Indian Air Force: News & Discussions

iNorthernerOn9

More sobering news emerged from the IAF CAS’ Press Conference:

1) The six A321-based AEW & CS Mk.2s will be delivered only by 2030(starting late 2026).

2) Su-30MKI upgrade will take off only by 2025.

3) The IAF continues to ASSUME that components of 114 Gen-4.5 MRFAs can be licence-built by Indian vendors. Consequently, instead of procuring additional Rafales under a G-to-G contract, the stage is now set for another round of time-consuming RFP release & competitive evaluations.

Regarding the Su-30MKI upgrade: Only the fire-control, weapons management and self-protection avionics suites will be upgraded (replacing Russia-origin hardware and software) using dual redundant MIL-STD-1553B databus-based architecture, along with MIL-STD-1760 stores (weapons) interfaces. The Su-30MKI’s data handling system (DHS) and digital flight-control computer for fly-by-wire flight-control, which use the GOST 26765.52-87 databus protocol (Russian equivalent of MIL-STD-1553B), will be retained, since Russia has not shared the source-codes of its DHS with the IAF and HAL.

DRDO had back in 2015 proposed that its own ‘desi’ IDAS self-protection would be ready for installation by 2017. While DARE has co-developed the MAWS with ELBIT Systems & the ‘Dhruti’ RWR has been developed by DARE, the laser warning system has yet to be developed by DARE. In other words, the DRDO has prevented the fitment of SaabTech’s IDAS on the LCHs. And mind you, even the HAL-developed single-engined LUH requires a self-protection suite, but there’s no word from HAL about its progress.

There's no word on 2 extremely important platforms: ISTAR & Airborne Stand-off Jammer aircraft.

Pakis will induct a modern SOJ(based on Turkish HAVASOJ) by end 2024 or mid 2025. They have already acquired the platform for that.

We learnt absolutely nothing from the events that followed Balakot.

IAF's adamancy at license manufacturing /assembling an imported MRFA is a time killing exercise which is destined to fail. You are simply a fool if you think you will be able to manufacture/assemble it here at the same cost at which you can have it in flyaway condition from its OEM's home facility.

But... IAF being a "Rich" Airforce can afford.

Sorry to say... but as I see it... we are moving towards another disaster/debacle.

1) The six A321-based AEW & CS Mk.2s will be delivered only by 2030(starting late 2026).

3) The IAF continues to ASSUME that components of 114 Gen-4.5 MRFAs can be licence-built by Indian vendors. Consequently, instead of procuring additional Rafales under a G-to-G contract, the stage is now set for another round of time-consuming RFP release & competitive evaluations.

Regarding the Su-30MKI upgrade: Only the fire-control, weapons management and self-protection avionics suites will be upgraded (replacing Russia-origin hardware and software) using dual redundant MIL-STD-1553B databus-based architecture, along with MIL-STD-1760 stores (weapons) interfaces. The Su-30MKI’s data handling system (DHS) and digital flight-control computer for fly-by-wire flight-control, which use the GOST 26765.52-87 databus protocol (Russian equivalent of MIL-STD-1553B), will be retained, since Russia has not shared the source-codes of its DHS with the IAF and HAL.

DRDO had back in 2015 proposed that its own ‘desi’ IDAS self-protection would be ready for installation by 2017. While DARE has co-developed the MAWS with ELBIT Systems & the ‘Dhruti’ RWR has been developed by DARE, the laser warning system has yet to be developed by DARE. In other words, the DRDO has prevented the fitment of SaabTech’s IDAS on the LCHs. And mind you, even the HAL-developed single-engined LUH requires a self-protection suite, but there’s no word from HAL about its progress.

There's no word on 2 extremely important platforms: ISTAR & Airborne Stand-off Jammer aircraft.

Pakis will induct a modern SOJ(based on Turkish HAVASOJ) by end 2024 or mid 2025. They have already acquired the platform for that.

IAF's adamancy at license manufacturing /assembling an imported MRFA is a time killing exercise which is destined to fail. You are simply a fool if you think you will be able to manufacture/assemble it here at the same cost at which you can have it in flyaway condition from its OEM's home facility.

Sorry to say... but as I see it... we are moving towards another disaster/debacle.
Meh keh raha hu. IAF will bring shame

johnj

At least IAF having, buying best transport aircrafts. lol.

I see you like to quote Prasun Sengupta verbatim here

Just one problem, if avionics is being upgraded with MIL STDD 1553, then how come data handling bus for FBW is still GOST?

And if we didnt have the knowhow for replacing russian firmware, pray tell how the MIG27 UPG was done to enable the latter to handle Western armaments.

Woh banda KUCH bhi pelta hai and we accept it like distilled nectar from the Vedas.

BHAK

And as far as airborne jammer aircraft and dedicated ELINT platforms - thus usually fall under the purview of ARC and do not merit mention in the press. AFAIK we received 3 brand new platforms courtesy US firms LM Boeing and Raytheon, and they have been used/are being used to monitor Chinese dispositions

jai jaganath

And as far as airborne jammer aircraft and dedicated ELINT platforms - thus usually fall under the purview of ARC and do not merit mention in the press. AFAIK we received 3 brand new platforms courtesy US firms LM Boeing and Raytheon, and they have been used/are being used to monitor Chinese dispositions
Are u serious

iNorthernerOn9

Am not talking of your everyday ELINT aircraft... am talking of ISTAR(Pic 1)👇 3 of which were to be operated by IAF... & am aware of those aircraft that are operated by ARC based on bombardier 5000(Pic 2)

Screenshot_20221006-102508_Chrome.jpg

images (2).jpeg

& in my knowledge there's no Airborne-SOJ aircraft with IAF

8 October hota hai na vayusena diwas , kaash abhi jamnagar me hota . Wahan ke airforce school me.
Station commander aake speech dete the Fir , airforce ke firebrigade wale apne fire truck ke hose se fountain chodte, dekhne me acha lagta tha. Aur sabhi students ko chocolates etc bhi milte the
Plus, aerodrome bhi lekar jaate the class ko agar airforce wale allow karte the to
@binayak95. Sir ins valsura kis command ke under ata hai ?