Indian Army SIG Sauer 716 assault rifle.

Bittu again fallen into liberal spectrum.

There's hardly anything we are using now that was built 50 years ago. Most of the highways, high speed internet cables and other infrastructure was actively built in the last 2 decades, using the tax money and blood and sweat of people who are alive today. We didn't inherit shit from the previous generation. What we inherited was a bloody partition, a few crores of rabid Muslims, secularism and socialism.

We had 50 years of socialism where the government's only source of income was digging coal and minerals out of the ground and distributing the income. All the service-based GDP growth we have seen post 1991 liberalization is built by Indians of today. Indians have a damn good reason to be proud of what they have built. We didn't steal it like the Americans did.
Dear Friend , I would like to tell you that
Whatever progress India made post 1991
Was Exactly because the Efforts put in by
Indians in the Earlier 4 decades

Development is not a Switch that you can turn on, Development comes from Quality of Human Resources

It is also Not about Economic and industrial policies , which are written in Files and Rules
And procedures

Otherwise Pakistan also has same economic policies like India

But they can only make Cotton Textiles

The mistake we made in first 4 decades
Was placing heavy Restrictions on Private Sector and following Import Substitution
Instead of Export promotion

For Eg South Korea followed the Exact opposite of our policy

We followed those policies because we knew that given the poverty in the society
If Private sector is given a Big Role
There will be wide Differences in Wealth and Income

Anyway that is a different topic

The good and Right things that we did
Was to create a Mature Industrial base
In various industries like power , Oil Refining , Automobiles, Pharma , Textiles
Heavy Engg , Steel , Power Generation Equipment , Agricultural equipment and Fertilisers , Coal and Iron ore mining, Railway equipment

The only new industry post 1991 is IT and Telecom

The other above mentioned industries have Grown Vertically
That is Massive increase in production .
And technological upgradation

Similarly our Strategic Sectors like DRDO
Atomic Energy and ISRO had laid down the foundations for future progress

ISRO had tested ASLV by 1990
India had tested a bomb in 1974 and we had 5 Nuclear power plants by 1990

Similar under Dr Kalam both Prithvi and Agni 1 were ready by 1990

Similarly in the field of Higher and Technical education we had a strong base by 1990

Bittu again fallen into liberal spectrum.

There's hardly anything we are using now that was built 50 years ago. Most of the highways, high speed internet cables and other infrastructure was actively built in the last 2 decades, using the tax money and blood and sweat of people who are alive today. We didn't inherit shit from the previous generation. What we inherited was a bloody partition, a few crores of rabid Muslims, secularism and socialism.

We had 50 years of socialism where the government's only source of income was digging coal and minerals out of the ground and distributing the income. All the service-based GDP growth we have seen post 1991 liberalization is built by Indians of today. Indians have a damn good reason to be proud of what they have built. We didn't steal it like the Americans did.
Obviously our progress till 1991 was slow

We could have done much more

Even after 1991 All states have not come up equally

Anyway ,it is our Good luck that Many good things happened till 1991
And because of that we could survive the Economic crisis of 1991

And also managed to Turn around our Economy in a Much Better direction

You can say that Whatever Industrial
And Human Resource Strengths we had Acquired till 1991 helped us to overcome our Weaknesses and Then led to the Service Sector Revolution post 1991

Though our Manufacturing sector has also grown substantially post 1991

But it is still Not Enough for us to become an
Industrial and Manufacturing power like China

Import lobby strikes again. I have been told that OFB made Lee Enfield was just as good as these Italian and American made sniper rifles, can hit targets out to 2000 m with the accuracy of 0.5 MOA at 100 meters.

Yeh bik gayi gormint.:tsk:

Next they import 40,000 MGs when we have home grown world class product in INSAS LMG which could be upgunned to 7.62x51mm.

PS:
On a similar note, I am planning to replace my Samsung phone and Sony TV with Micromax and Intex respectively because I am a patriot.:india2:
No, you are just not smart. Change consumer items when indigenous items of similar quality is available in comparable prices.

Btw, Sig 716 is an world class product. It is not even meant for general issue personal weapon, but for the frontline troops who regularly face the enemies. A good 7.62 rifle is need of the hour and it is great news that MoD has sanctioned them.

It does not reflect good that you have barged in the conversation without thorough understanding of the issue at hand.

No, you are just not smart. Change consumer items when indigenous items of similar quality is available in comparable prices.

Btw, Sig 716 is an world class product. It is not even meant for general issue personal weapon, but for the frontline troops who regularly face the enemies. A good 7.62 rifle is need of the hour and it is great news that MoD has sanctioned them.

It does not reflect good that you have barged in the conversation without thorough understanding of the issue at hand.
Arreh bhai @sthf can compare Lee Enfield firing 7.62x51 to .338 Lapua Magnum and 12.7x99 itself tells you just how seriously you should take him.
7.62x51 Lee Enfield hitting out to 2000m with 0.5 MOA. :rofl:

Gessler

FIRST IN DECADES: Biggest New Assault Rifle Deal For Indian Army Finally In Sight

The Indian Army’s largest infusion of basic assault rifles in recent years is finally on the horizon. Livefist can confirm that the Ministry of Defence last week signed off on paperwork that will see a deal for 72,400 SIG716 assault rifles concluded later this month with U.S. firm Sig Sauer Inc. The rifles will replace in the service INSAS with frontline infantry units. All of the rifles contracted will be manufactured at Sig Sauer’s New Hampshire facilities and supplied over the course of a single year to meet the Indian Army’s fast track requirements.

The Indian Army chose the SIG716 in September last year after a competitive process, also choosing UAE firm Caracal in a contest to supply 93,895 battle carbines. The order for 72,400 assault rifles from Sig Sauer Inc. will be the single largest contract for assault rifles since the INSAS, developed and built by the state-owned Ordnance Factor Board (OFB), entered service. The Indian Army has, over the last decade, procured a few thousand Israeli Tavor TAR-21 5.56mm assault rifles for its Special Forces and Rashtriya Rifles counter-insurgency units, but has continuously failed to land a large-scale induction of desperately needed assault rifles. The AK-47, a standard weapon across several units, will also see an upgrade, as Livefist reported recently, with the Indian and Russian governments providing finishing touches to a deal to manufacture 650,000 AK-103 assault rifles in India.

The SIG716 also be India’s first major contract for an American infantry weapon. The Indian Army has selected the SIG716 G2 Patrol, a weapon that combines the structure of the earlier SIG 516 assault rifle with a 7.62mm cartridge. The deal is said to also include a variety of accessories and optics.

With the MoD providing an-clear for the assault rifle contract with Sig Sauer Inc., it’s reasonable to expect that similar clearances will follow for the 93,895 carbine deal with UAE’s Caracal. That ill-tempered contest is being followed with a much bigger contest for similar carbines, with the Indian Army officially announcing interest in procuring 360,000 more. The M4A1 carbine, a weapon in service in small numbers with the Indian Army’s Para Special Forces, could compete alongside other contenders. Indian soldiers have had several brushes with the M4A1 over the years in the Yudh Abhyas exercise series with the U.S. Army.

Indian soldier with a US Army M4A1 at Exercise Yudh Abhyas / US ARMY PHOTO

The big contracts coming up are a major break from piecemeal procurement ethic that has bedeviled the Indian Army’s small arms procurement, a crushing irony given the huge dependence on the infantry for counter-insurgency, border patrol and anti-terror operations. After years of meandering contests and ad hoc procurements to meet emergency requirements, Indian Army chief General Bipin Rawat in 2017 is said to have taken a firm decision to fast track procurement, dividing requirements between high performance/urgent for frontline forces and slightly less advanced/license built equipment for other infantry units.

To be sure, the Army is still compelled to procure weapons in small numbers. Last month, the Indian Army revealed it had contracted for an unspecified (but undoubtedly small) number of sniper rifles for troops posted on the Line of Control with Pakistan-occupied Kashmir.

Apart from the high-number procurement of assault rifles and carbines, the Indian Army is also all set to open a contest this month for a deal for 40,000 light machineguns (LMG) to augment in the in service Israeli Negev.

https://www.livefistdefence.com/201...le-deal-for-indian-army-finally-in-sight.html
Even if only the Fast-Track rifle & carbine deals go through, we can equip over 165,000 troops with modern weapons. Small part of the whole Army, but a very huge number nonetheless. With induction of CAR-816A2 I think a lot of personnel will actually start preferring to use the carbine over a full-length rifle like INSAS.

Till now usage of Sterlings was pretty limited owing to their lack of stopping power and range to serve as a primary weapon. With the Caracal carbine in hand, all that will change.

28827008_1664680810285969_2733346958512596945_o.jpg

Also, I've a feeling that the FT Rifle deal will also usher in the first widespread usage of magnifier optics on assault rifles in the IA. The report above says optics will be included in the deal...SIG Sauer does have its own in-house optics division, so I wonder if the optics will be from their product line as well.

bravo4-front.jpg

Import lobby strikes again.
I believe your post was sarcasm. Either way, I must reiterate in case someone might take this seriously and be misled to believe in hocus-pocus.

I would concede that a well-made and well-maintained Ishapore 2A1 (based on Short-Magazine Lee Enfield [SMLE] and chambered for 7.62 Nato) can be a fairly accurate and powerful weapon for long range engagements especially if combined with a good, high-power scope of at least 6x magnification.

Indian-made Ishapore 2A1s are well-regarded in US civilian market as a good, sturdy rifle. Especially among fans and collectors of Lee Enfield types, or in general, shooters who love old, historic guns.

With that said, I would venture to say that if OFB were to produce a batch of accurized, modernized SMLEs...chances are it would be a fairly good sniper rifle that will compare favorably with British L42A1.

Although, two things -

1) It would be a good sniper by Cold War standards. Today, you have much, much better options on table. Everything is lighter, more durable, can deliver better accuracy, and easier to maintain. The IA has gone on too long without having a proper sniper's rifle to train long range marksmanship on. We've gone too long thinking of marksman rifles as sniper weapons and our soldiers ending up paying the price as they get out-shot by true, closed-bolt sniper systems on pakistani side. It's time to give IA shooters a proper sniper rifle that is truly world-class by today's standards, as this will provide a good base for us to develop our standards going forward. We don't need some stupid ad-hoc mish-mash from OFB which would be outdated by 30 years out of the box.

2) Are we to believe OFB will have the initiative or ingeniousness to even come up with such an offer?

can hit targets out to 2000 m
Any gun chambered in a 30-calibre round can manage that. Question is with what level of accuracy? If your target is the broad-side of an aircraft carrier, you don't really need a sniper's rifle do you?

with the accuracy of 0.5 MOA at 100 meters.
LOL, Let's see the range card.

I have been told that OFB made Lee Enfield was just as good as these Italian and American made sniper rifles,
Yeah right, a grandfather's .308 is just as good as a modern .338 and a .50bmg. :laugh:

Next they import 40,000 MGs when we have home grown world class product in INSAS LMG which could be upgunned to 7.62x51mm.
A world class product doesn't have almost as many stoppages/failures to feed in as many magazines.

Enquirer

Can anyone confirm if "Sig Sauer 716 G2" works in "full auto"??

Thus far all the material I've viewed (including the specs on Sig Sauer's website), the rifle is 'semi-auto'!!

mohitbhagat

Can anyone confirm if "Sig Sauer 716 G2" works in "full auto"??

Thus far all the material I've viewed (including the specs on Sig Sauer's website), the rifle is 'semi-auto'!!
Civilian market gets semi auto version, Military and law enforcement gets selective fire option

mohitbhagat

Even if only the Fast-Track rifle & carbine deals go through, we can equip over 165,000 troops with modern weapons. Small part of the whole Army, but a very huge number nonetheless. With induction of CAR-816A2 I think a lot of personnel will actually start preferring to use the carbine over a full-length rifle like INSAS.

Till now usage of Sterlings was pretty limited owing to their lack of stopping power and range to serve as a primary weapon. With the Caracal carbine in hand, all that will change.

View attachment 31567

Also, I've a feeling that the FT Rifle deal will also usher in the first widespread usage of magnifier optics on assault rifles in the IA. The report above says optics will be included in the deal...SIG Sauer does have its own in-house optics division, so I wonder if the optics will be from their product line as well.

View attachment 31566

I believe your post was sarcasm. Either way, I must reiterate in case someone might take this seriously and be misled to believe in hocus-pocus.

I would concede that a well-made and well-maintained Ishapore 2A1 (based on Short-Magazine Lee Enfield [SMLE] and chambered for 7.62 Nato) can be a fairly accurate and powerful weapon for long range engagements especially if combined with a good, high-power scope of at least 6x magnification.

Indian-made Ishapore 2A1s are well-regarded in US civilian market as a good, sturdy rifle. Especially among fans and collectors of Lee Enfield types, or in general, shooters who love old, historic guns.

With that said, I would venture to say that if OFB were to produce a batch of accurized, modernized SMLEs...chances are it would be a fairly good sniper rifle that will compare favorably with British L42A1.

Although, two things -

1) It would be a good sniper by Cold War standards. Today, you have much, much better options on table. Everything is lighter, more durable, can deliver better accuracy, and easier to maintain. The IA has gone on too long without having a proper sniper's rifle to train long range marksmanship on. We've gone too long thinking of marksman rifles as sniper weapons and our soldiers ending up paying the price as they get out-shot by true, closed-bolt sniper systems on pakistani side. It's time to give IA shooters a proper sniper rifle that is truly world-class by today's standards, as this will provide a good base for us to develop our standards going forward. We don't need some stupid ad-hoc mish-mash from OFB which would be outdated by 30 years out of the box.

2) Are we to believe OFB will have the initiative or ingeniousness to even come up with such an offer?

Any gun chambered in a 30-calibre round can manage that. Question is with what level of accuracy? If your target is the broad-side of an aircraft carrier, you don't really need a sniper's rifle do you?

Yeah right, a grandfather's .308 is just as good as a modern .338 and a .50bmg. :laugh:

A world class product doesn't have almost as many stoppages/failures to feed in as many magazines.

I say once sig and Caracal gets inducted and our soldiers gets used to with the use of optics their taste will change and majority will start liking the AR platform. Will love to see them dropping targets as far as 500m with their carbines easily

The US arm-maker SIG Sauer's SiG 716 finished with the 'L1' or lowest quote for the army's fast track procurement of 72,000 new automatic rifles.
https://www.indiatoday.in/india/sto...equip-indian-army-soldiers-1352324-2018-09-29

Tender was for automatic rifles only. It's essentially a sexed up AR 10 in SiG 516 style.

AR 10

http://blog.cheaperthandirt.com/ar-10-ar-15-differences/

SiG 716

More details on the SiG 716

https://www.militaryfactory.com/smallarms/detail.asp?smallarms_id=617

View attachment 31567

View attachment 31566

Although, two things -

This encourages me about the future of our military but terrifies me that if Modi does not win then we are effectively sabotaging our own military! VOTE guys and take 4 more with you!

View attachment 31567

View attachment 31566

Although, two things -

The entire small arms plan is a complete and utter JOKE.

FTP Rifle
FTP Carbine

Neither of which will be made in India- inexcusable that is.

Separately
Make in India Rifle
Make in India Carbine

So worst case scenario the IA could be inducting 4-5 DIFFERENT weapons for VERY similar roles.

I’ve honestly never seen anything like it and I don’t care what anyone says, this is BLATENT corruption. There is NO other logical explanation. There is no benefit to inducting so many different small arms in such limited numbers, all that does is increase training and life time ownership costs.

Scam, scam, scam is what this screams of and I don’t know why the GoI isn’t looking the other way and the media is cheerleading this along.

All because perceptions of INSAS are so bad thanks to IA b!tchjng and moaning about it from day one.

It isn’t 7.62 is their latest complaint, what short memories everyone seems to have. Maybe these geniuses shouldn’t have mindlessly aped NATO 30 years back and ASKED for a 5.56 rifle.

Maddy_9UY

FTP Rifle
FTP Carbine

Separately
Make in India Rifle
Make in India Carbine

So worst case scenario the IA could be inducting 4-5 DIFFERENT weapons for VERY similar roles.

I’ve honestly never seen anything like it and I don’t care what anyone says, this is BLATENT corruption. There is NO other logical explanation. There is no benefit to inducting so many different small arms in such limited numbers, all that does is increase training and life time ownership costs.

Scam, scam, scam is what this screams of and I don’t know why the GoI isn’t looking the other way and the media is cheerleading this along.

All because perceptions of INSAS are so bad thanks to IA b!tchjng and moaning about it from day one.

It isn’t 7.62 is their latest complaint, what short memories everyone seems to have. Maybe these geniuses shouldn’t have mindlessly aped NATO 30 years back and ASKED for a 5.56 rifle.
Exactly ... while most are calling it a major achievement .. i consider it as sad way our armed forces are being played ... we have effectively shut down any local R&D in small arms for next 20+ years with all these procurement. Also as you said 3 different calibres for similar roles would required lot of logistical and supply changes.

The cheerleading being done at the prospect of Indias entire small arms industry being effectively Killed off and the effectiveness of the army arguably decreased (now training and other revenue costs will be FAR higher per soldier/rifle) makes me wonder if these people are bought off or genuinely this ignorant.

Army is always complaining that they don’t have enough money and then they go and do something like this......

No economies of scale, no localisation of supply Chain or spare production and 100% reliant on foreign OEMs for support and the US at that.

What a giant step back for “Naya India”

Gessler

FTP Rifle
FTP Carbine

Separately
Make in India Rifle
Make in India Carbine

What it looks like to me is the sheer AVERSION/FEAR of being accused of a scam. That's why everything's having to go through a separate tender process. Otherwise it should be a simple case of giving G2G orders in larger batches to whichever companies win the FTP tenders.

I'm not inclined to see corruption in this case bro (as far as 7.62x51 MII rifle and 5.56 MII carbines go). There is not much scope for corruption in a tendered process. The one deal where there IS a possibility of some wrong-doing (either on part of GoI/Army/OFB) is in the selection of Kalashnikov as the supplier for Army's regular issue rifle (non-frontline). And then OFB getting 'nominated' by GoI, disallowing Pvt. Sector to compete.

It's not perception. It's the first-hand account of servicemen of over 3 generations (within my immediate relatives, in fact).

OFB has a typical, long-standing problem: the guns you use in testing are great. But QC drops drastically once large production orders get going. The weapons supplied to the regular jawan are simply not good. And by virtue of being a DPSU, where everyone is entitled to their pay, pension & job security REGARDLESS of the quality of their work, the OFB simply has no incentive to change or improve itself.

You have seen their production facilities. I've seen cattle-rearing sheds in villages that look better.

These are not the guys I want building our firearms. Unfortunately, their position is secured thanks to the huge consolidated vote bank they represent, and the huge clout they enjoy over the MoD and GoI at large.

True, Army is a loon when it comes to setting requirements. The US adopted 5.56 AR-15 design in the 1960s and today, almost 60 years later, the same is still in use. The Russians adopted 5.45 AK-74 in the 70s and still stick with the same calibre and action for their service rifle.

In contrast, the IA went from 7.62 SLR in the 60s, to 5.56 INSAS in the 90s, and now within a gap of few years, changed its calibre requirements 3 times. From the initial multi-calibre requirement, to the 7.62x51 requirement, and now to the split-order of 7.62 Nato and 7.62 Kalashnikov.

The fault sorely lies with the IA in not being able to decide what it wants. They are the only competent authority that can decide this and they've been doing a very, very bad job.

What local R&D? No such thing exists.

Unless you mean taking apart existing rifles and compiling a virtual mish-mash of design elements into a single, shoddily-made receiver qualifies as "R&D".

The cheerleading being done at the prospect of Indias entire small arms industry being effectively Killed off and the effectiveness of the army arguably decreased (now training and other revenue costs will be FAR higher per soldier/rifle) makes me wonder if these people are bought off or genuinely this ignorant.
How will any of this kill off the small arms industry? It needs to be noted that India's "small arms industry" revolves around production. NOT Research & Development.

R&D is almost an afterthought. Ordnance Factories typically mush together design elements from foreign guns which they already produce and that about constitutes the extent of small arms R&D in the country.

As of OFB, their future is secure. They are a DPSU, they're not going anywhere and nobody can make them go away. OFB gets to happily build Russian AK-203 and supply probably all 650,000 of them to the IA, and then several lakhs more for CAPFs, Police forces etc. OFB is happy. They just care about whether they have work or not, they don't care where that work comes from. To them R&D is a chore, if GoI buys a license for a foreign designed gun and gives the production order to OFB, then they are doubly happy. They don't even have to waste time & money on "R&D" yet they get the work!

Meanwhile, its the private industry which suffers.

If anything, there's a possibility that some genuine R&D keeping local needs in mind might emerge from the OFB-Kalashnikov JV which is set to form. Not to mention, with the 7.62 Nato and 5.56 Carbine tenders, at least 1-2 more private sector small arms production facilities will come up on the lines of Punj Llyod Raksha Systems.

These facilities hold potential to become global production hubs and R&D centers in the future.

For what it’s worth......

I know many will dismiss his comments outright.
Ofcourse I will dismiss. He's a senior executive of OFB. What do you expect him to say? Not the first or the last time that representatives of state-owned companies seen making tall claims.

I'll simply reiterate with the fact that it took the OFB over 20 years to realize the fact that they ought to anodize the receiver & other aluminium components of INSAS in order to ensure it retains its properties for longer under field conditions....not that they come with particularly great properties anyway...and a similar amount of time to realize that they ought to incorporate P-rails into the factory configuration as a means of future-proofing and having scope for cheap, easy, user-configurable upgrades & modifications down the line.

I can say on a whim that OFB is a stranger to the prevailing best-practices in the field of small arms manufacturing (let alone R&D) internationally, and shows no signs of improving.

It frankly hurts me to see these OFB reps claim themselves as being world class. Thereby straight up insulting and simply ignoring the BILLIONS of dollars poured into true, cutting-edge R&D and industry-leading production processes undertaken by companies like FN Herstal, Heckler & Koch, Colt, SIG Sauer etc. which is what earns them the rightful title of being world-class.

Along comes OFB, where R&D means making a porridge of this and that, and where production happens in a run-down warehouse somewhere and is as shoddy as they come, self-appointing themselves as world-class.

One would think a world-class company knows to machine the dust cover to properly fit the bolt carrier...

Enquirer

Army is always complaining that they don’t have enough money and then they go and do something like this......

No economies of scale, no localisation of supply Chain or spare production and 100% reliant on foreign OEMs for support and the US at that.

What a giant step back for “Naya India”
In general a country that can produce air-to-air missiles and submarines should be able to produce a good assault rifle. However, simply assuming that every claim made by OFB/DRDO is true is very naive - they always claim that whatever they produce is the 'best in its class' (a 'class' that they themselves create out of thin air that excludes the best products in the world because of specious things like color, metallurgy(use of ancient metallurgy) etc.)

That said, in the current scenario IA is partly to blame for having changed their caliber requirements very late in the game. OFB reacted by changing the barrel and claiming it's 'world class'! It's hard to imagine that an organization that took 20+ years to fix the bugs in its existing production line (of INSAS) could just up caliber the gun overnight!

OFB/DRDO are big media whores who perpetually claim "tests conducted successfully" without mentioning what exactly the test parameters were! Even if the gun doesn't fire, the fact that a magazine was successfully loaded means "tests successful"!

Further, despite all the emotional load importing of rifles causes it's price is quite a pittance! The current batch is being ordered for $72 million. Even if few other such batches are ordered it tantamounts to another couple of hundreds of millions (that'll last for 10-15 years at least!).

I've been hearing that Helina missile has had successful tests for years now! It turns out that DRDO will go back to IA in March this year apprise them how much longer it might take for the project to complete. If it takes DRDO 4-5 months just to estimate how much extra time it would need, then I shudder to think what the actual project completion date would be!

In general a country that can produce air-to-air missiles and submarines should be able to produce a good assault rifle. However, simply assuming that every claim made by OFB/DRDO is true is very naive - they always claim that whatever they produce is the 'best in its class' (a 'class' that they themselves create out of thin air that excludes the best products in the world because of specious things like color, metallurgy(use of ancient metallurgy) etc.)

That said, in the current scenario IA is partly to blame for having changed their caliber requirements very late in the game. OFB reacted by changing the barrel and claiming it's 'world class'! It's hard to imagine that an organization that took 20+ years to fix the bugs in its existing production line (of INSAS) could just up caliber the gun overnight!

OFB/DRDO are big media whores who perpetually claim "tests conducted successfully" without mentioning what exactly the test parameters were! Even if the gun doesn't fire, the fact that a magazine was successfully loaded means "tests successful"!

Further, despite all the emotional load importing of rifles causes it's price is quite a pittance! The current batch is being ordered for $72 million. Even if few other such batches are ordered it tantamounts to another couple of hundreds of millions (that'll last for 10-15 years at least!).

I've been hearing that Helina missile has had successful tests for years now! It turns out that DRDO will go back to IA in March this year apprise them how much longer it might take for the project to complete. If it takes DRDO 4-5 months just to estimate how much extra time it would need, then I shudder to think what the actual project completion date would be!
It’s honestly the most pathetic thing, a nation that can send a probe successfully to the moon and thar is trying to project itself as a rising innovation hub can’t make a half decent rifle? Obviously it CAN but for multiple reasons doesn’t want to.

This is both industry and army’s fault

Enquirer

It’s honestly the most pathetic thing, a nation that can send a probe successfully to the moon and thar is trying to project itself as a rising innovation hub can’t make a half decent rifle? Obviously it CAN but for multiple reasons doesn’t want to.

This is both industry and army’s fault
In general, I always feel that DRDO producing slightly sub-par products...like a tank being couple of tonnes heavier or a shell that lands few meters away....are all excusable.
However, there's something grossly immoral in sending a soldier into battle with a gun that jams or functions sub-par.
Despite all the chest thumping by the OFB guys, I doubt that they've ever cared about the lives that they have put at risk by their lazy/poor workmanship! If they had any sense of patriotism they would have fixed INSAS production issues long back!

Everything said and done here in forum.
I think the way it is going INDIA is going to do similar su-30 MKI like production in assault rifle.
The question is what Control we will get over this gun which we are buying.
Is the same thing will again go LIKE YOU KNOW THE GUN IS MANUFACTURED IN INDIA SO COST CAN GET Higher or if you want to produce more you have to talk to us with new terms and conditions to be taken care of.
Man this are some serious questions.
This is fucked up situation.
I thought that we were making some progress when I used to see @Kunal Biswas sir posts here.
NO HOPE to say after reading the comments above.
I am not sad but not happy either.