High Speed Railway Corridor

The Mumbai-Ahmedabad high-speed rail corridor is a proposed high-speed rail line connecting the cities of Ahmedabad, Gujarat and India's economic hub Mumbai, Maharashtra. It will be India's first high-speed rail line. The construction of the corridor began on 14 September 2017 as scheduled and end by August 2022. The bullet train is scheduled to leave for its first run on 15 August, 2022. The project is estimated to cost ₹1.1 lakh crore (US$17 billion).[33] The cost includes interest during construction and import duties.[34] JICA agreed to fund 81% of the total project cost ₹88,087 crore (US$14 billion), through a 50-year loan at an interest rate of 0.1%. Railways To Invest Rs 9,800 Crore In Mumbai-Ahmedabad Bullet Train Project and the remaining cost will be borne by the state governments of Maharashtra and Gujarat. 20% of the components used on the corridor will be supplied by Japan, and manufactured in India. Most of the line will be constructed on an elevated corridor to avoid land acquisitions and the need to build underpasses. It will also enhance safety by eliminating the need for level crossings. The decision to construct an elevated line raised the cost for the project by an additional ₹10,000 crore (US$1.6 billion)

Upset over Doklam? China puts high-speed railway project in Chennai on hold
An ambitious high speed train project in south India has been delayed after Chinese railways, that completed a feasibility study a year ago, did not respond, railway officials have said, suggesting that the "lack of response" may be due to the Dokalam standoff.

An internal brief of the Mobility Directorate on the status of nine high-speed projects of the railways, accessed by PTI, shows that the Chennai-Bangalore-Mysore corridor, a 492 km stretch, lies in limbo because the Chinese railways has failed to respond to the ministry's communiques.

"The Chinese company submitted the final report in November 2016 and after that the Chinese team has suggested for a face to face interaction. No date has been fixed from their side," said the note prepared by the Mobility Directorate.

On the reason for the delay, the brief states -- "lack of response" from Chinese railways.

The brief also states that the feasibility study by the China Railway Eryuan Engineering Group Co Ltd (CREEC) was submitted to the Railway Board in November 2016 and after that the Chinese company had sought meetings with officials of the Board.

However, officials say that the Board has been unable to get in touch with officials of CREEC despite repeated communications sent to them via mails in the last six months.

"We have even tried to get in touch with them through their Embassy here, but we are yet to hear from them," said an official.

The ministry officials said that it was the standoff between the two countries in Bhutan's Dokalam area between June 16 and August 28 this year that seems to have derailed the project.

"The study began in 2014 and they submitted the report in 2016. The entire cost was borne by them. In fact they have shown so much interest in collaborating with us for other projects as well, so we think that it was the standoff that must have raised doubts," said a senior rail official.

An email to the Chinese Embassy by PTI on the issue did not elicit any response.

Troops of India and China were locked in a 73-day-long standoff in Dokalam since June 16 after the Indian side stopped the building of a road in the disputed area by the Chinese Army. Bhutan and China have a dispute over Dokalam.

The brief, prepared by the department in charge of all the high speed corridors, also states that except the Chinese roadblock, work on the eight other projects was on track.

China had in fact not only pitched for the Mumbai- Ahemdabad high speed network, which was finally bagged by Japan, but also for the bullet project in the Mumbai-Delhi sector, which is yet to be finalised.

China is also training railway engineers in heavy hauling and it is with Chinese collaboration that India is setting up its first railway university.

The Chennai-Bangalore-Mysore corridor is one of nine such high speed corridors being developed by the ministry. The aim was to increase the speed from the present 80 kmph to 160 kmph.

While the Delhi-Agra route was made operational in 2016 with the country's fastest train Gatimaan Express running between the two cities, the work on rest seven of eight of 8 is going at a fast pace, the brief indicated.
https://economictimes.indiatimes.co...-speed-train-project/articleshow/61089367.cms

NEVER TRUST THE CHINESE..
chinese companies are run by CCP and CCP maintains their hold and grip linking business with diplomacy unlike other DEMOCRATIC NATIONS.

India should never do any business dealings with china which goes on to building national Infrastructure.
Time to scrap this project and award it to more reliable companies with the west or with Japan.

This Train seems to be primarily for diamond merchants who do up and down everyday to mumbai. i am sure surtis will utilise it very well.
Ahmedabad and Mumbai is one of busiest route, I'm sure Gujjus won't disappoint you, you could see the list of the trains running daily on this route and see the Waiting List. Well, double decker train is a lifeline for this route as it has 1500+ seats but even that train gets full almost everyday. Don't forget the Air route, it also gets full. This route is ideal for a Pilot Bullet train project. Once we get the expertise, we will be making in India comparatively cheaper. Just like Metros.
This is an absurd line of thought. Xenophobia is inimical to business in diverse societies.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Per @mayfair's numbers, at a modest ticket cost of INR 3000 and 50 roundtrips (total of 100), we should recover the investment in only 10 years. This is excluding all the licensing income we would net from businesses that will spring up around the stations. Seems like a good deal.
why don't we do a short calculation....

80000cr to be return in 50 years..
5cr per day....add security , mantainence and operational cost ..

lets see how much revenue it can generate...
one train 6 compartments , 50 seat each...
300 passengers per trip...
air fare presently is around 1500rs between mumbai and ahmdavad...
even they charge 2000rs on this train...means a revenue of 6 lakh per trip....
you may add advettisement revenues to it...

but you need 5cr/day ....so atleast 80 trips per day required.......or need atleast 25000 passangers traveling between these two cities daily ...willing to pay this price ...

posible ?....if posible....then only this project is ok...
This all is about trade and business travelers, Not regular commuting or joy ride ..
I understand but at what cost? if the Bullet trains are expensive than air fare who will be ready to go for it?

Trust me Bullet trains are bloddy expensive to manage as well and the tickets wont be cheap.
Incase you haven’t done your research properly...

Bullet train is connecting India’s diamond hub to India economic hub.

There won’t be any dearth of paying customers, because diamond traders travel to Mumbai quite frequently almost on daily basis. If the ticket price is on par with budget airlines, they won’t mind paying for it.

Surtis(diamond businessmen of Surat) are known for their extravagant lifestyles.
it will be useful for businessmen from surat and ahmadabad who wants frequent and faster way of travel from gujarat so that they could sell their merchandise ,

and so most of the traffic would be coming from these 2 cities and not other way around , there is no need for that ,

no other inter state business cities are within such short distance of financial capital
that makes the fares not so expensive and affordable for that business ,

proposed fares are supposed to be 1.5 times higher than current rate of ac first class express which is around 2000 , so that may bring the fare of the bullet train around 3000 which is affordable to a lot of people and not just diamond merchants ,

but business class seats gonna be higher than that maybe around 5000 ,

and as its manufacturing would get cheaper the fares will become affordable for longer routes .

.................................................................................................................
I dont get this:-
railways would upgrade existing Delhi-Mumbai, Delhi-Howrah and Bengaluru-Hyderabad routes, among others, into high-speed corridors, and upgrade stations on the routes into world class terminals.
High speed meaning 300-350 kmph on existing tracks?:eek1:

I dont get this:-

High speed meaning 300-350 kmph on existing tracks?:eek1:
This is a dedicated corridor project for freight movement that will free up existing routes to run more premium passenger trains and reduce travel time. In other words, a different dedicated corridor for freight trains only. So no more clogging up of rail lines by freight traffic.

Why diesel locos? I thought the most efficient method to move rail traffic is with straight electric locomotives. Or diesel electric. :confused1:
We use the term "diesel locomotive" rather inaccurately. Most of our locomotives are "diesel-electric" locomotives.

Electric locomotives are the best choice but there are some problems.
  • Electric locomotives needs catenary, which may not be available everywhere.
  • Electric locomotives cannot haul double-stacked freight trains.
I hear they are trying to build larger pantographs and will have dedicated tracks where the catenary is higher than our regular RDSO standards.

upload_2017-12-23_22-2-38.jpeg

Diesel Locomotive (WDS-4D)

upload_2017-12-23_22-3-56.jpeg

Diesel Electric Locomotive (WDM-3A)

Diesel Hydraulic Locomotive (WDM-3)

Hindustani78

Prime Minister's Office
25-December, 2017 16:14 IST
PM inaugurates new metro link between Noida and Delhi

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi, today inaugurated a new metro link between Noida and Delhi. He unveiled a plaque at Botanical Garden Metro Station, to mark the inauguration of a portion of the Magenta Line of the Delhi Metro, connecting Botanical Garden in Noida with Kalkaji Mandir in South Delhi. He also travelled briefly on the metro train, before arriving at the venue for the public meeting.

Speaking on the occasion, the Prime Minister conveyed greetings on the occasion of Christmas. He also noted that the day marks the birthdays of two Bharat Ratnas – Pandit Madan Mohan Malviya, and Former Prime Minister Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee.

He said that it is due to the people of Uttar Pradesh that the nation has got a strong and stable Government. He added that he would always remain grateful to the people of Uttar Pradesh for their affection.

We live in an era in which connectivity is all-important, he said, adding that just inaugurated metro line would serve not just the present, but also future generations. He said that by 2022, when we mark 75 years of freedom, he dreams that we live in an India in which our petrol imports reduce. In order to achieve this, he added, state-of-the-art mass transit systems are the need of the hour. Noting that former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee ji took a ride on the Delhi Metro in December 2002, Shri Narendra Modi said that since then, the metro network in the National Capital Region has expanded considerably.

The Prime Minister asserted that governance cannot happen when the dominant thought process begins at 'Mera Kya' and ends at 'Mujhe Kya.' He said that these mindsets are now being changed. He added that for the Union Government, decisions are about national interest and not political gains.

The Prime Minister said that earlier Governments took pride in making new laws. He said the current Government wishes to be the Government that removes obsolete laws. Good governance cannot happen when outdated laws hamper decision-making, he added.

The Prime Minister congratulated the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh, Yogi Adityanath, and said his focus on good governance is taking the State to new heights. He credited him with ending the superstition associated with Noida, by coming to this city. If anybody thinks that not going to a place will prolong their CM tenure and visiting a place will curtail it, such a person does not deserve to be a Chief Minister, the Prime Minister asserted.

The Prime Minister also touched upon the work being done on railway infrastructure, expanding road network, and strides in the renewable energy sector. He described Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee ji as 'Bharat Marg Vidhata,' and said he has shown us the way towards development.

Earlier, in his speech, the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh, Yogi Adityanath praised Prime Minister Narendra Modi, and said the Prime Minister has given a new meaning to politics of this nation. He added that the Prime Minister always says that we have to move ahead on the path of development.

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi being received by the Governor of Uttar Pradesh, Shri Ram Naik and the Chief Minister, Uttar Pradesh, Yogi Adityanath, on his arrival at Botanical Garden, in Noida, Uttar Pradesh on December 25, 2017.

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi being received by the Chief Minister, Uttar Pradesh, Yogi Adityanath and the Minister of State for Culture (I/C) and Environment, Forest & Climate Change, Dr. Mahesh Sharma, on his arrival at Botanical Garden, in Noida, Uttar Pradesh on December 25, 2017.

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi being received by the Governor of Uttar Pradesh, Shri Ram Naik, the Chief Minister, Uttar Pradesh, Yogi Adityanath and the Minister of State for Culture (I/C) and Environment, Forest & Climate Change, Dr. Mahesh Sharma, on his arrival at Botanical Garden, in Noida, Uttar Pradesh on December 25, 2017.

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi unveiling the plaque to mark inauguration of Botanical Garden-Kalkaji Metro Line at Botanical Garden, in Noida, Uttar Pradesh on December 25, 2017. The Governor of Uttar Pradesh, Shri Ram Naik, the Chief Minister, Uttar Pradesh, Yogi Adityanath, the Minister of State for Culture (I/C) and Environment, Forest & Climate Change, Dr. Mahesh Sharma and other dignitaries are also seen.

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi taking a ride in Metro from Botanical Garden Station to Okhla Bird Sanctuary along with the Governor of Uttar Pradesh, Shri Ram Naik and the Chief Minister, Uttar Pradesh, Yogi Adityanath and other dignitaries after its inauguration, at Noida, Uttar Pradesh on December 25, 2017.

Hindustani78

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi taking a ride in Metro from Botanical Garden Station to Okhla Bird Sanctuary along with the Governor of Uttar Pradesh, Shri Ram Naik and the Chief Minister, Uttar Pradesh, Yogi Adityanath and other dignitaries after its inauguration, at Noida, Uttar Pradesh on December 25, 2017.

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi at the public meeting, at Amity University Ground, in Noida, Uttar Pradesh on December 25, 2017. The Governor of Uttar Pradesh, Shri Ram Naik, the Chief Minister, Uttar Pradesh, Yogi Adityanath, the Minister of State for Culture (I/C) and Environment, Forest & Climate Change, Dr. Mahesh Sharma and the Minister of State for Housing and Urban Affairs (I/C), Shri Hardeep Singh Puri are also seen.

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi at the public meeting, at Amity University Ground, in Noida, Uttar Pradesh on December 25, 2017. The Governor of Uttar Pradesh, Shri Ram Naik, the Chief Minister, Uttar Pradesh, Yogi Adityanath, the Minister of State for Culture (I/C) and Environment, Forest & Climate Change, Dr. Mahesh Sharma, the Minister of State for Housing and Urban Affairs (I/C), Shri Hardeep Singh Puri and other dignitaries are also seen.

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi at the public meeting, at Amity University Ground, in Noida, Uttar Pradesh on December 25, 2017.

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi flagging off the Metro Magenta Line from Botanical Garden to Kalkaji Mandir, at Noida, Uttar Pradesh on December 25, 2017. The Governor of Uttar Pradesh, Shri Ram Naik, the Chief Minister, Uttar Pradesh, Yogi Adityanath, the Minister of State for Culture (I/C) and Environment, Forest & Climate Change, Dr. Mahesh Sharma, the Minister of State for Housing and Urban Affairs (I/C), Shri Hardeep Singh Puri and other dignitaries are also seen.

Hindustani78

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi addressing the public meeting, at Amity University Ground, in Noida, Uttar Pradesh on December 25, 2017.

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi being seen off by the Governor of Uttar Pradesh, Shri Ram Naik and the Chief Minister, Uttar Pradesh, Yogi Adityanath on his departure from Botanical Garden, Noida, Uttar Pradesh on December 25, 2017.

Kyubi

Kindly go through the above link to see where China is interms of Rail Corridor/ HSR implementation and guage where we are right now. Chinese looking at our infrastructure capability would be laughing their asses of. they have gone leaps and bounds in infrastructure and here our PM and Shri shri 1008 Yogiji are happy to inaugurate a Metro Line in Noida by thwarting superstitious belief.. no wonder chinese think shit about us!!

Kalki_2018

And we think shit about chinese copiers who cant produce anything original. Whats your point? apanes laugh at the mediocre products chinese make and laugh at them.

Indian Sniper.001

Chinese looking at our infrastructure capability would be laughing their asses of. they have gone leaps and bounds in infrastructure and here our PM and Shri shri 1008 Yogiji are happy to inaugurate a Metro Line in Noida by thwarting superstitious belief.. no wonder chinese think shit about us!!
Who cares a **** about what Chinese think about us, do you?

Kyubi

Who cares a **** about what Chinese think about us, do you?
It certainly begs the question , why we are at the bottom end of the development curve, i was pointing towards the speed of Development in China be it in infrastructure or any other sphere. I was refering to stark chasm one finds between our economy and theirs.

As for Chinese they do make quality products and as for low quality cheap knock off, China itself is a market for it and not to forget Entire world is a market for chinese products be it low or high grade quality. Half of METRO CASH AND CARRY outlets in India have products from China. So even though many of us dislike being associated with Chinese products , we do end up using it .

The video i have posted shows us that we have a long way to go to be anywhere close to chinese economy. with the current level of indecisiveness emanating due to democratic compulsions, my hope of seeing a truly modern nation stands has ebbed for a while.

Important fact i wanted to point was the propensity of our politicians to go for inaugurating every Nallah and road as if it's the grandest of engineering marvels , again insert here Chinese infrastructure what you have achieved so far pales in comparision to what China has achieved.

Indian Sniper.001

It certainly begs the question , why we are at the bottom end of the development curve, i was pointing towards the speed of Development in China be it in infrastructure or any other sphere. I was refering to stark chasm one finds between our economy and theirs.

As for Chinese they do make quality products and as for low quality cheap knock off, China itself is a market for it and not to forget Entire world is a market for chinese products be it low or high grade quality. Half of METRO CASH AND CARRY outlets in India have products from China. So even though many of us dislike being associated with Chinese products , we do end up using it .

The video i have posted shows us that we have a long way to go to be anywhere close to chinese economy. with the current level of indecisiveness emanating due to democratic compulsions, my hope of seeing a truly modern nation stands has ebbed for a while.

Important fact i wanted to point was the propensity of our politicians to go for inaugurating every Nallah and road as if it's the grandest of engineering marvels , again insert here Chinese infrastructure what you have achieved so far pales in comparision to what China has achieved.
Yes, the speed of development is directly in relation with their autocracy, isn't it? Again, the system/politics won't change unless the people itself change. The problem lies with us. Yes, what we have achieved pales in front of them, but we missed the development train. India was an aspiring idealistic socialistic country, and in the last 20 odd years we have developed in the best way we can amidst the corruption. What else can I say?

Kyubi

Yes, the speed of development is directly in relation with their autocracy, isn't it? Again, the system/politics won't change unless the people itself change. The problem lies with us. Yes, what we have achieved pales in front of them, but we missed the development train. India was an aspiring idealistic socialistic country, and in the last 20 odd years we have developed in the best way we can amidst the corruption. What else can I say?
Its not for you or me to say anything Nanjesh, i wish atleast every BJP governed state would take a leaf out of china's book and see how can they spurt growth in their respective states, If we don't then development will be very staggered which is not good for the country we may be falling behind on several fronts , but some turn key investments might pay dividends that will improve our overall economy.

That is not a development model to pursue. State Led investments aren't the only way out, we need to usher in private investment and in some cases debt financing. it needs to be done fast or else we will still be claiming 10 yrs down the line that we have missed the developement train. China is using its spending power to define geo politics, imagin what it will do 10 to 20 yrs from now !! . We have to improve in mission mode.

Yggdrasil

Lo ji, China fans everywhere.

I suggest India kill 20 million people, including all intellectual, burn all libraries, melt all your pots, kill all your sparrows, completely destroy all your religion, and then put a bloodthirsty communist government in place that keeps a watch over you and runs a bulldozer over your body if you criticise the state.

Then you will have infrastructure like China's. Let's go.