India did not purchase arms from Sri Lanka - SL Army denies PTI news

Kito

Sri Lanka Army has rejected the PTI news which reported that India purchased arms from Sri Lanka.

The Indian Lok Sabha was informed yesterday that the Indian Government had purchased weapons from Sri Lanka during the past three years.

In a written reply to a Lok Sabha query, Defence Minister A. K. Antony said the three forces have spent over 23.5 billion Indian rupees for procuring weapon systems from several countries, including Russia, Israel, the US, the UK, Poland, Slovakia, Finland and Sri Lanka.

As per the data provided by the three Services headquarters, Russia has emerged as the biggest beneficiary.

However when our news team contacted Sri Lanka Army, its Spokesman Brigadier Ruvan Wanigasooriya termed the report as false news.

He stressed that Sri Lanka has never sold arms to India in the past.

India did not purchase arms from Sri Lanka - Army denies PTI news

drkrn

Re: India did not purchase arms from Sri Lanka - SL Army denies PTI ne

may be india paid money to buy the weapons it used in civil war.as now civil war is over no need of such weapons.

or may be any chinese made???? for testing???:shocked:

There is difference between arms and the equipment for armed forces in general.

In the reply in Lok-sabha, I think Def. Minister might have meant to list the countries from whom we have procured defense equipment rather than only arms.

I don't know about arms purchase from Sri-Lanka but do know that we have an outstanding order of 80 FIC craft for Navy (Sagar-Prahari Bal) from a shipyard( Solas Marine) in Colombo, some of which have been already delivered.

Now, If your defense officials would issue such prompt statements ( which has an repulsive undertone) , without clarifying the information through proper channels, then Solas Marine must forget about the repeat order of these FIC.

antony always used to blabber and if questioned he will change and simply say based on ground report etc

There is difference between arms and the equipment for armed forces in general.

In the reply in Lok-sabha, I think Def. Minister might have meant to list the countries from whom we have procured defense equipment rather than only arms.

I don't know about arms purchase from Sri-Lanka but do know that we have an outstanding order of 80 FIC craft for Navy (Sagar-Prahari Bal) from a shipyard( Solas Marine) in Colombo, some of which have been already delivered.

Now, If your defense officials would issue such prompt statements ( which has an repulsive undertone) , without clarifying the information through proper channels, then Solas Marine must forget about the repeat order of these FIC.
Thanks for clarifying this. Otherwise I was under the impression this was some fake news or something else.

Sridhar

House keeper

There was a order for some fast patrol boats from Sri Lanka last year. An UAE based company is making them in Sri lanka .

SL manufactures arms and equipment?

Added:

Good to know they have outsourced their industrial potential to foreigners.

Not surprising.

As Lee Kuan Yew has said in an interview to a US Journalist, Sri Lankanese are bone lazy and rather unimaginative.

Must be the salubrious weather that is so balmy that has got infused in their bones and genes that are at play!

What good will it do?

They will still not protect the Indian fishermen from the SL Navy attacks on defenceless civilians!

This namby pamby Govt is hard at it to make India a toothless Tiger that is only fit to be pounded into Chinese traditional medicine!

Kito

Added:

Not surprising.

As Lee Kuan Yew has said in an interview to a US Journalist, Sri Lankanese are bone lazy and rather unimaginative.

Must be the salubrious weather that is so balmy that has got infused in their bones and genes that are at play!
Lazy Sri Lankans' Sri Lanka is the best country in South Asia according to most of stats while some of countries in the region struggling with their poverty, lack of basic facilities etc. Some of their citizens even do not have toilet facilities, still sh***ing on the roads.

You have toilets!

Must be rich. :(

Kito

You have toilets!

Must be rich. :(
Sometimes have to write about unnecessary topics to remind them how lazy people are them. Hope they will think twice when mentioning about 'lazy' Sri Lankans.

Best country?

Child sex?

A postage stamp is easy to govern and even for that you are failing.

Have you not realise how you have sold yourself to foreigners?

What industry can you claim to be solely designed, devised by Sri Lankese and which is not outsourced?

Let us be clear. You are so insignificant that none cares to even do research about your country!

Are you suggesting that you have highways with concrete and commodes even in your drawing rooms?

Who are you trying to impress?

Sometimes have to write about unnecessary topics to remind them how lazy people are them. Hope they will think twice when mentioning about 'lazy' Sri Lankans.
You are not only lazy.

Your are bone lazy.

I have seen enough of Sri Lankese to know!

Kito

Best country?

Child sex?

What industry can you claim to be solely designed, devised by Sri Lankese and which is not outsourced?

Let us be clear. You are so insignificant that none cares to even do research about your country!

Are you suggesting that you have highways with concrete and commodes even in your drawing rooms?

Your child sex comment shows your sick mentality! Once again I have to say think about your country first. It's become funny when someone blames to a country keeping much more worse things in their country.

oh yeah man, no one cares to research about Sri Lanka.

yeah yeah, we don't have good roads and infrastructure, we are the worst country in the region. lol

kseeker

Best country?

Child sex?

Ray ↑
Your child sex comment shows your sick mentality! Once again I have to say think about your country first. It's become funny when someone blames to a country keeping much more worse things in their country.

yeah yeah, we don't have good roads and infrastructure, we are the worst country in the region. lol
Truth hurts you know ! Your reply itself is evidence for that ;-)

HeinzGud

Added:

Not surprising.

So it is my country. So why you care about it mind your own business Mr. Ray. If there is a error we will mend it we do not need take tuition from people like you.

Here's what def. minister had said in Lok-Sabah.

The Indian government has spent over Rs 2.35 lakh crore (USD 38.4 Billion) in the last three years for procuring weapon systems for the three armed forces, the Indian parliament was informed today.
Defence Minister A K Antony said to a member's question that the three forces have spent over Rs 2.35 lakh crore for procuring weapon systems from several countries including Russia, Israel, the US, the UK, Poland, Slovakia, Finland and Sri Lanka.
As per the data provided by the three Services headquarters, Russia has emerged as the biggest beneficiary of the imports by India by bagging business worth over Rs one lakh crore (USD 16.3 Billion).
Of the three forces, Army has emerged as the biggest spender from the year 2010-11 to 2012-13 with purchases of over Rs 1.92 lakh crore (USD 31.3 Billion) as per the data in Antony's reply.
In the Army procurement, the major expenditure has been on procuring missiles and armaments worth over one lakh crore (USD 16.3 Billion).

The Indian Air Force is second in terms of procuring weapon systems with acquisitions worth over Rs 38,900 crore (USD 6 Billion) from foreign sources.
The list of countries from where the IAF has procured its systems includes Israel, Russia, the US and the UK along with France and Germany.
The Navy has spent only Rs 4,000 crore (USD 645 Million) in these three years for procuring items such as Tavor assault rifles, Harpoon anti-ship missiles from the US for its P-8I anti-submarine aircraft and refitting of its submarines in Russia.
The Coast Guard also spent over Rs 400 crore (USD 65 Million) for procuring radars and fast patrol vessels for safeguarding the coastline.
The Defence Minister said the Government has changed the procurement procedure for promoting self-reliance in weapon manufacturing by giving priority to indigenous production.
In a written reply to a Lok Sabha query, Defence Minister A K Antony said the three forces have spent over Rs 2.35 lakh crore for procuring weapon systems from several countries including Russia, Israel, the US, the UK, Poland, Slovakia, Finland and Sri Lanka.
Indian Three Year Defence Imports Totaled US$ 38 Billion

============================================================================================

This is what A. K. Antony had replied.
But, our friends from Sri-Lanka converted the answer to procurement to arms and ammunition rather than weapon system.
They were quite prompt in denying selling arms to India.
But, the question is whether the distortion deliberate or un-intended?

Not my sick mind. Just the reality.

Check this out and then talk.