India raising offensive Corps: AK Antony

NEW DELHI: India is raising an offensive Corps and taking other steps to gear up its preparedness along China border to meet the challenges, Defence Minister A K Antony said as he pitched for a substantial hike in defence budget to meet this changing threat perception.

Terming the growing military ties between Pakistan and China as a "cause of worry", he said the armed forces have been issued a new directive to change their strategy to meet the challenges.

"Now we have given a new directive to our armed forces to meet the new challenges in context of the new threat perception faced by the country," he said.

Antony said, "After analysis of the threat perception, we have found that the picture is problematic. We will need to have a second look at the defence budget....

"We have been given Rs 1.93 lakh crore this year but as per the estimated requirement of the armed forces, we would want Rs 2.39 lakh crore. We want Rs 45,716 crore more. I have asked the Government to provide us more money."

The Minister was replying to a discussion on the performance of his Ministry in the Rajya Sabha.

On steps taken by the Government to strengthen defence capabilities, Antony said, "Under 12th Defence Plan, we have sent a proposal to Finance Ministry to raise an offensive Corps with two special divisions and it is in final stages. The force-level has been increased substantially."

He said the Government had earlier approved raising of two mountain divisions along with a Special Forces battalion, an artillery brigade and an armoured regiment for deployment in the northeast sector.

India raising offensive Corps: AK Antony - The Economic Times

China has amassed 300,000 troops at the eastern front against 100,000 Indian army. This needs to be balanced.

China understands only one language.

Is the Saint scaring the Chinese by calling it offensive?
Where is the Aviation Brigade?
Where is artillery? Artillary division ?
What about Airborne assets?

Though raising two more Infantry divisions with a Corps Headquarters for mountains is a welcome step which can manage a limited war on a limited front and mostly dissuasive defensive war.
With that in place Indian Army can safely beat the band of Bakistan.

Unfortunately the force which matters the MOST today is in bad shape... ie. IAF.... depleting squardons.

India needs a massive and quick action strong AF and not some flying coffins or new fighters which would take decades to acquire.

ice berg

China has amassed 300,000 troops at the eastern front against 100,000 Indian army. This needs to be balanced.

China understands only one language.
Depends on what you mean by eastern front. You wont find 300.000 in Tibet.

This Chief seems to have give a great shake that has woken the impotent Govt.

All that is required is to shake of the IAS control over the Ministers and Ministry.

Unfortunately the force which matters the MOST today is in bad shape... ie. IAF.... depleting squardons.

India needs a massive and quick action strong AF and not some flying coffins or new fighters which would take decades to acquire.
IAF was never used against China in 1962 and very reluctantly and belatedly used in Kargil.
In fact, usefulness of air arm in high altitudes warfare except to fulfil logistics and support actions is yet to be proved.

This Chief seems to have give a great shake that has woken the impotent Govt.

All that is required is to shake of the IAS control over the Ministers and Ministry.
Sir, what did so many others before him did except may be Manekshaw?
Probably just threw their empty weight on their subordinates !!

India to raise 'offensive' corps to tackle threat from China

NEW DELHI: India is raising an "offensive" corps and taking other steps to gear up its preparedness along China border to meet the challenges, defence minister A K Antony said as he pitched for a substantial hike in defence budget to meet this changing threat perception.

Terming the growing military ties between Pakistan and China as a "cause of worry", he said the armed forces have been issued a new directive to change their strategy to meet the challenges.

"Now we have given a new directive to our armed forces to meet the new challenges in context of the new threat perception faced by the country," he said. Antony said, "After analysis of the threat perception, we have found that the picture is problematic. We will need to have a second look at the defence budget.... "We have been given Rs 1.93 lakh crore this year but as per the estimated requirement of the armed forces, we would want Rs 2.39 lakh crore. We want Rs 45,716 crore more. I have asked the Government to provide us more money."

The minister was replying to a discussion on the performance of his ministry in the Rajya Sabha. On steps taken by the Government to strengthen defence capabilities, Antony said, "Under 12th Defence Plan, we have sent a proposal to Finance Ministry to raise an offensive Corps with two special divisions and it is in final stages. The force-level has been increased substantially."

He said the government had earlier approved raising of two mountain divisions along with a Special Forces battalion, an artillery brigade and an armoured regiment for deployment in the northeast sector.

India to raise 'offensive' corps to tackle threat from China - The Times of India

tony4562

PLA is organized into 18 group armies (corps) of which only 2 are assigned to the Chengdu military region. This image on wiki shows their approximate locations. The talk about 300000 PLA troops stationed alongside india-china border is nothing but something someone made out of thin air.

instead of raising army strength by just two division we need to develop these type of group armies(similar to the chinese) which are basically mobile,all terrain self sufficient combined arms force of about 50-60k soldiers.we need to develop 20+ such formations apart from other independent formation to fight a two front war.also we need to separate the parachute regiment into airborne troops and special forces as the former is used as elite air-dropped combined arms forces consisting of infantry,armour,artillery,air defence etc,and latter as the name suggest for covert operations and special missions.