Indian Army: News and Discussion

Parochial and biased article by EX Mud Corps officer in frustration

sir... so theres no pro rata policy...??
Whatever policy Army has to follow to run the organization can not be decided Ajay Shukla or the journalist There are procedures for what ever has been adopted as a policy must have gone through that procedure. Finally MoD has accepted that...

Ajay Shukla represents a miniscule minority who want to have all cakes. He has neither the moral ground nor logic to follow his arguments. Having been shunned by the Army, he is catching on to the proverbial straw of miniscule minority.

Minority to have all the cake is simply nonsense..

Why is Ajay Shukla promoting the Career intrest of an individual?? It is for the Govt to decide who would be the Army Commander and where ?

The drive, though implemented with a motive to saving lives and minimizing casualties, had initially faced opposition from sections of the society who claimed that the Army has no right to implement the helmet imposition within the city limits.
posse comitatus - India Real Time - WSJ

In the U.S., using the military for domestic law enforcement purposes is illegal because of an 1878 law known as the Posse Comitatus Act.

But in India, where the government is under attack by a fierce Maoist insurgency and is weighing all options, the idea of mobilizing the Army to quell the violence has lately gotten some consideration at the highest levels.

Now, it appears the Indian government has decided that sending in the Army isn't the way to go after all. Home Secretary G.K. Pillai said Tuesday in Chhattisgarh that there is no need to deploy the Indian Army to battle the Naxal insurgency that is now raging in parts of nearly a dozen states.
OK for IA to check helmets, but not Naxals?

Neil

ODE TO AN ARMY OFFICER

Dedicated to all those unknown unsung and unwept soldiers:

For you contours are easy to read than the city maps ,
You feel comfortable in jungles and get lost in metros.
For you time is in hundred hours, 3' O clock is a direction,
Distance is always in multiples of hundred meters and you keep on loosing North.
When people meet near pubs, cafes and discs.
You meet near water tanks, bridges and survey trees.
For you Kenwood and Motorola are familiar brands of Radio sets
And Apple and Blackberry are fruits.
You never knew cars, mobiles and bikes also had series.
The only series you know is the AK's.
You remember names of all Tanzeems,
but do not know the name of IPL teams.
Stamps on your passport are of Congo and Sudan
where as others go to US, UK and Japan.
You remember the raising days,
but forget the anniversaries and birthdays.
When others talk of CEO and COO,
You only know C with only one O.
For you lol and asap is greek
and you even look for them in Appx 'C'.
When others talk of Pune, Bangalore and Gurgaon
you talk of Poonch, Bimbat and Bongaigaon.
For you, The Safety Honour and Welfare of your Country comes first ,
Always and Every Time
and women will be from Venus and not from Mars,
always and every time.
For you green and blue are own,
Red and pink are danger zones.
For you the choice of arms was more painful than the break up
and chasing girls tougher than the march up.
You will travel 500 miles to meet her ,
But will expect her to walk the last five steps.
You can take darbar of 120 rusty men for three hours,
But will be afraid to speak three magical words.
You will crack any code or language,
But one line message of her's
with few dots and exclamation marks will confuse you.
For all those who thinks he is a flirt,
He will be the last man standing,
True to his vows and words........

India to deploy 50,000 additional troops along China border
NEW DELHI: Boosting Army's war fighting capabilities along the line of actual control (LAC), the government on Wednesday has given the go ahead to the creation of a corps including deployment of 50,000 additional troops along the China border at a cost of around Rs 65,000 crore.

The Cabinet committee on security headed by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh cleared the proposal in its meeting, sources told PTI.
India to deploy 50,000 additional troops along China border - The Times of India

some sources are saying 40k some are saying 45k and few saying 50k. whats the actual number?
That is not clear.
The exact number will not be declared.
The numbers are speculative as the corps will command two divisions and based on the fact the numbers are derived by media houses.
A division has 15000 combat troops and 8000 support elements ( acc. to wiki). But the strength of a division is never uniform or constant, and variations are there.( attachments and detachments).

So, according to which number you consider for a division, the total strength will vary.

But, I have limited knowledge in this field, so I will expect any knowledgeable member to explain properly.

That is not clear.
The exact number will not be declared.
The numbers are speculative as the corps will command two divisions and based on the fact the numbers are derived by media houses.
A division has 15000 combat troops and 8000 support elements ( acc. to wiki). But the strength of a division is never uniform or constant, and variations are there.( attachments and detachments).

So, according to which number you consider for a division, the total strength will vary.

But, I have limited knowledge in this field, so I will expect any knowledgeable member to explain properly.
also the hindu reported that two independent infantry division are now operational(other then the one to be raised after clearance) along with their centers in assam and west bengal- panagarh.

this makes the hike post 2009-10 going up to 75,000. (assume 15k per division in assam and WB).

also the hindu reported that two independent infantry division are now operational(other then the one to be raised after clearance) along with their centers in assam and west bengal- panagarh.

this makes the hike post 2009-10 going up to 75,000. (assume 15k per division in assam and WB).
There is more to it

Indian army proposes increasing strength by one lakh troops
Under the Army proposal, which is likely to cost over Rs 60,000 crore, the Army has sought Government's sanction for raising a mountain strike corps and four mountain divisions.
The Army is also planning to deploy two independent armoured brigades in Uttarakhand and Ladakh.
Indian army proposes increasing strength by one lakh troops - India - DNA

And

http://newindianexpress.com/thesundaystandard/article1494986.ece

[video]http://www.ndtv.com/video/player/watan-ke-rakhwale/video-story/285516?hphin[/video]

गोरखा राइफल्स के ताकतवर और चौकन्ने जवानों और उनकी गतिविधियों के बारे में बता रहे हैं राजीव रंजन 'वतन के रखवाले' में।

Sridhar

House keeper
Army planning to raise a porter company in Arunachal

16:43 HRS IST

Itanagar, Aug 25 (PTI) The Indian Army is planning to raise a company, consisting of 600 people, which would cater to the requirement of porters in western Arunachal Pradesh.

The Army's 19 Grenadier unit is nominated to raise one porter company for which a special recruitment rally would be organised from September 9 to 15 at Bogdo in West Siang district, official sources informed here today.

Candidates from the state and outside as well can participate in the the rally.

fullstory

drkrn

Militant attack kills CRPF trooper and policeman in J-K : North, News - India Today

A policeman and a paramilitary trooper were killed and another trooper injured in two separate attacks by militants in Jammu and Kashmir on Monday, police said.

Separatist guerrillas struck in south Kashmir's Shopian, killing a Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) trooper and injuring another.

A senior police officer told IANS that militants attacked the security escort vehicle of a sitting lawmaker in Shopian.

"Militants fired at the escort vehicle of Showkat Ahmad Ganai, MLC (member of legislative council) in Aweneaura village. One CRPF jawan, posted for Ganai's security was killed, while another, the driver of the vehicle, was injured in the attack.

"The legislator was inside a local house when the attack occurred," the officer said.

Earlier, a police constable was killed and a civilian was injured in south Kashmir's Anantnag district when guerrillas fired at a special operations group (SOG) team of the state police.

The incident occurred in Arwani village of Anantnag, 50 km from here.

No guerrilla group has so far owned responsibility for these attacks.

Read more at: Militant attack kills CRPF trooper and policeman in J-K : North, News - India Today