[*]861 Regiment (BrahMos Block I, deployed in north Rajasthan area)
[*]862 Regiment (BrahMos Block II, deployed in south Rajasthan area)
[*]863 Regiment (BrahMos Block II)
[*]864 Regiment (BrahMos Block III, ordered for Arunachal Pradesh area)
[*]
I am quoting Vats Rohit and expanding it Click Here for LinkHow many regiments an artilary div comprise in indian army structure ?
The 'Red Eagle' Division (4 RAPID) insignia can be seen on the armoured buldozer during Kanpur train crash,2016View attachment 53775
36th RAPID (Sagar, Madhya Pradesh)
![]()
T-90s belonging to 36th RAPID (probably 2020 Army Day celebrations)
![]()
4th 'Red Eagle' Infantry Division was to be converted to 4th RAPID
![]()
T-90s belonging to 4th RAPID at Defence Expo 2020, Prayag/Allahabad
So we have just 16 launchers of brahmos.?I am quoting Vats Rohit and expanding it Click Here for Link
To quickly summarize the above, the ORBAT of an artillery division looks something like below:
2 x Gun Brigades
------- Medium Regiments (eg: 155 mm Bofors Regiment)
------- Field Regiments (eg: 105mm LFG)
------- Light Regiments (eg: 120mm Mortar)
1 x Rocket Brigade
------- with 1 or 2 Rocket Regiments
1 x Missile Brigade
------- with 1 or 2 Missile Regiment
1 x SATA Regiment
Each Regiment has 3 Batteries
Each Battery is 6 guns/ Launchers. (So each regiment has 18 gunsllaunchers)
Except Smerch Regiment which has 12 launchers
Missile Regiment of Brahmos has 4 launchers
So we have just 16 launchers of brahmos.?
What about this article
Either your information is wrong or Parrikar got it wrong.![]()
Army to have 2 more regiments of Brahmos missile: Manohar Parrikar
The Defence Minister was speaking to reporters on the sidelines of the commissioning ceremony for the 50th batch of medical graduates of all three forces.m.economictimes.com
Quote from the article
Two more regiments of the short-range supersonic cruise missile, Brahmos, will be inducted into Army within next fifteen days, Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar said here today.
"The process of induction of two more regiments (of Brahmos missile) in the Indian Army is in the final stage and within 15 days, these regiments will be inducted in Indian Army," he said.
Army is already equipped with three regiments of Block III version of Brahmos missiles. The proposed induction will upgrade its air defence capabilities."
Something is fishy don't you think.
Read more at:Sources said the Cabinet Committee on Security, chaired by PM Narendra Modi, cleared this fourth BrahMos regiment at a cost of over Rs 4,300 crore. The regiment consists of around 100 missiles, five mobile autonomous launchers on 12x12 heavy-duty trucks and a mobile command post, among other hardware and software.
I am pretty sure by now we have close to 100 launchers in total. And more than 1000 missiles for army not counting navy. If navy is counted then i don't know . As I don't know anybody in navy. Each regiment have different number of launchers and there reload missiles. 1st regiment had the lowest number of 5 launchers , 2nd regiment 18-24 launchers and 3 Rd regiment close to 24-30 launchers. 4th regiment close to 24-30 launchers. Parrikar ji was speaking at army event and I am sure he didn't get it wrong besides my article link is from 2018 but the event happened at 2016. There are many articles about that on net. So adding 2 regiment he simply means what you are saying I think, aka 24 launchers in total.I may be wrong, but here is it
Most reports stated and I believed that
1 Regiment = 3 Batteries
1 Battery = 4 Launchers
Therefore 1 Regiment = 3 battery x 4 launcher x 3 missiles = 36 missiles
But I have not come across concrete proofs (like official Brahmos posters) depicting a Regiment with 3 batteries or 12 launchers
Only official depiction is of 4 (or 6) launchers with 3 missiles each.
![]()
Some reports support the same
Read more at:
https://economictimes.indiatimes.co...ofinterest&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=cppst
Further regarding Parikar's statement, I have only analysed info thats publicly visible. In this case parade recordings. From that I stated that 1889 regiment has moved from South Western Command to Eastern Army Command.
Reposting my post from another Brahmos thread
2016 : 1889 Missile Regiment (Brahmos) appears for first time in republic day parade
Formation Sign is of 42nd Artillery Division under 1 Corps (Mathura)
![]()
May 2017: South Western Command / 1 Corps (Mathura) test Brahmos in Andaman
Jan 2019: 1889 Missile Regiment appears at Kolkata Republic Day under formation sign of Eastern Army Command
![]()
May 2019 : Eastern Command conducts test
Me thinks that the 1889 Brahmos Regiment was/is loaned or transferred from South Western Command/ 1 Corps to Eastern Command /17 Corps
Also note that the 2017 test was of Block 3 which was needed in mountains.
The 1 Strike Corps which operates in plains of Punjab, Rajasthan, Gujrat didnt need this capability at all.
The eastern command does need that ability.
I think he wanted to say two batteries of the 4th regiment? That would make more sense.I am pretty sure by now we have close to 100 launchers in total. And more than 1000 missiles for army not counting navy. If navy is counted then i don't know . As I don't know anybody in navy. Each regiment have different number of launchers and there reload missiles. 1st regiment had the lowest number of 5 launchers , 2nd regiment 18-24 launchers and 3 Rd regiment close to 24-30 launchers. 4th regiment close to 24-30 launchers. Parrikar ji was speaking at army event and I am sure he didn't get it wrong besides my article link is from 2018 but the event happened at 2016. There are many articles about that on net. So adding 2 regiment he simply means what you are saying I think, aka 24 launchers in total.
So one land based IAF Brahmos SSM squadron will be based at Tezpur.After the induction of two SU-30 MKI squadrons, now a squadron of Akash Missile has been introduced to the Tezpur Air Force base, while Brahmos missiles would be inducted into the base in the near future, Defence spokesperson Tezpur Lt Col Sombit Ghosh said.
Read this article of 2010 to get an idea how difficult is to find exact number of Brahmos launchers. Each regiment have different numbers of launchers and missiles. The number of brahmos isn't in open because some of the Brahmos missiles are nuclear tipped. It's a mess what I would like to call.I think he wanted to say two batteries of the 4th regiment? That would make more sense.
I was also interested in Land Based Brahmos units that IAF operates. Rarely does anyone speak or hear of them. But google ssearch is messed up because all results are of Thanjavur Sukhoi squadron having brahmos
IAF calls them Brahmos SSM (surface to surface missile)
Army has regiments/batteries, Air Force calls them Squadrons/Flights
One such Brahmos SSM Squadron is based in Abmala
Listen around 2:35
Seen here during 2016 visit by preisdent at Ambala
View attachment 54142
I believe that there are three such squadrons,
one in north east
one in west
one in south west
and people say we have less number of cruise missiles against China.Read this article of 2010 to get an idea how difficult is to find exact number of Brahmos launchers. Each regiment have different numbers of launchers and missiles. The number of brahmos isn't in open because some of the Brahmos missiles are nuclear tipped. It's a mess what I would like to call.
Ofcourse IAF too have brahmos along with Prithvi missiles but these are different from army numbers. If you count in total army and airforce - I would again say more close to 100 launchers in service and 1000+ missile. Total order for brahmos has crossed 32000 crore in 2018. I don't know if navy + airforce orders are included in this. But I think they are.
Thread starter | Similar threads | Forum | Replies | Date |
---|---|---|---|---|
E | The Indian Army and paranormal activities, UFO and the Yeti! | Indian Army | 4 | |
W | Indian army should buy Galil ACE 7. 62 x 51 mm assault rifle | Indian Army | 4 | |
W | New 7. 62 x 51 mm assault rifle coming into Indian army service | Indian Army | 0 | |
W | 500 armed robots to Indian army | Indian Army | 0 |