India declares Chinese stapled visas invalid

SHASH2K2

Do not get over paranoid about the situation. What we are doing is ok with respect for China. We are modernizing our forces and clearly thinking about China; once we reach a level of deterrence visa vie China, what they are doing with Visa will become our least concern. In-fact I strongly feel they are not helping their cause by making India feel threatened. This brings more focus in China in the Indian government and forces India to align with its foes.
Pace at which we are modernizing we will take years to reach to their current level and by that time they will be again on a different level. Unless we take some drastic measures we will always be in catching mode and will never be ready to give a befitting reply to them.

Issue stapled visas to applicants from Xinjiang, Inner Mongolia and Tibet; accept forms only in Cantonese and English.

arre yaar chill at least they issued staples vise last time they didn`t issue any vise arguing AP is part of china and one doesn`t require visa in its own country

on serious note i think its pressure tactics by chinese to raise our tempor and so that our stupid leader would make mistake like those did in past and they would once again get chance to attack us and show their militrary power world and also prove that 3rd rated weapons actually work

Will continue to issue stapled visas to Arunachal residents: China

NEW DELHI: China today made it clear that it will not issue visas to any official from Arunachal Pradesh, over which it lays claims, and will continue to issue stapled visas to non-officials from that state.

Speaking against the backdrop of reports that two Arunachal men have got stapled visas which was departure from past practice, an official in Chinese embassy, on the condition of anonymity, said there was no change in their visa policy for residents of Arunachal Pradesh.

"There is no change in our visa policy for residents of Arunachal Pradesh. China does not issue visas to officials from that state and will still not do it. For non-officials, we only issue stapled visas," the official said.

The incident of issuance of stapled visas to residents of Arunachal Pradesh came to light when two sportsmen from that state were prevented by immigration officials from boarding a flight yesterday from New Delhi to Beijing since they had stapled visas given by Chinese Embassy on their passports.

Indian Weightlifting Federation's Joint Secretary Abraham K Techi along with a weightlifter of the state were taken aback when immigration officials at New Delhi's IGI Airport stopped them and turned them away because of the stapled visas issued by the Chinese Embassy.

Reacting to the Chinese action, the Ministry of External Affairs said India considers Arunachal Pradesh as an integral part of India and has conveyed to the Chinese side that a uniform process of issue of visas to Indian citizens be followed regardless of applicant's ethnicity or place of domicile.

Maintaining that both the athletes are reportedly domiciles of Arunachal Pradesh, the Ministry recalled that a travel advisory had been issued in November, 2009 cautioning Indian citizens that Chinese visas stapled to passports were not valid for travel outside the country.

Needling India, China started issuing stapled visas to people from Jammu and Kashmir from later part of 2008 in an attempt to project it as a disputed area.

In the case of residents of Arunachal Pradesh, visas were never issued till now as China claims the whole of the north-eastern state as its own.

The contentious issue of stapled visas for residents of J and K had figured during Chinese Premier Wen Jiabao's visit to New Delhi last month.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...achal-residents-China/articleshow/7278164.cms

arre yaar chill at least they issued staples vise last time they didn`t issue any vise arguing AP is part of china and one doesn`t require visa in its own country

on serious note i think its pressure tactics by chinese to raise our tempor and so that our stupid leader would make mistake like those did in past and they would once again get chance to attack us and show their militrary power world and also prove that 3rd rated weapons actually work

do you know what means of proud

have you ever heard that word well that important then life one you loss your proud you always loss that

i am not saying we should attack on them but we have to understand we are not weak yes they can kill 100 indian but we can also kill 50 chinise and that message should be given to them

warriorextreme

we cant blame them as they are doing exactly what is best policy for their country..but our a**h**e government wont do anything like this in return..why are we so soft??
we should not only give stapled visas to tibetians but we should also play same game with pakistan..but i am sure thats not gonna happen...it happens only in india and "it never happens only in india"

We should be proud of our resilience. China is trying to provoke us in ways innumerable. But every-time we keep our cool.

well its not just about just china what pakistan is doing from 1947 they are misusng our resilience

tell me few pepoles came mumbai and can kill so many indian and what we doing nothing we are same as we were

tell me how you can diffrenciate resilience and cowardness

why we are so soft that any one can insult us dont you see what happend in ausstrila just because of our softness

well somtime you have to reject ghnadi formula if any one slap on you one sde then you have to hit hime hard so that next time he will not see you with bad eyes

that the message we have to give them

Arya, the answer is within. Please search for it!

chinese think Indians are weak, have no self respect and are pathetic.

They are right except that govt is weak and spineless be is congress or bjp. problem is with people though since we elect them to power.

democracy is not right for India and neither is dictatorship.....it is written in India's destiny that we will always have spineless leaders.

'China's stand to issue stapled visa to Arunachal residents a good omen'

BEIJING: China's decision to issue stapled visas to Arunachal Pradesh residents is a good omen, observers of India-China border negotiations, said. It means China accepts people of Arunachal to be Indian citizens, which is major policy change for a country that describes it as its own province of "South Tibet".

"If this news is correct, it is a setback for our stand. Or, a major concession given to India," Hu Shisheng, deputy director in the State-run Institute of South and Southeast Asian Studies, told TNN.

Some Indian observers have taken a different view claiming that stapled visas were continuation of China's policy of putting up obstacles in the way of a negotiated settlement of the boundary problem. But there are signs that the Indian government is secretly happy over the new development as China did not give any visas to residents of Arunachal earlier.

"We have been saying that people of Arunachal Pradesh do not need any visa as it is part of China. If stapled visa has been given, there must be a mutual agreement between the two countries," he said.

There was a "slim chance" of stapled visas being issued by mistake by some official because it is a sensitive issue. "There must have been a change in policy for such a thing to happen" Hu said.

He said the case of Arunachal should not be linked with Kashmir. Residents of Jammu and Kashmir are being given stapled visa because of the dispute between India and Pakistan. "China has said it is ready to change its policies and even redraw the border around Kashmir once India and Pakistan settle their disputes," Hu said.

Source

AAPSU burns effigies of Chinese President

ITANAGAR, Jan 13 – The issuance of stapled visas to two Arunachalees by the Chinese Embassy in New Delhi has sparked strong protest here today with a student's union burning effigies of Chinese President Hu Jintao.
Hundreds of All Arunachal Pradesh Students Union (AAPSU) activists holding anti-China placards stalled traffic movement for a few hours at Bank Tinali, the nerve centre of the State Capital.

Indian Weightlifting Federation's Joint-Secretary Abraham K Techi along with a weightlifter of the State were taken back yesterday when immigration officials at New Delhi's IGI Airport stopped them and turned the two men away because of the stapled visas issued by the Chinese Embassy.

The duo was to leave for Beijing at the invitation of Chinese Weightlifting Association president Menguang on behalf of China Weightlifting Grand Prix to be held at Fujian province during January 15 to 17.

Blaming the Centre as well as the State governments for not taking the issue seriously, AAPSU president Takam Tatung while talking to the media alleged that Arunachal was suffering because of India's "faulty foreign policy."

"We are going to submit memorandums to the President and Prime Minister of India soon requesting them to understand the sentiments of the people of Arunachal and to initiate proper measures with China," Tatung disclosed.

Meanwhile, taking strong exception to the Chinese ploy of issuing stapled visas to the two Arunachalees, former Lok Sabha member and newly-appointed BJP national general secretary Tapir Gao today urged the Indian government to reciprocate the same by issuing stapled visas to Chinese nationals visiting India. – PTI

Source

Too bad if China staples visa.

Maybe the Chinese staples are not selling in the international market.

S.A.T.A

Chinese certainly have strange yearning for their staples,its tough to guess what Chinese like the most,their staples or their panda.

Saibal Dasgupta, TNN, Jan 14, 2011; Times of India

BEIJING: China's decision to issue stapled visas to Arunachal Pradesh residents is a good omen, observers of India-China border negotiations, said. It means China accepts people of Arunachal to be Indian citizens, which is major policy change for a country that describes it as its own province of "South Tibet".

"If this news is correct, it is a setback for our stand. Or, a major concession given to India," Hu Shisheng, deputy director in the State-run Institute of South and Southeast Asian Studies, told TNN.

Some Indian observers have taken a different view claiming that stapled visas were continuation of China's policy of putting up obstacles in the way of a negotiated settlement of the boundary problem. But there are signs that the Indian government is secretly happy over the new development as China did not give any visas to residents of Arunachal earlier.

"We have been saying that people of Arunachal Pradesh do not need any visa as it is part of China. If stapled visa has been given, there must be a mutual agreement between the two countries," he said.

There was a "slim chance" of stapled visas being issued by mistake by some official because it is a sensitive issue. "There must have been a change in policy for such a thing to happen" Hu said.

He said the case of Arunachal should not be linked with Kashmir. Residents of Jammu and Kashmir are being given stapled visa because of the dispute between India and Pakistan. "China has said it is ready to change its policies and even redraw the border around Kashmir once India and Pakistan settle their disputes," Hu said.

Read more: 'China's stand to issue stapled visa to Arunachal residents a good omen' - The Times of India http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...od-omen/articleshow/7284872.cms#ixzz1B2Emgb9I

SHASH2K2

India and China are sparring again over visas for residents of Arunachal Pradesh, a state China is reluctant to accept as part of India. Earlier this month, two residents of Arunachal Pradesh (an official from the Indian Weightlifting Federation and a weightlifter) on their way to China for participating in an event were stopped by the immigration in Delhi, for their passports had the Chinese visas stapled as a sheet on their passport and not stamped on the actual passport itself.

The two nations have argued over the stapled visa issue earlier too when China started giving out such visas to residents of Jammu and Kashmir, an area disputed between India and China's good friend, Pakistan. India had taken up the stapled visa for J&K residents with the Chinese premier Wen Jiabao just over a month ago and had been assured that it would be looked at seriously. Far from acting on the promise of J&K, China has now done the same for residents from our north-eastern state.

The Chinese government has been maintaining that there is no change in their "visa policy for residents of Arunachal Pradesh. China does not issue visas to officials from that state and will still not do it. For non-officials, we only issue stapled visas."

This is a LIE and here is the proof. This lady, resident of Itanagar in Arunachal, is a school teacher and was born in Lower Subansiri in Arunachal Pradesh. Her Indian passport was issued to her by the regional passport office at Guwahati.

She visited Beijing in 1995 as an official delegate for a UN Conference as part of an accredited NGO representative, on a visa stamped on her passport.

As one can see, she is a resident of Arunachal, has an Indian passport and the Chinese visa that allowed her to travel was stamped on the sheet of her passport. It is not stapled. And she DID require a visa to travel.

Could it be that the Chinese did recognise Arunachal as part of India till just five years ago and have decided to play up now? If so, what does it show? Does it show that they perceive India to be weaker than what it was?

I think they do. The way they have ratcheted up on the visa issue for J&K and Arunachal, and the brazenness with which they entered our territory in Ladakh and stopped work at a developmental project recently, all show they see us increasingly as a pushover. About Ladakh, if you remember, I had done a post on May 19, 2009 – The Chinese think big, we don't, where I had talked about the boat patrolling of the stunning Pangong Tso at 14000 feet. Forty per cent of this lake is in India and the remainder in China. I had mentioned about how it is common knowledge among the locals that the Chinese intrude into Indian waters repeatedly and go back in their high speed boats. Indians too have these boats, but they outnumber us 1:11.

Back to the current incident. If I, with very little effort, can get hold of someone from Arunachal whose passport has the Chinese visa stamped properly, why is it that the government, with all the resources at its disposal, unable to do so. I would have expected the foreign ministry to immediately react and tell the Chinese to shut up and not lie that its "stance has not changed."

Too much to expect of a regime that is weak, meek and confused, perhaps.

Does it show that they perceive India to be weaker than what it was?
Of course they consider us weak ever since this government came into power. Gone are the days when Congress was like Indira; fierce like a tiger despite having less equipment. In 1987 we had the Operation Meghdoot to check Chinese on our borders. In 67 we had the Chola incident here in Sikkim when IA thrashed the PLA border troops.

Do you think the present government has the NUTS to do that?Especially Madam Sonia, puppy Raol, Manmohan Not-So-Singh and wannabe-clean-AK-Anthony? PUHHLEEEEEEZZZZEE! ?:D

I am willing to bet my last year's entire salary that it will piss in its pants before doing that.

AAPSU burns effigies of Chinese President

ITANAGAR, Jan 13 – The issuance of stapled visas to two Arunachalees by the Chinese Embassy in New Delhi has sparked strong protest here today with a student's union burning effigies of Chinese President Hu Jintao.
Hundreds of All Arunachal Pradesh Students Union (AAPSU) activists holding anti-China placards stalled traffic movement for a few hours at Bank Tinali, the nerve centre of the State Capital.

Indian Weightlifting Federation's Joint-Secretary Abraham K Techi along with a weightlifter of the State were taken back yesterday when immigration officials at New Delhi's IGI Airport stopped them and turned the two men away because of the stapled visas issued by the Chinese Embassy.

The duo was to leave for Beijing at the invitation of Chinese Weightlifting Association president Menguang on behalf of China Weightlifting Grand Prix to be held at Fujian province during January 15 to 17.

Blaming the Centre as well as the State governments for not taking the issue seriously, AAPSU president Takam Tatung while talking to the media alleged that Arunachal was suffering because of India's "faulty foreign policy."

"We are going to submit memorandums to the President and Prime Minister of India soon requesting them to understand the sentiments of the people of Arunachal and to initiate proper measures with China," Tatung disclosed.

Meanwhile, taking strong exception to the Chinese ploy of issuing stapled visas to the two Arunachalees, former Lok Sabha member and newly-appointed BJP national general secretary Tapir Gao today urged the Indian government to reciprocate the same by issuing stapled visas to Chinese nationals visiting India. – PTI

Source

Hats off to the students for this initiative. But they must know that this evil government that is there because of Chinese and American funding, will not do anything for our NE.

tell me guys what you want from pm in his age

can any one tell me his age

please dont give him too much pruerrsue his first duty is towards congress not nation