DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

Aniruddha Mulay

Mk2 only arrive after 2033 and IAF never going to order more than 200 mk1 versions
If you double the order plus limited order of Rafale IAF may get 250 aircraft
During this period PLA AF gets around 2500 aircraft
Tejas Mk2 would be in production come 2028-29, if IAF is to put aside its "no bulk order until FOC" argument, it very well can order and have 100s of Tejas Mk2 delivered.
The Americans followed a similar approach for their F-35 program.

johnj

Tejas Mk2 would be in production come 2028-29, if IAF is to put aside its "no bulk order until FOC" argument, it very well can order and have 100s of Tejas Mk2 delivered.
The Americans followed a similar approach for their F-35 program.
Dumb comparison
USAF want 1700 f35 and brought 15% for training
IAF want 108 or 144 mk2, its 15% is 16/21 jets, IAF consider 18, ie 1sqn for testing
Tejas mk2 only enter LSP after 2033 becz HAL consider its unwise to assemble 2 jets per year, insisted HAL give importance to additional mk1 orders

Lonewarrior

Just try to remove US/Israel/UK hardware from Tejas and tell me what exactly are you left with to export
I was expecting them to be more harsh but luckily they only went for their bff

Btw it's the perfect dilemma for HAL Babus; continue the tea sipping anxiety free life and lose 9000 crore or do some innovation and replace British components

johnj

I was expecting them to be more harsh but luckily they only went for their bff

Btw it's the perfect dilemma for HAL Babus; continue the tea sipping anxiety free life and lose 9000 crore or do some innovation and replace British components
HAL can replace UK parts with US ones, but the question is money, who is going to pay for those changes & certification, and its not HAL, but ADA responsible for LCA design, 15nos is too small for a major change and ADA busy with mk2.
LCA uses UK origin asraam also.

johnj

Its upto ADA/DRDO to do that, HAL is merely the lead integrator for the Tejas program.
HAL manufactures LCA, provide tech support, training for user, tries to find more sales and market and many more, not just a the lead integrator.

NoobWannaLearn

Except for the IFR, ejection seat and the quartz radome, there is nothing British on the Tejas.
India can offer them an LCA Tejas with no IFR, an American or Russian ejection seat and a local quartz radome.
Are I was being sarcastic as for ejection seat I think we has some news about jv few months ago no news on that for now?

Aniruddha Mulay

But without ATGMs and French rocket pod ? Or Helina is already integrated and we don't know ?

Edit: Oh yes I also forgot it lacks a self-protection suite. Is HAL hiring top-notch sales guys from IIMs?
LCHs flight computer is the same as Rudra, and Dhruvastra has already been integrated on Rudra, so integration would be a breeze.
AFAIK, France hasn't objected to sale of its rocket pods to Argentina.
Self protection suite will take time but will be ready by the time a formal order comes for bulk production, PBI has already indicated that an order of 160 LCH is on the way.

LoI basically means Argentina is ready to negotiate the deal with a possibility of this turning into a contract.

Lonewarrior

Less goooooo
Yesterday it was 15 Tejas, today it's 20 Prachand, tomorrow it would be 25 Chetak

And won't it make more sense for Argentina to simply buy Rudra?
Same weapon - sensor package, way more matured design, lower cost, can easily be converted into an utility helicopter.

It all feels like "arre aap pehli baar humare ghar aayein hain, aise khaali haath kaise bhej sakte hain...kuch to lena hi padega samdhi jee"

But without ATGMs and French rocket pod ? Or Helina is already integrated and we don't know ?

Edit: Oh yes I also forgot it lacks a self-protection suite. Is HAL hiring top-notch sales guys from IIMs?
Is ATGM so important for Argentina?

Vamsi

Dumb comparison
USAF want 1700 f35 and brought 15% for training
IAF want 108 or 144 mk2, its 15% is 16/21 jets, IAF consider 18, ie 1sqn for testing
Tejas mk2 only enter LSP after 2033 becz HAL consider its unwise to assemble 2 jets per year, insisted HAL give importance to additional mk1 orders
Nope, 1st Mk-2 which gonna roll-out next year, itself will be a SP standard aircraft, there will not be any separate LSP like we had in Mk-1 program

What do you expect from an attack chopper 😅
Ofcourse. In that case you should also take a note that they are not using any kind of Air Launched ATGM as of today.

So get out of the mindset that what is important for us is also equally important for others.

Marliii

Better to die on your feet than live on your knees
Ofcourse. In that case you should also take a note that they are not using any kind of Air Launched ATGM as of today.

So get out of the mindset that what is important for us is also equally important for others.
Maybe because they do not have any attack helicopter in their forces not because they don't need ATGMs