Eight MLAs of Nagaland Cong merge with Naga People’s Front


Senior Member
Jul 20, 2015
Country flag
DIMAPUR, NOVEMBER 20 (MExN): Wiping out any remnants of the existence of the ‘opposition’ in the Nagaland State Assembly, the eight Nagaland Congress MLAs who joined the Naga People’s Front (NPF)-led Democratic Alliance of Nagaland (DAN) government in which BJP is also have a partner merged with the NPF.

The erstwhile Congress members presented the claim of merger as per the format required under the members of the Nagaland Legislative Assembly (Disqualification on Ground of Defection) Rules, 2003 along with other supporting documents to the Speaker, Nagaland Legislative Assembly on Friday.

Subsequently, NPF president Dr. Shurhozelie Liezietsu and Chief Minister TR Zeliang issued separate notifications to the Speaker, Nagaland Legislative Assembly (NLA) informing that the Congress members have merged with the NPF in accordance with the law laid down by the Gauhati High Court in Writ Appeals Nos.297 & 298/2014 (judgment delivered on 12.11.2014) and thus are protected against disqualification on ground of defection.

“In terms of Rule 4 of the Members of Nagaland Legislative Assembly (Disqualification on Ground of Defection) Rules, 2003, as they have become members of the Naga People’s Front with the presentation of claim of merger as aforesaid, you are kindly requested to show them as NPF members in all Assembly records pending issuance of appropriate order by you under the said Rules,” read the notification issued to the Speaker.

The eight Congress members who are now members of the political and the legislature parties of the NPF are SI Jamir, Tokheho Yepthomi, C Apok Jamir, S Hukavi Zhimomi, Dr Imtiwapang Aier, Imtikumzuk, Eshak Konayk and Khekaho Assumi.

This new development comes in the backdrop of infighting within the Congress party in Nagaland with new president K Therie and his supporters in one boat and supporters of the eight MLAs along with senior members of the Indian National Congress on another.

After the eight Congress MLAs joined TR Zeliang’s DAN government by voting in his favour in a ‘motion of confidence’ in the floor of the Assembly on February 6, the All India Congress Committee (AICC) had issued show-cause notice and suspension order to the members for ‘violating’ its direction of not to join the NPF government headed by Zeliang, if BJP is also a part of the government.

The Congress had also filed disqualification petitions before the Speaker of NLA against its eight MLAs for attracting the provisions of the anti-defection law framed by the Assembly.

The inclusion of the Congress MLAs in the alliance and the government means there is no opposition party in Nagaland and a realization of Zeliang’s ‘all-party government’ in the State Assembly.

NPCC expels eight members for 3 years

Nagaland Pradesh Congress Committee (NPCC) has expelled eight (8) of its members for three (3) years with effect from November 20, 2015 onwards. It also recommended to All India Congress Committee (AICC) for disciplinary action against four members.

The eight expelled Congress members include Supongmeren, Nillo Rengma, Vaprumo Demo, Konngam, Sulanthung, H. Chuba, Prasilie Pienyu, G. K. Rengma, while AICC members K. V. Pusa, Asu Keyho, Joshua Sumi and Tarie Zeliang, were recommended for disciplinary action against them.

In a press statement, NPCC president K Therie informed that the Disciplinary Action Committee (DAC) constituted to examine the alleged misconduct of those members found that they “neither denied nor regretted their anti-party activities and misconduct.”

“They also ignored the authority of NPCC by not replying to the alleged breach of discipline and challenging its authority,” Therie added.

According to the statement, DAC had served show cause notice to the twelve members of the Congress for their misconduct during the NPCC delegates meeting at Congress Bhavan, Kohima on September 24 where general secretary, AICC in-charge of Northeast, V Narayanswamy was also present. It also stated that the members “ignored the authority of NPCC by not replying to the alleged breach of discipline and challenging its authority.”


Latest Replies

Global Defence

New threads