Indian Air Force: News & Discussions

froogies should simply screw baboons in SB for all their arrogance in taking OEM for arm twisting thinking they can keep on fooling by issuing endless tenders for MCA MRCA MMRCA and now What MCA again and trying to fleece maximum .

Ab dekho Froggies got order for 80 jets without any one out stupid clause and from partner who don't behave like a GF who is throwing tantrums trying to suck your blood out .

DA should simply say foook off come and stand behind the line and show us the right place where we belong.

On the flip side now since the French got the deal , India might have tough time to negotiate with them ..Also the timelines of acquiring the aircrafts might also increase from 3 to 5 years ..
Good for MK2

L@ude ka good , Don't try to cover up our laziness and lethargy in the name of goodness . apna DPSU baboons don't have such energy to go through anything seriously beyond one lunch two punch in their day to day activities warna who the hell on earth would sit with Bofors blue print under their bums for decades when entire arty induction plans is under never ending mess and then suddenly come out with when another product is considered .

but we are good indians

THESIS THORON

L@ude ka good , Don't try to cover up our laziness and lethargy in the name of goodness . apna DPSU baboons don't have such energy to go through anything seriously beyond one lunch two punch in their day to day activities warna who the hell on earth would sit with Bofors blue print under their bums for decades when entire arty induction plans is under never ending mess and then suddenly come out with when another product is considered .
1638552453702.jpeg

destructodisc

Good for us isn't it? We need mass production of Tejas Mk2-Astra mk2 combo. Forget Rafale and spend more money on R&d to expedite the induction. For every J11 and J16, there should be 3 Tejas mk2.
yeah man why not , i imagine a beautiful october sunny morning having breakfast in my garden with my wife, hearing the roar of a 414 in a tejas mk2 in the skies of Gwalior, i will say to myself "what great year 2037 is proving to be".

do you know what the killing part is? "even in imagination its a fucking f414"

Tridev123

Amazing how are we even comparing a SE non existing MK2 with Proven ME Rafale ? Just asking first someone said MK2 will be better than Mirage2k now i am hearing MK2 will be better than Rafale . Waaaw and i am sure our baboons would sell another snake oil saying MK2 would cost just half of Rafale so you can buy 2 in the price of 1 .

I know some holes in south block might have got tatti frozen now after seeing all their super mumbo jumbo calculations getting blow away with this UAE deal . But then we deserve what we get .

Call for global tender and take 10 years of non stop bla bla trails and then declare a winner and then arm twist them by tie up with local partner who man hours can't match the original OEMs level and force them to produce bulk of the order here .

After few years cancel the order and throw a piece meal 36 jet order and bla bla ISE specifications and then sit on follow on order quietly trying to see how much more you can arm twist the OEM seeing their desperation for follow on order

Thrown all unbelievable demands like revive our Jet engine program share all our technology give it to us free we won't invest $300 million you do it all and just give it to us on plate .

And now you sit and watch someone place order for 80 Jets without any one of those arm twisting rules and wonder what went wrong .

you let baboons run the show you will get such results
Bro, you have been putting out a series of posts filled with vitriol against the system. I concede some of your points are valid especially the OFB babus sitting on the blueprints of the original Bofors howitzer for decades without putting it to use.
An classic case of apathy.

But are you giving any suggestions for improvement. There is a lot that can be improved in the entire defence apparatus, no doubt.

But will simply only throwing shit on everything serve the purpose.

Do you believe that India should become technologically independent like the developed powers in Europe and N. America. Or should we not even consider the objective of self reliance in defence and follow countries like the U. A. E.

Simply by fast decision making and placing an very large order for foreign combat aircraft does the U. A. E become smarter than India.

Our objectives of trying to gain new technologies from the OEM in exchange while placing large orders for defence systems is not perse flawed.

Do you want people to believe that you believe in licking the boots of the whites.
So what ever we do is wrong and whatever they do is right.

If the Chinese had followed your strategy of sub servience to the whites then they could never have reached the position that they are in. Having a multi trillion economy next only to the US and a rapidly developing defence industry.

Now I personally believe that we should have placed an order for the full original 126 Rafales along with Dassault and its partners transferring some significant technologies to India. Nothing wrong with hoping for hot section turbofan engine technology being shared with India. Even Brazil while buying the Gripen insisted on some amount of technology transfer from Sweden.

Is the objective of advancing our indigenous capabilities in designing and manufacturing an high performance turbofan engine wrong?. The method followed to realise the objective may be changed or improved. But we cannot question the objectives when it is meant to benefit the nation.

If everything that has been done is fucking wrong then please list out your strategy for India to achieve technological independence. Because we may need to take help from others to achieve the goal quicker.

Many a times the developed countries try to impose their narrative on us and force us to follow the path suggested by them. The frenzied marketing of the F16 to India by the West is a prime example. Why in all wisdom should India buy a plane that the Pakistanis have been using for decades. They know the plane inside out and its strengths and weaknesses. They obviously would have shared their experiences with the Chinese, their master. No amount of marketing tricks like stating that the F16V version being offered to India is a totally new plane can change the fact that the PAF has mastered the USAF strategies for deployment of the aircraft. The flying envelope is almost the same whether it is the F16 Block 52 or the newer F16 Block V. Even if the avionics and the weapons are changed in the F16V the basic technology of the plane had been compromised when the PAF acquired it.

While not rejecting all of your arguments please also provide alternative courses of action which will help us achieve our national objectives. Being negative all the time is counter productive. It means that you have nothing valuable or constructive to offer to the people and the country.

destructodisc

Bro, you have been putting out a series of posts filled with vitriol against the system. I concede some of your points are valid especially the OFB babus sitting on the blueprints of the original Bofors howitzer for decades without putting it to use.

But are you giving any suggestions for improvement. There is a lot that can be improved in the entire defence apparatus, no doubt.

Do you believe that India should become technologically independent like the developed powers in Europe and N. America. Or should we not even consider the objective of self reliance in defence and follow countries like the U. A. E.

Simply by fast decision making and placing an very large order for foreign combat aircraft does the U. A. E become smarter than India.

Our objectives of trying to gain new technologies from the OEM in exchange while placing large orders for defence systems is not perse flawed.

Do you want people to believe that you believe in licking the boots of the whites.

If the Chinese had followed your strategy of sub servience to the whites then they could never have reached the position that they are in. Having a multi trillion economy next only to the US and a rapidly developing defence industry.

Now I personally believe that we should have placed an order for the full original 126 Rafales along with Dassault and its partners transferring some significant technologies to India. Nothing wrong with hoping for hot section turbofan engine technology being shared with India. Even Brazil while buying the Gripen insisted on some amount of technology transfer from Sweden.

Is the objective of advancing our indigenous capabilities in designing and manufacturing an high performance turbofan engine wrong?. The method followed to realise the objective may be changed or improved. But we cannot question the objectives when it is meant to benefit the nation.

If everything that has been done is fucking wrong then please list out your strategy for India to achieve technological independence. Because we may need to take help from others to achieve the goal quicker.

Many a times the developed countries try to impose their narrative on us and force us to follow the path suggested by them. The frenzied marketing of the F16 to India by the West is a prime example. Why in all wisdom should India buy a plane that the Pakistanis have been using for decades. They know the plane inside out and its strengths and weaknesses. They obviously would have shared their experiences with the Chinese, their master. No amount of marketing tricks like stating that the F16V version being offered to India is a totally new plane can change the fact that the PAF has mastered the USAF strategies for deployment of the aircraft. The flying envelope is almost the same whether it is the F16 Block 52 or the newer F16 Block V. Even if the avionics and the weapons are changed in the F16V the basic technology of the plane had been compromised when the PAF acquired it.

While not rejecting all of your arguments please also provide alternative courses of action which will help us achieve our national objectives. Being negative all the time is counter productive. It means that you have nothing valuable or constructive to offer to the people and the country.
THE PROBLEM:
While quality does matter but in a tactical scenario numbers do matter as well and speaking about numbers we have a depleting squadron strength. If you are not keeping up with numbers and you still want to win a war then you pay the price with human life - the extraordinary passion which compensates for bad equipment and bad numbers. The depleting squadron strength is specially an issue when you are looking at a two front scenario.

THE FUCK UP:
1.5 decades of MMRCA/MRFA drama and 'UAE showed us how to do it'. Now dassault has got its biggest order, rafale has passed typhoon in orders. IAFs initial order made rafale famous in the market and now IAF/GOI has lost the bargaining chip. Even if you get a good deal , you will not get swift delivery. And believe me swift delivery is of more use than few billion dollars in savings
Now in terms of buying we have a 'lowest bidder' if we stick to that RaFale it will not fit that bracket anymore -if we come out of it mindset , then we still buy RAFALES but would not get timely delivery - even the assembly line option will not be that swift. And to the argument that IAF/GOI is doing all this delay so that we become atmanirbhar and we get a deal with Technology transfer and everything - To bhai sweden grippen ka source code dene tak ko taiyyar hai and grippen deal was always best if specially in terms of TOT , why dint we order gripen
Babuon ke liye aircraft aircraft nahi tamatar mooli hai and MEA sees defence deals as foreign policy instrument. DEFENSE is treated as anything apart DEFENSE.
We lost time - time is money in this world - but for forces its wasted time is as good as DEAD MEN

THE SOLUTION:
quicky get 2 to 3 sqaudrons of rafale and scrap MRFA , 114 khareedne ke baad bhi MWF ke bina kaam nahi chalega in long term to maintain sqadron strength. Members in this forum has clearly shown with numbers that MWF ke bina kaam nahi chalega. Privatise defence manufacturing so that you can meet the timelines.
INVEST THE RESIDUAL MRFA IN 'BUYING' FORCE MULTIPLYING EQUIPMMENTS QUICKY. Awacs, Refullers and electronics. Because number game is all cool and necessary , real deal areAVAILABILITY and ENDURANCE. Till the time you do not have numbers play with availability and endurance. bottom line is we have lost time and we wont get numbers in time - Accept it and look for options.

Looks like my rants were taken as my negativity towards indigenous defence products . Nope not at all . i am not cribbing about LCA MK1 at all i am ranting about Rafale deal and the lacuna in decision making from our side . Last few jets will be delivered in couple of months what are we doing about follow on order ? it should have been placed by last year what are our baboons in SB doing ? trying to see where else they can squeeze more using their crooky peanut brains ?

Tell me how are you going to improve your jet engine tech when you declined to invest $300 Million when Saffran has asked to for revival of Kaveri and saying oh we will do it on our own when you know that is not going to happen .

How is self reliance going to be achieved in IAF when LCA MK1A, MK2, AMCA bla bla all are going to be powered by GE engine which muricans are not even ready to talk about local production forget ToT sharing .

We didn't place large order like UAE did now for 80 jets , We placed 36 order and asked french to help in building jet engine . Why didn't same favour should not be extended to Egypt who purchased 56 Rafale s more than us and not even asking about any engine tech .

We were arrogant in thinking that our so called 72 order will be biggest for Dassault and France and they will do what ever we demand and then comes Egypt and UAE and out water in our dream placing more orders than US without demanding anything .

Tridev123

THE PROBLEM:
While quality does matter but in a tactical scenario numbers do matter as well and speaking about numbers we have a depleting squadron strength. If you are not keeping up with numbers and you still want to win a war then you pay the price with human life - the extraordinary passion which compensates for bad equipment and bad numbers. The depleting squadron strength is specially an issue when you are looking at a two front scenario.

THE FUCK UP:
1.5 decades of MMRCA/MRFA drama and 'UAE showed us how to do it'. Now dassault has got its biggest order, rafale has passed typhoon in orders. IAFs initial order made rafale famous in the market and now IAF/GOI has lost the bargaining chip. Even if you get a good deal , you will not get swift delivery. And believe me swift delivery is of more use than few billion dollars in savings
Now in terms of buying we have a 'lowest bidder' if we stick to that RaFale it will not fit that bracket anymore -if we come out of it mindset , then we still buy RAFALES but would not get timely delivery - even the assembly line option will not be that swift. And to the argument that IAF/GOI is doing all this delay so that we become atmanirbhar and we get a deal with Technology transfer and everything - To bhai sweden grippen ka source code dene tak ko taiyyar hai and grippen deal was always best if specially in terms of TOT , why dint we order gripen
Babuon ke liye aircraft aircraft nahi tamatar mooli hai and MEA sees defence deals as foreign policy instrument. DEFENSE is treated as anything apart DEFENSE.
We lost time - time is money in this world - but for forces its wasted time is as good as DEAD MEN

THE SOLUTION:
quicky get 2 to 3 sqaudrons of rafale and scrap MRFA , 114 khareedne ke baad bhi MWF ke bina kaam nahi chalega in long term to maintain sqadron strength. Members in this forum has clearly shown with numbers that MWF ke bina kaam nahi chalega. Privatise defence manufacturing so that you can meet the timelines.
INVEST THE RESIDUAL MRFA IN 'BUYING' FORCE MULTIPLYING EQUIPMMENTS QUICKY. Awacs, Refullers and electronics. Because number game is all cool and necessary , real deal areAVAILABILITY and ENDURANCE. Till the time you do not have numbers play with availability and endurance. bottom line is we have lost time and we wont get numbers in time - Accept it and look for options.
THE PROBLEM:

THE FUCK UP:

THE SOLUTION:
Yes, shortage of aircraft is a serious problem.
There has been a lost decade of indecision and postponement which does haunt us. But one reality is that India simply did not have the money to buy large numbers of modern fighter aircraft even two decades ago. We are in a much better position financially today.

Obviously if common sense is applied more Rafales should be acquired.
Whether an assembly line will be set up in India if the second order is big begs an answer. Now how this large order placed by the UAE will impact the delivery of new batches of Rafales to India is to be seen. A second line for the Rafale running in India may probably ease the situation. But as of now till Indian vendors start supplying significant amount of sub systems and components, the advantages of a domestic line will not fructify. Dassault and its associated partners should shortlist eligible Indian companies form joint ventures and share technologies with them. Maybe replicating the Scorpene submarine programme in India wherein many Indian companies supplied various systems to Naval Group and MDL. Though the indigenisation level achieved till now is still not satisfactory. The Indian firms were given guidance by the French OEM's and staff also trained.

Anyway let's hope for the best.

But I think many will agree that the Rafale should be the last major import of combat aircraft by India. The upcoming LCA mk2, AMCA and ORCA should be able to fulfil most of the requirements of the Air Force. If everything goes according to plans and deadlines are met.

Even though indigenous reliable high performance jet engines are our Achilles Heel as far as aerospace is concerned, we are seeing progress in many other areas. The country is close to fielding an indigenous Uttam AESA radar on our combat aircraft. A major achievement. There have also been many reports of advances in special alloys for aero engine use. Some of the problems of the Kaveri engine have been resolved. So let's hope for the better. It is a steep learning curve in aerospace and I believe we have begun our ascent. Now how much time it will take take to reach the summit cannot be predicted now. But if our efforts are sincere and are backed by sufficient allocation of money, an positive outcome cannot be ruled out. If China can progress in jet engine technology, certainly India can also succeed.

There are no doubts about the necessity and viability of the LCA mk2.Trying to leapfrog directly to the AMCA from the LCA mk1a without realising the LCA mk2 will be an big mistake. The LCA mk2 will be an 4.5 ++ generation plane in the class of the Mirage 2000 and the Mig29. Along with the LCA mk1a it will provide the numbers to the Air Force to fill up the required number of squadrons.

5th generation stealth aircraft like the AMCA, F35, F22, Su57 etc are the spearhead of any Air Force. Their per hour operating costs and maintenance costs will be far higher than 4.5 generation planes. Their payload will also be much less than the payload of non stealth aircraft. Because of their internal weapons bays. They are meant to seriously degrade the opponents air capability and help establish air superiority. Also to take out crucial Air Defence assets of the enemy including SAM sites and early warning radars. They will allow the other non stealth/quasi stealth aircraft like the LCA mk2 to operate in an less dangerous environment. But they are not meant to be used for mass bombing of important targets in the opponents land as their heavy use will not be cost effective.

The AMCA cannot replace the LCA mk2. It will be too expensive to be deployed in high numbers. Both of them have their own role to play. There is a reason why the United States the original creater of stealth aircraft like the F22 Raptor still fields hundreds of non stealth F16 aircraft in its inventory.

Tridev123

Looks like my rants were taken as my negativity towards indigenous defence products . Nope not at all . i am not cribbing about LCA MK1 at all i am ranting about Rafale deal and the lacuna in decision making from our side . Last few jets will be delivered in couple of months what are we doing about follow on order ? it should have been placed by last year what are our baboons in SB doing ? trying to see where else they can squeeze more using their crooky peanut brains ?

Tell me how are you going to improve your jet engine tech when you declined to invest $300 Million when Saffran has asked to for revival of Kaveri and saying oh we will do it on our own when you know that is not going to happen .

How is self reliance going to be achieved in IAF when LCA MK1A, MK2, AMCA bla bla all are going to be powered by GE engine which muricans are not even ready to talk about local production forget ToT sharing .

We didn't place large order like UAE did now for 80 jets , We placed 36 order and asked french to help in building jet engine . Why didn't same favour should not be extended to Egypt who purchased 56 Rafale s more than us and not even asking about any engine tech .

We were arrogant in thinking that our so called 72 order will be biggest for Dassault and France and they will do what ever we demand and then comes Egypt and UAE and out water in our dream placing more orders than US without demanding anything .
I agree that we have simply not invested enough in our turbofan engine development programme. Also I don't disagree that we should have paid whatever sum Saffran wanted (provided it was not asking for the moon) for providing help on the hot engine section and the materials needed. Even a few billions of US dollars is justified. Because if our indigenous jet engine succeeds it will save us billions of dollars in imports over the next few decades. We will need hundreds of jet engines for both our military and civilian use.

iNorthernerOn9

I don't know whether I would be able to put it the way I am imagining it

AUKUS was a classic chessboard move!

Steal the sub deal 👉 French get upset 👉 placate them with UAE rafale deal 👉 Jam-pack the dassault production line 👉 IAF 🇮🇳 forsee the delay in delivery if additional rafale ordered 👉 Chances increase manifold for F-15/18/21 in MRFA

Why would the US play such long game?

They already have a foothold in middle eastern fighter jet market... but it's only India that has resisted a fighter deal with USA (as a matter of policy).

I maybe reading too much into it. Par forum to free hai... chipka diya.

Steal the sub deal 👉 French get upset 👉 placate them with UAE rafale deal 👉 Jam-pack the dassault production line 👉 IAF 🇮🇳 forsee the delay in delivery if additional rafale ordered 👉 Chances increase manifold for F-15/18/21 in MRFA

They already have a foothold in middle eastern fighter jet market... but it's only India that has resisted a fighter deal with USA (as a matter of policy).

Every dot connects , plus USA ne airforce walon ko mwf ko damage Karen ko keg diya hoga.
See

Spitfire9

I agree that we have simply not invested enough in our turbofan engine development programme. Also I don't disagree that we should have paid whatever sum Saffran wanted (provided it was not asking for the moon) for providing help on the hot engine section and the materials needed. Even a few billions of US dollars is justified. Because if our indigenous jet engine succeeds it will save us billions of dollars in imports over the next few decades. We will need hundreds of jet engines for both our military and civilian use.
While I agree that steps to turn Kaveri into a useable engine for Tejas Mk1 should have been taken, is there any point now? The only application would be Tejas and by the time it went into production most Tejas would have already been built. It would not have sufficient thrust to power Mk2 or TEDBF.

If it could be modified to F414 thrust level then I could see the viability in it being used to power ~200 fighters. More if Mk2 got export orders. Otherwise I think it better to focus on a JV 110kN engine with scope for growth in thrust.

There is simply no chance for America unless it offers f35 which it won't.

F15 is useless when we have 272 su30mki under going modernization.
F16 /21/18 are all hopelessly inferior against Rafale and more of a competition for our own MWF.

UAE deal has nothing to do with America. Arab countries have always hedged with multiple supplier . They buy from all western powers and increasingly from China as well.

While USA was signing AUKUS. UAE was allowing china to build a secret base which forced usa to intervene strongly.

Marliii

Better to die on your feet than live on your knees
There is simply no chance for America unless it offers f35 which it won't.

F15 is useless when we have 272 su30mki under going modernization.
F16 /21/18 are all hopelessly inferior against Rafale and more of a competition for our own MWF.

UAE deal has nothing to do with America. Arab countries have always hedged with multiple supplier . They buy from all western powers and increasingly from China as well.

While USA was signing AUKUS. UAE was allowing china to build a secret base which forced usa to intervene strongly.
Americans have the most chance of getting the deal after the french