India-China 2020 Border conflict

maximus777

Stop shivering, the only limitations that we have to realize is that of the government and the MEA(which of course is a part of it) Almost all ex-servicemen think the IA is well poised to take on the PLA and give them a thrashing that they deserve, they are only being restrained by coward babus and politicians in the government. There is absolutely no need to sow seeds of doubt about the capabilities of the IA, it is bot that the stick wielded by IA is short, it is just that the courage of the present govt.(bad surprise tbh) and bureaucracy(no surprise here) is nil.
I truly think we missed the window of opportunity between Galwan clashes in June and US presidential elections in November. With a favorable world opinion due to Covid and a friendly WH, India should have gone for the jugular. Instead we procrastinated, sat on our asses and the window I am afraid is lost forever.

We appear to be repeating the same mistake over and over. Last year, when 24 PAF aircraft attacked the day after Balakot, we effed up again and became a joke of sorts. 2 things should have happened:

1. Either we should have splashed about a dozen of the 24 attacking aircraft even if they didn't cross LOC/border. What difference does a line on the map do in the age of stand-off weapons?

2. Hit back hard after the raid and incinerated GHQ Pindi and the airfields from where the attacks originated to send a strong don't eff with us message.

If not for the individual bravery of Abhinandan, we would have nothing to show for it. The missing wreckage of F-16 hurt our case further in convincing the world. All we have is our word against PAF and not sure that holds much water.

Shashank Nayak

I truly think we missed the window of opportunity between Galwan clashes in June and US presidential elections in November. With a favorable world opinion due to Covid and a friendly WH, India should have gone for the jugular. Instead we procrastinated, sat on our asses and the window I am afraid is lost forever.

We appear to be repeating the same mistake over and over. Last year, when 24 PAF aircraft attacked the day after Balakot, we effed up again and became a joke of sorts. 2 things should have happened:

1. Either we should have splashed about a dozen of the 24 attacking aircraft even if they didn't cross LOC/border. What difference does a line on the map do in the age of stand-off weapons?

2. Hit back hard after the raid and incinerated GHQ Pindi and the airfields from where the attacks originated to send a strong don't eff with us message.

If not for the individual bravery of Abhinandan, we would have nothing to show for it. The missing wreckage of F-16 hurt our case further in convincing the world. All we have is our word against PAF and not sure that holds much water.
The only conclusion I can draw from Modi government reactions post Pulwama and Galwan, is that this Government believes, that the era of wars is truly over ( especially when the enemies are nuclear powers ). GOI seriously thinks that all future wars will be that of Posturing.. Modi is continuing Vajpayee Parakram tradition here.
Its all Jalwa followed by eating Halwa ( or chai biscoot)..

Shashank Nayak

Its beyond our military capability to go on an offensive against China.. Just ignore some bombastic veterans writing in the media.. Maybe they are just justifying the existence of a 1.3 million strong army with the associated hefty pension and salary bill. All IA can do is play defense..

Rassil Krishnan

While it is ok to debate on what X or Y’s attitude towards India is going to be, but ultimately we have to start asking ourself whether India’s sales pitch is sound enough to create a leverage even among its naysayers.

Do we have enough counter atrocity literature material to counter any of the old allegations that may come from White House or Capitol Hill ? I think we do, enough pointers have been released by GoI in the aftermath of dilution of Art. 370, that + latest data of terror attacks since then just need to be repeated consistently to ward off any chance of Capitol Hill influencing US Govt policy.

On military front, even if we assume quad will sent back to bottom shelf in White House, we have only one outstanding request by GoI that is MQ-9 which has been pending since Obama days, here too GoI didn’t stop working on indigenous solution that is TAPAS 201, so we are covered there too. If GoI was so sure of US GOV selling MQ-9 they wouldn’t be funding domestic solutions, which indicates GoI was already preparing for all outcomes.

Plus it has been well established and documented that India is the victim of Chinese agression in recent months, if push comes to shove we can always ask publicly if US Gov teaming with expansionist CCP, against the largest democracy in the world.
THIS.

however my only worry is that india is not used to being so open,we always make the leaast noise and do things by not rocking the boat.not that the current gov has not tried this method with 370 art removal,etc.but the fact that it has not much pressure to do it that way and may choose to do the familiar way due to concern over how others will look at it.if they manage to pull it off ,then evrything else will fall into place.

and like you said ,our own effort as a state and gov should be enough to sway naysayers to our side.like how china can get approval from even many muzzie countries for controlling and dealing with the legitamate uigher problem.most of the time just a united stong front is all that is needed to push any media or diplomacy offensive back.most of the guys are like j&k politicians,they are bluffers and will only blow hot air,you have blitz past them and manhandle the situation in the form of talks,actions,etc and bring it to our favour and they will simmer down.

maximus777

The only conclusion I can draw from Modi government reactions post Pulwama and Galwan, is that this Government believes, that the era of wars is truly over ( especially when the enemies are nuclear powers ). GOI seriously thinks that all future wars will be that of Posturing.. Modi is continuing Vajpayee Parakram tradition here.
Its all Jalwa followed by eating Halwa ( or chai biscoot)..
This is disconcerting if true. 56" should be BJP/Modi's bra size then.

With nuke powers, there will not be a protracted WWII style war where one side is completely defeated. But when an opportunity presents itself like it did on Feb 27th, that too a day after our strike when our alert is supposed to be at the highest levels with live CAPs, how the hell did we miss a strike package of 24 aircraft?!?! Do the defense "experts" in south block really think that Pak would risk a nuke war for a dozen downed aircraft?? This kind of pussy footing makes Gafoor-wa look good!!

Once again after Galwan, we should have conducted multiple SF strikes on Chinese intrusion points. Sure, there would be casualties on our end, but CCP cucks must be made aware that they will bleed badly for their misadventures. In tune with the - Naya India, ghus ke... yadda yadda!!

Cheran

NDA Is winning in Bihar hurraaayyyy Hindustan Jindabad Bihar Jindabad Narendra Modi Jindabad People of Bihar rejected cast based politics and chooses development :india: :india:
Bro, it is some what early to call. Need to wait for atleast 2.5 to 3 hours. Could be see saw.

cereal killer

Couldn't agree more. That was a perfect window. China had played right into our hands after Galwan clash. Even a limited Air strike would've sufficed. Just like Iran retaliated did after Sulemani (although unsuccessful) but they managed to play the victim card & we were in such a favourable position.
I think whole China Study Group need to drowned in Bay of Bengal coz they probably would've told Modi about 10 foot China man rolling down on Himalayas & he was forced to Koi nhi Gussa thing which Xi Jinping's media played on loop in China.
Indian Army is more than capable of handling China & I don't think China would've done Jack sh**. The ran in 1967 & then again in 87..
Our defensive mindset is our problem. The reluctance to take bold steps. We are freakin 4th most powerful nation on planet & we never act like one.

Its beyond our military capability to go on an offensive against China.. Just ignore some bombastic veterans writing in the media.. Maybe they are just justifying the existence of a 1.3 million strong army with the associated hefty pension and salary bill. All IA can do is play defense..
They can but GoI doesn't want a war, they fear the trumped up capabilities of the Chong, don't want to take the risk to the kursi incase of loss at war, damage to the economy( and corporate donors ) again, and negative public sentiment once the initial high of war wears off, They have been spooked very well by the babus involved, a short skirmish could have been done but the dhoti-shivering is just too much now.

by Feb-March we will see a DeEsCaLaTiOn with their recent grabbed areas becoming the new LAC, an the GrEY ZoNe being pushed westwards towards us.
Luckily for them now the Ching is emboldened, and he will keep coming to grab more land at shorter intervals.
GoI will have to pull it's head out of the sand, and find it's balls some day.

Either that or do the Congressi & Nepali tried and tested method of suppressing any news of Chinese landgrabs, while you have nariyal paani and do jhula jhuli, and the plebs buy their 15k Xiaomeme chink phone and drive their MG Motors cars and watch VIVO IPL on their OnePlus TV peacefully.