India Pakistan conflict along IB and LoC (July 2021 onwards)

BhishmaMk5

Unpopular opinion:

Enough with this PARA SF farce! Revert back to the Para troopers Regiment and the Special Forces badge to Commando. Disband those Balidans. There is nothing special in it.

Instill in them the fundamentals of battlefield survival. Prioritizing body recovery during an ambush is the height of stupidity.

Every time a group of these boys ventures out, ambush, record it, and retreat unscathed.

2023 has laid bare our glaring inadequacies. This 'sitting chicken' approach will lead to the annihilation of an entire company in a war.

We are woefully unprepared for modern warfare.
:mad2:

Indrajit

Even more unpopular opinion - too many armchair generals in a hurry here. This is an ongoing firefight, any news is sketchy and fragmented. The least that can be done is to hold off on specific criticism till we are more certain of the facts. Extrapolation from previous incidents are unnecessary and not in good taste at this point. Criticism may be warranted but circumspection is not without virtue.

Of course, even an armchair can see; where are the REAL Jarnails. This year: Kulgam, Rajouri, Kokernag, Poonch(no sketches or speculations on these failed ops). Not to mention, they escaped with fallen soldiers' weapons in Rajouri.
Deterrence comes in other ways and not fighting here in Rajouri. Get the Afghans, BLA to target chinese assets and porki bases. Target launch pads in Neelum Valley where “collateral” damage happens quite a bit. Deterrence is not working. So more retaliation is needed.

jai jaganath

This particular sop is working well for porkies and terrorists that is keep casualty less than 5 kill who ever u want irrespective of any rank
U will not face any retaliation by nationalist govt coz election abhi door hai
And no operational and tactical changes will take place within army as toll is less than 5 be it from any unit or any rank as upper officers will never face accountability procedures so jesa chal raha hai chalne do
Kuch aur widow honge kuch aur orphan jo jayenge
Hume kya hamara position aur power ko kuch nahi hoga
I don't understand how officers and goi can digest their food then many officers this year have lost their lives that too during peace time ceasefire
Sorry for such rant
Just deeply depressed it's 3rd in this year

TopWatcher

To retrieve KIA, another 3 soldiers go and KIA itself. Is any officer in army do analysis ?

Same thing happening every time. Bhai mur ke nahin, mar ke lada jata hai.

Many times this happens in jungle. Cant army deploy camera/sensors in these jungles.

I am not an expert, but everytime same thing happening than surely something is wrong.

If both pak.china throw war on india, how army can handle ?

To retrieve KIA, another 3 soldiers go and KIA itself. Is any officer in army do analysis ?
Let Professionals worry about it. when their tactics evolve, it won't be the case that public will be made aware of it. public is not on need to know basis, when it comes to military tactics.

If both pak.china throw war on india, how army can handle ?
COIN and Traditional soldiering stand on their own wrt tactics and SOPs, infact three decades of COIN expertise becomes an asset when such a situation arises.

TopWatcher

Let Professionals worry about it. when their tactics evolve, it won't be the case that public will be made aware of it. public is not on need to know basis, when it comes to military tactics.

COIN and Traditional soldiering stand on their own wrt tactics and SOPs, infact three decades of COIN expertise becomes an asset when such a situation arises.
Well i am not a defense expert, but same thing happening again & again means army doesnt do analysis.

not a defense expert either, but as an observer for a long time, can say a few things. at one point in time, i used to have the same concerns you have.

-from handling 5-10 encounters simultaneously at one point in time, security forces has brought it down to current rate.
-it's not just security forces counter tactics evolving, tango counter-counter-tactics also evolve. it's a cycle.
-if a neighbouring nuclear adversary military is investing in cross border terrorism as a strategy, they wouldn't be investing in it if such a strategy was be countered easily.
- every encounter is different, successful encounters too need appreciation.

news media and social media encourages extrapolation logics, as in one dataset is a judgement on entire spectrum. it's an old trick.

for example :
-Nirbhaya case happens, headlines extrapolated to "all Indian men are rapists".
- some british fellow counted sati cases in 1000 sq km area in bengal two hundred years ago, extrapolated to all hindus burn their widows.

we need to be aware of the fact that, this is not the only way to do assessments. i want people to consciously avoid self-defeating extrapolative logics.

TopWatcher

not a defense expert either, but as an observer for a long time, can say a few things. at one point in time, i used to have the same concerns you have.

-from handling 5-10 encounters simultaneously at one point in time, security forces has brought it down to current rate.
-it's not just security forces counter tactics evolving, tango counter-counter-tactics also evolve. it's a cycle.
-if a neighbouring nuclear adversary military is investing in cross border terrorism as a strategy, they wouldn't be investing in it if such a strategy was be countered easily.
- every encounter is different, successful encounters too need appreciation.
Like japan a land of earthquake called but japan is now the safest place on earth from earthquake becuase they have developed whole strategy/ecosystem to save from earthquake.

Like samewise as India prone to terrorism from very long time, we should be ahead in terms of technology/strategy/techniques/tactics. But here its seems babu kind of thing happening, problem ayengi dekhlenge us time.

Like japan a land of earthquake called but japan is now the safest place on earth from earthquake becuase they have developed whole strategy/ecosystem to save from earthquake.

Like samewise as India prone to terrorism from very long time, we should be ahead in terms of technology/strategy/techniques/tactics. But here its seems babu kind of thing happening, problem ayengi dekhlenge us time.
added a bit more to my post, do go thru it also.

Atleast for these pigs , we didnt want loose our precious soldiers. Right ??
ofcourse not, that is a given.

our conversation is more about your perception, than precise details of ground reality. precise details of ground reality which we don't have, you along with other general public are reacting to the same set of news, perceptions differ based on understanding of the situation.

Atleast for these pigs , we didnt want loose our precious soldiers. Right ??
let us understand one more fundamental aspect of terrorism.

Terrorism is designed to create terror, terror is an emotion, you the citizen are the real target. they are targeting security forces to put fear in you the citizen. if you feel terrorised, they win. whether you want to give them a easy win or not, is upto you.