Indian army order Kalyani M 4 armoured vechile

mist_consecutive

Golgappe Expert
Isn't Kestrel & M4 a different class of platforms? With Kestrel more of a BMP-sized APC for greater mobility & more capacity, whereas M4 is more on a Humvee-category light-armored troop carrier?

More like Striker vs. Humvee?

Isn't Kestrel & M4 a different class of platforms? With Kestrel more of a BMP-sized APC for greater mobility & more capacity, whereas M4 is more on a Humvee-category light-armored troop carrier?

You are right
Kestrel is an IFV, I guess they meant it to replace BMP2s or want a wheeled APC/IFV, iirc we don't have any wheeled ones in the Army.

Imo for Kestrel, Stryker BMP 80/90 the IFV classification is more suited.

Aniruddha Mulay

Yup,
Tata Kestrel is an APC while the WhAP for which the RFI was issued is a wheeled IFV similar in line with the Stryker.
Kalyani/Paramount M4 is a troop carrier similar to the Oshkosh JLTV.
Each Tata Kestrel is going to cost around Rs.23 crore.

SUPERPOWER

Yup,
Tata Kestrel is an APC while the WhAP for which the RFI was issued is a wheeled IFV similar in line with the Stryker.
Kalyani/Paramount M4 is a troop carrier similar to the Oshkosh JLTV.
Each Tata Kestrel is going to cost around Rs.23 crore.
If cost is a big problem ..Than who told Tata develop an APC . They should have gone something similar to Stryker...This how you demotivate you indian industry and no one to get associated with Indian forces...ultimately table niche se paisa mila to stryker otherwise gypsy to hai hi..Somalian forces is have better APC than our Armed forces.

Marliii

Better to die on your feet than live on your knees
If cost is a big problem ..Than who told Tata develop an APC . They should have gone something similar to Stryker...This how you demotivate you indian industry and no one to get associated with Indian forces...ultimately table niche se paisa mila to stryker otherwise gypsy to hai hi..Somalian forces is have better APC than our Armed forces.
Dude before making these comparisons please note that pakis actively search these threads and your providing them material .

Do we guys have any equivalent of US Armed forces’ Humvee? It is their doctrine to use Humvee type vehicles for troop transportation and other offensive uses. We hardly have I guess.

Akula

Do we guys have any equivalent of US Armed forces’ Humvee? It is their doctrine to use Humvee type vehicles for troop transportation and other offensive uses. We hardly have I guess.
Tata LSV and Mahindra ASLV.