Indian Economy: News and Discussion

afako

Hindufying India
Ola e-scooter seem like a great deal, i was watching few reviews there are few optimizations they can do and after that it will be great. These are already providing ranges of around 170km, even with battery degradation it won't be an issue.

Tesla is like the holy grail of EV cars, any car should be referenced with their cars for comparison in terms of performance..
Tesla is not the benchmark for mass market. The mass market product has to be reliable, durable, cost effective, perform as per specs in most of the situations. Then we are talking.

Jimih

Looks like GoI is also scared of the post-pandemic surplus cash flowing into this Crypto speculative bandwagon, just like it happened with the welfare cheques in the US.
Fiat Money is here to stay, till Banksters worldwide comes up with some new counter plan.

Covfefe

Fiat Currency is here to stay, till Banksters worldwide comes up with some new counter plan.
Better that India takes a conservative stance in this regard-
1) Somehow we have started to recover that Post NPA crisis of 2017-18
2) We may experience low cost of capital from international markets given the surplus liquidity in the US. Makes no sense to not use that for development, and risk it for something that's not established yet(not saying that Crypto won't make it big, its just that the risks for an aspiring economy are just too high)
3) This Doesn't mean we should scuttle our Crypto startups- use them in markets where it works, and build on Blockchain technology. That's definitely going to grow big.
5) China's central bank has been working on a digital currency for quite some time now, no reason as to why we won't see some NPCI-RBI collab going this way

angryIndian

So let's make one thing clear; as per you Sri Lanka, whose government very recently begged for food from India as they ran out of it and keeps receiving consecutive IMF bailouts, offers more economic prosperity than India (a significant contributor of financial resources to the IMF)? Yes or No?

On a side note, India's HDI rank remains stagnant because more and more environmental parameters get added every year. As per the old system India's score has gotten pretty close to what will get classified as 'high HDI'.
Sri Lanka's struggle with food shortage is only a recent phenomena,it's not chronic like that in India.
It happened mostly due to stupid decision like sudden replacement of chemical fertilizers with organic ones without giving farmers adequate time.
Also Sri lanka was an Upper middle income country till 2019 and will regain it's position in a year or two.
So any parallels with India is plain stupidity.

India opened its market in 1991 only. By 2030 its rank will be in double digits.
No India will not reach double digit rank by 2030 as per long term predictions by IMF.As per calculations,India's GDP per capita would increase to something less than $14,000 which would place it comfortably out of top 100 rank

Yep and that index has absolurely nothing to do with hunger. Worse, they claim that their numbers are taken from the CNNS survey conducted jointly by the GOI and UNICEF while the CNNS survey actually showed massive improvement in overall malnutrition stats across the nation. There is a reason why no serious economist cares about this so called hunger index.

Whatever I wrote is based on stats that are easily verifiable; unlike some enlightened individual's personal experience.
You cannot like or dislike statistics as per your convenience.The government often highlights ease of doing business ranking which is racked with manipulations but rejects a much more empirical Global Hunger Index.

Further even if we discredit the GHI report,what we cannot shy away from is the prevalence of hunger in India.Figures relating to child wasting,stunting and malnutrition,body mass index and anemia tells a lot about it.

Anyways my original contention was not to highlight the global hunger index,it' about the extremely substandard living conditions in India that belies tall story of economic growth since 1990.

There can be no justification of this sort of living standard in 21st century

1637846027076.png

Tesla is not the benchmark for mass market. The mass market product has to be reliable, durable, cost effective, perform as per specs in most of the situations. Then we are talking.
Our own mass market benchmark right now is Nexon ev. Right now different between Nexon diesel automatic and Nexon ev is 3-4 lakh rupees.

Only issue is Nexon range which is under 250 km in real world ( claimed 312).

If they could increase range to 500 km in real world at same price point it will start killing diesel cars for majority of people.

I believe we will have such cars within 5 years .

Chandragupt Maurya

Sri Lanka's struggle with food shortage is only a recent phenomena,it's not chronic like that in India.
It happened mostly due to stupid decision like sudden replacement of chemical fertilizers with organic ones without giving farmers adequate time.
Also Sri lanka was an Upper middle income country till 2019 and will regain it's position in a year or two.

No India will not reach double digit rank by 2030 as per long term predictions by IMF.As per calculations,India's GDP per capita would increase to something less than $14,000 which would place it comfortably out of top 100 rank

You cannot like or dislike statistics as per your convenience.The government often highlights ease of doing business ranking which is racked with manipulations but rejects a much more empirical Global Hunger Index.

Further even if we discredit the GHI report,what we cannot shy away from is the prevalence of hunger in India.Figures relating to child wasting,stunting and malnutrition,body mass index and anemia tells a lot about it.

Anyways my original contention was not to highlight the global hunger index,it' about the extremely substandard living conditions in India that belies tall story of economic growth since 1990.

View attachment 121631
Lack of road and rail infrastructure is the reason why people have to live in these conditions NDA government is improving the infrastructure in india like never seen before

Kolkata is not even in top 10 for international. How far bengal has fallen.

Rise of banglore and Hyderabad is evident.
Ya'll Nibbiars it's extraordinary Yeats so can't be taken a reveal to for all.

Crazywithmath

View attachment 121631
1. Please end this obsession with Sri Lanka. They are considered the epitome of exactly how not to manage a nation's economy. Guess what? They are going to beg from both IMF and the government of India again this year. So yeah, whatever you think does not matter; facts depict otherwise.

So much for muh economic prosperity ..... muh quality of living (without food and fuel), eh?

Bhutan is a different mess altogether. Leave it, there is more to respond here.

2. IMF does not provide projections beyond the next 5 years. Please provide sources backing your claim.

3. GHI is bullshit and you do not know how it is calculated. If you knew you would know that it has absolutely nothing to do with 'hunger' and they pull data out of thin air. There is a reason why no decent economist/policy planner takes it seriously.

4. Man, china manipulated the 'ease of doing business' index, not India. Is it too difficult to comprehend?

5. The most recent NFHS data was brought out yesterday. I know you do not care about data but still take a look at it and try to notice the improvements on various parameters. Also notice the improvement in malnourishment data across the nation.

6. Again, showing your old habit of sensationalising a post. BTW the previous pic was an old one (could not help noticing the board with 'Aircel 3G' written on it).

View attachment 121631
Ek hote hai Ch-
Ek hote hai Akhand Ch-
Ek hote hai ati vishisht Ch-
Fir aate hai @angryIndian

I said 50% are farmers. Not that 50% were protesting. And yet govt couldn't manage perception..
More than controlling media we need right wing farmers and workers organization to reduce lefty commy ecosystem.

Very well said. BJP should sponsor a massive farmer rally in favor of farm laws. It should not be very difficult for BJP.

asaffronladoftherisingsun

Dharma Dispatcher

Chennai Updates (#WearAMask😷) (@UpdatesChennai) Tweeted:
Zeon Charging which recently signed MOU with Tamil Nadu Govt will Setup 400+ EV Charging points across the state along with 50 kW DC Fast charging.. #EV #TamilNadu

afako

Hindufying India
New Variant coming from South Africa. Replaced Delta in 2 weeks. I think there is some bias in data collection. But let's see how this one goes.

I was right. There is very less samples and that too could be concentrated cluster outbreaks.