India-China 2020 Border conflict

Okabe Rintarou

A very defensive approach. Will slow counter attack. Only good with small caliber munition like tank and artillery shells not mountain busters.

Avoid force concentration, move first, with air cover after establishing air superiority. Capture and then negotiate. Do not see it as a boxing match but a marathon.
I am advocating reverse slope emplacement not for the infantry holding the line, but for C2 nodes and other critical military assets. Hiding behind the moutain is the best defence against long range flat trajectory rocket attacks.

Thundering13th

Hi, Did you make that Image? The last Chinese village is actually an Indian forward post called 'New Maja Post' (28.5614053, 93.4283509) and it is supplied through Bidak and Galemo post in the rear. All 3 post are air maintained only.

View attachment 74239
Bidak is connected by road.

I am advocating reverse slope emplacement not for the infantry holding the line, but for C2 nodes and other critical military assets. Hiding behind the moutain is the best defence against long range flat trajectory rocket attacks.
I generally avoid discussing operational tactics.

C2 nodes are not dead-ended can use watershed lines. Satellite communication, simulate during peacetime and pre assign objectives will further reduce C2 dependence.

When I talked about replicate it was not about decoys but increasing Rocket force size. Which will obviously take a very long time.

Abhay Rajput 02

Very myopic view of the situation. It's the same as saying beating thaali does not prevent corona, govt. should take concrete steps, Modi is doing jumlebaazi (and he must regine).

Let me show you a broader picture.

Before the stand-off started, it was presumed that India and China had a non-hostile relationship. Border disputes were there but nothing flared into even close to point of no return. China was a huge trade partner, and China was pushing a lot of FDI into India (which indirectly helped to grow our economy).

Now, after the clashes happened and it was realized Chinese were really determined to pick a fight, it was decided to cut loose and de-couple from the Chinese economy, so that in future conflict they cannot arm-twist us.
The first wave of decoupling and escaping from Chinese clutches was banning social-media apps that were used by the Chinese for snooping and collecting personal data. Many apps can straight-up record your location, contacts, pictures etc, which can act as a powerful tool to collect intelligence.

So no, it was not a gesture, but a national security risk.

Now, coming to banning all imports. Easier said than done. The cloth you wear has yarn imported from China. The medicine you take is made from raw material acquired from China. The phone/internet connection you are using to post, use Chinese components. The list goes on and on.

So why all these materials acquired from China? Govt. has sold the economy to China, reeee.....
Because it is simply cheaper to import from China than to make in-house. And when you go to the market to buy a shirt, medicine or mobile phone, you choose the one cheaper and of higher quality. No one cares if it is made in India, Bangladesh, or China.

But can ONLY china make these? No, but Chinese ones are just cheaper. So to change our supply routes, or manufacture these components in-house, you need time.
And that is why we have not completely banned our imports. We need time to completely decouple our economy from China.
most of the things can be easily replaced if there is a ban . do not forget that india has a huge market , in some time prices will also drop. strategy could easily be made in 3 years. And i mean doklam was the warning for the current govt. but they didnt create any plan. chinese incursions last year was thoroughly planned and didnt happen overnight
Banning all import will be boon for private industries in india . there are many other countries where we can get raw materials albeit a little expensive but its worth it.
also no businessman will use selln products even if they are only 1 rupee expensive. you can not convince people to bycott , which we have seen with smartphones sale to china. the only way forward is to decouple in a way by making laws in india like if any person who did business with china will face 10 years in prison and you will see overnight the drop in imports from china . this way we can also bypass WTO rules.
time to think has passed . its time to act

Deadtrap

huhh? if you are talking about WTO rules then our parliamnet can easily make laws to bypass it. when there is a will there is a way. banning all imports will hurt india but in the long run it will be a boon to all the indigenous industries.
No not WTO and stuff.
Completely banning trade is not possible. The volume of necessary items coming from China is very huge. If banning trade was really possible then Modi would have done it. Ban can only be done in bits and pieces. Or else you will end up like Pakistan, despite negligence trade btw India and Pakistan, Imran called for complete ban. End result? Well gave wavier for Polio and other vaccines to be imported from India.

mokoman

The UK will introduce a new visa at the end of January that will give 5.4 million Hong Kong residents - a staggering 70% of the territory's population - the right to come and live in the UK, and eventually become citizens.

It is making this "generous" offer to residents of its former colony because it believes China is undermining Hong Kong's rights and freedoms.

Not everyone will come. Some of those eligible to leave have expressed their determination to stay and continue the fight for democracy.

In the end, Britain estimates that about 300,000 will take up the visa offer over the next five years.

Damn.

:troll: Chinese will be happy to hear this.

most of the things can be easily replaced if there is a ban . do not forget that india has a huge market , in some time prices will also drop. strategy could easily be made in 3 years. And i mean doklam was the warning for the current govt. but they didnt create any plan. chinese incursions last year was thoroughly planned and didnt happen overnight
Banning all import will be boon for private industries in india . there are many other countries where we can get raw materials albeit a little expensive but its worth it.
also no businessman will use selln products even if they are only 1 rupee expensive. you can not convince people to bycott , which we have seen with smartphones sale to china. the only way forward is to decouple in a way by making laws in india like if any person who did business with china will face 10 years in prison and you will see overnight the drop in imports from china . this way we can also bypass WTO rules.

Banning all import will be boon for private industries in india

Didnt we try this for several decades . Nothing came out of it except for people not having access to
cheap / affordable products.

also no businessman will use selln products even if they are only 1 rupee expensive. you can not convince people to bycott ,

You can ban chinese from dumping items here. Brought a sewing machine for my mother . Broken from day one , no returns . Item is essentially unfixable . Saw many people making same comments. Traders here are buying cheap useless shit and selling them on online sites at a high price. GOI can atleast ban that.

vasusuman

Chinese will only attack where they are 100% sure of victory. Which they can't be with our preparedness. If we achieve even 30% success, their image will take a hit - both domestic and internationally. Their premier's image, Taiwan & Hong Kong & Vietnam, all will look to offer greater resistance. Chinese Premier has a real danger of losing grip in an autocratic system. They think that India won't hit first. India should look at an opportunity to hit them & see how they respond. That will scare them more. The main thing is - Is India ready with PR war-bec now your actions are multiplied/justified/diminished by how effectively you communicate to the world audience.

Abhay Rajput 02

No not WTO and stuff.
Completely banning trade is not possible. The volume of necessary items coming from China is very huge. If banning trade was really possible then Modi would have done it. Ban can only be done in bits and pieces. Or else you will end up like Pakistan, despite negligence trade btw India and Pakistan, Imran called for complete ban. End result? Well gave wavier for Polio and other vaccines to be imported from India.
sir ji we are not pakistan neither we are bhikari. banning all trade is very much possible , you have already given an example of pakistan. although trade between and pakistan still happen however small that might be. us giving waiver to pakistan is sheer stupidity nothing more.

Abhay Rajput 02

The UK will introduce a new visa at the end of January that will give 5.4 million Hong Kong residents - a staggering 70% of the territory's population - the right to come and live in the UK, and eventually become citizens.

It is making this "generous" offer to residents of its former colony because it believes China is undermining Hong Kong's rights and freedoms.

Not everyone will come. Some of those eligible to leave have expressed their determination to stay and continue the fight for democracy.

In the end, Britain estimates that about 300,000 will take up the visa offer over the next five years.

Damn.

Didnt we try this for several decades . Nothing came out of it except for people not having access to

also no businessman will use selln products even if they are only 1 rupee expensive. you can not convince people to bycott ,

You can ban chinese from dumping items here. Brought a sewing machine for my mother . Broken from day one , no returns . Item is essentially unfixable . Saw many people making same comments. Traders here are buying cheap useless shit and selling them on online sites at a high price. GOI can atleast ban that.
sir ji, how ? please remember that back then our economy was closed to pretty much every country. in this scenario it will be only chinese. and we frankly dont import any high-tech stuff from chinese. .
UK is doomed .

DownWithCCP

If there are skirmishes when the snow melts and the chinese are given a bloody nose then Xi can forget about his future as the leader of China, his chair will start shaking and he will be ousted, that is why if the Chinese are in the receiving end and if Xi is really ambitious then the situation can turn into a full fledged war, which won't go on for long because the international community cannot afford such a situation.

mist_consecutive

Golgappe Expert
most of the things can be easily replaced if there is a ban. do not forget that india has a huge market , in some time prices will also drop. strategy could easily be made in 3 years
Absolutely not true. They can be replaced, yes, but setting up contracts with suppliers, and/or setting up domestic production facility takes time.

Few things that will be very hard to replace will be -
  • Electronics/Chipsets - No ecosystem in India, or in near future. Few countries can supply high-quality products in large numbers, including Vietnam and South Korea.
  • Nuclear machinery - Self-explanatory. Few countries make them and are liberal enough to sell them to us.
  • Iron & Steel items/alloys - High-grade alloys like duralumin (aerospace grade aluminium-alloy), no ecosystem in India.
I can go on and on...

And yes, now that we have realised China is a friend no more, we will move away from China. Within 1-2 year we will be able to de-couple our economy from China.

And i mean doklam was the warning for the current govt. but they didnt create any plan. chinese incursions last year was thoroughly planned and didnt happen overnight
Doklam was resolved with China accepting our demands, and thereafter Xi flying to India to mend ties. Yep, we got fooled. But then again, anyone would be.

chinese incursions last year was thoroughly planned and didnt happen overnight
It actually happened within a week. And that is actually a very short time to mobilise a large number of troops.

True, but also -
  • Pvt. industry will not spawn overnight. The industry is an ecosystem which feeds on one another, it takes time. At least a decade to grow and flourish.
  • Quality of products initially will not be up to the standard.
  • Some products which require high-technical challenges and crucial-patented technologies might never be developed. For example, microprocessors, high-grade metal alloys etc.
only way forward is to decouple in a way by making laws in india like if any person who did business with china will face 10 years in prison and you will see overnight the drop in imports from china . this way we can also bypass WTO rules.
Yeah, and people will swallow such draconian rule? See the farmer's protest? CAA protest ?

Damn.

This is a smart way British can attract the big money out of Hong Kong. This is all about money
under the guise of democracy blah blah blah.

Cruise missile

Absolutely not true. They can be replaced, yes, but setting up contracts with suppliers, and/or setting up domestic production facility takes time.

Few things that will be very hard to replace will be -
  • Electronics/Chipsets - No ecosystem in India, or in near future. Few countries can supply high-quality products in large numbers, including Vietnam and South Korea.
  • Nuclear machinery - Self-explanatory. Few countries make them and are liberal enough to sell them to us.
  • Iron & Steel items/alloys - High-grade alloys like duralumin (aerospace grade aluminium-alloy), no ecosystem in India.
I can go on and on...

And yes, now that we have realised China is a friend no more, we will move away from China. Within 1-2 year we will be able to de-couple our economy from China.

Doklam was resolved with China accepting our demands, and thereafter Xi flying to India to mend ties. Yep, we got fooled. But then again, anyone would be.

It actually happened within a week. And that is actually a very short time to mobilise a large number of troops.

True, but also -
  • Pvt. industry will not spawn overnight. The industry is an ecosystem which feeds on one another, it takes time. At least a decade to grow and flourish.
  • Quality of products initially will not be up to the standard.
  • Some products which require high-technical challenges and crucial-patented technologies might never be developed. For example, microprocessors, high-grade metal alloys etc.

Yeah, and people will swallow such draconian rule? See the farmer's protest? CAA protest ?
Well many companies here manufacture aerospace grade aluminium and titanium.

Thundering13th

Chinese chaps marked that as Indian Maja post on Wikimapia and OpenStreetMap. It’s clearly an Indian post, construction wise very similar to Indian post in South, plus it have two Helipad since that post is air maintained only. The dirt track that you see stops short of last Chinese post indicating its our patrolling route. Chinese never came further south of 28.5837351, 93.4065396 which is its last listening post.

Two Helipad. Distinct from other Chinese post.
View attachment 74277
Thi
Chinese chaps marked that as Indian Maja post on Wikimapia and OpenStreetMap. It’s clearly an Indian post, construction wise very similar to Indian post in South, plus it have two Helipad since that post is air maintained only. The dirt track that you see stops short of last Chinese post indicating its our patrolling route. Chinese never came further south of 28.5837351, 93.4065396 which is its last listening post.

Two Helipad. Distinct from other Chinese post.
View attachment 74277
This is the last Indian post Maja/Maza. Still air maintained. After vacating longju in 59 Assam rifles set up a post here. Few km south of Maza is Bidak which has road connectivity ..a road from TCC to bidak via gelenshiniak and gelemo was constructed in 2018. The place where china has built a village is indian territory on papers but controlled by china since 59 similar to aksai chin which is indian territory as per our maps but under chinese control. The chinese post is few kms north of maza along the tsari chu.

Phir communist China bri project pe kyun invest kar raha hai?
It is a Propaganda account, Chinese dudes don't understand English plus Twitter is banned in China then you guess it why does Global Times tweets in English on Twitter? Propaganda!