DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

samsaptaka

तस्मात् उत्तिष्ठ कौन्तेय युद्धाय कृतनिष्चय
in your office, who signs the big cheques to pay for a project. department HoD or finance department/head?
I know where you are going with this.You can have a single committee with all reqd members and take the final decision and clear the acquisition. No ? Just because things were being done with multiple committees earlier due to Britshit bureaucracy, doesn't mean we should not ditch that rotten system and adopt single window clearance of projects.

from a procurement point of view, these are some major steps we know of.

RFI -> AoN -> RFP -> CCS -> Contract Signing

each involves different groups with in armed forces itself, last two is where PM, finance ministry and MEA(if necessary) comes into picture. there is no point for FM and MEA to get involved in RFI/AoN/RFP stages, if they are involved it will only increase the time required to cross that stage.

so it can't be a single window i think.

Javelin_Sam

privatizing drdo would work only if we get sanctioned by most countries; they wont be able to look outside for foreign stuff to rebrand lol
reorganizing drdo with the help of israelies is good as well; does reorganizing mean sending them our technology documents and expertise 💀

drdo fanboys need to self reflect and tell me nothing is wrong here after looking at what the koreans and turks are doing. We can have as much foreign assistance as them can we not?Money shouldnt be much problem either considering the absolutes alongside with % of gdp.Because we are satisfied with passing the test,we are never aiming for scoring the top marks. For the next retest, lets aim for ADA and ADE alongside their budget belonging to HAL.

I wonder where the rot starts and where it ends and how many times will we have this same conversation.
Having as much foreign assistance comes with its own dependency. It's not like they will take the money and say "here take this and enjoy". Foreign assistance to critical things means hooking ourselves to their system and supply chain ecosystem after being charged an arm and leg. Like the MDL Chairman complained, "those French engineers during scorpene trials will shut down the laptop as soon as we walk nearby to them". Its a quick way to boost some ego and good publicity stunt to develop a system where critical sub-systems and tech comes as 'help' from abroad. But as a country, we don't learn anything worthwhile while handing over one end of rope to the west after tying other end around our neck.

samsaptaka

Gridbots does some amazing work does army have anything from them in there inventory?
All ok, but why a Greek name ? Sorry state of affairs where most of our engineers are deracinated and think western names only are a stamp of approval

samsaptaka

Yaar by all logical means, this should be part of an RWS station on all APCs, IFVs and light armoured vehicles years ago.
But IA hai.

Meanwhile IN took a look at the BEL RWS for .50 cal M2s and now have made it THE anti drone system for small multicopter drones on ALL surface ships.

Difference dekh rahe ho?
Time for some IN officers to head IA's procurement, seriously ! When your own sister service is setting an example and you are not learning or attempting even to change, points at only one thing - corruption