HAL Light Utility Helicopter (LUH) and Light Observation Helicopter (LOH)

Automatic Kalashnikov

In 2015 the 200, Kamov Ka-226 were to be acquired for 1 billion USD. How much will it cost now for 200 of these?

Yodha

India is my Identity
You are officially unable to interpret anything...

Even USA at any point of time have 4 types + fighter jet apart from many sqd of migs F-5 etc for training. Indian issue is having multiple outdated platforms.. while competent one in small no.s

The key is production cost must justify and enough no. To keep spare parts supply commercially viable. Ka 226 T and LUH with 200 each will provide that if they increase LUH no. Based on performance Good for them.

Even china is license producing Dauphin / Panther etc of France.

What kind of logic they had ?

Ka 226 T will be produced/assembled by HAL in any case and will learn crucial coaxial rotor knowhow. Not to forget better handling in mountain winds.

The heli is better, price sits right there at spot.

And america use many chopper types to do the job and let's not compare their quality standard with ours. I don't wish to say things loud and out but then I meet people like you...

Tell me.who was responsible for crash of 2 mirage 2k and what went wrong ?

Same with Dhruva having multiple issues even now.

Unlike army navy doesn't have much space for errors in the sea they will definitely opt for something they can rely on. IN is one branch which prefers indigenous projects right away.

As for you... Don't quote me again for pointless opinion let's agree to disagree since we know what will happen I am happy in any case.
1) What issues does ALH have now? Can you elaborate?

2) U.S. has a wide variety of aircrafts but remember, everyone of them is indigenously made and upgraded. What do you think of this case? Would you like to buy different types of aircraft from everywhere or different types of aircraft which are indigenously developed and built?

Yodha

India is my Identity
Al 31 are TVC engine ?

Rafale and typhoon e.g. doesn't work since LUH isn't more advanced nor better than Ka 226 T . Infact it is Ka 226 T which holds the advantage.

In anycase just gibberish non sense it is...

Why would we need to replace all 200*2 engine ?? And if it comes to that all HAL choppers are flying with French engines as of now.

We will only need spare parts etc to maintain them unless they are required to be replaced completely. In that case we can use russian engine..

but we aren't using them since we already have a long ongoing production line with French counterparts here and their engines are apparently more efficient and reliable in general.

In short you haven't raised a single worthy argument that make any sense but can definitely continue to write biblical nonsense .
A helicopters engine is not a cyclic stick which can be replaced at a whim. Even if you make an engine that produces the same power, how will you integrate it with the existing IDS in case of a twin engine? Electronics and instrumentation integration? Leave aside avionics.

And any of you who is fighting for kamov vs LUH is fighting for an unknown cause. Both are different aircrafts with different capabilities.

Aditya Ballal

👀
“If Russia offers to induct LUH, India could induct Ka-226 in similar numbers. Seems all roles are completely served between ALH & LUH. Nothing unique that an imported utility helicopter can offer. Unless there's a technology deficit or emergency, imports need not be resorted to.”
-HVT

Covfefe

👀
“If Russia offers to induct LUH, India could induct Ka-226 in similar numbers. Seems all roles are completely served between ALH & LUH. Nothing unique that an imported utility helicopter can offer. Unless there's a technology deficit or emergency, imports need not be resorted to.”
-HVT
He is speaking the language of gods. Never understood the point of importing a utility hepter in the same weight category anyway, it's like importing a pickup truck that has a slightly bigger basket.

samsaptaka

तस्मात् उत्तिष्ठ कौन्तेय युद्धाय कृतनिष्चय
So .. maybe India will buy 100 Kamov off the shelf, and shun the screw driver giri, and then the rest 200 - 250 will be LUH..
100 is too much ! Either they should cancel the deal (i.e drag it on and on... something which our babus can do easily) or buy some limited no. like 12

Pash

Kamov choppers, submarine torpedoes among deals defence ministry will review this week
New Delhi: As the Narendra Modi government pushes for more indigenous systems in the military, this week the Ministry of Defence will undertake a review of several foreign procurement projects, some of which are almost in their final stages.

Sources in the defence and security establishment told ThePrint that over 10 items are up for review by the Defence Procurement Board (DPB), including a deal with Russia for Kamov helicopters for the Army and Navy, as well as heavyweight torpedoes for Scorpene submarines.

The move is part of the defence ministry’s review of all procurement under the ‘Buy (Global)’ category to push for ‘Atmanirbhar’ products in the critical sector that has been dominated by foreign purchases. Under this category, procurement is made directly from a foreign Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM).

While defence services were earlier asked to prepare a list of procurement plans from abroad that could be replaced by indigenous items, sources said all projects are under review, including those in final stages. A review does not mean cancellation, they clarified.

The Defence Acquisition Council (DAC), headed by Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, had on 14 January decided to scrap a coast guard project for the procurement of 14 helicopters from abroad, besides all-terrain vehicles (ATVs) and short-range missiles.

Key deals under review
One of the key projects under review is heavyweight torpedoes for the Navy’s Scorpene submarines, which are currently using Russian-made torpedoes that have been given a life extension.

According to the original plan, the Indian Navy was to procure ‘Black Shark’ torpedoes from Italian firm WASS, owned by the AgustaWestland chopper scam-tainted Italian firm Finmeccanica, which had rebranded itself as ‘Leonardo’ a few years ago.

The plan was that the Navy’s immediate requirement of heavyweight torpedoes would be met by foreign procurement, while the long-term, larger requirement would be fulfilled through the indigenous manufacturing route.

However, the deal got cancelled in 2016, and a new proposal was initiated.

Sources said the Services are to decide if there is an alternate project available, adding that the torpedoes will most likely be procured from abroad since there is no functional indigenous alternative as of now.

Another key procurement under review is of Kamov helicopters, which is most likely to be shelved in favour of the indigenous product manufactured by state-run Hindustan Aeronautics Limited (HAL).

This is going to be big in terms of monetary value as the cumulative figure of this deal (including Army and Navy requirements) is over Rs 20,000 crore, sources said.

As reported earlier by ThePrint, this renewed focus by the defence ministry could have a ripple effect on the Navy’s plan to acquire new utility helicopters through strategic partnership as HAL may also enter the fray. The programme otherwise was to be a collaboration between a foreign player and an Indian private firm.

Other deals under review this week include procurement of general-purpose machine guns, expendable aerial and anti-submarine warfare targets, etc.