Indian Air Force: News & Discussions

It just blows my mind how quickly we can sign deal for American weapons but indigenous weapons like tejas eat dust on the tables. Deemak bhi lag gyi hogi abh tk to.
If our desi defence companies including DPSU’s were as good as Americans in marketing, sales & service, we won’t be in this situation. They spend money to make money, and their contract negotiation would be top class I assume.

There is a reason why they are numero uno economy in the world.

It just blows my mind how quickly we can sign deal for American weapons but indigenous weapons like tejas eat dust on the tables. Deemak bhi lag gyi hogi abh tk to.
Are bhai I get the Apache argument par ye necessary tha.
We don't have any helicopter of this class.

We should opt for indigenous only when the specs and mission profile is close to Foreign Equipment. Anything else will be cutting down on Navy's capability.

And first of all HAL won't even have the capability to build anything close to MH 60.

rone

NDA competition breaks the dream of lot of fanboys every year but imagine the talents that are selected and serve in army...
To be in NDA or any military establishment in India and be part of officer level post the candidates must be cut above those who have been attended ssb or SSC 5 day selection understand that becoz our armed force's need best of best not someone gud in text book knowledge , if u see any Indian military establishment foreign tour or exercise the hosting countries amused by our boys proficiency and skill levels, only thing we lack modernization in equipment level but I think if pur gov make Right choices it will be matter of time we will be a unchallengeable regional military super power

lol when did it happened??...

To VSJ: Don’t place too much hopes on Astra-2 & instead just wait in anticipation of the modified Meteor being made available by 2023.
-trishul blog.

The modified Meteor will not be ‘desi’, but will just incorporate some avionics & sensors that will make it only 20% ‘desi’. Why so? Simply because this is the only way of integrating the Meteor with the IAF’s MRCAs without violating the IPRs of Israel-based & Russia-based radar manufacturers, as I have already explained above. And just as India has inked military-technical/military-industrial IPR security agreements with countries like Russia, Israel, France & the US, a similar agreement will soon be inked with the UK for the modified Meteor BVRAAM project.

I wanted to know which type of electronic warfare system / counter measure and sub systems MIG-29UPG uses.

Thanks

Alligator

The acquisitions planned by Air Force for the year 2020-21 include Airbus C295, MAFI Phase-II, Upgrade of UAV Systems, Project 'Cheetah', Digitisation of Pechora, LCA, LCH (LSP), Avionics Upgrade of IL-76, IL-78 and AWACS& Re-engining of IL-78 Aircraft, Harop (P-IV)
View attachment 44481
It would be better if iaf allocates funds for a330 based awacs rather than buying additional phalcons