DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

Fatalis

Lonewarrior

What's our problem with having a simple and lean supply chain!?
Was going through the article like okay, that's good, yup ASRAAM and then out of nowhere...
Screenshot_2023-06-27-15-27-32-15_6bcd734b3b4b52977458a65c801426b0.jpg

Fatalis

What's our problem with having a simple and lean supply chain!?
Was going through the article like okay, that's good, yup ASRAAM and then out of nowhere...
View attachment 212303
For me the weirdest part was this:

In the future, MBDA’s Common Anti-Air Modular Missile (CAMM) assembly, integration, and testing services will be carried out at this location. CAMM may provide anti-aircraft and anti-missile defence, a surface-to-air missile with a short range that can be fired from land-based positions. MBDA is fulfilling the Indian Navy’s request for a short-range surface-to-air missile by supplying the CAMM as part of the Sea Ceptor air defence system. This induction will allow the Indian Navy to defend its aircraft better.

What is the bloody need?

Fatalis

For me the weirdest part was this:

In the future, MBDA’s Common Anti-Air Modular Missile (CAMM) assembly, integration, and testing services will be carried out at this location. CAMM may provide anti-aircraft and anti-missile defence, a surface-to-air missile with a short range that can be fired from land-based positions. MBDA is fulfilling the Indian Navy’s request for a short-range surface-to-air missile by supplying the CAMM as part of the Sea Ceptor air defence system. This induction will allow the Indian Navy to defend its aircraft better.

What is the bloody need?
And when did we sign a deal for CAMM? Wasn't VL-SRSAM the answer to all the imports?

Lonewarrior

What is the bloody need?
And when did we sign a deal for CAMM? Wasn't VL-SRSAM the answer to all the imports?
MBDA's ASRAAM and CAMM are the modification of a same common platform

Screenshot_2023-06-27-16-41-59-48_e5d3893ac03954c6bb675ef2555b879b.jpg

So from MBDA's point of view they're just doing business.

As for Navy, I think it's just an Indian salesman of MBDA showing his dreams vs Navy actually using it. Remember we have already tested VL-SRSAM from our ship and currently in the process of integration so it'd be quite a trick for MBDA to replace that with CAMM.

The best part about all of these is BDL.
If VL-SRSAM get selected, BDL's happy. If Akash-NG then BDL's happy. And if out of nowhere CAMM is selected, BDL's happy.
Chad BDL

mist_consecutive

Golgappe Expert
Why the heck we don't use external fuel tanks on our Su-30MkIs? Buddy refueling yes, but can't remember the last time I saw an IAF Su with EFTs.
Do we even have EFTs or it's usual arre extra 2-4 kilometre se kya farq padta hai syndrome?
It carries so much fuel internally that the Soviet aerospace industry deemed it unnecessary to add fuel tanks to it.
No fuel tank is carried by even modern versions, such as Su-35 or J-16s, at least I have never seen or heard of.

With its internal fuel, it has a whopping 1500+ km of combat radius which is sufficient for most scenarios.

Lonewarrior

It carries so much fuel internally that the Soviet aerospace industry deemed it unnecessary to add fuel tanks to it.
No fuel tank is carried by even modern versions, such as Su-35 or J-16s, at least I have never seen or heard of.

With its internal fuel, it has a whopping 1500+ km of combat radius which is sufficient for most scenarios.
...most scenarios that used to happen at that time. CAP, interdiction, interception.

But what about future growth possibilities?
What if at some point we decide to utilise the payload capacity of Sukhois and make something similar to Growlers. Or a Loyal Wingman controller. You can easily add a whopping three ton jamming pod in the centre pylon but what about EFT? Su-34s occasionally fly with EFTs but I've never seen any Su-30 doing so.

johnj

In simple- MBDA and DRDO fighting hard to get IAF/IN orders for short range anti air missiles.
MBDA ccm vs DRDO ccm vs Mitsubishi ccm
Sea Ceptor vs astra vl

Fatalis

In simple- MBDA and DRDO fighting hard to get IAF/IN orders for short range anti air missiles.
MBDA ccm vs DRDO ccm vs Mitsubishi ccm
Sea Ceptor vs astra vl
There was a plan to import 4 SRSAM for IN and rest 10 would have been indeginous systems. Then came VL-SRSAM and plan changed to have all 14 systems indegeniously. Now, dunno what is going on. I think this article is complete BS.

Fatalis

Yes, we are actively exploring opportunities to participate in the P751 project. One such example is providing our cutting-edge Energy Storage System technology for the submarine’s battery pack. The Indian government has presented us with a clear vision for the future plan, and we are confident in actively proceeding with this project.