India wants license to produce Iron Dome - report

In the case of combat it can be very useful...
Yes Iron Dome cannnot be used similarly in Indian conditions and it will need some modifications but its a great weaponary ...
Indian army even after 2012 decline was interested in it.... With the required modification it will be very useful....

I agree as it is a highly customised solution for israel's req...for us its useless as we dont have to handle a west bank or gaza like scenario...!!

Israel's multi layered System Consists Iron Dome , SpyDer , MIM 23 Hawk , David's Sling (Replacing SpyDer ) The PAC 3 and the Arrow Series

will give cover Israel from Small Mortar's Shells to Heavy ICBM's.
Yes it is a vital part of such an great defense ,,,,,

We also assume a lot of things and not everything has a source ... just was interested and curious to know that...
Chill.... no problem...thnx

am sorry to say but i dont have any proof or link its just that ive heard somewer. maybe am wrong about it.

LastProphet

According to some people it will be very useful in case of restricted war for Soldiers in battle field as it will be able to defend them from any small range subsonic missile launched ....
Ya of couse but with kind of long borders & deployment of troops in such a vast landscape it will be so costly that no one can afford it...!!!

Its cost to benefit ratioin our scenario doesnt seem impressive at all...!!

Those points can be worked upon ....
+
When I say Our Own "Irom Dome" I repeat again... One that suites our requirement.... Not necesarily The actual Iron Dome.... A system like it....

Ya of couse but with kind of long borders & deployment of troops in such a vast landscape it will be so costly that no one can afford it...!!!

Its cost to benefit ratioin our scenario doesnt seem impressive at all...!!

If India Interested or not Israel will not Provide to anyone

most of the money was invested in this project from US

Without uncle's signal no deal

Uncle Sam is more than ever willing for having defense deals with India....

If India Interested or not Israel will not Provide to anyone

most of the money was invested in this project from US

Without uncle's signal no deal

LastProphet

Uncle Sam only cares for its intrest...which are now more or less aligned with us...so ya they will shower us woth tons of offers...but we should be aware of such fair weather friends... N ya better we come out of that Nehruvian NAM shit...its not gonna get us anywhere...!!!

According to some people it will be very useful in case of restricted war for Soldiers in battle field as it will be able to defend them from any small range subsonic missile launched ....
Not practical and too costly, good radar and Sam 's would be better.

datguy79

This thread comes up every time there is a conflict in Israel and yet no one questions why the Pakis/Chinese won't just aim to destroy any iron dome-esque system rather than play a game of shoot-down-the-missile.

Who said Sams will be cheaper they will be even more expensive and with more risks...
Israel tech in radars i one f the elite is the world...

Not practical and too costly, good radar and Sam 's would be better.

Very much indeed, Such an system is very useful protecting tactical installation along LOC and LAC, Such as Field HQ, Important installation along with counter battery in place ..

Its very often enemy observers can sneak inside and deliver sensitive location`s coordinates to there mortar and arty units ..

Do we Have a have/need such a defense system of our own?

Background:
In the recent conflict of Israel the Iron Dome has emerged as a great asset ...
They say it was developed from scratch in 4 years and tested and inducted in a short interval of time...
It has a 85% success rate...
There was a news in 2012 India trying to acquire it or trying to jointly produce an Indian version of it...

Talks and discussion to have asimilar system or this system has been going on since 2011-2012..
but there is no information available where are we at it... Do you have any insight?

Very much indeed, Such an system is very useful protecting tactical installation along LOC and LAC, Such as Field HQ, Important installation along with counter battery in place ..

Its very often enemy observers can sneak inside and deliver sensitive location`s coordinates to there mortar and arty units ..

Who said Sams will be cheaper they will be even more expensive and with more risks...
Israel tech in radars i one f the elite is the world...
Which missile would India use iron dome against? We have spyder , possibly maitre,
Akash where would iron dome fit in?

in the words of Kunal bhai

"Such an system is very useful protecting tactical installation along LOC and LAC, Such as Field HQ, Important installation along with counter battery in place ..

Its very often enemy observers can sneak inside and deliver sensitive location`s coordinates to there mortar and arty units"...

I hope thats wat u were asking....

Which missile would India use iron dome against? We have spyder , possibly maitre,

Israel plans on producing a new version of iron dome this would be a better option.
Maybe I am biased I like to see money spent on offensive weapons rather than defensive.

we need to be a part of such a plan....
defensive weapons like this add a great advantage to offensive weapons.....

wars are about balance between these two categories also....

Israel plans on producing a new version of iron dome this would be a better option.
Maybe I am biased I like to see money spent on offensive weapons rather than defensive.

It's known as Iron Beam ..but they never replace the Tamir Based Iron done next 4 years

only 9 Batteries of Iron Dome till now Deployed along Israel ..

Americans just doubled the Aid to Israel make more Iron Domes

Sir, Iron dome in Indian context has great use against Mortar and enemy arty like 122mm and 81mm shells even air launched PGMs, Such system can boost defense for C3I nodes and Medial as well as Heavy arty and sensitive helipad locations near Border areas close to hostile nations ..

=================

There been talk to license produce these systems, But every thing went quite after sometime ..

Talks and discussion to have asimilar system or this system has been going on since 2011-2012..
but there is no information available where are we at it... Do you have any insight?