DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

Karthi

149314500_3907066292651617_7233511772735899689_o.jpg
ezgif-4-2a6b28bbc184.jpg

IDS SHATRU is India’s first high-performance High-Speed Expendable Aerial Target System (HEAT) built for a variety of air defence training and testing applications. Its high speed, high endurance, and high payload-carrying capability make it an agile target system for joint defense requirements. Its Modular design makes it the best choice for adapting to varieties of mission requirements.

KEY FEATURE

• Fully indigenous, advanced flight computer and avionics for the highest level of autonomy from take off to recovery
  • Autonomous waypoints navigation with inbuilt feature to add and remove waypoints And digital telemetry system.
  • One-click RTL in distress, Return to home in the event of communication loss.
  • Payloads include 3 x Luneberg Lenses, Up to 8 smoke tracking flares, Up to 16 infra-red Tracking flares, Radar altimeter, sea-skimming module, Acoustic and Doppler radar MDI, and Navigation Lighting for night ops
  • Indigenised content includes, Aircraft Design & Airframe Manufacturing, Autopilot, Payloads (IR Flares, Smoke Flares & Luneberg lense), Recovery Parachute, Electricals and cable harnessing, Pneumatic Launcher ( Self Contained).
  • Deployable on land and ship deck.
IDS also developing UCAV.

IDS in the development of reusable UAS which can be utilized for both Combat Air Teaming Systems and Solo Unmanned Combat Missions.

IDS to develop and demonstrate top class, avant-garde and high caliber tactical UAVs. IDS working on developing UCAV with a typical mission ranging up to 500km, endurance greater than 2hours with an overall weapon load of 250kgs and the capability to carry a variety of payloads ranging from electronic warfare, smart weapons to surveillance packages.

IDS-BHEEM is India's first fully indigenous pneumatic launcher of its class, built to launch UAVs of various configuration and weight classes. Advanced design features enable smooth, hassle-free and reliable operation.

KEY FEATURES

• Maximum Launch speed ~ 55 m/s
  • MaximumAir Vehicle Mass 300kg.
  • 15 bar ( 217.557 psi ) operating Pressure and 324Kj of Energy stored.
  • Easy Maintenance and repair.
  • Rapid Deployment and fast turnaround time.
Visit their site: https://integrateddefencesystems.com/home

Yaar test hi hotey rehtey hain, induct kabhi hongey???????
Require time , better they are testing ,it means they are reducing development cycle , also many inducted system are tested for revaluation .

All missile system are confirmed to be tested , MoD won't allow forces to fuck up in missile part

Mostly unmanned systems and situational awareness systems. Swarm drones, thermal imaging optics, etc. And most of these technologies' main plus is being cheap.
I seriously feel SSSD should invest in AR-15s as it is the only thing army is looking for, if SSSD would have been making Kalashnikovs and AR-15s indigenously then we wouldn’t have been going for phoren maal.

If you don't mind will you give a detailed reply , what are the parameters for a good rifle , design types , advanced mechanism , why gun making is considered to be time consuming and weapons take so long to be developed , if have some link please share it

Killbot

Weapon systems take a lot of time for testing. Even small arms, especially if this is your first design. Optimal metallurgy for the barrel, gas system, different trigger groups, ergonomics, etc. are designed by trial and error. And field trials need to be extensive.

Coming to your point of investing in AR-15 designs, above applies, especially the metallurgy part. And then keep refining their designs. It isn't a one and done kind of thing.

Plus, I think that they are not even trying to get in the automatic weapons market just yet. If you noticed, their flagship products are their ammo manufacturing JV with that Brazilian company and their sniper rifles. Which they have a real chance at, considering the import negative list has kicked in. Their P-72 series is a lemon. Marketing stunt.

Killbot

If you don't mind will you give a detailed reply , what are the parameters for a good rifle , design types , advanced mechanism , why gun making is considered to be time consuming and weapons take so long to be developed , if have some link please share it
In a nutshell👇
Weapon systems take a lot of time for testing. Even small arms, especially if this is your first design. Optimal metallurgy for the barrel, gas system, different trigger groups, ergonomics, etc. are designed by trial and error. And field trials need to be extensive

Arihant Roy

Indigenously designed & developed Vertical Launch Short Range Surface to Air Missile (VL-SRSAM) by DRDO for Indian Navy has undergone two successful launches today. The missile is capable of neutralizing various aerial threats at close ranges.

Eu1glMRVkAIlVSn.jpeg

If you pay attention to details, you will find that this VL Astra variant has TVC vanes .

Drones , some optics from tonbo , not much .
Startup are very naive right now , some small order are necessary but they are not capable for complex system right now
Yes, if they earn a bit then they can invest it further on R&D. But then you need to follow the self embargo else I am laughing on this government for a self embargo and then finding waivers for things which you still want to import even after embargo, if you want such waivers then what is the point of an embargo imposed on yourself?

If Armed Forces think that because in USA private firms make a lot of defence equipment and ours have started doing it then we are at the same level then I can feel pity on them, if army wants an AR-15 pattern carbine, ask SSSD to develop an AR-15 carbine instead of issuing tenders for specs, specs alone don’t matter, design too matters but in other parts of the world countries lobby to make their private companies win the tender if their provided equipment qualifies al parameters else they can import, here in India we lobby to import and stay away from Indian companies.

We would have been using thousands of Arjuns but Army changed their requirements unnecessarily over time so that Arjun becomes unacceptable and T-90s are imported, same goes with their infantry rifle program, they changed their caliber requirements multiple times during development, we can make but we need people who are ready for it and hate imports. Here Indian Army purposely wants a foreign rifle to win their firearms tender while they can ask SSSD straightaway that we need AKs and ARs not CZ BREN knockoff P-72s so make it for us so that you can easily win the tender but then Army will not do it, Army can help in development of Small Arms but they don’t do it purposely so that few elites can earn kickbacks from imports and then this so called arms embargo, what happened now? They said they will get an indigenous carbine but they are inviting foreign bids too? This is just joke, even I can say I will study 12 hours a day without touching phone and then spend hours on it saying, aaj man nahi padhne ka, aaj zaruri kaam hai, ek kaam tha...

Navy is in best condition because they focussed on indigenisation and hence we are producing aircraft carriers like INS Vikrant indigenously and next INS Vishal carrier will also be built indigenously, Navy only has to float tenders to those who will construct their submarine and all of them are Indian companies.

Airforce is now focussing on indigenisation hence now they are getting well off for future but Indian army so called pride of India has always lobbied for imported maal, funny thing is that Indian helicopter service companies like Pawan Hans (which is a government PSU company) uses Airbus helicopters and not Indigenous Dhruv helos, if Civilian variant of Dhruv was made for fun then why did Government waste our taxpayers’ money on it’s development?

Indian Army uses almost half a dozen different types of red dots and holographic sights, we import EOTech 512 even though BEL Makes holographic sights indigenously, Army could have made it standard, but made a clusterfuck with infuse of multiple imported ones,

The only reason QAT got Quad NODs was because Tonbo was making it in India indigenously, if they were not making it, the MoD would not have sanctioned it’s development for use, such is our condition.

World’s best firearm makers belong to the countries where firearms are illegal to own except for a few legal civilian weapons for self defence.

If Army wanted an AR-18 battle rifle they could have asked SSSD to make an AR-18 rifle but then they want ki SSSD ko ham kyu bole? Wo nahi banaye unki galti, ham import karenge.

It is not America where if a company’s product does not qualify then it can be rejected, it is India hence if one is developing UAV then support it so that it can be procured instead of rejecting them and leaving them with few resources.

We have JV called PLR which hardly receives any bulk orders, they make small arms and all sorts of accessories indigenously yet are ignored.

Karthi

IMG_20210222_205036.jpg

Successful Launches of VL-SRSAM Missile System

Defence Research & Development Organisation (DRDO) conducted two successful launches of Vertical Launch Short Range Surface to Air Missile (VL-SRSAM).
The launches were carried out today from a static vertical launcher from Integrated Test Range (ITR), Chandipur off the coast of Odisha. Indigenously designed and developed by DRDO for Indian Navy, VL-SRSAM is meant for neutralizing various aerial threats at close ranges including sea-skimming targets. The current launches were carried out for demonstration of vertical launch capability as part of its maiden launch campaign. On both occasions, the missiles intercepted the simulated targets with pinpoint accuracy. The missiles were tested for minimum and maximum range. VL-SRSAM with Weapon Control System (WCS) were deployed during the trials.