . Aim is to double domestic production to 20 lakh crore in this period . FTA with Canada , EU , Israel , GCC is being fast tracked .