Indian Air Force: News & Discussions

NoobWannaLearn

If the current force projections of all 3 countries are to be followed F-16s along with j-10s and jf-17s means that pakistan will end up having numerical parity with us in squadron strength in the coming years.

Their jets while inferior along with their growing AD will be enough of a problem for us.

Add in China with their infrastructure down the line and we are looking a very serious problem.
Are bhai majak tha and ofc we do have a serious problem but ham kia hi kar sakte ha just hope mod feeds mk-2 to iaf in big numbers

johnj

@abingdonboy nibba, Air Force reduced Tejas Mk2 from 7 now down to 6 squadrons. :scared1:

Depends on the ISR, who is telling you where the SAM are? Regardless, ARM are still very relevant, especially those with active homing in terminal phase, like the upgraded HARM or Rudram-1.

USAF uses a lot of stuff. Even in Gulf war, they used decoy drones to trick the Iraqis into swtiching on their SAM (earlier version of MALD) and then took them out with HARM. Then nowadays, you are saying they use HARM just to suppress and then either hit the targets or attack the radars via other means. But even then I say the upgraded HARM with MMW seeker can take out the target radar even if it tries to shut down and scoot. But then you say CIWS and decoys to defend the radar. And the ARM is still evolving and the cat and mouse game goes on, for example, what is LPI today won't be LPI tomorrow. Point is, the enemy won't always be perfectly prepared and ARM could still work as more than a decoy. Especially against enemies like Pakis.
HARM is not AARGM and AARGM ER is different from both, and still more improved versions coming up.
Its effectiveness depends depends on enemy AD & ARM carrying missile. HARM still useful if carried by F18G + slam er , vs medium AD systems

jai jaganath

If the current force projections of all 3 countries are to be followed F-16s along with j-10s and jf-17s means that pakistan will end up having numerical parity with us in squadron strength in the coming years.

Their jets while inferior along with their growing AD will be enough of a problem for us.

Add in China with their infrastructure down the line and we are looking a very serious problem.
Perfectly quoted sirji
The way pakis are modernizing AF wrt economy is impressive
Truly impressive
Our AF should bow their heads with shame
Day is not far when pakis AF will have more no of jets than us forget China hamari aukat nahi hai
Infact it seems we don't have our aukat in front of porkies too when it comes to AF

iNorthernerOn9

Pakistan already has a numerical parity with us as soon as all the J-10's get delivered

PAF doesn't have to fight entire IAF... only the Western & South-Western commands... IAF won't at any moment put more than 2/3rds of its strength on Pak front... nor will China allow it.

So we better get out of comfort zone... situation is already alarming... PMO/MoD/top IAF leadership are pushing the force towards a waterloo.

jai jaganath

Are bhai majak tha and ofc we do have a serious problem but ham kia hi kar sakte ha just hope mod feeds mk-2 to iaf in big numbers
Problem is attitude and forcing jets won't change that
If this is the attitude then are they serious about fighting bcoz it doesn't seem to

jai jaganath

Pakistan already has a numerical parity with us as soon as all the J-10's get delivered

PAF doesn't have to fight entire IAF... only the Western & South-Western commands... IAF won't at any moment put more than 2/3rds of its strength on Pak front... nor will China allow it.

So we better get out of comfort zone... situation is already alarming... PMO/MoD/top IAF leadership are pushing the force towards a waterloo.
Iaf has habit of learning after being beaten badly
But this time there will be no excuse it will be war of existence so in short we will definitely lose many points of war due to attitude of iaf
We may also lose badly

Their overall modernization plan has been successful to say the least.

What forums members need to understand is that they don't have to match us technologically but rather bog us down long enough for either the Chinese to strike us properly or turn the conflict into a war attrition where we will be stuck trying to launch offensives into one side while fighting defensively on the other side.

Looking at how the recent Russia Ukraine war has been going on i have no doubt that we will be stuck into a war of attrition where Chinese manufacturing capabilities come into focus something we cannot hope to match.

This war has also made it clear that one party nations would not back out in face of losses or casualties but will rather fight it out to the bitter end.

With j-10C's JF-17S Turkish armed drones and a good number of AWACS PAF has overall maintained a good modernization spree when one looks a the situation of their economy. A bankrupt nation having more AWACS than us should be very alarming to say the least.

The Chinese have similarly updated the air defence network of Pakistan too.

All in all i completely expect the cold start doctrine to fall flat in the first few days of the war.

It is better to be pessimistic in such scenarios. I simply don't see India puching through all major Pakistani cities and installations in a matter of weeks especially since they are in many ways better armed than Ukraine overall.

That along with china on the other side leaves a very brim picture overall.

jai jaganath

Their overall modernization plan has been successful to say the least.

What forums members need to understand is that they don't have to match us technologically but rather bog us down long enough for either the Chinese to strike us properly or turn the conflict into a war attrition where we will be stuck trying to launch offensives into one side while fighting defensively on the other side.

Looking at how the recent Russia Ukraine war has been going on i have no doubt that we will be stuck into a war of attrition where Chinese manufacturing capabilities come into focus something we cannot hope to match.

This war has also made it clear that one party nations would not back out in face of losses or casualties but will rather fight it out to the bitter end.

With j-10C's and JF-17S Turkish armed drones and a good number of AWACS PAF has overall maintained a good modernization spree when one looks a the situation of their economy.

The Chinese have similarly updated the air defence network of Pakistan too.

All in all i completely expect the cold start doctrine to fall flat in the first few days of the war.

It is better to be pessimistic in such scenarios. I simply don't see India puching through all major Pakistani cities and installations in a matter of weeks especially since they are in many ways better armed than Ukraine overall.

That along china on the other side leaves a very brim picture overall.
Exactly our iaf will let us down to a great defeat
They will never be able to support us or our planning 😕
Their attitude will surely pull us towards defeat
The corruption and lethargicness will show its effect
We are losing our numerical edge in a great pace but actually it must be opposite if we see our economy

NoobWannaLearn

We are losing our numerical edge in a great pace but actually it must be opposite if we see our economy
Did you see his comments on theaterization idk what to make of those

What nonsense we won't be defeated simply due to the sheer size of the military and the amount of bodies we can throw.

Even in the worst case scenario we gain some territory while we lose some territory before nukes come into play.

In a ok scenario we gain minor concessions in pakistan while fighting china to a halt.

In the best case scenario we knock out pakistan with large concessions in the form of vast lands while we negotiate a white peace with china with both sides holding on to whatever gains they have made.

jai jaganath

What nonsense we won't be defeated simply due to the sheer size of the military and the amount of bodies we can throw.

Even in the worst case scenario we gain some territory while we lose some territory before nukes come into play.

In a ok scenario we gain minor concessions in pakistan while fighting china to a halt.

In the best case scenario we knock out pakistan with large concessions in the form of vast lands while we negotiate a white peace with china with both sides holding on to whatever gains they have made.
In today's war u need a strong AF and dominant over your enemy
If it's not and if it's opposite then God bless you

jai jaganath

Yeah that's what we always do win over multiple bodies when we can afford a dominant victory with advanced and sufficient equipments
But no gernails need money, govt need socialist schemes
At last the common citizens and soldiers are suffering
Like someone said entire institution has change no small modification is gonna bring anything

Indian Air Force Signs 200 Crore Deal With Russia For ‘Strum Ataka’ Anti-Tank Missile
Indian Air Force has signed a deal to acquire “Strum Ataka” anti-tank missile from Russia for Mi-35 Attack Choppers fleet. Indian Air Force has been vying to acquire the Russian ‘Strum Ataka” missiles for a while but the deal came through under the emergency provisions after more than a decade. The decision comes in line with India’s attempt to keep itself battle forces battle ready in the current tumultuous relations with Pakistan.

According to government sources, the “Stum Ataka” deal from Russia was signed under the Emergency Clauses and the missiles would be supplied within three months. The “Emergency provisions” were handed over to the Indian armed forces post-February 14th Pulwana attack in which 40 CRPF soldiers were killed by insurgents. Under these provisions, the three armed services can buy equipment of their choice within three months at a cost of up to Rs 300 crore per case.

The ‘Strum Ataka’ deal with Russia is quoted to be around Rs 200 crores and this would give added capabilities to the Mi-35 to eliminate armoured targets. This is a welcome addition as the Indian Air Force (IAF) has been looking to upgrade its coveted Mi-35 fleet.

The IAF has been on a rampant modernization with increased impetus in weaponry by using the emergency clauses to the fullest. The IAF is said to receive the consignment of Apache helicopters from the US early next month onwards. This comes in addition to another investment with Israel on the “Spice 2000” stand-off weapon systems along with other air-to-air missile deals with other countries in preparation for a war-like scenario in the near future. The Indian Army is making the moves in arms procurement with the recent being the recent acquisition of the Spike anti-tank missiles from France under similar Emergency provisions.

The Indian Air Force has been the forerunner in the armament attempts made by the Indian armed forces, they are followed by the Indian Army. The Defence Ministry recently presented the procurements made by the armed forces under the Emergency provisions.