DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

The concept of incremental development is lost on our armed forces & most members here. We want a perfect iteration to be inducted from get go. Khud Rajpal Yadav par shaadi Aishwarya Rai se karni hain.
And who gave the specification of 30 hrs in first place?

NutCracker

The concept of incremental development is lost on our armed forces & most members here. We want a perfect iteration to be inducted from get go. Khud Rajpal Yadav par shaadi Aishwarya Rai se karni hain.
Design was shit. Choice of power plant was shit. There is not much increment possible.
In your words, Mayawati ko kitna hi makeup laga do Aishwarya nahi ban jayegi.

jai jaganath

6 hrs of additional endurance could save you atleast 40-45 crore.
Do u need all platforms performing 24*7 surveillance
I mean male drones
There is requirement for 155 male drones
In case of army do they need such endurance all the time
For a particular amount of money they are ready to import extremely costly foreign drones in long term and ditch domestic capability and technology

Azaad

Is it a commandment ? Will 18 hrs in Mk-1 not serve the purpose followed by an Mk-2 with 24 hrs endurance ? I bet if you've a child you'd blame for not being 2 yrs in 365 days considering him a classic case of stunted growth .

Azaad

Design was shit. Choice of power plant was shit. There is not much increment possible.
Then the armed forces should've washed its hands off the entire thing early on . What's the point going so far with it. Besides ADE has the worst reputation among all the DRDO labs.

johnj

Tapas with 18h edurance has no use for NAVY. Hence I think we might not be using western transponder even if there was any plan.
I am still unable to process as to what those additional 6 hours worth of endurance are going to bring to the table.
Are the forces expecting all action to take place in those last 6 hours?
More EEZ can be covered in a single sortie? 24 is minimum. More is even more better.
6 hrs of additional endurance could save you atleast 40-45 crore.
Imagine that Navy has to conduct an anti-Sub operation just 1000km far from shore in southern IOR. (1000km is nothing if you look into the map) .
Both Tapas and Heron has 200kmph speed. It will take them 10hrs to and fro.
Leaving only 8 hours of loitering for Tapas , but 20 hours of loitering for Hermes. That's huge difference.

In case of army's Border reconn, Tapas drone can take off from J& K and land somewhere in N.E. , Navy does not have this convenience.
theoretical scenario :

let's say IN's operational handbook says, they need 24 x 7 sorties in a week in a AOR. that's 168 hours in a week. since it is a machine, it needs maintenance downtime too.

let's take 6 hours as the shortfall, 6hrs deficit per sortie adds upto 42 hrs deficit per week, which is almost 2.5 sorties shortfall. this means either existing equipment has to fly more or more equipment has to be procured to sustain operational levels.
1699609160671.png

IN need maritime search radar and eots with AIS. [sonar for submarines]
IA can buy a small no of tapas and eots sensor with ais for now, IAF consider armed version, and IN need most expensive one with radar and eots
Range, Altitude, Endurance is not a issue with tapas, but its frequent crash is.
Current uav purchase comes under emergency procurement, IA and IN buying one system each, for IN it fill the gap of sea guardian, IA get one more system to monitor border

NutCracker

What analysis have you done before arriving to this conclusion??
@Azaad

I'm not against DRDO. Some of their verticals like Missile/EW/GTRE dept are good. But some are shit.

Biggest flaw in Tapas.. T-tail.
Ever wondered why no other drone makers were DRDOesque "smart".
That design requires highly strengthened parts which increase the weight drastically. Its empty weight is unparallel to anything in it's category.

Navy should'nt be forced to use it. Army can have use cases and convenience to use maximum of its loitering time, as I explained below. The capability difference is 250%.

Imagine that Navy has to conduct an anti-Sub operation just 1000km far from shore in southern IOR. (1000km is nothing if you look into the map) .

Both Tapas and Heron has 200kmph speed. It will take them 10hrs to and fro.

Leaving only 8 hours of loitering for Tapas , but 20 hours of loitering for Hermes. That's huge difference.

In case of army's Border reconn, Tapas drone can take off from J& K and land somewhere in N.E. , Navy does not have this convenience.

NoobWannaLearn

View attachment 228790
IN need maritime search radar and eots with AIS. [sonar for submarines]
IA can buy a small no of tapas and eots sensor with ais for now, IAF consider armed version, and IN need most expensive one with radar and eots
Range, Altitude, Endurance is not a issue with tapas, but its frequent crash is.
Current uav purchase comes under emergency procurement, IA and IN buying one system each, for IN it fill the gap of sea guardian, IA get one more system to monitor border
One more source reported 4 with 2 systems to both branches

patriots

Defense lover
Tapas has low endurance......

Still I will prefer 2 tapas over one foreign uav
2 tapas can be deployed in 2 areas compared to the foreign uavs

Might be the case forces will get some high end israeli drones ....with desi uavs in nos

NoobWannaLearn

Tapas has low endurance......

Still I will prefer 2 tapas over one foreign uav
2 tapas can be deployed in 2 areas compared to the foreign uavs

Might be the case forces will get some high end israeli drones ....with desi uavs in nos
But two tapas won't complete one long mission that's the problem you won't land the drone in middle of mission and fly another one to complete the mission

mist_consecutive

Golgappe Expert
DRDO himself has given up on the project and started Archer NG. Also this reply sums it up -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Honestly, we give too long a rope to our PSUs and research labs. They are not immature organizations anymore. We are a trillion $ economy, with the largest pool of talent perhaps only second to China. We should set our standards higher. Half of the Lockheed Martin, General Dynamics, Boeing, Rolce-Royce, etc. are being managed by Indian or Indian-origin employees.

The only thing DRDO/PSUs need is to shed the govt. job attitude, loosen their pockets for hiring good talent instead of hundreds of freebies they get, and have a direct chain of responsibility and accountability.

Should we remember how within 2-3 years the entire micro-UAV & anti-drone market was taken over by budding, talented private players? DRDO kept making a single fucking quadcopter UAV (Netra) for 10 years and saw only single-digit numbers service. Then drone startups like IdeaForce, Garuda Airspace, etc. came and bagged huge orders from forces (now don't tell me this piss poor startups somehow bribed officials).

Truthsoldier

DRDO himself has given up on the project and started Archer NG. Also this reply sums it up -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Honestly, we give too long a rope to our PSUs and research labs. They are not immature organizations anymore. We are a trillion $ economy, with the largest pool of talent perhaps only second to China. We should set our standards higher. Half of the Lockheed Martin, General Dynamics, Boeing, Rolce-Royce, etc. are being managed by Indian or Indian-origin employees.

The only thing DRDO/PSUs need is to shed the govt. job attitude, loosen their pockets for hiring good talent instead of hundreds of freebies they get, and have a direct chain of responsibility and accountability.

Should we remember how within 2-3 years the entire micro-UAV & anti-drone market was taken over by budding, talented private players? DRDO kept making a single fucking quadcopter UAV (Netra) for 10 years and saw only single-digit numbers service. Then drone startups like IdeaForce, Garuda Airspace, etc. came and bagged huge orders from forces (now don't tell me this piss poor startups somehow bribed officials).
Exactly had the same money given to tapas project was provided to Indian private sector it would have yielded better results

NoobWannaLearn

Exactly had the same money given to tapas project was provided to Indian private sector it would have yielded better results
Drdo is ready to provide money name a company that came forward to actually put the money in r&d ? Everyone is after tot from foreign partners and have shows 0 interests in funding and r&d just look at how amca is stuck no one even showed up lol and ur Asking for funding to private companies there are only a few gems who wanna work and they are getting full support from drdo and hal look at newspace and look at Sagar defence navy is supporting them wholeheartedly cause they actually wanna do something if private companies wanna do it they are welcome to get funding and tot both from drdo at anytime.

Truthsoldier

WTF is this? Shameless MOD and army generals ready to set aside WHAP already????
We can't be blaming bureaucrats and army all the time. The accountability is always enforced at the top and then it trickles down. Can all these deals repeatedly happen if the political class does not want it? The more things change the more they remain the same. Regardless of party in power all polticians laugh all the way to the Swiss bank and to their children in western universities