Indian Army Tata Kestrel 8x8 Wheeled Armoured Personnel Carrier

DRDO"s WhAP vs AMERICAN StryKER | Army to choose from Tata, American Stryker and Humvee for APC
Not being amphibious is a major limitation, of course.

For a country like USA major means for Expeditionary response to any situation is USAF and air arm of USN and USMC. Hence no need was felt for stryker to be amphibious. USA is yet to firm up its plans to launch amphibious assaults on Chinese or North Korean shores..

However, a small modification to make stryker as the amphibious vehicle is not a big deal if Stryker really wants to sell.

Army and MOD are corrupted organization's they will definitely support those people which provide under the table deals.
This is an absurd comment.

Most likely Army will buy American as well Indian AFVs. The requirement is very large.
The current requirement may be met with imports due to maturity of foreign platform.

Sridhar_TN

That is a poor statement on Indian industrial capacity and capabilities rather than Indian Army.

Our 100 years of investment in OFB factories, PSUs , DPSUS and 90 DODO labs was social justice and positive action activities that can not even produce foreign rifle parts.

When it comes to Vehicle technology TATA Motors is a B grade company where investors also do not like to park the money but it is OK for the Indian Army to park the lives of the soldiers with third-class products. TATA Motors is the biggest supplier of Trucks and vehicles to all three Services but they have shown no inclination towards innovation and improvement in quality. They could never supply the quality of a Tatras or Volvo in a heavy load carrier. Their business model continues to be Birla's "Ambassador" car supply model.

When it comes to Indian Army, they are too small a fry in the Supply Chain of MoD and GoI. When it comes to importing, I bet half of the parts in this so-called TATA vehicle would be Chinese... I am equally sure that 80 percent of items in your house are of foreign origins including tiles fitted on the floor.

On TATA Whap I am only asking for a competitive selection as mandated by Rules... why are you barking up a wrong tree.. Indian Army is not a traunt boy to pick up whatever they want from Chor Bazar.
The issue with the entire argument is this: the Indian army is the ‘INDIAN’ army. Not a foreign legion army. Meaning, at some point in their requirements, they would have to deal with ‘Indian’ equipment. That’s the bitter pill that they have to swallow. So does every other army in the world. If they are not satisfied with the products, then let them have oversight control of OFB and PSU’s that deal with the army. I am not saying buy everything indian. No.

The IA should Keep in mind, that when war breaks out, the Defence minister will have to again go on foreign trips to meet with either the Russian or the Americans to beg them to supply us with ammunition and spares.

Like I said, if the WHAP kestre satisfies the IA requirements, that would be the way to go.

The issue with the entire argument is this: the Indian army is the ‘INDIAN’ army. Not a foreign legion army. Meaning, at some point in their requirements, they would have to deal with ‘Indian’ equipment. That’s the bitter pill that they have to swallow. So does every other army in the world. If they are not satisfied with the products, then let them have oversight control of OFB and PSU’s that deal with the army. I am not saying buy everything indian. No.

The IA should Keep in mind, that when war breaks out, the Defence minister will have to again go on foreign trips to meet with either the Russian or the Americans to beg them to supply us with ammunition and spares.

Like I said, if the WHAP kestre satisfies the IA requirements, that would be the way to go.
This kind of subjective arguments and fixated ideas will never be fruitful... This is no argument that everything else but Indian Army is Indian . MoD, PSUs, DPSU, OFB, DRDO all are Indian ? My foot... all are import lobbies not in one case but all cases they anre engaged in by it tank, helicopter, howitzers, BMP, Tejas or any other product... all are assemblies of foreign mal..

The MoD ecosystem is such that if it imports foreign system, then MoD assembler's commission gets obliterated... most of the indigenous sloganeering is aimed at enhancing OFB, DPSU and DRDO commission on import of foreign and domestic parts and assemblies... which they unnecessary claim as indegenious..

T9 Vajra, Kalyani Guns, or Tata systems all are assemblies of foreign mal... Arjun is 80 percent foreign parts and so are HAL Rudra... albiet with scores of faults.. but then there are poor pontificators like you who consider all other as Chralies... typical Indians..

पर उपदेश कुशल बहुतेरे । जे आचरहिं ते नर न घनेरे ।। — गोस्वामी तुलसीदास

Sridhar_TN

This kind of subjective arguments and fixated ideas will never be fruitful... This is no argument that everything else but Indian Army is Indian . MoD, PSUs, DPSU, OFB, DRDO all are Indian ? My foot... all are import lobbies not in one case but all cases they anre engaged in by it tank, helicopter, howitzers, BMP, Tejas or any other product... all are assemblies of foreign mal..

The MoD ecosystem is such that if it imports foreign system, then MoD assembler's commission gets obliterated... most of the indigenous sloganeering is aimed at enhancing OFB, DPSU and DRDO commission on import of foreign and domestic parts and assemblies... which they unnecessary claim as indegenious..

T9 Vajra, Kalyani Guns, or Tata systems all are assemblies of foreign mal... Arjun is 80 percent foreign parts and so are HAL Rudra... albiet with scores of faults.. but then there are poor pontificators like you who consider all other as Chralies... typical Indians..

पर उपदेश कुशल बहुतेरे । जे आचरहिं ते नर न घनेरे ।। — गोस्वामी तुलसीदास
Ok dude. Let’s import every thing.
Dismantle ofb, drdo and Hal. Guess that would satisfy you right. Since they do absolutely nothing on their own.

Are you not an Indian? Typical Indian it seems. Or are you from one of our many neighbors? You write some weird shit sometimes bro.
Typical narcissist.

Ok dude. Let’s import every thing.
Dismantle ofb, drdo and Hal. Guess that would satisfy you right. Since they do absolutely nothing on their own.

Are you not an Indian? Typical Indian it seems. Or are you from one of our many neighbors? You write some weird shit sometimes bro.
Typical narcissist.
That will never happen !!

Some among us has suddenly become so excited with the recent emergency purchases ...

They have not understood the current governments priorities ... export and indigenous development priorities ...

Indigenous weapons are the future and they will be adopted and developed through step by step up gradation home grown Indian made weapons and armaments ...

If #IndianArmy goes for the Stryker variant for any role it will be disheartening moment. Indigenous Kestrel can be modified for role of APC to anti tank/recce , from SPH to assault gun , and it is amphibious as well . I do not see any reason Stryker be even considered.

Sridhar_TN

NO .... No dudes ... that is not the way...

The way is to make Indian and make it happen that fits the purpose and not someone pockets.. let us kick hard the backs of those guys who are employed for that and paid very handsomely..

Let us not earn money making Pinaka that would never take off..

Let us make a tank that can be made mobile rather than be kept in the garage due to lack of spares..

Let us make combat helicopters that flies with its armament rather than farting in the air towards the enemy in the absence of armaments..

Let us make a night sight which can see beyond 40 meters..
Let us make a missile that can come out of lab even after sixty years...

Or let us disband this Army or those who have been created to make things for Army rather than making Armed Forces an instrument of nefarious activities of hoodwinking and treachery in the name of Indigenisation where we give our soldier a grenade that never bursts.

Stupid fools..
You’re the genious right? Rest all are stupid. Taali maro

Sridhar_TN

NO .... No dudes ... that is not the way...

The way is to make Indian and make it happen that fits the purpose and not someone pockets.. let us kick hard the backs of those guys who are employed for that and paid very handsomely..

Let us not earn money making Pinaka that would never take off..

Let us make a tank that can be made mobile rather than be kept in the garage due to lack of spares..

Let us make combat helicopters that flies with its armament rather than farting in the air towards the enemy in the absence of armaments..

Let us make a night sight which can see beyond 40 meters..
Let us make a missile that can come out of lab even after sixty years...

Or let us disband this Army or those who have been created to make things for Army rather than making Armed Forces an instrument of nefarious activities of hoodwinking and treachery in the name of Indigenisation where we give our soldier a grenade that never bursts.

Stupid fools..
Yeah. The agnis, prithvis and Brahmos systems are not yet out even after 60 years right? Kuch bhi.

Uhh, tonbo makes some of the best nvg stuff around. Guess you’re one of those guys from army procurement team who does not know companies like this exist until USSOCOM informs you that their stuff is really good.

Piñaka has down very well so far and the army has likewise placed more orders. Doesn’t take off it seems. Which world do you live in dude?

Umm, rudras and lch’s fly with rocket pods and guns and air to air missiles. No armament it seems. Kuch bhi. Yes, they don’t have ATGMs yet.

It is no secret that HAL and OFB has serious quality issues. The right steps for that is privatizing their operations or letting the army and Air Force take oversight respectively.

But to categorically say that all Indian designed/manufacturer equipment is inferior only implies you are an illiterate on the subject, or you’re here just to trash talk.

Indian Army Plans To Acquire New Armoured Vehicles
It aims to enhance the safety and protection of its soldiers when performing missions in high-altitude terrains such as eastern Ladakh as it provides the capability for rapid movement of troops.

The plan comes at a time when the country and China are in ongoing border tensions.

An undisclosed defence source told ANI, TATA Wheeled Armoured Protection (WhAP), American Stryker Infantry Combat Vehicle and Humvee High-Mobility Multipurpose Wheeled Vehicle are being considered for the purchase.

It is expected that preference would be given to the indigenous TATA vehicle over the foreign platforms.

However, the final decision is currently under evaluation and will be based on meeting the army’s mission requirements.

TATA along with Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) laboratory has developed and conducted several trials with the vehicle even in high altitudes.

The Strykers and Humvee vehicles are capable of being transported by C-130J transport aircraft and the C-17 aircraft.

These aircraft are also in service with the Indian Air Force.

The Indian Army has in service a number of Russian-made BMP infantry combat vehicles.

Named Bharat, the high-altitude drone has been developed by DRDO’s Terminal Ballistics Research Laboratory in Chandigarh.

TATA Kestrel vs US Stryker & Humvee | No To Imports - DRDO Kestrel Vs US Stryker

MOD TO PLACE CONTRACTS WORTH RS 4 LAKH CRORE TO BOOST SELF-RELIANCE
Union defence minister Rajnath Singh announced on Sunday that the defence ministry will embargo 101 items to give a boost to indigenous defence production in a bid to strengthen the Atmanirbhar Bharat initiative taken by the PM Narendra Modi.

Singh said that over the 6-7 years the Indian defence industry will get contracts worth almost four lakh crore. The current contract of items that were taken by the tri-services between 2015 and 2020 from the embargo list cost Rs 3.5 lakh crore.

The union defence minister said that the decision to achieve self-reliance in the defence manufacturing sector and said the announcement was made early to allow time for the armed forces to acclimatise and also to provide time to domestic industries for preparation.

• Rajnath Singh said that the decision to embargo 101 items will give a big boost to India’s self-reliant initiatives in the defence sector. Singh said that this presents an opportunity for the nation’s defence industry to manufacture the items in the embargoed list by using their own design or by adopting the technologies developed by the DRDO.

• Rajnath Singh highlighted that the domestic defence industry can expect defence contracts worth Rs 4 lakh crores to be given to them within the next 6-7 years.

• Union minister says that the list of embargoed items was made after holding discussions with several stakeholders which included public & private industry members along with the armed forces. The exercise was conducted to assess the current capability and ability to handle demand in the future.

• The list of embargoed items include artillery guns, LCH, sonar weapons system, high-tech weapons systems, corvettes, assault rifles, transport aircrafts and armoured fighting vehicles. Check out the full list here.

• The office of the defence minister said that the measures will be implemented within 2020 to 2024. The announcement was made early to apprise the Indian defence industry of the need and requirements for India’s armed forces.

• The defence ministry also said that the Indian Navy and Air Force will receive items worth almost Rs 1,30,000 crore from the list of items and the Navy shall receive items worth almost Rs 1,40,000 crore. The Army is also expected to import wheeled 200 Armoured Fighting Vehicle worth Rs 5,000 crore each whose embargo date is December 2021.

• The defence minister also said that the ministry will hand hold the defence industry and co-ordinate a mechanism to make sure that timelines are met for domestic production of the items which are on the embargoed list.

• Singh said the identification of further items which could be added to the embargoed list shall continue.

• MoD says a capital procurement budget has been announced for the initiative. The capital procurement process is bifurcated between domestic and foreign capital procurement routes. A separate budget head has been created for domestic capital procurement in the current financial year with an outlay of Rs 52,000 crore.

Something about it looks really stupid - since they're already copying a Stryker, they should do a better job of making it look like one.
IA should get Strykers manufactured by Tata which in turn will help Tata to produce better platforms.

Sir what is the power of engines installed in Both Stryker and kestrel ?

What is speed of stryker in water ?

How many more persons stryker can carry as compared to Tata kestrel ?

Please elaborate how TATA can copy better ?

:dude:

Lancer

Bana
Sir what is the power of engines installed in Both Stryker and kestrel ?

What is speed of stryker in water ?

How many more persons stryker can carry as compared to Tata kestrel ?

Please elaborate how TATA can copy better ?

:dude:
I really don't see what part of my comment (which was intentionally phrased to be a bit funny) was so tough to understand - especially on the turret - there's a noticeable difference. The Stryker turret is far superior, especially if you look at the image in Vinod DX9's tweet on this page.

None of your questions have anything to do with what I said... 🤷‍♂️

Indrajit

While I would prefer if they selected Kestrel, I would be okay as a second preference if they had Stryker manufactured here. As long as these platforms are manufactured here, we will be okay. Unlike airforce platforms, these won’t just be screwdrivergiri. Just like the Vajra.

With artillery, I’m more insistent that we get the ATAGS. If there is a problem of additional weight in mountainous terrain, they should build a specific numbers with titanium replacements as offered, costlier but the only way to go about these things. Wasting time now should not be an option. For specific light howitzer requirement, there should be a mix of the M777 and the Kalyani ultra light gun. It’s about time we got cracking on this, we have wasted 30 years, we simply do not have the luxury of wasting even more time.

Yeah. The agnis, prithvis and Brahmos systems are not yet out even after 60 years right? Kuch bhi.
You invited it .. so let it be..

The project that started in 1963 was to make ATGM... now you start killing tanks with Brahmos and Prithvi.... and be done your your genuis..

Uhh, tonbo makes some of the best nvg stuff around. Guess you’re one of those guys from army procurement team who does not know companies like this exist until USSOCOM informs you that their stuff is really good.
If Tonbo can reach USSOCOM they might as well reach Indian SFs. The forces that scout for their jackets and boots in the streets of Agra and mountain wind cheaters in the streets of Dehradun and feather sleeping bags in Delhi would have been amenable to Tonbo too. I wish you would have been their dalla.

Piñaka has down very well so far and the army has likewise placed more orders. Doesn’t take off it seems. Which world do you live in dude?
So Army having placed order for one Reagt long time back is the certificate that it is functioning well? Or you mean Army was fooled into ordering another Regt ? Such imbecile arguments do not cut ice. Pinaca had a problem and efforts are on the get it manufactured from private industry..

Umm, rudras and lch’s fly with rocket pods and guns and air to air missiles. No armament it seems. Kuch bhi. Yes, they don’t have ATGMs yet.
What is the main criteria for Army attack helicopters? To go for helicopter and UAV hunting? Arming means what? To pack LCH with shit and drop on you ??
The concept that originated from the lesson of Kargil War was not to have attack helicopter primarily for air support tasks but ground support tasks..

It is no secret that HAL and OFB has serious quality issues. The right steps for that is privatizing their operations or letting the army and Air Force take oversight respectively.
I never asked for it nor is that the topic of your uncalled for shouts. Bureaucracy within MoD and DPSU / OFB is so deeply ingrained that they would rather sabotage the national interest rather than compromise on their bureaucratic interests.

But to categorically say that all Indian designed/manufacturer equipment is inferior only implies you are illiterate on the subject, or you’re here just to trash talk.
It is not only in the defence sector, it is across the board. What is Indian in that LCH? Why do not you list and tell the world-class products you are making unless you mean INSAS or Arjun or Nag... the list goes on..

I do not mind rebuttals and discussion but heaping your frustration on others in not a good behaviour.

Indian Army Plans To Acquire New Armoured Vehicles
It aims to enhance the safety and protection of its soldiers when performing missions in high-altitude terrains such as eastern Ladakh as it provides the capability for rapid movement of troops.

The plan comes at a time when the country and China are in ongoing border tensions.

An undisclosed defence source told ANI, TATA Wheeled Armoured Protection (WhAP), American Stryker Infantry Combat Vehicle and Humvee High-Mobility Multipurpose Wheeled Vehicle are being considered for the purchase.

It is expected that preference would be given to the indigenous TATA vehicle over the foreign platforms.

However, the final decision is currently under evaluation and will be based on meeting the army’s mission requirements.

TATA along with Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) laboratory has developed and conducted several trials with the vehicle even in high altitudes.

The Strykers and Humvee vehicles are capable of being transported by C-130J transport aircraft and the C-17 aircraft.

These aircraft are also in service with the Indian Air Force.

The Indian Army has in service a number of Russian-made BMP infantry combat vehicles.

Named Bharat, the high-altitude drone has been developed by DRDO’s Terminal Ballistics Research Laboratory in Chandigarh.
Here, first thing first. No one is asking that but everyone like a trade union are jumping into the bandwagon .
What is Indian Army looking for ?

1597034796101.png

Sridhar_TN

You invited it .. so let it be..

The project that started in 1963 was to make ATGM... now you start killing tanks with Brahmos and Prithvi.... and be done your your genuis..

If Tonbo can reach USSOCOM they might as well reach Indian SFs. The forces that scout for their jackets and boots in the streets of Agra and mountain wind cheaters in the streets of Dehradun and feather sleeping bags in Delhi would have been amenable to Tonbo too. I wish you would have been their dalla.

So Army having placed order for one Reagt long time back is the certificate that it is functioning well? Or you mean Army was fooled into ordering another Regt ? Such imbecile arguments do not cut ice. Pinaca had a problem and efforts are on the get it manufactured from private industry..

What is the main criteria for Army attack helicopters? To go for helicopter and UAV hunting? Arming means what? To pack LCH with shit and drop on you ??
The concept that originated from the lesson of Kargil War was not to have attack helicopter primarily for air support tasks but ground support tasks..

I never asked for it nor is that the topic of your uncalled for shouts. Bureaucracy within MoD and DPSU / OFB is so deeply ingrained that they would rather sabotage the national interest rather than compromise on their bureaucratic interests.

It is not only in the defence sector, it is across the board. What is Indian in that LCH? Why do not you list and tell the world-class products you are making unless you mean INSAS or Arjun or Nag... the list goes on..

I do not mind rebuttals and discussion but heaping your frustration on others in not a good behaviour.
Oh please stop talking about good behavior. You respond to everything out of the context of the original discussion. And there is no shortage of the non sensical trash talking from you when you try to say your point. Dalla and what not.

You said missiles that take 60 years to develop. I pointed out to you how wrong you are by showcasing agnis and Prithvis. Yet you wish to focus on nag. Modify your statement to ‘DRDO is taking 60 years to develop an ATGM’. Don’t say that ‘DRDO is taking 60 years to develop a missile’.

You said there’s no focus on good night vision stuff, and I pointed out to You about tonbo. You’ve conveniently shifted the discussion to weather jackets and wind cheaters. How in gods name can you ask tonbo to make weather jackets? You literally were arguing about nvg. And you shifted the same point to weather jackets.

Repeatedly you cry about rudras and lch not being armed. And I’ve shown you politely how much you LIE. You think a nexter gun and rocket pods are shit? Then why did you buy the mi26 from Russia. Which only had shit. You’ve also been repeatedly told that the lch will be armed with an ATGM. Mostly a foreign one. So that you will stop complaining if it’s a local one. Because let’s face it. All the foreign maal, even if there is a deficiency, you will not shout about it here.

If you’re given a rebuttal, stop crying about something else as a follow up. I’ll say this again. You’re fit for crying. Not for a point by point rebuttal. No outcome talking to you.