India looking to host football IPL

Mar 18, 2010

THE Indians are planning a multi-million pound football shake-up by recruiting players for a tournament based on cricket's IPL.

They want to launch a two-month league within three years using big international names who are at the end of their contracts.

A number of Indians have been linked with takeovers at Premier League clubs but will now invest at home and bring players to them.

Football's IPL is part of a wider strategy geared to bidding for the 2026 or 2030 World Cup. Moves are being made to attract top clubs for friendly cups over the next two years.

An Indian source said: "It's a very exciting concept. If players are out of contract there will be nothing to stop them coming.

"India saw how Major League Soccer got David Beckham. This would be on a much bigger scale."

Three well-known football deal makers, Pini Zahavi, Chris Nathaniel and Kia Joorabchian will help establish the competition.

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport/football/2898604/India-plotting-football-IPL.html

Here's an excellent start to that endeavor:

Pipe dream if I ever saw one. I'd stick to watching English Premier League.

prahladh

If its the same format ias IPL cricket where a % of players in each team should be Indians then I guess it would be a great concept. Hopefully we will get some players who will lead us into FIFA.

And who'll watch a team full of non-descript Indian players and some second grade overseas players when the world class players play day in and day out in Europe? Even ICL, which lacked most of the big cricketing names came down crashing due to this. The league is doomed from start. It would be best if AIFF set their house in order, restructure the existing football league and try improve things within their means.

I'd rather play football manager than watch this shite.

Abhijeet Dey

To all Indians please support India's bid for 2015-16 FIFA Club World Cup.

LINK: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2015_FIFA_Club_World_Cup

Abhijeet Dey

Indian football needs a long-term view: Jefferson Slack
V Anand, The Times of India, 6 March 2014

LINK: timesofindia.indiatimes.com/sports/football/indian-super-league/interviews/Indian-football-needs-a-long-term-view-Jefferson-Slack/articleshow/31494745.cms

MUMBAI: Jefferson Slack, Global Business Development, Football, IMG Worldwide, will be spearheading the operation of Indian Super League that will see bidding for the franchise getting underway shortly. With India emerging as the sleeping giant among the world markets, Slack feels it is the moral responsibility of IMG-Reliance to provide necessary ingredients for the sport to excel in India. Excerpts:

What forced the first postponement of the launch?

There are obviously many moving parts to launching a league. In the end we felt that launching this September was preferable for number of reasons. The strength of this League will be based on the quality and commitment of the owners of the city club. We felt rushing them to put together an organization and team on the pitch in a short span would have been unreasonable, had we gone ahead for January-March window. Second, a September launch works better for the I-League schedule as well as being the kick off for most major leagues. Importantly the process last fall allowed us to develop detailed planning for the launch as well as confirm the great interest in Indian football from well-known players and managers.

Are Indians ready to accept the game considering their love for cricket?

I think a country as big and important as India can have many sports. There are lot of metrics which demonstrate India's love for football, especially among the younger generation. As a result, we think if we are able to provide Indian fans with an exciting, engaging and entertaining product, football will be successful.

While we work towards providing that, we must not forget about building a strong foundation for the sport to grow. The League, as one of the prime agenda, looks at presenting our younger generation an international standard grassroots programs across the country. If we dream, eventually Indian footballers will be as successful as their cricketing compatriots.

Things in India can get complicated. What are your expectations?

The big things seem to be in place — great domestic interest in the sport — lots of professional qualified potential partners, strength of IMG, Reliance and Star, foreign players and international managers looking forward to be part of Indian story etc. That said we will have everyday challenges, but in the big picture a relatively smooth ride.

With so many Bollywood celebrities getting involved, how do you view the potential?

I am blown away by both the excitement and passion of many of India's top celebrities for both sports in general and football in particular. I don't think this exists at this level in any other country.

Is there a possibility of the Mumbai franchise becoming India's version of LA Galaxy or LA Lakers?

Mumbai is a global iconic city. With right team, ownership and fan support, a football club here over time can definitely become an internationally recognized club.

Abhijeet Dey

IMG-Reliance invites bids for IPL-style Soccer League; SRK, John Abraham, Sourav Ganguly express interest
ET Bureau Mar 5, 2014

LINK: articles.economictimes.indiatimes.com/2014-03-05/news/47933655_1_indian-super-league-img-reliance-iplstyle-football-tournament

Rupert Murdoch and Mukesh Ambani's joint venture company, along with sports management firm IMG, has invited bids for its new city-based football league, Indian Super League, in which celebrities such as Shah Rukh Khan and John Abraham have evinced interest. This year's event will be held between September and November.

Bids have been invited for nine cities — Bangalore, Chennai, Delhi, Goa, Guwahati, Kochi, Kolkata, Mumbai and Pune — of which 8 teams will be selected for the tournament. The bidding for each of the teams will start at a base price ofRs120 crore for a 10-year-contract. The first edition of the tournament was originally planned for January but was postponed.

While SRK has publicly said that he wants to buy a team in the IPLstyle football tournament, a person close to John Abraham said he's definitely interested and is currently looking at the opportunity. Former Indian cricket team captain Sourav Ganguly is also said to have expressed interest in buying a team.

Other companies that are likely to pick up the bid document are Rhiti Sports, owned by Arun Pandey, a close friend and business partner of the Indian cricket team captain MS Dhoni, and JSW Sports, the sports arm of Sajjan Jindal's JSW Steel that already owns the Bangalore team in the domestic football tournament I-League.

"The Invitation to bid (ITB) and other bid related documents shall be made available at the registered office of FSDPL... on payment of a document fee of Rs5,00,000... in favour of 'Football Sports Development Private Ltd'," IMG-Reliance said in an advertisement in national newspapers on Monday. "All bidding parties need to satisfy the eligibility criteria and other requirements specified in the ITB," the ad said. Advisory firm Ernst & Young will evaluate the bid documents and the winning franchises will be announced by the first week of April 2014, IMG-Reliance said in another statement.

In October last year, Star India had picked up one-third stake in a company jointly owned by Reliance Industries and IMG that will run the new football league, for Rs2,000 crore. The deal also gives them the broadcast rights for 10 years.

IMG-Reliance had acquired commercial and marketing rights for football in India in 2010 from the All India Football Federation for Rs700 crore to be paid over a 15-year period. The deal included starting a new football league.

Each of the eight teams in the league will have 22 players; 10 of them from overseas, eight from India, and four under 23 from the local area.

Reliance-IMG will also improve infrastructure facilities at the various stadia in cities chosen for the new tournament, which will also be used for the under-17 FIFA World Cup to be played in India in 2017. This would include replacement of pitches, new dressing rooms as well as seating facilities.

While AIFF runs several tournaments like the Nehru Cup, Federation Cup and the revamped National Football League, which is now called the I-League, football as a sport has not gained as much traction as cricket did. Foreign clubs, however, see potential.

Arsenal Football Club recently signed a deal to open official Arsenal Soccer Schools across India. Top English Premier League club Liverpool FC is setting up a residential football coaching academy to develop players up to age 18. Real Madrid Foundation has set up a social and sports academy in Kolkata. FIFA too is keen to develop the sport in India.

In 2011, there were 83 million TV viewers watching football in India, against 122 million for cricket. A study by TAM Media Research between 2005 and 2009 shows that audience for football in India rose 60% in this period. It's also true that much of this audience is for foreign leagues like English Premier League and the Spanish La Liga.

While cricket has a successful league in Indian Premier League, India has seen a few other attempts to popularise other sports through Premier Hockey League and Indian Badminton League.

Abhijeet Dey

Football league bids kick off with a roar
One of the main criteria to own a team is that the bidder should have a plan ready to develop football at the grass root level in the city
BS Reporter, Mumbai, 7 March 2014

LINK: business-standard.com/article/current-affairs/football-league-bids-kick-off-with-a-roar-114030600328_1.html

Indian Super League, IMG Reliance and STAR India's coming football tournament, received an enthusiastic response in the bid process for franchises that started earlier this week.

Sources at the league's promoters said owners of I-League clubs, as well as celebrities from the sports and film sectors, had come forward to buy invitation-to-bid (ITB) documents.

Apart from meeting the usual financial criteria, bidders for Indian Super League franchises will have to ensure they have grass-roots development plans for football in their home cities, according to the ITBs for franchises.

An IMG Reliance source says, "In the past, it has been seen clubs spend huge amounts of money annually on player salaries but a very little part of it is spent on developing the sport. Therefore, one of the main eligibility norms in the ITB is development of football in the city the club represents."

Teams
It is known Bollywood superstar Shah Rukh Khan will bid for a team from Kolkata. Sources say Khan might face tough competition from former Indian cricket team captain Sourav Ganguly. Others in the fray include model, actor and producer John Abraham, Ronnie Screwvala, Rhiti Sports, Mahindra & Mahindra and JSW Sports.

The tender document costs Rs 5 lakh and the base price has been fixed at Rs 120 crore over a term of 10 years. Bids have been sought from nine regions — Bangalore, Chennai, Delhi, Goa, Guwahati, Kochi, Kolkata, Mumbai and Pune — of which the top eight will be selected. Reportedly, Hyderabad was also considered but dropped due to political instability in the region.

Each team has to have at least 22 players — eight international players and 14 domestic ones (from the national team, clubs and the under-23 and -19 groups). Of the eight international players in a team, one will be a marque player.

IMG is in talks to rope in various international football stars. Dwight Yorke, Fredrik Ljungberg, Robert Pines, Louis Saha and Hernán Crespo have already confirmed their participation.

"The marque players will be recently retired international ones who have represented their countries in the World Cup and played in major international football leagues," says a source at IMG Reliance.

It is expected the auction of players will be conducted in May.

Under the agreement between IMG Reliance and STAR India, the TV network (a 30 per cent partner in the league), will be responsible for marketing. It holds the exclusive media rights to the league and will be responsible for roping in on-ground, title and broadcast sponsors.

Abhijeet Dey

Mohammedan wish to 'unite' Mohun Bagan and East Bengal for Kolkata franchisee in ISL

LINK: goal.com/en-india/news/136/india/2014/03/11/4671896/mohammedan-wish-to-unite-mohun-bagan-and-east-bengal-for-kolkata-?ICID=SP

The Black and Whites are interested in venturing into the new league of IMG-Reliance but along with a couple of other partners...

Mohammedan Sporting officials are interested to buy the Kolkata franchisee in the proposed Indian Super League (ISL), Goal has understood.

The officials of the century-old Kolkata club have already bought the tender to submit their bid and will have a few internal meetings to finalize the intricate details.

"Yes, we have thought about making a bid and have started the proceedings. However, nothing has been finalized yet and we would need a few meetings more," Iqbal Ahmed, a top official of the club told Sunday morning.

However, quite surprisingly, the Mohammedan officials are hoping to bring East Bengal and Mohun Bagan into the fray too.

"We are trying to hold a meeting with the East Bengal and Mohun Bagan officials. We will try to make these three clubs united and then do something together in the bidding process," Ahmed informed Goal.

The meeting, however, has been postponed due to the illness of Anjan Mitra, the Mohun Bagan secretary as he is now under treatment in Mumbai for quite some days now.

"Most of the top officials of Mohun Bagan are in Mumbai these days since Anjan Da is ill. We will wait for them to come back and then arrange for the meeting. The bidding process closes on 25th of March and that means we still have much time left," he signed off.

According to media reports, Sourav Ganguly, the former captain of the Indian National cricket team and Shah Rukh Khan, a popular actor from Bollywood are also interested to vie for the Kolkata franchisee in the ISL.

Mar 18, 2010

THE Indians are planning a multi-million pound football shake-up by recruiting players for a tournament based on cricket's IPL.

They want to launch a two-month league within three years using big international names who are at the end of their contracts.

A number of Indians have been linked with takeovers at Premier League clubs but will now invest at home and bring players to them.

Football's IPL is part of a wider strategy geared to bidding for the 2026 or 2030 World Cup. Moves are being made to attract top clubs for friendly cups over the next two years.

An Indian source said: "It's a very exciting concept. If players are out of contract there will be nothing to stop them coming.

"India saw how Major League Soccer got David Beckham. This would be on a much bigger scale."

Three well-known football deal makers, Pini Zahavi, Chris Nathaniel and Kia Joorabchian will help establish the competition.

India plotting football IPL | The Sun |Sport|Football
Football Based on IPL.. which means full of corruption and black money and tax evasion and hawala and match fixing and fooling indian janta etc etc etc

ubuntu

Football Based on IPL.. which means full of corruption and black money and tax evasion and hawala and match fixing and fooling indian janta etc etc etc
Democracy and corruption go hand in hand sir.

Abhijeet Dey

It says India is 'interested' in bidding.
Old news from December 2013

Heavy Industries Minister Praful Patel - 'I can confirm that we have made a bid for the Club World Cup for the year 2015'
By Shikharr Chandra, 09-Dec-2013, goal.com

LINK: goal.com/en-india/news/136/india/2013/12/09/4466451/praful-patel-i-can-confirm-that-we-have-made-a-bid-for-the

The AIFF president, Praful Patel confirmed that India has made a bid for the 2015 Club World Cup. The hosts will be announced next year...(i.e. Year 2014)

The All India Football Federation (AIFF) President, Praful Patel confirmed that India has made a bid to host the FIFA Club World Cup in 2015. This comes as another encouraging sign for Indian football, after the country was recently successful in their bid to host the Under-17 World Cup.

"I can confirm that we have made a bid for the Club World Cup for the year 2015. I will be flying to the FIFA headquarters next year to strengthen the chances of our bid and hopefully by next year we will get to know whether we are successful in our bid or not," Patel said.

"I think we have a good chance. We have made a good case for our bid and by the middle of next year the results will be out," he concluded.

Abhijeet Dey

IPL se cricket improve hui Kya ???
IPL has improved fitness in Indian cricket, says former physio John Gloster
Press Trust of India, 4th October 2013

LINK: sports.ndtv.com/cricket/news/215100-ipl-has-improved-fitness-in-indian-cricket-says-former-physio-john-gloster

When asked how the likes of Indian veterans Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid have been able to carry on for so long, Gloster said it has a lot to do with the positive environment around them.

Jaipur: The purists might scoff at it, but renowned physiotherapist John Gloster feels the IPL has helped improve the fitness standard of the Indian cricketers.

"Undoubtedly, the general standard of fitness in Indian cricket has improved tremendously and one of the major reasons is IPL," Gloster told PTI in an interview.

Gloster, who quit as the Indian Team's physio in 2008, is currently associated with IPL franchise Rajasthan Royals, which is competing in the ongoing Champions League Twenty20.

"Rajasthan Royals is the only team which has a regular Physio. It has helped the players. I have become a central point for many players as I am easily available. They keep talking to me and I have helped many of them extend their careers," Gloster said.

"The most important thing is to communicate with me about your injuries. With more cricket around, the injuries are on the rise but one shouldn't hide them instead should tell about them honestly so that they could be cured in time. This way you can also avoid serious or chronic injuries," he said.

Gloster said an important having a healthy mind was the key to having fit body.

"Mental fatigue is more dangerous than physical injuries which can be cured. It is the drive and passion which can override the physical aspect. If stress is there, the levels of 'Cortisal' increases and the threat of injuries also becomes imminent. It is the environment which dictates performance," said Gloster.

When asked how the likes of Indian veterans Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid have been able to carry on for so long, Gloster said it has a lot to do with the positive environment around them.

"I told you it is all about environment around you. It dictates your performance. Positive environment helps you perform better and vice-versa. The great Sachin has shown great skills to block out the distractions and keep a healthy and positive environment around him," he said.

"Another factor is that they are enjoying the game and feel they can still contribute to their teams' cause. Their drive and passion keeps them going.

IPL has improved fitness in Indian cricket, says former physio John Gloster
Press Trust of India, 4th October 2013

LINK: sports.ndtv.com/cricket/news/215100-ipl-has-improved-fitness-in-indian-cricket-says-former-physio-john-gloster

Jaipur: The purists might scoff at it, but renowned physiotherapist John Gloster feels the IPL has helped improve the fitness standard of the Indian cricketers.

"Undoubtedly, the general standard of fitness in Indian cricket has improved tremendously and one of the major reasons is IPL," Gloster told PTI in an interview.

Gloster, who quit as the Indian Team's physio in 2008, is currently associated with IPL franchise Rajasthan Royals, which is competing in the ongoing Champions League Twenty20.

"Rajasthan Royals is the only team which has a regular Physio. It has helped the players. I have become a central point for many players as I am easily available. They keep talking to me and I have helped many of them extend their careers," Gloster said.

"The most important thing is to communicate with me about your injuries. With more cricket around, the injuries are on the rise but one shouldn't hide them instead should tell about them honestly so that they could be cured in time. This way you can also avoid serious or chronic injuries," he said.

Gloster said an important having a healthy mind was the key to having fit body.

"Mental fatigue is more dangerous than physical injuries which can be cured. It is the drive and passion which can override the physical aspect. If stress is there, the levels of 'Cortisal' increases and the threat of injuries also becomes imminent. It is the environment which dictates performance," said Gloster.

"I told you it is all about environment around you. It dictates your performance. Positive environment helps you perform better and vice-versa. The great Sachin has shown great skills to block out the distractions and keep a healthy and positive environment around him," he said.

"Another factor is that they are enjoying the game and feel they can still contribute to their teams' cause. Their drive and passion keeps them going.

the gora has to secure his job with BCCI ,he has to do bakwas.

the bottom-line is IPL has failed to give new talent specially pacers and oldies getting exhausted with injuries due to busy schedule.

we r still seeing same old oldies again and again and world worst pacers are playing for india

Abhijeet Dey

the gora has to secure his job with BCCI ,he has to do bakwas.

the bottom-line is IPL has failed to give new talent specially pacers and oldies getting exhausted with injuries due to busy schedule.

we r still seeing same old oldies again and again and world worst pacers are playing for india
But don't you think those famous international players who are going to play in Indian Super League will show us how to play european style of football. Most football fans in India don't know much about Indian football. They will talk more about English Premier League, Spanish La Liga and Eredivisie.

Indian team will also be able to beat top football teams from arab countries. That will give a huge boost to national prestige.