How to fight terror against India?

@CrYsIs

You are reiterating my point. NE insurgency did not have OVERT state support. There was no flood of Shitistani, Burmese or Chinese flooding into the NE to fight against the Indian state. NE states were highly neglected and the insurgencies were driven majorly in response to this neglect or against the influx of illegals from East Pakistan/Bangladesh.

Political process worked because in many cases the demands were legitimate- better lives for themselves and their children. Where there was a religious angle, terrorism and insurgency still goes on- NSCN(K), Paresh Baruah led ULFA faction and a few other groups.

J&K, especially the Sunni jihadi valley districts have not been neglected in the same way, in fact they have been overly pampered. Political process has been tried again and again and everytime it has come a cropper.Why? Because Shitistan will never let it so. Any separatist leader who dared to engage with GoI was eliminated by the Napaki proxies- Mirwaiz's father, Abdul Ghani Lone, Kuka Parrey etc.

I reiterate, as long as Shitistan exists in its present form, terror in J&K will never die out. The terror groups are ALL Shitistan-based, their core cadre is largely Shitistani. Their masters in Shitistan will never ever allow them to politically engage, whatever that means.

@Jumbo I don't know and I am not sure I quite understand what does that have to do with this discussion.

Vilander

Kashmir valley maybe just a tiny 15,000 sqr km of land but it has the potential to create an existential crisis for the state of India.So we must handle it maturely.
How can Kashmir issue create an existential crisis for Indian state ? Can you elucidate ?

naivety of highest order....

even thing as low key as a temporary land transfer of a small piece of wasteland to amaranth shrine board could spark a mass revolt,just imagine what would happen if the things you mentioned were done.

The thing that is happening in kashmir is not simply an act of terrorism,it's Rebellion against the Union of India.

This is a political problem that needs to be resolved politically and not militarily. Remember Kashmirs are our own people and if we don't care about their human rights, rest assured the inevitable will happen.
They are not our own people. They are Zihadis. They cleansed 5 lakh Hindus from kashmir. If your own brother becomes brain washed and want to kill you than what can you do? I heard the video of a conversation of an army officer with the family of a guy who joined Terrorist. A lady from the family said that If doesn't pick up the gun , you will not do anything to him. How can he be die for Allah. It is necessary to pick up gun so that either he can kill kafirs and get Zannat or get killed and get Zannat.

Could you please clarify the point you are trying to make? What is your exact question?

Sir, it was PM Modi who said it ------->

Problem shall be solved by recognizing the problem as it is . These are Jihadis infected with Wahabism with a constant dosage of Islamization. You have to make them realize that whatever they are doing is worthless and not good for anything. They are ruining themselves. We need to have some Mullahs on our payroll to do counter propaganda.

tamilandhindu

I think that ensuring there's an Indian "Voice of Islam" so that Muslims aren't forced to look to Middle East organizations is a good start. I think stronger policing and military are the way to go.

There should be no "Voice of Islam" similar to no "Voice of Hinduism". Let people keep their beliefs to themselves and use it to make themselves better people. This voice to a collective which is something other than Nationalism causes problems.

tamilandhindu

There should be no "Voice of Islam" similar to no "Voice of Hinduism". Let people keep their beliefs to themselves and use it to make themselves better people. This voice to a collective which is something other than Nationalism causes problems.
You're in danger of letting the Muslims be courted by Middle Eastern organizations. If there isn't a Muslim media outlet in India, the Muslims will look to Al Jazzera for their media.

We already have a lot of Muslim media in India and they don't sing songs of secularism. Newspapers like Siasat Daily puts Shivsena's Samna to shame. Its worse than reading a paki newspaper.
I don't watch much news and entertainment media in Urdu, but I know that they exist.

tamilandhindu

We already have a lot of Muslim media in India and they don't sing songs of secularism. Newspapers like Siasat Daily puts Shivsena's Samna to shame. Its worse than reading a paki newspaper.
I don't watch much news and entertainment media in Urdu, but I know that they exist.
Wouldn't it be better if Indians controlled that?

Thats what I am telling you. They are already controlled by Indians, but because they try to run themselves as Muslims first, we have conflicts. That must be changed to a nationalistic tone which can't be done IMHO.

darshan978

Darth Vader
Thats what I am telling you. They are already controlled by Indians, but because they try to run themselves as Muslims first, we have conflicts. That must be changed to a nationalistic tone which can't be done IMHO.
muslims and seculars can never live in same room..

darshan978

Darth Vader

12arya

Days After UP ATS Nabbed Most-wanted Hizbul Mujahideen Leader, Four More Terrorists Arrested In Assam

Hack:
  • Four terrorists having alleged links to Hizbul Mujahideen have been arrested by security personnel in Assam in what is one of the biggest crackdown on the terror organization
  • One of the four arrested, Saiful Islam alais Liton, is the elder brother of Qamar uz Zaman, who was arrested by the Uttar Pradesh ATS on September 12
Four terrorists having alleged links to Hizbul Mujahideen have been arrested by security personnel in Assam in what is one of the biggest crackdown on the terror organization. It comes three days after the Uttar Pradesh ATS managed to get hold of Qamar-uz-Zaman from Kanpur, which brought out the further arrests.

Omar Farooque, Shahnawaz Alam, Saidul Alam and Saiful Islam, alais Liton, were arrested by police forces over the past 48 hours in Assam. One of the four arrested, Saiful Islam alais Liton, is the elder brother of Qamar uz Zaman, who was arrested by the Uttar Pradesh ATS on September 12.

Police sources have revealed that Omar Farooque was given Rs 30,000 by Qamer Uz Zaman as expense to work for the Hizbul. It is also reported that Omar had confessed about the money from Qamer, as well as giving him shelter during his visit to Assam.

On Saturday, a team of Lucknow ATS had arrived in Guwahati before leaving for Hojai and Meghalaya. They investigated Qamer's link in the region. Prior to this on Friday, the Police had also confirmed that Shahnawaz Alam, who is a friend of Qamer Uz Zaman, was being radicalized by him and he was planning to flee from the state to join the terrorist organization.

This all stems after Uttar Pradesh ATS arrested Qamar-uz-Zaman from Kanpur. Speaking about his arrest, DGP of UP Police, OP Singh said, "ATS has arrested a Hizbul Mujahideen terrorist from Kanpur. He apparently had plans to attack on occasion of Ganesh Chaturthi. During questioning he told us that he had gone for training to Kashmir in April 2017. He is of Indian nationality & is a literate person"

Soon after his arrest, Qamar's mother asked for strictest of punishment against her son. She said, "Any child who goes against the country is of no use. Birthplace is Assam, we live in Assam and if that boy goes against Assam, I don't want him. The administration can do whatever they want. Kill him, lynch him, I don't have any objection. I have only one thing to say, I don't want him."

Qamer Uz Zaman, alias Dr. Hurairah, a most-wanted Hizbul Mujahideen terrorist, was arrested from Kanpur on September 12. Qamer hails from the Hojai district of Assam. He reportedly joined the terror outfit in 2017 at which point he stopped contacting his family.

The Real Problem Lies in India’s Defensive Dealing with Pakistani Terror
Having decided to be totally defensive against Pakistan’s calibrated low-intensity war and not taking it to its territory, India has had no option but to absorb losses.

Army personnel stand guard at Gujjar Nagar area during a curfew in Jammu. File photo/PTI.
Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan went on national television to deliver a stern warning to India five days after the Pulwama terror attack. He neither condemned it nor did he utter a word of sympathy for the families of its victims.
Rather, he launched into Pakistan’s standard diatribe against India and concluded with a stern warning of retaliation if the Narendra Modi government took any kinetic action in response. Swiftly and correctly, India repudiated Khan’s claims, but wisely refrained from falling into the trap of specifically responding to his warnings. Kinetic action, if taken by India, will factor in Pakistan’s reaction and it is best not to focus on it in a Ministry of External Affairs statement.
A week after the attack, Prime Minister Narendra Modi has not given an indication of what he proposes to do to assuage the country’s anger. He has assured the nation that the price of ‘every tear’ will be extracted from the perpetrators and their supporters. As of now, the opposition seemingly stands in support, but the action will have to be politically cleared by him even if the defence forces have been given a free hand.
India has taken diplomatic steps to profile Pakistan’s involvement with the Jaish-e-Mohammed, the Pakistan-based terrorist group that has claimed the attack. Prior to the Uri attack of 2016, India had invariably pursued the diplomatic path. This had been the case even after 26/11. However, after Uri, Modi had sanctioned the surgical strikes. He has implicitly taken satisfaction at that decision and the BJP has sought to take political advantage by seeking to profile the difference between Modi and Manmohan Singh-led UPA government.
The real question then is this: will Modi confine the Indian response to active diplomacy and a political approach or sanction kinetic action? There is naturally the feeling that he will find it difficult to avoid the latter course, especially when elections are about to be announced. And, if Modi does allow kinetic action, what will it be? How will he factor in Imran Khan’s warning, which is actually that of the Pakistan army, the real arbiters of that country’s India policy?
The surgical strike allowed Pakistan to publicly deny it, though its armed forces naturally knew what had happened. By doing so, it was also able to preserve its nuclear overhang doctrine as far as its own people are concerned. Under that, it has always cautioned India not to use its conventional armed forces strength on Pakistani territory for its action may escalate into nuclear war.
Whatever Pakistan may have been peddling to its own people, the fact is that by using its forces for the surgical strike, India had blown a hole in it. Thus, it had created a dilemma for Pakistan and it does not want to be in such a situation again.
Pakistan has always sought that India should really be paralysed after a terrorist attack and not take action. The international community does not want armed hostilities between the nuclear neighbours. Hence, it has always sought to staunch India’s anger by shows of sympathy and strong diplomatic statements. The US, on this occasion too, has said that India has the right to self-defence, but will it support India if it takes kinetic action? That remains to be seen.
France has said that it will renew efforts to get Masood Azhar listed as a UN-designated terrorist. The success of this step is unlikely, for China has given no indication that it is willing to lift its hold on the process. However, it is a move of diplomatic solidarity designed in the hope that such action will turn India away from kinetic action. Mohammed bin Salman may have condemned the Pulwama attack and agreed to begin institutional arrangements to combat terror, but he too balanced India and Pakistan, and so did not mention Jaish-e-Mohammed.
What India needs to do is to make it clear to the world’s major powers that continued Pakistani support for terrorist organisations that act against India must end. As there is no sign that Pakistan is willing to do so, all options of an immediate response and a calibrated and sustained policy thereafter will be adopted to see that Pakistan changes course.
The real problem in dealing effectively with Pakistani terror lies within us. Having decided to be totally defensive against Pakistan’s calibrated low-intensity war and not taking it to its territory, India has had no option but to absorb losses.
Indeed, some Indian strategic thinkers argue that the terrorist threat from Pakistan is not of a strategic nature. Hence, India can afford to continue with the current cycle of terrorist incident, national anger, the subsidence of that anger and the return of negative normalcy with Pakistan till another incident and for another cycle to be set in motion.
The timing of this attack — months before elections — does not present the best of times to think beyond Modi’s immediate response. Indian security planners and its political class have to think long-term to end Pakistani terror, nevertheless.

Having decided to be totally defensive against Pakistan’s calibrated low-intensity war and not taking it to its territory, India has had no option but to absorb losses.
The simple reason is that most of India's defence capabilities are stuck in files sitting in some fat babu's office loaded with cockroach eggs.

Rafale deal is a simple example.

If the file is processed, the Pak/China-backed opposition ensures that there is an issue and the deal is put on back-track.

The problem is our government's "Log kya kahenge" mentality.

Even when the Modi government is clean as a paper on any deal, they are scared by a simple accusation by a corrupt and well-entrenched opposition. They are not coming forward in an aggressive stand and saying that Congress and the rest are compromising national security.

Feeble defensiveness will lead to lack of strong decisions, which in turn would cause equipment shortage and therefore reduce our parity with a failed state such as Pakistan.

Call it whatever, but Pakistani military is highly resources despite its pint-sized defence budget.

Their procurement planning and their acquisition is far more clear (disregard the fact that they are a junta government and a deep-state entity). The point is that at the end of the day, they have enough resources to pitch against us, but our politicians are flimsy and do not have any will to take them head on.

This, is something I have observed until now.

Let's hope that with the recent escalations, there is a Final Solution for our Arab-wannabe neighbours.

Fighting terrorism starts with the government's resolve. Our problem is that most governments over the years, thanks to Congress' narrative, have come to assume that everything has to be asked from the public. This has led to a permeation of a lot of apologetic-ism in the political circles, especially propagated by the Lutyen's Delhi.

No country's citizen would respect the government if the government is not willing to show strong resolve and take aggressive steps, even if it means going against a few "liberal" institutions and centres of thought when it comes to national security.

The "log kya kahenge" mentality is the biggest problem that we have as a nation.

• Why are we waiting for what USA will say?
  • Why are we approaching the UN for an isolation attempt that is never going to happen? We all know that some or the other country will always keep engaging with Pakistan for their own benefits
  • Why are we always asking UN to designate that Masood Azhar as a terrorist? China will always play with that. We need to target that piece of shit ourselves. Did Israel ask US for the Entebbe operations? That too when Israel was only gaining US military support (France was their prime backer who ditched them at the last moment).