Five killed, 50 injured as three blasts rock Assam | Police suspect

leonblack08

GUWAHATI: Three serial explosions went off in Nalbari district of Assam on

Sunday morning, killing five people and leaving more than 50 injured,
police said.

The explosions went off in a span of 40 minutes.

The first bomb was kept on a parked bicycle near a police station and exploded around 10 am.

The second went off 20 metres away from the police station, while the third was near a market.

Police suspect that militants of the United Liberation Front of Asom (ULFA) could be behind the blasts.

Nalbari district is about 70 km west of Assam's main city of Guwahati.

Five killed, 50 injured as three blasts rock Assam - India - The Times of India

leonblack08

May the dead rest in Peace..

Is ULFA taking revenge for two of its top leaders being arrested in Bangladesh and then handed to India recently?
If that's the case,then we will also be in risk of being under ULFA attack.

leonblack08

Terror strikes Assam: 5 killed, several injured in 3 serial blasts

Five persons were killed and several others injured when suspected ULFA militants triggered two blasts close to a police station here on Sunday.

Three persons were injured when a bomb, planted in a bicycle, went off at a spot adjacent to the police station at around 9:30 am, Superintendent of Police Jitmol Doley said.

Four persons were killed in the similar blast which occurred minutes after in front of a mobile phone shop, about 20 metres away from the police station, as people were trying to flee from the area, he said.

At least 17 others were injured in the second blast and taken to the Gauhati Medical College and Hospital, over 100 km from here.

Vehicles parked in the busy and crowded area were damaged due to the impact of the blasts. The areas where the blasts took place have been cordoned off by the police, which was carrying out a combing operation in the area. Prima facie the blasts seemed to be the handiwork of ULFA, according to police sources.

Terror strikes Assam: 5 killed, several injured in 3 serial blasts

F-14

Global Defence Moderator
the ULFA had not expected this turn the heat is on them now from both the Indian and Bangla side they have no where to go as burma and Buthan has kicked their Asses out of their respective territory so this is basiclly we are alive sing

Yeh bhenc$odh ho kya raha hai?

It's a good thing Nalbari is only a small town, with a small population of about 20-odd thousand, otherwise the death toll could have been much more immense.

If a connexion is established between this ULFA do and the ISI, repercussions will be forthcoming. It's times like these, I'd like to see the whole of Pakistan set alight.

Live footage of the scene here, sign in to view:

Live: Twin blasts rock Assam Video: Free Videos Online. Video Clips, Video Movies, Live TV & More at In.com

K Factor

A Concerned Indian
Sometimes, I just hate these politicians for their dovish approach. This is the same reason why "A Wednesday" struck a chord with the entire Indian population.

India knows the positions of the ULFA training camps in north-west Bangladesh, and India should try a secret deal with the BD govt. for some secret non-publicised Israeli style air-strikes aimed at the terrorists and their trainers in the camps.

ZOOM

Founding Member
Could it be our Intelligence failure?

Could it be our lack of care for our small towns?

RIP to the victims/

AFAIK, there have been arrests of many higher ULFA leaders in recent times in Bangladesh. I hope they will be extradited to India where they can taste Indian hospitality. Once Prakash Barua who is now hiding in China is arrested or killed, we can put a lid on ULFA forever.

leonblack08

Sometimes, I just hate these politicians for their dovish approach. This is the same reason why "A Wednesday" struck a chord with the entire Indian population.

India knows the positions of the ULFA training camps in north-west Bangladesh, and India should try a secret deal with the BD govt. for some secret non-publicised Israeli style air-strikes aimed at the terrorists and their trainers in the camps.
That's suicidal for any BD govt. in power.We Bangladeshis are very sensitive about foreign troops in our land.So general public would certainly not accept it.

As for driving out ULFA,Bangladesh army is more than capable of doing so.We had long problem with CHT insurgents.All we needed is intelligence.But the last time Indian intel agencies provided intel on potential terrorist hideout,it turned out to be completely innocent.I remember reading in local newspapers which completely flushed the poor intel we recieved by investigating further on the potential threats.

The reason our law enforcers are not so active on ULFA issue is that they have not conducted any crime in Bangladesh so far.We are more busy tackling JMB,Huji and other garbages.
And Finally not to mention BNP-Jamaat's role in this.

K Factor

A Concerned Indian
That's suicidal for any BD govt. in power.We Bangladeshis are very sensitive about foreign troops in our land.So general public would certainly not accept it.

As for driving out ULFA,Bangladesh army is more than capable of doing so.We had long problem with CHT insurgents.All we needed is intelligence.But the last time Indian intel agencies provided intel on potential terrorist hideout,it turned out to be completely innocent.I remember reading in local newspapers which completely flushed the poor intel we recieved by investigating further on the potential threats.

The reason our law enforcers are not so active on ULFA issue is that they have not conducted any crime in Bangladesh.We are more busy tackling JMB,Huji and other *****s.
And Finally not to mention BNP-Jamaat's role in this.
Thats why I mentioned secret (by air, not by ground troops) strikes in cooperation with the BD agencies. BD forces will provide real time intelligence and the strike itself will be covert, and not disclosed in the media.

F-14

Global Defence Moderator
yes and we can give it a facade of a COPE (Co-operative excersise)

leonblack08

Thats why I mentioned secret (by air, not by ground troops) strikes in cooperation with the BD agencies. BD forces will provide real time intelligence and the strike itself will be covert, and not disclosed in the media.
People aren't so easy to fool mate.
Besides we are not talking about Burma that media can be silenced completely.Our media will flush it anyhow.

What could be done is that in cooperation with Indian intel,Bangladeshi law enforcers can flush them out.
Or the recent method also isn't that bad,only its un-democratic.In this method,we detain them,leave them at border and you arrest them.No treaty required.
And in return RAW should share info about all terror threats to Bangladesh instead of alerting only when Sheikh Hasina is in danger.This trend of RAW really does not send a good vibration.It raises question in people's mind.