HAL Light Observation Helicopter (LOH/LUH)

enlightened1

Member of The Month JANUARY 2010
http://www.flightglobal.com/articles/2010/03/18/339527/hindustan-aeronautics-to-go-it-alone-on-observation.htmlhttp://www.flightglobal.com/articles/2010/03/18/339527/hindustan-aeronautics-to-go-it-alone-on-observation.html

Hindustan Aeronautics has decided against seeking an international partner for its light observation helicopter programme, and will undertake the development by itself.

"We have gained a lot of experience and learnt a lot over the years manufacturing the Cheetah and Chetak, and then developing the Dhruv [advanced light helicopter]," says a senior official at the state-owned firm. "There will be some degree of commonality in terms of systems with Dhruv and the LCH [light combat helicopter], but this will otherwise be a new helicopter."

In 2009, the defence ministry asked HAL to develop and manufacture 187 utility and observation helicopters for the Indian air force and army by 2017.

The company has begun preliminary design studies into a 3t helicopter powered by a single HAL/Turbomeca Shakti engine. The aircraft will have a range of up to 500km (270nm) and a 500kg (1,100lb) payload. The first example should fly by 2015.

Observers had expected HAL to develop the new helicopter with help from the winner of an international competition for 197 helicopters that will cover interim requirements. AgustaWestland, Eurocopter and Russia's Rosoboronexport agency responded to a 2009 request for proposals, but India missed a self-imposed deadline to begin trials by the middle of last year. These should start in mid-2010 and a decision is expected in 2011, say industry sources.

HAL, which will also maintain the Western-manufactured helicopters, has a created Helicopter Complex division that brings together its rotorcraft design, development and manufacturing activities under one umbrella. This includes the light observation helicopter, the Dhruv and the LCH that will imminently have its first flight.

Separately, the HAL sources confirm that India's navy has decided against buying additional Dhruvs and will look to foreign vendors for both its utility and anti-submarine warfare requirements.

The navy has Dhruvs performing utility missions, and had planned to buy dozens more to replace its Chetaks and potentially also meet an ASW requirement. However, the service has decided to go ahead with an international tender for both requirements and could issue a RFP this year, say HAL sources.

"The navy says that for their particular roles, the Dhruv is probably not suited. They are not considering it as a long-term solution at the moment and want to look elsewhere for their utility and ASW requirements," says one.

The service is likely to assess the NH Industries NH90 and Sikorsky S-70B Seahawk for its ASW missions, while Eurocopter's AS365 Dauphin is likely to be a leading contender for any utility requirement.

HAL to go it alone on observation helicopter

By Siva Govindasamy

Hindustan Aeronautics has decided against seeking an international partner for its light observation helicopter programme, and will undertake the development by itself.

"We have gained a lot of experience and learnt a lot over the years manufacturing the Cheetah and Chetak, and then developing the Dhruv [advanced light helicopter]," says a senior official at the state-owned firm. "There will be some degree of commonality in terms of systems with Dhruv and the LCH [light combat helicopter], but this will otherwise be a new helicopter."

In 2009, the defence ministry asked HAL to develop and manufacture 187 utility and observation helicopters for the Indian air force and army by 2017.

The company has begun preliminary design studies into a 3t helicopter powered by a single HAL/Turbomeca Shakti engine. The aircraft will have a range of up to 500km (270nm) and a 500kg (1,100lb) payload. The first example should fly by 2015.

Observers had expected HAL to develop the new helicopter with help from the winner of an international competition for 197 helicopters that will cover interim requirements. AgustaWestland, Eurocopter and Russia's Rosoboronexport agency responded to a 2009 request for proposals, but India missed a self-imposed deadline to begin trials by the middle of last year. These should start in mid-2010 and a decision is expected in 2011, say industry sources.

HAL, which will also maintain the Western-manufactured helicopters, has a created Helicopter Complex division that brings together its rotorcraft design, development and manufacturing activities under one umbrella. This includes the light observation helicopter, the Dhruv and the LCH that will imminently have its first flight.

Separately, the HAL sources confirm that India's navy has decided against buying additional Dhruvs and will look to foreign vendors for both its utility and anti-submarine warfare requirements.

The navy has Dhruvs performing utility missions, and had planned to buy dozens more to replace its Chetaks and potentially also meet an ASW requirement. However, the service has decided to go ahead with an international tender for both requirements and could issue a RFP this year, say HAL sources.

"The navy says that for their particular roles, the Dhruv is probably not suited. They are not considering it as a long-term solution at the moment and want to look elsewhere for their utility and ASW requirements," says one.

The service is likely to assess the NH Industries NH90 and Sikorsky S-70B Seahawk for its ASW missions, while Eurocopter's AS365 Dauphin is likely to be a leading contender for any utility requirement.

http://www.flightglobal.com/article...eronautics-to-go-it-alone-on-observation.html

Agantrope

This is good decision. Whether food or Mud they can go alone for some bitter or butter experience. A welcome move from the HAL.

JAISWAL

Good dicsion - atleast try hard - faliur or succes doesent mattar ,main thing is ur gained experience====================

This is good decision. Whether food or Mud they can go alone for some bitter or butter experience. A welcome move from the HAL.
Question is can India afford to wait for 2015 just for the first sample to fly.

gogbot

it wont take that long.

NO doubt it will take less time then the LCH , which has been on going only 4 years now.

No doubt the light observation helicopter will share commonality with both the DHurv and LCH. the shakti engine being prime among them.

You see, ARMY is crying for LUH since 2003 and they haven't got them yet and in all likelihood, they are not going to get first example anytime before 2012. So, for the sake of developing capability with goal of making us independent for forever in this regard, i can say 'yes they can'. BTW Army had already contacted HAL for Cheetals.

rakesh

Its good news for HAL.LCH run 1 year late schedule.Can HAL make it in time?

it wont take that long.

NO doubt it will take less time then the LCH , which has been on going only 4 years now.

No doubt the light observation helicopter will share commonality with both the DHurv and LCH. the shakti engine being prime among them.
You think so? LCH has consistently been delayed for a year with weight issues. It took Dhruv 18 years to go from concept to reality. Even India isn't expecting LUH in operation until 2017. I do believe 2015 is the target date for first flight.

LOH will be entirely new design and will share commonality with ALH only in the respect of few sub systems. LOH's internal architecture will be new so will be other things like transmission, avionics packaged, etc. To some it may look like a scale down version of ALH but it will be all different from ALH for the simple fact that it will be a single engine chopper.

HAL is neither incompetent nor it lacks the knowledge all that it will need is extra time. So if not 2015 then 2017 but LOH is going to be a reality.

gogbot

You think so? LCH has consistently been delayed for a year with weight issues. It took Dhruv 18 years to go from concept to reality. Even India isn't expecting LUH in operation until 2017. I do believe 2015 is the target date for first flight.
that's because i don't expect it to be a radically different air craft.

A single engine re-jiggered Dhurv is what i expect from the LUH.

How long can it take them to take a proven platform and redesign it to perform another role.

Despite the LCH delays , its only been 4 years since development began.
A relatively short time span.

Since LCH is far more complex then the LUH.
I would expect a far shorter time to test flight and the same induction rate

bhogta

So what we should do . Just purchase from outside. yes they are doing that thing by among 350 helicopter half will be from outside. And my friend i don't wana be rude. I am working in HAL itsself. Your country is so rude with us. They sell pistol for free and charge for bullet like any thing.

So what we should do . Just purchase from outside. yes they are doing that thing by among 350 helicopter half will be from outside. And my friend i don't wana be rude. I am working in HAL RWR&DC itsself. Your country is so rude with us. They sell pistol for free and charge for bullet like any thing.
They should have held the LUH tender back in 2003 and finished it. India would now have brand new helicopters. It took them 7 years just to figure out they want to build it themselves. Now you have to wait another 7 years. So many delays...

Agantrope

They should have held the LUH tender back in 2003 and finished it. India would now have brand new helicopters. It took them 7 years just to figure out they want to build it themselves. Now you have to wait another 7 years. So many delays...
now it is 2010 it was then 2003, 7 years and we have had many technology absorption from many projects, that might have gave the HAL the confidence to go alone.

by th way LOH will not be as complex as LCH. If you have time check the specs of LCH and eurocopter, armed forces asks more than best of the available goodies from the desi malls.

bhogta

What gone is gone my dear friend. Tell me about present solution. India missed so many chances and no body denied them. You are right people should learn from there past.

India has two options, they can either let the development run its course and go with a helicopter that will undoubtedly see delays, or it can go with foreign designs. It is the war-fighters flying 30 year old helicopters who are the ones suffering.

bhogta

India has two options, they can either let the development run its course and go with a helicopter that will undoubtedly see delays, or it can go with foreign designs. It is the war-fighters flying 30 year old helicopters who are the ones suffering.
They are doing that thing.
1 Half of the helicopter from foreign design. left one only by HAL.
2 You don't understand, what happen in 1971 war, all Western country refused to give us spare part.
3 Our enemy, thanks God not advanced even with delayed project we can fight a war. You think Arjun tank can't be used against Pakistan.
4 If we don't built now. We never be in future.
5 ALH,LCH and then LUH . that its.After that we have a industry knowledge to built more helicopter.

venkat

Bhogta bhai!!! LCH ka asli baat kya hai? panchi ,kab udega?

bhogta

Bhogta bhai!!! LCH ka asli baat kya hai? panchi ,kab udega?
I am sorry, I can't tell you because of work ethic. But if you want i can tell you interesting stuff about helicopter.

They are doing that thing.
1 Half of the helicopter from foreign design. left one only by HAL.
2 You don't understand, what happen in 1971 war, all Western country refused to give us spare part.
3 Our enemy, thanks God not advanced even with delayed project we can fight a war. You think Arjun tank can't be used against Pakistan.
4 If we don't built now. We never be in future.
5 ALH,LCH and then LUH . that its.After that we have a industry knowledge to built more helicopter.
France never refused parts to India. We didn't embargo India with nuclear testing. We always stood by India. Now India jerks us around with these helicopter requests. It is protectionism.