Indian Economy: News and Discussion

About plastic manufacturing in India even the chemical needed for manufacturing cheap plastic is imported from China.

Comes plastic are still a far away ball game for us.
Glass industry is dominated by French and with their blessing China as well.
We are self sufficient in Plastic manufacturing in India.
Our Business is Plastic part manufacturing only. All kind of plastic granules is available in India and we can make any kind of part. Gujrati companies leads in supplying raw material to whole India (Due to biggest refinery of India being in Gujrat).

The big issue is time needed in making Molds of the parts. Indian tool room leaves lot to be desired for.
Chinese have everything automated. You send them a pic of any kind of part, they will have the mold ready next day.
Here tool room worker will take a 2-3 weeks to even a month to make same mold even with all machines like PreciCut, lathes, CNC, Grinders, etc.
Then if the mold is ready on time, comes the labor attitude. The labor cost is though much cheaper in India, the daily production is way too low. And Indian Labor needs 2-3 breaks in a day apart from Lunch break. They need to move around from their work station to each guy in the factory (bataiyana bhi to jaruri hai!).

Man kara to parts bilkul accuracy se nikalenge warna Bhagwan bharose. Kuch keh do to "Humara Hisab kardo hum ja rahe hain".

Ya'll Nibbiars we killed our Plastic industry in the early 90's. And not interested in the Chemical Industries expect the Fertilizers and Paint's.
No, Plastic Industry is still very strong. We are now giving close to equal competition to Chinese in making plastic parts. Only issue is with Tool Rooms and Die/Mold preparation.

sauntheninja

We are self sufficient in Plastic manufacturing in India.
Our Business is Plastic part manufacturing only. All kind of plastic granules is available in India and we can make any kind of part. Gujrati companies leads in supplying raw material to whole India (Due to biggest refinery of India being in Gujrat).

The big issue is time needed in making Molds of the parts. Indian tool room leaves lot to be desired for.
Chinese have everything automated. You send them a pic of any kind of part, they will have the mold ready next day.
Here tool room worker will take a 2-3 weeks to even a month to make same mold even with all machines like PreciCut, lathes, CNC, Grinders, etc.
Then if the mold is ready on time, comes the labor attitude. The labor cost is though much cheaper in India, the daily production is way too low. And Indian Labor needs 2-3 breaks in a day apart from Lunch break. They need to move around from their work station to each guy in the factory (bataiyana bhi to jaruri hai!).

Man kara to parts bilkul accuracy se nikalenge warna Bhagwan bharose. Kuch keh do to "Humara Hisab kardo hum ja rahe hain".
The labour attitude is so true my father owns a factory and the labour always come late and they need breaks so much

Edinburgh

Even in terms of the efficiency of workers, East Asia does value hard work.
Chinese workers generally practice the basic skills used in their work to a very high level.
And there will be a variety of basic skills competition.

Sometimes it feels like india is doomed , our manufacturing is not what it should be , some new manufacturers rekindle hope but liberalisation of 1991 was a rushed up event but necessary due to previous fuck up , it's basically like india is freed in 2001 or 1991 ,all our industry was destroyed , no proper supply chains , no beneficial fta , no planning for development of cities , no fdi management , no security planning , nothing just riding a wrecked boat with full speed to just gather wealth and jump off to nearest foreign land of budget .

@ezsasa could you elaborate how can we do it now , how we gonna improve the situation , and let our domestic companies grow
Liberalization should not have been done like the way it happened in India.
It came at cost of selling already existing and well doing Indian brands and companies to foreign players.
Instead we should have asked them to come and setup their plants and sell their products and also setup JV with existing players.
But we served all our big players on big platter to global companies.

Do you guys remember how badly Indian Govt butchered Parle Group. All their big products were forced to sell to Pepsi and Coca-Cola group. Aka "Thumbs Up" which could made Pepsi and Coke to run for money was sold to Coke!
Similarly so many other products were either killed or sold to these companies.
Already "Haldi" shared how electronics industry sold up their plants and products to global companies.

I think biggest dent was done by "Electrolux Kelvinator" group, they Ended up destroying whole indigenous consumer electronics market. And what did we get in return? Kelvinator filled India with the banned poor quality fridges and washing machines from whole world. These were the already manufactured products which were banned due to Ozone whole treaty in 90s.

@SKC do u know if we have capacity to manufacture LED module here Indigenously

Few companies started in NCR for making LED bulbs and other accessories 4-5 years back. But cant say if there were making the actual LED part or not. But surely they started making LED Bulbs.
However soon they found out how cheap they can be precured from China and then stamp their name and sell for huge profit as prices were crazy back then.

But now since the LED prices are already quite cheap in India that it does not make send to import completely built unit as it will attract dumping charges if bought officially.
If bought under the table using container methods popular in Delhi then its another case.

I am pretty much sure no one is making the core LED module itself in NCR!

sauntheninja

Few companies started in NCR for making LED bulbs and other accessories 4-5 years back. But cant say if there were making the actual LED part or not. But surely they started making LED Bulbs.
However soon they found out how cheap they can be precured from China and then stamp their name and sell for huge profit as prices were crazy back then.

But now since the LED prices are already quite cheap in India that it does not make send to import completely built unit as it will attract dumping charges if bought officially.
If bought under the table using container methods popular in Delhi then its another case.

I am pretty much sure no one is making the core LED module itself in NCR!
Competing with China's manufacturing industry just seems impossible now

Even in terms of the efficiency of workers, East Asia does value hard work.
Chinese workers generally practice the basic skills used in their work to a very high level.
And there will be a variety of basic skills competition.
I have seen them working in Person. No worker in India can match their daily production and also their accuracy.
Also there is no discrimination between Female and male worker. I have seen many times if a truck has come to warehouse to unload and only female workers were there in the load/unload area then Female workers would start unloading which any fuss or quarrel or asking their seniors. Forget about the same in India. Even Female IT workers in India are not willing to do any physical work like to move their PC or desk any where on their floor.

If you think Chinese products are cheap and poor quality, that's because we are buying poor-quality products.
Even in those poor quality product they per unit defect rate is extremely low.
They may have 1 defect in 1000 parts produced and here in our company, we get 1 defect in each 20-30 parts produced! :frusty:

sauntheninja

I have seen them working in Person. No worker in India can match their daily production and also their accuracy.
Also there is no discrimination between Female and male worker. I have seen many times if a truck has come to warehouse to unload and only female workers were there in the load/unload area then Female workers would start unloading which any fuss or quarrel or asking their seniors. Forget about the same in India. Even Female IT workers in India are not willing to do any physical work like to move their PC or desk any where on their floor.

If you think Chinese products are cheap and poor quality, that's because we are buying poor-quality products.
Even in those poor quality product they per unit defect rate is extremely low.
They may have 1 defect in 1000 parts produced and here in our company, we get 1 defect in each 20-30 parts produced! :frusty:
tbf our female labour participation rate is abysmal and no one seems to de doing anything about it

Spindrift

Liberalization should not have been done like the way it happened in India.
It came at cost of selling already existing and well doing Indian brands and companies to foreign players.
Instead we should have asked them to come and setup their plants and sell their products and also setup JV with existing players.
But we served all our big players on big platter to global companies.

Do you guys remember how badly Indian Govt butchered Parle Group. All their big products were forced to sell to Pepsi and Coca-Cola group. Aka "Thumbs Up" which could made Pepsi and Coke to run for money was sold to Coke!
Similarly so many other products were either killed or sold to these companies.
Already "Haldi" shared how electronics industry sold up their plants and products to global companies.

I think biggest dent was done by "Electrolux Kelvinator" group, they Ended up destroying whole indigenous consumer electronics market. And what did we get in return? Kelvinator filled India with the banned poor quality fridges and washing machines from whole world. These were the already manufactured products which were banned due to Ozone whole treaty in 90s.
Yeah, I miss Gold Spot, it was way better in taste than Fanta, but they killed Gold Spot for Fanta.

tbf our female labour participation rate is abysmal and no one seems to de doing anything about it
Our Female participation in Industry is barely ~23-24% (claimed by Govt over the years don't know the validity of the claim), it is over 75% in China & might be reaching 80% by now.

Even if we double it to 50% in India then it will make huge improvement in earnings per house and overall GDP.

This is one area where I have beef with the RWs, they are adamant over "Aurat ghar ka Ghena" philosophy. There are various way Females can contribute to economy and should be encouraged in appropriate and feasible ways.

sauntheninja

Our Female participation in Industry is barely ~23-24% (claimed by Govt over the years don't know the validity of the claim), it is over 75% in China & might be reaching 80% by now.

Even if we double it to 50% in India then it will make huge improvement in earning per house and overall GDP.

This is one area where I have beef with the RWs, they are adamant over "Aurat ghar ka Ghena" philosophy. There are various way Females can contribute to economy and should be encouraged in appropriate and feasible ways.
Even Bangladesh has a better female participation rate than us. When half of our workforce is stuck at home how exactly will we grow in the double digits

Subsidies in various forms! Higher than needed MSP to farmers because annadata!
Free rations to BPL cards, free this and free that!
What I remember was someone said here some days back maybe @ezsasa said it , we might call ourselves free from 1947 but we are doing social engineering , infra development ,internal enemy tackling , nationalism growth , manufacturing set-up ,now ,cause what we had was destroyed in 1990 ,add to it ,we just opened to world abruptly ,instead of phase wise and in proper manufacturing luring , we just made ourselves rich somewhat but didn't created a base for it

I would say 70s was the worst period for India and can be termed as Lost decade for us.
Both Congress and then Janta Dal did counter intuitive things.
Janta dal came with big plans of making Indian companies grow and make everything inside but did not nothing in actual. They even drove IBM and few other Technical companies from India!
Indira also made big noise but did nothing in actual! They have big plans to start some manufacturing companies in Indian in 70s. Many plans were made and put to table, in some case even they managed to shortlist land for plants and funds were made ready but then some faction inside Congress will get upset that they are not receiving any cuts then they do their best to Sabotage the deals and plans.
Overall whole progress suffered a big set back in 70s.