Indian Army SIG Sauer 716 assault rifle.

https://www.instagram.com/reel/CLrmR64hOwb/?igshid=rg5hlwof5bmh
People who were saying Sig 716 has less recoil than Ak and blah blah jn justifying it as the main weapon for front line infantry should watch the video.
The thing fires like a cannon
Alby bhai already being discussed in other thread,follow from this post

ManhattanProject

https://www.instagram.com/reel/CLrmR64hOwb/?igshid=rg5hlwof5bmh
People who were saying Sig 716 has less recoil than Ak and blah blah jn justifying it as the main weapon for front line infantry should watch the video.
The thing fires like a cannon
Are bhai The Sig 716 is like 300grms heavier than an Ak47 but fires the same round as the SLR. Ofcourse it has recoil, what you have to do is train the soldiers to fire it properly by using the extended handguard and more modern firing grips like the c-clamp.
Our soldiers are firing it like a insas which weighs almost the same as the Sig but fires a much much smaller cartridge.
You dont cry about recoil you idiot you learn to control it. With a bigger calibre comes more range, more knockdown power, more barrier penetration etc etc.

Lonewarrior

So apparently the recoil of 716i is too much?
No issue, it's cakewalk to rectify.
Induct H&K PSG-1

Though for the same weight of a PSG-1 you can lug two 716i. But of course recoil reduction...

So apparently the recoil of 716i is too much?
No issue, it's cakewalk to rectify.
Induct H&K PSG-1

Though for the same weight of a PSG-1 you can lug two 716i. But of course recoil reduction...
Hain Ji????

Why was SLR 1C not accepted in the 90s?
Why was Para FAL version not considered, given OFB's previous experience in making SLRs?
Why was Insas R-2 rejected in 2017?

The answer according to IA is 'recoil'.

Now the question arises why should the 'recoil' yardstick not applied to Sigs?

Now we are made to understand that since it is a heavier round, recoil is natural, not enough practice with weapon, not good firing position and load of other excuses.
Why was the same excuses not being brought up with the weapons (mentioned above) which Army rejected?

Why was SLR 1C not accepted in the 90s?
Why was Para FAL version not considered, given OFB's previous experience in making SLRs?
Why was Insas R-2 rejected in 2017?

The answer according to IA is 'recoil'.

Now the question arises why should the 'recoil' yardstick not applied to Sigs?
because classical murphy's law of combat,
1614323231841.png

and of course there were media reports of wife of some Sig "guy" trying to squeeze some deal etc in past on this very forum
New York: New documents being examined by the FBI and the CBI suggest that between June and December 2011 US arms manufacturer Sig Sauer allegedly agreed to pay a 10% commission via a web of shell companies to controversial arms dealer Abhishek Verma, who is currently in jail along with his wife Anca Neacsu.

Commissions to middlemen and agents for defence contracts are illegal in India.

Documents being scrutinized by the CBI and accessed by NDTV suggest two illicit payments were made in 2011. $50,000 was allegedly paid as a bribe to a government official via Mr Verma's shell companies to have an anonymous complaint against Sig Sauer removed from government records to make the company eligible for a tender for army sniper rifles. CBI officials claim $125,000 was paid separately to Mr Verma and his associates for helping Sig Sauer land on the shortlist for a tender to supply rifles for state police forces via the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA).
The CBI says its investigations are based on documents, messages on Blackberry Messenger (BBM) and emails between Ms Neacsu and Sig Sauer's top executives.

Sig Sauer did not respond to NDTV's repeated attempts to reach them for comment.

Mr Verma and his wife allegedly managed to have parts of the Home Ministry shot on hidden camera; the videos were submitted over the internet on June 24, 2011 to the arms manufacturer as proof of its access to government officials .

In 2011, Sig Sauer formed a new company with Ms Neacsu called Sig Sauer Asia LLC. Though she was allegedly providing software services to Sig, the joint venture, according to CBI, was a front for commissions and kickbacks that were allegedly paid from the US manufacturer for deals with the Defence and Home Ministries.

What Sig Sauer allegedly wanted was a chunk of the 38,000-crore modernization budget created by the Home Ministry for procurement of different weapons for different police and para military forces.

Sig Sauer also wanted to bag a contract for over $1 bn or Rs. 5,500 crore from the Indian Army which wants to replace all its INSAS assault rifles. Sig and four other companies are under consideration for the deal.

:: Bharat-Rakshak.com - Indian Military News Headlines ::
This is about a decade old news, but i guess some things never change...

IMHO there was no need to replace the SLRs in the 90s with Insas. Back then Pakis were our primary adversary. They were using G-3s back then and still using that now as their standard infantry firearm.

Modernized SLRs and reverse engineered AKs (for CI role) should have been the choice in the 90s. If that would have happened, we wouldn't see the small arms mess that we find ourself in now. Instead, we went for Insas and imported AKs.

Lonewarrior

IMHO there was no need to replace the SLRs in the 90s with Insas. Back then Pakis were our primary adversary. They were using G-3s back then and still using that now as their standard infantry firearm.

Modernized SLRs and reverse engineered AKs (for CI role) should have been the choice in the 90s. If that would have happened, we wouldn't see the small arms mess that we find ourself in now. Instead, we went for Insas and imported AKs.
Leave then, then we were broke.

We still don't have any solid vision of what to do. 7.62x39mm is a very good example.