India Pakistan conflict along IB and LoC (July 2021 onwards)

Afghan proxies, if any of them are indeed our proxies as pakis seem to insist, seem to be the only real deterrence or punishment tool for India at this point.

Killing terrorists in Kashmir does nothing to the Pakistan Army or ISI, who are simply laughing from their messes looking at India vow "revenge" against jihadi cannon fodder.

Surgical strikes or Air strikes need to be against the Pakistan Army itself to have any significance, rather than terror camps. But this carries the risk of capture of our troops behind enemy lines, or even failure of mission. And frankly from what we're seeing of Indian Army tactics, I'm not sure of their ability to carry it out without casualties.

Afghan proxies are the only method which brings the advantage back to India, as it turns the Pakistanis' game around on its head. Their border is far more porous with Afghanistan than our LOC is with POK. The Afghans have far more freedom of action and local support and infrastructure in KPK than Kashmir oriented terrorists have in J&K. Both TTP and BLA have proven that they can impose far more casualties on Pakistani troops on a much more regular basis than Pakistani proxies can do to Indian troops in Kashmir. The Taliban's spectacular backstabbing of Pakistan has given India the proxy war edge for the first time.

Spend money in Afghanistan, let them do the work for us. Arrange for 10 fold attacks on Pakistani troops and infrastructure, whenever we face casualties in Kashmir. Bring the heat further into Punjab and Sindh. Time for more Atta diplomacy with Afghanistan.

What a nation of incompetent and corrupt people with no self respect ar all..A failed state slapping us at will and making us feel measurable. They are planning attack in their own soil with impunity and fighting in foreign soil and making the opponent spilling blood in their own soil. One thing is sure by now no reaction will come from government unless its big spectacular attack like pulwama and huge public outrage. Ninda mama will fire ninda missiles and bol Bachchan generals bravado of taking back PoK. Ek target killing nahi kar skte PoK ke andar pura PoK wapas layenge. This whole monkey business will stop at a second if there is sustained target elimination of these terror chiefs and families of retired Punjabi gernails inside PoK using expandable assets. But the west appeasing thick skinned netas and over qualified babus will stay by the rule book. While we are taking satisfaction in the fact that BLA has killed some salwar wearing lowlife Police and rangers in Balochistan lol, Ho gaya badla hahaha Absolutely no lessons was learnt during the same type of attack in 2020. It seems the terrorists are capable enough to pull off Uri like attack again even bigger than that, the Porkies have stopped them fearing outrage in India and government forced to do escalation
We did not even do the basics. That is Porkis got loan forgiveness from G20 and also new loans from AIIB where we are the 2nd largest shareholder after China. If we cannot use our power to even deny Porkis loan forgiveness, why are we even in these orgs? We have a very weak opposition and idiotic press. No one asks the government such questions. So Bhajpa just keeps doing BS.

Helis seem to be going in/out, not sure if they are for transport or air support through intel.
No NVGs?No Battleground portable radars and a hi tech mobile van for monitoring situational awareness and acting as a control room? Are we using HHTCs (hand held thermal cameras) to smell out these Porkis in the dark? All I see are outdated vehicles, guns and military gear. Looks like we do low tech operations and suffer casualties. IA has always been a brute force Army ready to sacrifice humans to achieve objectives . Use of tech is very new for IA. They better learn it fast. As India develops, people won’t want to do join Army as they have other jobs available. At that time only higher levels of gear, technology, safety etc would attract people to join. All developed economies and Russia/China face this.

jai jaganath

No NVGs?No Battleground portable radars and a hi tech mobile van for monitoring situational awareness and acting as a control room? Are we using HHTCs (hand held thermal cameras) to smell out these Porkis in the dark? All I see are outdated vehicles, guns and military gear. Looks like we do low tech operations and suffer casualties. IA has always been a brute force Army ready to sacrifice humans to achieve objectives . Use of tech is very new for IA. They better learn it fast. As India develops, people won’t want to do join Army as they have other jobs available. At that time only higher levels of gear, technology, safety etc would attract people to join. All developed economies and Russia/China face this.
IA is not very tech friendly force I personally feel
Bcoz the way they operate it feels like their focus is manpower rather as efficient way of operation with help of tech and related intel
It's in their attitude and that's the reason of our sf state they believe in bravery and commitment idiocracy just like u give me any gun I will kill and come if this is the attitude then such unnecessary casualties will occur
They need to transit towards tech and mordern fighting methods giving excuse of terrain is not suitable for mordern fighting methods is baseless
U have to derive it and for that u have to change

mist_consecutive

Golgappe Expert
What if it is poor maintenance?
Completely possible (even probable, because the last audit mentioned maintenance issues), in that case, technicians need to be re-trained, and a stringent SoP for maintenance needs to be followed. Also needs to investigate if maintenance requirements are too high (poor quality parts or design leads to more maintenance), in that case it needs to be improved in further iterations of ALH.

Oftentimes, "chalta hai" attitude of us Indians is the culprit, combined with overconfidence.

I have to wake from my slumber to write this down here.
I mean it's disappointing to see that IA has to still micromanage this out.
Going after a rabbit hole chase. Then losing men, causalities increasing.
Then NE is burning, then Naxals doing shitstorm.

Something is off men. Something is way off.
Drone searching has its limits, IR cameras would've helped. Much better, on top of a heli.
A year is there for elections, everyone wants Modi out, Paki, Chinese, US and the domestic parties.
We have seen Paki jihad, Naxal comeback and NE tribal chimpouts, only thing remaining is Chingchongs doing something once again at the border.

The current Paki jihad is for G20 but still all this has to be seen in the long term context of the LS elections.
We've been dealing with internal insurgents for decades successfully, but the only unknown variable is the Chineez

A year is there for elections, everyone wants Modi out, Paki, Chinese, US and the domestic parties.
We have seen Paki jihad, Naxal comeback and NE tribal chimpouts, only thing remaining is Chingchongs doing something once again at the border.

The current Paki jihad is for G20 but still all this has to be seen in the long term context of the LS elections.
We've been dealing with internal insurgents for decades successfully, but the only unknown variable is the Chineez
if chini want to enter the fray publicly, they will have to come thru the seas. almost 100,000 Indian troops are already at/near LAC for two years now.

ovalpiston

India ranks something like 115 out of 160 odd countries when it comes to per capita military size, we rank even lower when you count only the active military personnel, so no, we are not "manpower heavy" by any stretch of imagination, especially for a country of our size and surrounded by enemies such as China and Pakistan.

flanker99

Those who are criticizing manpower heavy approach of IA...

Let me tell you... it's military MGNREGA... there are tens of regional recruitment directorates of IA A.K.A "Sainik bharti board" spread across states... every year they receive calls from MPs/MLAs of the state and are pressurized to bring more & more vacancies so that youth gets jobs

These elected dhoti-topi morons are the reason for manpower heavy approach

What is the purpose of keeping an army? Defending the nation OR providing employment

In India it's the second... rest of the world it's the first.
Mountains eat men the current size is okay for a country facing active 2front scenario against two n powered neighbors.
Now if army just about taking care of external enemy maybe there could have been some down sizing but in this country whenever shit hits the fan be it law and orders,disaster relief etc army has to be called so before downsizing army other orgs like capf ,ndrf etc needs to carry their weight

Jimih

Those who are criticizing manpower heavy approach of IA...

Let me tell you... it's military MGNREGA... there are tens of regional recruitment directorates of IA A.K.A "Sainik bharti board" spread across states... every year they receive calls from MPs/MLAs of the state and are pressurized to bring more & more vacancies so that youth gets jobs

These elected dhoti-topi morons are the reason for manpower heavy approach

What is the purpose of keeping an army? Defending the nation OR providing employment

In India it's the second... rest of the world it's the first.
Kya tha yeh?

Manpower heavy approach is working in your favour.

Indian Army is the only Armed Force which actually are engaged and specialised in High Altitude warfare. All our frontline troops are placed on HA areas only. There you have to rely upon the sheer numbers of your troops only.

Regarding your MNREGA jibe, most of the Sipahis comes from those places which have a long history and association with the Indian Army. Generations after generations are joining the Army from those places.