DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

Lonewarrior

Do we have something like this ??

We don't need something like this...we already have missiles like Shaurya. We can easily make a 1,000kg Bund Blasting Device if needed.

Arihant Roy

Good news fellas. K-5 is about to enter series production within a few months. Which indicates developmental trials and user assisted dev trials and user trials are completed successfully.

JTZeOeEr.png_medium.png

10 ton class first stage motor.

This tender is three months old. Contractual recruitment of scientist/engineer in Pay level 15 category for a period of 1 year.

Lonewarrior

Kya karun main Alpha Defence waalon ka...

It takes just 40% Indigenous Content (IC) to qualify as an IDDM platform. And that too I'm not sure is whether based on number of components or valve, DAC can twist this parameter to suit their profit whenever possible
Screenshot_2023-06-23-23-52-17-70_6bcd734b3b4b52977458a65c801426b0.jpg

So by this definition of Defence Acquisition Council, license produced Paramount Mbombe 4 by Kalyani as M4 are also an Indigenously Designed Developed (yup, you read it absolutely right) and Manufactured system.

Alpha Defence thinks they can outwit Indian defence procurement Babus.

SwordOfDarkness

It takes just 40% Indigenous Content (IC) to qualify as an IDDM platform. And that too I'm not sure is whether based on number of components or valve, DAC can twist this parameter to suit their profit whenever possible
View attachment 211792
So by this definition of Defence Acquisition Council, license produced Paramount Mbombe 4 by Kalyani as M4 are also an Indigenously Designed Developed (yup, you read it absolutely right) and Manufactured system.

Lmao no
you need 60% by cost if you dont have IPR on the design, that 40% is is you are the designer (i.e. hold the IPR)
And yeah, M4 is almost entirely made here, so I think it would qualify per this.

Lonewarrior

Lmao no
you need 60% by cost if you dont have IPR on the design, that 40% is is you are the designer (i.e. hold the IPR)
And yeah, M4 is almost entirely made here, so I think it would qualify per this.
Lmao yes
The IPRs of Stryker (which itself is based on older LAV III) are all expired; they're in service for more than the two decade patent protection period.
Mahindra or say Ashok Leyland will file a bogus patent for some bs things like "Ornamental Design of 8x8 Armoured Vehicle" and show a middle finger to Kestrel.

Lonewarrior

jai jaganath

Good news fellas. K-5 is about to enter series production within a few months. Which indicates developmental trials and user assisted dev trials and user trials are completed successfully.

View attachment 211791

10 ton class first stage motor.

This tender is three months old. Contractual recruitment of scientist/engineer in Pay level 15 category for a period of 1 year.
Wait a sec sir
U mean k5 slbm tested
Both user and developmental trails completed
No one has a small hint about it
How sir?
Not even a single leak

Arihant Roy

Wait a sec sir
U mean k5 slbm tested
Both user and developmental trails completed
No one has a small hint about it
How sir?
Not even a single leak
Go through this.

Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) is set to throw up some pleasant surprises early next year. Along with the induction of 5,000-km range surface-to-surface ballistic missile Agni-V, the premier defence research agency is readying for the maiden test of its long range Submarine Launched Ballistic Missile (SLBM) K-5.

K-5 missile developed under the secret ‘K Series’ project is the fastest missile in its class and can deliver nuclear warhead of more than one tonne 5,000 km away. The three-stage missile propelled by solid propellants can deceive enemy radar making it more lethal. While 750-km range K-15 (B-05) and 3,500 km range K-4 of the K-family have already been test fired successfully several times and are in the process of induction, the newly developed K-5 will add more teeth to the arsenal.

Defence sources said the missile will be flight tested from a submersible pontoon launcher in Bay of Bengal off Visakhapatnam coast for a suppressed range to validate some new technology incorporated in the system before it is put under tests for full range in operational configuration.“The K-5 missile was sanctioned in 2015. The weapon system is now being readied for initial phase trials. Though the test window has not been finalised, it is expected to fly in the sky soon.

K-5 ballistic missile developement was sanctioned in 2015. First flight happened in Dec 18 or in early 19. And now it's 2023.

View attachment 211792

Before writing, try to go thru as many official document as possible.

Definition of Acquisition Categories 7. Buy (Indian-IDDM). ‘Buy (Indian-IDDM)’ category refers to the procurement of products from an Indian vendor that have been indigenously designed, developed and manufactured with a minimum of 50% Indigenous Content (IC) on cost basis of the total contract value.

7.1 The Request For Information (RFI), incorporating questions to confirm that the equipment has been indigenously designed and developed, shall be formulated by SHQ, in consultation with DRDO/other experts from IIT/IISc and other Government agencies. Post receipt of responses from interested vendors, a Committee convened by SHQ shall examine the responses received from vendors and recommend categorisation as ‘Buy (Indian – IDDM). The Committee shall also recommend documentation and other requirements which the vendor shall have to submit with their technical bids.

7.2 These documents and other requirements to be produced by the vendor along with the technical bid shall be specified in the RFP and shall be scrutinised at the TEC stage. Vendors should also furnish an undertaking (format attached at Appendix A) for their claim to indigenous design. The TEC may include a DRDO representative/ other experts from IIT/IISc and other Government agencies to verify vendor claims of indigenous design only. However, on a case to case basis, TEC may carry out on site verification to ascertain any aspect of the vendor’s claims on indigenous design and development
So you simply can't refurbish a part and claim it as indigenous. Even if the patent got expired, in that case for your refurbished item, you have to resubmit the patent which itself is not an easy job.

As for Kalyani Mbombe, get you facts correct.

The company has received the order from the Indian Army for protected vehicles under emergency procurement, Bharat Forge said in a regulatory filing.
https://www.deccanherald.com/busine...try-to-supply-kalyani-m4-vehicles-954355.html

So please provide any supporting document depicting Mbombe to be procured under IDDM category or categorized under it.