Indian Army Artillery

ARVION MK 1A

You are absolutely correct. but you know.....
No matter how good food you serve to a Dog but still Dog will go to dust bin to search left over food. This is what our Armed forces has become.
Yesterday hellfire was making statements about how Good the BEML CKD Heavy duty's Trucks are who got additional orders. Even through the Tata tucks and Leyland Trucks contract for the artillery transports.

What is the increase in fuel bill with 1000 howitzers @ few tonnes extra weight

Versus the benefits of additional performance and completely indigenous product

And question stand - if we can afford and are able to operate 100 (and possibly much more more) K9 SP, why is logistics such an issue for a few hundred 155mm towed guns weighing 1/3rd as much
It's a 5 Ton difference not just few . Almost 40% increase in comparison to ATHOS .

There is no additional performance they have simply increased the barrel size to get more range.

K 9 purpose is completely different nor it requires to be towed.

The question stands in the book of morons who are comparing two complete opposite requirements.

Imagine some one using indigenous weapon pic on his profile but doing dalali lol.

Yes 2 rs Chirkut I am getting paid to promote ATHOS go and get a job for yourself too.

You are a champion in changing goal post. Having Conversation with you like playing boxing match where you go corner to corner and post to post.
First you said ToT but failed to explain why we need that technology
2) You want ATHOS because it is low weight but hide the fact that ATHOS's range is far less than ATAGs.
3) Now you brought logistic problem but fails to explain why ATAGs is logistic nightmare but not the ATHOS. Though ATAGs have better transmission/ electronics/APU
4) Then you brought issue of diesel payment ??

You have habit of showing DRDO product in negative light by hiding informations.
1) ATHOS range and accuracy is even lesser than Dhanush so forget ATAGs. ATHOS maximum fire range is 40 km ( BB ) while normal range with standard rounds 30km. ATHOS fire rate is lesser. not certified for Charge 7 ( at least cant use regularly )
2) ATHOS is outdated gun
3) ATAGs is different gun compare to ATHOS except Barrel size.
4) If Army need sturdy gun then why their ass is itching now if wait reaches 18 ton( which is also a lie ) ?? ATAG can fire Charge 7 round nonstop, better Transmission better accuracy, better APU then weight is also high. Same Army did with Arjun, ask everything in system and cry for overweight.

Modi has cemented the loophole of kickback money to our Generals so they are desperate to sabotage indigenous product. Barrels burst of ATAGs was deliberate attempt by IA/lobby but unfortunately failed miserably.

I think Armed forces should start accepting local product gracefully before Modi start inserting them from behind forcefully. China standoff has exposed our Armed forces badly.

Lol, Get yourself treated first.

As far as range is concerned that is also dependent on the calibre size. For e.g. ATHOS can be used to fire 52 Cal Excalibur round and range extended to 50 km around. While Dhanush with 45 cal can reach 40-45 km easily.

Good thing is now atleast you know ATAGS and Dhanush are two different gun and it is Dhanush which was ordered.

Not just that now you have even declared ATHOS outdated 😂.

Similar was said abt NAG and Helina Atgm for years they are no. 1 blah blah lol and still in dev.

And army ordered Spike finally after a delay of decade thanks to idiots around.

Cost of some extra fuel would be probably less than cost of managing imported artillery every year.
Even Dhanush is upgraded version of Bofors but made in India. If we decide to build any gun here in India all we need to ensure is we have a spare parts supply chain and it is built here. This can be done with ATHOS too.

To carry 5 Ton extra through trucks in mountain region isn't joke. But idiots can crack it.

Bharat 52 provide much better solution instead with 15 T around weight and army will probably go for it.

vishnugupt

Lol, Get yourself treated first.

As far as range is concerned that is also dependent on the calibre size. For e.g. ATHOS can be used to fire 52 Cal Excalibur round and range extended to 50 km around. While Dhanush with 45 cal can reach 40-45 km easily.

Good thing is now atleast you know ATAGS and Dhanush are two different gun and it is Dhanush which was ordered.

Not just that now you have even declared ATHOS outdated 😂.

Similar was said abt NAG and Helina Atgm for years they are no. 1 blah blah lol and still in dev.

And army ordered Spike finally after a delay of decade thanks to idiots around.
Even Elbit say maximum range 40 km with BB Ammunition but Congratulations, your mouth has finally managed to fire till 50km .

Show me where I mix between ATAGs and Dhanush??

Yes, ATHOS is out dated because modern 155/52 gun fire beyond 45 km now days easily.

its better if don't bring NAG and HeliNa. Every one knows here Spike failed during summer trials for 2.5km range target whereas Army asked 4 km range for NAG ( Double standards ). so it is up to Army if they want it or not.

Even Dhanush is upgraded version of Bofors but made in India. If we decide to build any gun here in India all we need to ensure is we have a spare parts supply chain and it is built here. This can be done with ATHOS too.

To carry 5 Ton extra through trucks in mountain region isn't joke. But idiots can crack it.

Bharat 52 provide much better solution instead with 15 T around weight and army will probably go for it.
Everyone knows Dhanush is upgraded version of Bofors. maybe you came to know much later than anyone here.
I am asking you from yesterday what Technology you are giving us through ATHOS ???? so you lecturing on parts , spares, supply chain??? we already have all this .... Come on wake yourself up?

Is that Truck told you Carrying 5 ton extra isn't joke ?? or you just change goal post?? wherever your ATHOS can be pulled by truck so as ATAGs. In Ladakh roads are barely few km away from LAC so where is the problem?

If Bharat 52 is better option then we should buy it who is opposing it?. But Why are you keep crying for ATHOS all the time.

Let me explain you DRDO point of view again:...... ATHOS and ATAGs need same logistics and having difficulty in carrying into mountains . They both need paved road. So which Gun will offer better fire power from road side as roads are usually 6-10 km behind the border ( Suppose Arunachal Pradesh)??? Of course its ATAGs and same apply everywhere until gun could carried by Helicopter/Truck or C 130j Hercules.

Even Elbit say maximum range 40 km with BB Ammunition but Congratulations, your mouth has finally managed to fire till 50km .

Show me where I mix between ATAGs and Dhanush??

Yes, ATHOS is out dated because modern 155/52 gun fire beyond 45 km now days easily.

its better if don't bring NAG and HeliNa. Every one knows here Spike failed during summer trials for 2.5km range target whereas Army asked 4 km range for NAG ( Double standards ). so it is up to Army if they want it or not.

Everyone knows Dhanush is upgraded version of Bofors. maybe you came to know much later than anyone here.
I am asking you from yesterday what Technology you are giving us through ATHOS ???? so you lecturing on parts , spares, supply chain??? we already have all this .... Come on wake yourself up?

Is that Truck told you Carrying 5 ton extra isn't joke ?? or you just change goal post?? wherever your ATHOS can be pulled by truck so as ATAGs. In Ladakh roads are barely few km away from LAC so where is the problem?

If Bharat 52 is better option then we should buy it who is opposing it?. But Why are you keep crying for ATHOS all the time.

Let me explain you DRDO point of view again:...... ATHOS and ATAGs need same logistics and having difficulty in carrying into mountains . They both need paved road. So which Gun will offer better fire power from road side as roads are usually 6-10 km behind the border ( Suppose Arunachal Pradesh)??? Of course its ATAGs and same apply everywhere until gun could carried by Helicopter/Truck or C 130j Hercules.

***deleted by mod***

Excalibur is a GPS guided extended range round which we import from USA. Its current range has been tested till 70 km now for 52 Cal.

Pig benis on sushy

This guy still doesn't make any sense watch his video first things to notice Drdo said it's gonna deliver ATAGS after 18 monthes after orders given while the trials are going on . This guys says we need Athos now coz of conflict with chindi my question how come you induct an artillery without any proper trials warna ATAGS ki testing ke bina hi induct kar lete open me dalali kar raha hai ye in the end he just wanna say that induct Athos point here both Athos and ATAGS can be made by private player Kalyani,Tata drdo with check the quality as said by drdo itself

We have enough Arty guns for a 2 front war so what if not all are in the 155/52 category.

ATHOS apart from being lighter and maybe cheaper on paper brings little more than what is already in our inventory and piling fast.

Sharang and Dhanush if MoD, OFB willing will fill the operational requirements in very little time.

From the chatter going on, ATHOS is out though it technically won the IA Arty procurement program.

why not develop long range automatic 40mm grenade launchers as artillery???

Pig benis on sushy

We have enough Arty guns for a 2 front war so what if not all are in the 155/52 category.

ATHOS apart from being lighter and maybe cheaper on paper brings little more than what is already in our inventory and piling fast.

Sharang and Dhanush if MoD, OFB willing will fill the operational requirements in very little time.

From the chatter going on, ATHOS is out though it technically won the IA Arty procurement program.
Question here ain't about price , Athos fast delivery questions here is how can it be inducted (which is very likely) without proper trails like ATAGS . Now if army says it will induct and while it is inducted trails will be done that's really discrimination

Trials have been done and dusted. The contest was between Elbit ATHOS and Nexter Trajan.

ATHOS emerged as L1. If the contract is inked, they will export a certain number of guns and the rest will be made/assembled with wait-a-min, Kalyani.

Ball lie's in MoD's court followed by FinMin. Army has already green lighted the ATHOS.

Trust me, there is a 0.000001% of the ATHOS making it. Yehudi's will be offered something else of a similar sum and placated.

max range is 500 metres, why not make 40 mm artillery with airburst rounds with high range?
for a shell to travel in a predictable trajectory it needs a minimum weight based on distance it is expected to travel. Minimum weight also includes the propellant charge and the explosive

Since we are anyways spending so much energy in sending a large projectile, might as well send a few kgs of explosives rather than few grams, considering even with all the weight the projectile is bound to deviate by a few metres given the wind conditions along the trajectory, there by increasing the probability of kill ratio.

for a shell to travel in a predictable trajectory it needs a minimum weight based on distance it is expected to travel. Minimum weight also includes the propellant charge and the explosive

Since we are anyways spending so much energy in sending a large projectile, might as well send a few kgs of explosives rather than few grams, considering even with all the weight the projectile is bound to deviate by a few metres given the wind conditions along the trajectory, there by increasing the probability of kill ratio.
ok