India-China 2020 Border conflict

omaebakabaka

The divisions between the ROC and the PRC are largely over-hyped, don't expect anything to materialise there. Here is an informative video on this topic.

Actually anyone that has been to Taiwan can say that Taiwanese are real Chinese with Japanese level service and attention to detail from taxi drivers to Eva airlines to hotels to food and temples so on. They certainly do not want the mainland influence but mainland is chewing up Korea and Taiwan faster than we like with their big checkbook. US made a big mistake with China investments post 2000 starting with Clinton

Dessert Storm

Because GOI decided to shoot itself in the foot and blacklist the company.
What are you saying? Pls explain. I do understand that it was blacklisted in 2016 due to allegations of corruption. So how's that shooting in foot. And what's wrong now with India wanting to purchase it.

Because we had purchased it already.

We did something similar with both oto melera and bofors gun.

It is better to continue purchase of that equipment but blacklist other equipment.

Blacklisting leaves a void like it did in our artillery forces.

Blacklisting has forced us to now look for commercial jets better to continue to buy that one product and ban others.

Synergy

LCA is already obsolete if we are going to consider Modern airforces like USA or European countries.

But our concern is Pakistan and China.

Tejas will be good enough for porks. Though we will be again in a catch 20 situation once they acquire j-31 /20 from chinks.

please educate me a bit, how a flying platform with decent aesa radar and meteor, Astra and mica is obsolete (we will get astra2 soon and there is a chance for meteor in the near future after uttam aesa).

as Tejas was conceived to replace MiG 21, at least consider it's primary role that is point defence and interception.

and what's about mwf?

Tridev123

Penetrative casing can can be applied to a MOAB like ordinance , just like they did with the "Grand Slam" bomb during WW2( weighed 4 times of MOAB). A 10 ton Ordinance coming down from 8000m should be able to penetrate 30-40 m easily.
Yes, theoretically possible if material like tungsten or even depleted uranium?. is used. But these Earthquake bombs(as they were called) were designed to penetrate 40 metres of soil/ground and not 40 metres of RCC. But concept is feasible.

Such a penetrator can damage the dam by making a hole but will it make the dam collapse. The concrete base is above 100 metres thick. The length of the dam is more than 2km.Even after an attack by the penetrator bomb the dam will be standing though it may leak some water. Numerous penetrator bombs will be required to really cause serious damage and make the dam collapse.

An penetrator ordnance coming from a height at supersonic or hypersonic speed will have deeper impact due to large kinetic energy.

You make a reasonable point as far as used is concerned. However, we will need to create full training and support infrastructure for the Fs. The used ones should be the kind in our inventory (which is difficult to get) except maybe Mig 29s.
If jets are needed for defence, rather than used, it's better we invest in creating more assembly lines for MK1A.
You can get 100+ F-16s from US stock in a matter of months while Tejas will take years to come. USA can easily provide us 200 around F-16s and upgrade them for a very reasonable price.

But this is all our dream boat that if and that... Truth is we have to pay hefty if we want F-16s so better buy Rafale and focus on Tejas.

We have few option that includes Sukhoi 30 production line..

Or

Rafale

And out of the blue F-16/ F-18s production line and if this happens only then second hand F-16s will be opened up for us.

LDev

Because we had purchased it already.

We did something similar with both oto melera and bofors gun.

It is better to continue purchase of that equipment but blacklist other equipment.

Blacklisting leaves a void like it did in our artillery forces.

Blacklisting has forced us to now look for commercial jets better to continue to buy that one product and ban others.
Blacklisting is supposed to act as a deterrent to foreign firms not to offer bribes. But blacklisting has a negative impact on the ability of the Indian armed forces to get equipment. What about a stronger deterrent for Indian babus/netas/officers to stop asking for bribes instead? Like immediate imprisonment and the death sentence if convicted? Won't that be a smarter option? A better deterrent?

Synergy

If jets are needed for defence, rather than used, it's better we invest in creating more assembly lines for MK1A.
probably cost-benifit analysis won't support that. also consider the time frame in which we will get those 180/216 jets.

Blue Water Navy

Zeroed
The divisions between the ROC and the PRC are largely over-hyped, don't expect anything to materialise there. Here is an informative video on this topic.

The video isn't right.. It says 'Han Chinese wouldn't justify killing other han Chinese'. Which is wrong!!!! Since when Xitler started to care about people??

And also Taiwan has a major Japanese influence which just don't fit with the typical mainland mentality.

But the way the guy said that US law makers are warmongers. I am convinced it's a soft propaganda video by the CCP.

Synergy

What we will send bhai already shortage hain apni... 😂😂😂😂

But yes diplomatic support is required and I think the onus is on Russia first and they have ample reserve of weapons . Couple of bombs by russia will flatten the whole war mongering by Azerbaijan and turkey.
that's why I said if possible. if not possible, we'd at least take a stand against Turkey. enough of their bs.

Desi Aam

I read the book when I was a kid, that was properller aircraft age....3 gorges is something else. Not physically possible for a bomber or aircraft to go on a run in Central China....

Also if I remember correctly, there was a doubt in the attack plan on whether it would even succeed. It was a good read at the time....
Agree...would'nt need a bomber to do the job in this day n age...with an assortment of missiles like Brahmos, Shaurya, etc...if anything, it would be easier,,,and would need only conventional charges...!

please educate me a bit, how a flying platform with decent aesa radar and meteor, Astra and mica is obsolete (we will get astra2 soon and there is a chance for meteor in the near future after uttam aesa).

as Tejas was conceived to replace MiG 21, at least consider it's primary role that is point defence and interception.

and what's about mwf?
Meteor ? Don't add it yourself not on Tejas mk1/mk1a

Astra mk2 : when it will come we will see most airforce already employs AMRAAM for decades.

What abt mk2 ?

Mk2 is the real Tejas , mk1a is stop gap as ADA couldn't deliver a refined Tejas on time.