India-China 2020 Border conflict

utubekhiladi

The Preacher
DNA Exclusive: Sino-India Commander level talks enter new phase as China refuses to retreat from Pangong Lake

Sources said the People’s Liberation Army (PLA) was told that it “should make the first move” since it had created the rival troop face-offs and military build-ups by intruding into Indian territory at multiple locations in early May. “Indian troops will reciprocate. Otherwise, it was emphasised India is prepared for the long haul,” a source said.

The Indian Army, having gained bargaining leverage after occupying multiple tactical heights on the south bank of Pangong Tso-Chushul area on August 29-30, reiterated the demand for restoration of status quo ante during the sixth round of military talks on Monday

chai biscuit session is finally over. :lehappy:
Aur kya mila 15 hrs ki meeting karke ???

1600731356216.png

omaebakabaka

DNA Exclusive: Sino-India Commander level talks enter new phase as China refuses to retreat from Pangong Lake

Sources said the People’s Liberation Army (PLA) was told that it “should make the first move” since it had created the rival troop face-offs and military build-ups by intruding into Indian territory at multiple locations in early May. “Indian troops will reciprocate. Otherwise, it was emphasised India is prepared for the long haul,” a source said.

The Indian Army, having gained bargaining leverage after occupying multiple tactical heights on the south bank of Pangong Tso-Chushul area on August 29-30, reiterated the demand for restoration of status quo ante during the sixth round of military talks on Monday

chai biscuit session is finally over. :lehappy:
Aur kya mila 15 hrs ki meeting karke ???

View attachment 59841
It is not not known until you try something....as long as we don't accept short stick up our rear, I am fine with it.

utubekhiladi

The Preacher
It is not not known until you try something....as long as we don't accept short stick up our rear, I am fine with it.
i am also all in for lets give peace a chance and talks a chance type of thing.

but china is using talks and discussions to fortify, consolidate and deepen its grip on our encroached territories and its already too late

maximus777

The only 2 realistic options are either Indian establishment suck it up and claim "de-escalation" or war. Dont think the Hans are disengaging in any meaningful way. While I hope that the former does not happen, my fear is we will cave eventually if we stretch this out as time works against us. There are multiple other geopolitical events (US elections, Russian mediation keeda, Covid-19 etc.) that can screw things up.

utubekhiladi

The Preacher
The only 2 realistic options are either Indian establishment suck it up and claim "de-escalation" or war. Dont think the Hans are disengaging in any meaningful way. While I hope that the former does not happen, my fear is we will cave eventually if we stretch this out as time works against us. There are multiple other geopolitical events (US elections, Russian mediation keeda, Covid-19 etc.) that can screw things up.
fear not friend. :nono: wait couple of weeks more.

MODI isn't growing beard for just namesake or as a fashion statement. :megusta:

LDev

While Americans hardly fought on the european front.. they did a lot of fighting against Japan.. and were at the doorstep of the Japanese home islands after completely decimating the japanese navy..
More than 400,000 US soldiers died in WW2, mainly in the Pacific, the fourth highest after the USSR, Germany and Japan. The Russians lost the most soliders, between 8-10 million, but they had no choice. If they charged forward the Germans killed them, if they retreated the Communist Party police killed them.

LDev

I am not buying this, considering meteor is an expensive hardware. 2500 is very a healthy number.
2500 is a fantasy number. That will cost Rs 45,000 crores!! The number is likely 250. I think somebody added a zero by mistake. Even France initially ordered 200 Meteors for it's Air Force. And India ordered 500 EM and IR Micas for 950 million Euros way back in 2012.

sachincba

It is said that no strategy survives after the first bullet fired. However, there are strategies at large scale which define our war fighting capabilities, that will survive. Again, atomic bomb limits how much damage you can give the enemy. There will come a point at which nuclear war will happen e.g. if Indian army marches into China or vice versa.
To win in long term, only option is to break the enemy country from within. A totalitarian China is much vulnerable to break than democratic India. India must focus 10 times on propaganda and deceipt.
We are expecting any war in near future to be non-nuclear. But we are not leveraging deterrence. We should clearly state that if China attacks India with full force, we would be open to use nuclear weapons as well.

Cactus09

New Delhi: The Sino-India talks to resolve the stand-off in Ladakh on Monday (September 21) continued for more than 13 hours at Moldo on the Chinese side of the Line of Actual Control (LAC). The meeting between corps commanders of India and China was attended by 14 Corps Chief Lt Gen Harinder Singh and his likely successor Lt Gen PGK Menon along with a Joint Secretary from the Ministry of External Affairs (MEA), for the first time, to reduce tension along the LAC.

This is the sixth meeting between the two neighbouring nations since June this year. The DNA analysis would explain to you the ongoing diplomatic talks between India and China through 4 big points.

1. China is learned to have refused to retreat from Pangong Lake in this meeting. The talks between the two countries, therefore, will prolong.

2. India has asked China to restore the pre-April 2020 situation. Under this demand, the Chinese soldiers are required to retreat and go to the place where they were in April 2020.

3. The Indian delegation also includes Lieutenant General PGK Menon, who will take over the command of the 14th Corps from Lt Gen Harinder Singh, who will retire in October. The 14 Corps is responsible for the protection of Ladakh.

4. For the first time, an official from the Ministry of External Affairs is also participating in such talks. Naveen Srivastava, Joint Secretary of the Ministry of External Affairs, along with top military officials remained present in the meeting.

Notably, the Indian delegation comprised two Lieutenant Generals, two Major Generals, four Brigadiers, and an IGB of ITBP, besides a Joint Secretary from the Ministry of External Affairs.

The agenda and issues to be raised by the Indian side in the meeting were discussed and finalised during a high-level meeting attended by National Security Advisor (NSA) Ajit Doval, Chief of Defence Staff (CDS) General Bipin Rawat and Army Chief General Manoj Mukund Naravane last week on Friday.

The ground commanders had been talking to each other on an almost daily basis on the ground. The current talks are happening at a time when the Indian side has also occupied six major hill features which are helping the Indian Army to be in dominating positions on heights.

India is likely to press for simultaneous disengagement and de-escalation by the Chinese side in the Eastern Ladakh sector during the meeting of two Corps Commanders.

The DNA analysis will also tell you about 5 key points of military and diplomatic discussions.

1. For the first time, the army is leading talks between the two countries, in which diplomats are participating. You can call it the new rules of engagement of the New India Foreign Policy.

2. Earlier on September 10, a meeting was held in Moscow, wherein, Foreign Ministers of India and China participated. The sixth meeting can be termed as the follow-up of the Moscow meet as both the countries are now taking forward steps on the 5 issues agreed upon earlier.

3. MEA's Joint Secretary Naveen Srivastava is currently in charge of the China desk. He has thus full knowledge about the Sino-India border dispute. His presence, therefore, is expected to help in bringing the conversation to some conclusion. This can also facilitate an on the spot decision if need be.

4. The presence of MEA's representative in the talks also means that India is seriously trying to reduce the tension, and want to have frequent meetings with China to reach a solution.

5. Today's meet can be called a joint effort of the army and foreign ministry against China. It is possible that the representative of the Indian Army would also attend a diplomatic meeting next time. China has been using this formula.

There is a difference between the past and the present talks along the LAC. India has given sleepless nights to China after occupying several peaks on the LAC. In earlier talks, India used to tell China to restore the pre-April 2020 position during the Commander Level talks, but now China is also talking about restoring the Status Quo.

The task of the Indian Army is to protect the borders, but the government has the responsibility to determine its boundary. There is a 3,488 km long LAC between India and China, but the two countries still lack consensus on the LAC.

The erstwhile British regime deliberately set wrong boundary lines between the countries, which were under its suzerainty, to maintain its supremacy after granting freedom to such nations. The British wanted that the boundary disputes between the two countries would continue and they would take advantage of that.

It is said that no strategy survives after the first bullet fired. However, there are strategies at large scale which define our war fighting capabilities, that will survive. Again, atomic bomb limits how much damage you can give the enemy. There will come a point at which nuclear war will happen e.g. if Indian army marches into China or vice versa.
To win in long term, only option is to break the enemy country from within. A totalitarian China is much vulnerable to break than democratic India. India must focus 10 times on propaganda and deceipt.
We are expecting any war in near future to be non-nuclear. But we are not leveraging deterrence. We should clearly state that if China attacks India with full force, we would be open to use nuclear weapons as well.
India need to be on diplomatic offensive and make allies with democracies. Remember formula of give and take rather than hype the ancient civilization etc.

Total wars are very destructive as they create social crisis which eventually can destroy social harmony. USSR won second world war but still lost despite this costly win.

India must avoid total war. Rather focus on small objectives like defensible borders.

In case of Nepal, best is underground action.

SimplyIndian

As previous talks have remained inconclusive, it's better to think what Chinese are thinking and they way forward.

1. They not in there senses would have imagined such retaliatory reponse and 29 30 Aug was big shock to them.

2. Now, they have extra land with them, both sides don't want war and India hasn't crossed the LAC.

3. Options for China, let the talks happen and maintain the defences as winters are setting in.

4. As they don't expect india to fire the first shot, they are happy with Indian overlooking moldo and coo trolling f4 to f8. Still got extra land but lost Indian trust.

5. Indian patience runs out after winter fades away and we move forward on finger areas and local conflict starts and they open up a front in arunachal and simultaneously attack dbo etc.

6. Now the question is (assumptions) we managed to get back finger areas and sustained all other fronts but lost dbo they will cut off siachen etc and their original plan will be successful.

7. My question is how long can we defend dbo and siachen if war breaks out.
If war breaks out it won't be just about dbo and siachen. it will be about aksi hind too and Tibet. we will open multiple from including scs. IF WAR breaks out.

etantra

well there are some squeaks in the west

bit biased but lot better that usual.. they covered the Tibetan angle too

It has emerged a secretive force drawn mostly from Tibetan refugees but operating with the Indian army has been involved in recent military operations at Pangong Lake. Nyima Tenzin, a member of the Special Frontier Force (SFF), is reported to have died after stepping on a land mine near the LAC in late August. His coffin was draped with the flags of both India and Tibet at a funeral ceremony held in Leh, the joint capital of Ladakh, in September.

The involvement of Tibetan soldiers in the border standoff, and the symbolic use of the Tibetan flag, is bound to irritate Beijing.