India-China Border conflict

SUPERPOWER

Another good example of what a regular Indian army infantry company consists of -

What you see -
  • Old helmets with snow goggles
  • INSAS as the primary rifle, few got Ak-47, and very few have Sig 716
  • INSAS LMG
  • Carl-Gustav
  • Standard vest (can't tell if BPJ present or not)
  • Standard cold weather padded jacket
  • Pickaxe and other climbing equipments
This is the best example of Indian money Guzzling, Lethargic Genrols and Babus end end power stratergy....In Hindi we call it as JUGAAD since 1999.....

SUPERPOWER

Why are you surprised ? Is this the first time you"re seeing them with insas ?
Yes, i am always surprised bcoz whenever Indian Army Captures some important adversary points i have always seen them with INSAS!!!! From kargil to Ladakh....This proves our Insas is a world class rifle which no other rifle in the world can match...😎

Arjun Mk1A

Yes, i am always surprised bcoz whenever Indian Army Captures some important adversary points i have always seen them with INSAS!!!! From kargil to Ladakh....This proves our Insas is a world class rifle which no other rifle in the world can match...😎

INSAS newer variants may at least rectified the issue. But still it is crudely manufactured rifle and now it is completely off from the Army's wishlist.

We did the same mistake of entrenching all our forces in 62 and we paid the price . The chinese outmaneuvered us and we didn't have any mobile force to counter attack them
I had posted an account a few weeks ago about this on the simulation thread . Here it is -
PLA's plan for isolating indian troops between Tawang and bomdila . It goes as follows - Smashing the head - Sela
snapping at the waist - senge
Disecting the belly - Dirang
Cutting the tail - bomdila
The concept of operations was to: advance along multiple axes, envelope (outflank) Se La and Bomdila, and reduce these subsequently. The plan was as follows:

55 Infantry Division (comprising three infantry regiments and three artillery regiments) was to advance along Axis Tawang – Se La and launch the main attack against Se la. The division was given the task of ‘smashing the head’.
Simultaneously, 419 Tibetan Division (three infantry regiments) was to advance from the West, through the narrow corridor between Se La and India-Bhutan border, to assist in the capture of Se La from the South and capture Dirang Dzong in concert with troops of 11 Infantry Division advancing from the East. This was aimed at ‘dissecting the belly’.
Four companies of SMS were to carry out an outflanking move from the East and position themselves North of Dirang Dzong along the road to Se La; their task being to ‘snap at the waist’.
In coordination with the attack against Se La, 157 Infantry Regiment ex 419 Tibetan Division was to carry out a further outflanking move (from the West) to capture Senge Dzong (South of Se La and North of Dirang) and link-up with four infantry companies of SMS which were carrying out a similar outflanking move from the East, in order to cut-off the Road Se La – Dirang completely.
11 Infantry Division (comprising two infantry regiments) was to carry-out a wide outflanking move along route Rho – Tse La – Poshing La – Thembang and cut-off Road Dirang Dzong – Bomdi La(cutting-off the tail). Thereafter, in concert with 1 or 2 infantry regiments of 419 Tibetan Division, to capture Dirang Dzong, and develop further operations for capture of Bomdi La.
164 Infantry Regiment ex 55 Infantry Division was to act as reserve and was tasked to clear the road axis to Bomdi La.
View attachment 156831View attachment 156832
Do you see what maneuvering forces can do to a well entrenched enemy , no one attacks head against head .

Without capturing enemy's land you can't even have the sligthest hope of winning a war .
Effective defense doesn't mean burying your head in the sand and getting encircled and destroyed.

Of course, restricting the enemy from maneuvering should be a goal.

Angel of War

Effective defense doesn't mean burying your head in the sand and getting encircled and destroyed.

Of course, restricting the enemy from maneuvering should be a goal.
This is the golden line ,that is why we need an offensive maneuvering force , which can counter attack and isolate enemy maneuvering forces from their supply lines . I hope you got it now

Automatic Kalashnikov

Current Situation:

After 15 rounds of CC Meeting, only issue over PP-15 remains.

Depsang issue is long before the current GoI.

So, have some patience, like the Chinese.
No, the current depsang issue has developed 2013 onwards, with negative developments in it even upto Jan 2020