India China LAC & International Border Discussions

Hellfire

Army Chief Naravane’s 2012 prophecy on Chinese strategy rings true in Ladakh sector

Given that India has been upgrading its infrastructure along the border with China since 2014, officials say some amount of border friction is going to be the reality of the day

Back in the autumn of 2012, a senior faculty member at the Mhow-based Army War College published a paper on the China’s war zone campaign (WZC). Beijing would, the army officer argued, seek to coerce smaller adversaries into acceding to China’s demand through graded threat of force or actual use of force till its ends are met.

The officer, then Brigadier Manoj Mukund Naravane, wrote that the political objective of this Chinese concept is unveiled by “occupation of certain un-held tract of land or high value targets’. This would be done through elite forces.

The first would be the domination-cum-deterrence (DCD) phase where the People’s Liberation Army (PLA) would focus on building up its presence in the territory in question to deter the enemy. In the second phase, Gaining Initiative by Striking First (GISF), it would deploy rapid reaction units to strike first to wrest the initiative from the enemy. The last stage is the Quick Battle Quick Resolution where the PLA would use a dedicated division level force. But the PLA, the senior army officer said in his seminal paper published in Scholar Warrior, a journal published by the Delhi-based think tank Center For Land Warfare Studies, expects to achieve its objective in the first two phases.

As the Indian Army Chief now, General Manoj Mukund Naravane is faced with a WZC situation along the 3,488 kilometre long Line of Actual Control (LAC) with PLA opening multiple fronts in western and eastern sectors while the world including India battles the Covid-19 pandemic that has its origins in central China’s Wuhan city. The Chinese aggressive manoeuvres also entail the PLA moving support elements in depth areas of eastern Ladakh.

Although Gen Naravane didn’t refer to it in his 2012 paper, national security planners say the key to the Chinese WZC concept is deception coupled with state of the art intelligence, surveillance and reconnaissance (ISR) capabilities.

The top army officer was clear that the only way to counter the WZC strategy is to thwart Chinese designs in the initial two, DCD and GISF, stages.

Beijing did have the initial advantage when it moved soldiers to Galwan Valley and Pangong Tso in eastern Ladakh. The Chinese army had built roads right up to their claim line and could move in troops quickly, once it decided to activate them.

This advantage now stands neutralised with Indian force levels building up over the past weeks. The Indian Army is also staring at the aggressor with troops holding their positions and not allowing the Red Army to brow beat them at Galwan Valley and Pangong Tso.

Top government officials told Hindustan Times that the security establishment did realise that India’s northern borders would remain turbulent for some time to come after New Delhi decided to upgrade its border infrastructure in 2014.

For decades, India had been debating the extent and pace of creating border infrastructure along the Line of Actual Control with China. Beijing, meanwhile, kept building railway tracks and roads. This meant that the Chinese PLA patrols along the border often went uncontested.

This started to change after India matching up the build up to a degree and earmarking its claim line through regular patrols. And this friction is expected to continue unless both sides exchange maps of their respective positions in both the eastern and the western sector.

The situation in the middle sector is far better after both sides exchanged maps in 2002. So both sides now know the exact disputed territory. The western sector maps were shared but never exchanged at the behest of Chinese; the eastern sector maps were not even shared.

While China openly covets Arunachal Pradesh as its territory, its long term game in eastern Ladakh could be to cut through Galwan-Murgo axis to provide an all weather alternative to the Karakoram highway, which enters Pakistan through Khunjerab Pass and not Karakoram pass north of Indian positions of Daulet Beg Oldi.

However, with the Indian Army digging into its positions to face the aggressor, the long drawn out mobilization may not work for the PLA as the law of diminishing returns comes into play like in the protracted 1979 Sino-Vietnam war. Status quo ante is the only viable option as it leaves both sides with a win-win situation.

Not the first time such a paper has been written, nor the last time.

IndiaRising

Possibility of a 'limited' conflict is highly there The issue is that Prez Xi is facing the greatest challenge to his hold over the leadership as Chinese face increased job losses and moving out of the industries from China, killing its export led growth.

Indian moves to have the COVID 19 investigated with respect to weaponization and suppression of information, managing to get Sh JP Nadda in on the team (which China wanted to avoid if rumors are to be believed), moving Malaysia and Maldives out of Chinese 'orbit', permitting Taiwan's investments within India, scrutinizing all Chinese investments within India and putting conditions on them along with greater official examination ... and repeated claim over GB and PoJ&K as a policy .. sure was going to put pressure on Prez Xi.
1200 Marines moved to Darwin today as well. Let’s see how many fronts China can actually open without throwing up the white flag.

Hellfire

1200 Marines moved to Darwin today as well. Let’s see how many fronts China can actually open without throwing up the white flag.
With US moving forces into Indo-Pacific and SCS, they are going to end up biting more than they can chew, if they plan to escalate. Hong Kong is going to be a big challenge for them shortly.

Gandaberunda

they started it, so they probably have done it with some planning. what is our strategy?
We are well prepared, troops/ infra mountain corps is ready did Him-Vijay exercise as well, IBG is almost ready and if need arises may see first deployment as well over all these Just need to show some resolve and wack these Chinese assess like in '87. Self belief is necessity. We missed to wack pakis after feb27 but now opportunity to do to chinks.

With US moving forces into Indo-Pacific and SCS, they are going to end up biting more than they can chew, if they plan to escalate. Hong Kong is going to be a big challenge for them shortly.
They swallowed Hong Kong whole last week. With COVID, I doubt a mass movement like the last time is even possible. I don't think US will ever go kinetic in SCS which is a part of Chinese calculation.
Interestingly, Steve Bannon, of all people, had predicted all of this 2 years back, shortly before he was kicked out of the WH.

Gandaberunda

US is literally harassing Chinese flying P8A - Poseidon over PLAN strategic nuclear submarine base Hainan Island. US has made Chinese there bitch

IndiaRising

They swallowed Hong Kong whole last week. With COVID, I doubt a mass movement like the last time is even possible. I don't think US will ever go kinetic in SCS which is a part of Chinese calculation.
Interestingly, Steve Bannon, of all people, had predicted all of this 2 years back, shortly before he was kicked out of the WH.
Swallowing is one thing, maintaining is another.

Gandaberunda

Almost 2 brigades of each army are standing in front of each other in pre war like situations. Tension is on peak along the LAC in Leh-Ladakh & Aksai Chin. Mark my words, 2020 will be the sunrise year for India and sunset year for Ch¡n@.

i
We are well prepared, troops/ infra mountain corps is ready did Him-Vijay exercise as well, IBG is almost ready and if need arises may see first deployment as well over all these Just need to show some resolve and wack these Chinese assess like in '87. Self belief is necessity. We missed to wack pakis after feb27 but now opportunity to do to chinks.
I wish your words will be true but reality always give surprise . truth is that we guys never prepared our forces against china , we never listens to our force demand .

now at critical time we will looking toward USA and will buy costly items for forces .

Blue Water Navy

Zeroed
i

I wish your words will be true but reality always give surprise . truth is that we guys never prepared our forces against china , we never listens to our force demand .

now at critical time we will looking toward USA and will buy costly items for forces .
God forbid something happens. And some bullets gets fired from each sides.

What do you think? What's going to happen?

The world will condemn China and now it will be more worse for CCP.

And India will block the entire Indian Ocean sealing all the sea routes.

Then how long can China sustain? It doesn't matter who wins or looses. CCP is going to get their as* kicked.

Gandaberunda

i

During war definitely lot of nations tries to supply ammunitions ( business) covertly or overt. And no matter how much you prepare our import hungry armed forces/ lobbying Dallas will import more ( basically they get a reason and also emergency purchase options). Though we are not that prepared in arms or ammunitions but well suited to wack these Chinese now than in past. Dokhlam was a trailer and Galwan will be whole picture. The present stand off is said to be more serious than Kargil

IndiaRising

During war definitely lot of nations tries to supply ammunitions ( business) covertly or overt. And no matter how much you prepare our import hungry armed forces/ lobbying Dallas will import more ( basically they get a reason and also emergency purchase options). Though we are not that prepared in arms or ammunitions but well suited to wack these Chinese now than in past. Dokhlam was a trailer and Galwan will be whole picture. The present stand off is said to be more serious than Kargil
please don’t take this Chinna seriously. He was one of the first ones peddling the 5000 troops entering 4 km inside Indian territory.

Gandaberunda

please don’t take this Chinna seriously. He was one of the first ones peddling the 5000 troops entering 4 km inside Indian territory.
There are multiple accounts saying 2 brigade size deployment facing each other. The stand off is more serious and Chinese are rattled with the construction of Galwan river bridge.

If India populate these regions with immigrants from Bihar and UP, the claim of China dies😜
But I think the climate is hostile

Sorry but you are talkig just like advisor of nehru in 1962 war , many officer try to warn him and ask for more , but he didnot listen he liked amul butter nd sent our forces will half prepared .

i am also supporting make in india but not at the cost of national security.

our iaf and navy are not in good position specially our iaf is like in icu , i am sorry to say but i will say only truth

Yes but he was one of the first ones to claim that Chinese are camping in Indian territory which is false

china asking his peoples to leave india asap the signal has been given to Chinese in india . china is more serious about cpec .

There is something which needs to be taken from what he is saying Galwan valley is accepted by china as our area and still chinese did incursion deep into it and holding positions , 50k Chinese troops were pushed into TAR region for wargame exercise they did in April most of them are still there in the region . Chinese roads are well connected so they can do rapid resupply from xinjiang from their western theatre command , All put together they have roughly close to 2 lakh troops and lots of mechanised forces in TAR region which they can throw at us . If you watch this below web session Nitin had with Lt Gen D S Hooda Retd he clearly says even he is surprised with chinese opening so many fronts and especially area like Galwan .There should be some truth to all the news coming .

Shashank Nayak

There is something which needs to be taken from what he is raising Galwan valley is accepted by china as our area and still chinese did incursion deep into it and holding positions ,
There is no such think as Chinese encampment in Galwan valley. This has been dispelled by satellite pics. BUT, the concern is they are present in thoudands right at the LAC near Galwan valley. So, they are positioned for any offensive they have planned.