DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

Anupu

Nah some peope geniunely think so

Mostly ill informed people that lap up any criticism thrown at DRDO because they are soft targets.
While DRDO, may not need "re-organization", I do believe they do need a "re-orientation". They have shown they can develop some very unique weapons like SMART if they focus on the future rather than focusing on the past i.e replicating technologies that already exist elsewhere. They also need to move away from designing production-ready products to focusing on the experimental system and improving technological readiness levels for future products. Also, focus on sponsoring relevant academic research as DARPA does.

skunk works

While DRDO, may not need "re-organization", I do believe they do need a "re-orientation". They have shown they can develop some very unique weapons like SMART if they focus on the future rather than focusing on the past i.e replicating technologies that already exist elsewhere. They also need to move away from designing production-ready products to focusing on the experimental system and improving technological readiness levels for future products. Also, focus on sponsoring relevant academic research as DARPA does.
Also another thing darpa does well is recruitment like a private company. People come and go from defense contractors and private labs all the time.
DRDO's sarkaari exam based recruitment is stupid and archaic.

Anupu

Also another thing darpa does well is recruitment like a private company. People come and go from defense contractors and private labs all the time.
Not that big deal trust me, all you need to do is sweeten the deal. A good idea could be that DRDO scientists and engineers could be sent on deputation to work for the private sector, where they get paid big bucks and help set up private R&D centers which can focus more on building production-ready stuff. These private R&D centers can in turn collaborate with DRDO when it comes to experimental stuff, and can also collaborate with foreign advisors and consultants. Win-win for everyone. Private work culture will rub off on DRDO and the best talent in the country would actually like to work for DRDO as this will become a lucrative profession.

johnj

The way DRDO functions is more like DARPA rather than like a LM, Boeing or Tata. Private entities will burn their hands only when a RoI - Financial returns is possible. Even the behemoth MICs like LM, Boeing with deep pockets do the job once the funds are released from DoD.
In the current Indian financial and market cap context for a MIC, it is not possible to run a 'private DRDO'. At best a highly motivated Bharat Forge/ Tata is possible. And we have companies like VEM, Astra MW, Walchandnagar, LandT also working in the limited space. That too they prefer the production like works. The majority of R&D, which is less glamorous and more money burning - comes from DRDO, ADA etc.. The R&D effort and money required for some of niche areas like Missiles, Propulsion, Aerosstructures and Materials, Electronics will simply break the back of small-medium players. The giant ones like Tata/L&T will not commit to risky-ventures unless backed by DRDO(R&D) and MoD(money). Like the Arihant SSBN project and Tejas ecosystem
The Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA) is a research and development agency of the United States Department of Defense responsible for the development of emerging technologies for use by the military.
Originally known as the Advanced Research Projects Agency (ARPA), the agency was created on February 7, 1958, by President Dwight D. Eisenhower in response to the Soviet launching of Sputnik 1 in 1957.

In simple, DARPA [US] - to develop alien warfare tech, [Rest]- try to understand their capability & improve it to develop some thing.
DRDO - works after the need arise and deliver late product, and decade away from becoming DARPA excluding WMD. DRDO = DARPA in WMD tech, rest of the time busy with reinventing the wheel and its successfulness depends on manufacturing sector, ie DPSU, OFB etc. Some times, i thing, HAL is doing better R&D compared to DRDO. Except WMD, DRDO + DPSU/OFB = LM. & HAL = LM.

Delta Squad

There is a change happening though slowly. Currently I am seeing people being recruited more as JRF and SRF which are contract based for a fixed number of years than permanent positions. Seats in sarkari permanent posting seats is being reduced and given to people who have a solid portfolio and experience to back then up.

johnj

Not that big deal trust me, all you need to do is sweeten the deal. A good idea could be that DRDO scientists and engineers could be sent on deputation to work for the private sector, where they get paid big bucks and help set up private R&D centers which can focus more on building production-ready stuff. These private R&D centers can in turn collaborate with DRDO when it comes to experimental stuff, and can also collaborate with foreign advisors and consultants. Win-win for everyone. Private work culture will rub off on DRDO and the best talent in the country would actually like to work for DRDO as this will become a lucrative profession.
There is no need for DARPA today, and DRDO doing their best with the resources given to them.
DARPA need a high tech industry & lots of innovations, technological leadership in a country to exists, powerful STEM institutions etc something we are lacking, and DRDO main job is to help to build these things first, and our DPSU[most of] & OFB failed to absorb the tech and develop further, HAL is doing a fine job with lca & MDL also following a good path.
What DRDO need is more money and more freedom to choose human resources and pay according to their work and most importantly - increasing the speed of funds & unwanted halt of projects and to choose partners outside gov,public sector.

radion

privatizing drdo would work only if we get sanctioned by most countries; they wont be able to look outside for foreign stuff to rebrand lol
reorganizing drdo with the help of israelies is good as well; does reorganizing mean sending them our technology documents and expertise 💀

drdo fanboys need to self reflect and tell me nothing is wrong here after looking at what the koreans and turks are doing. We can have as much foreign assistance as them can we not?Money shouldnt be much problem either considering the absolutes alongside with % of gdp.Because we are satisfied with passing the test,we are never aiming for scoring the top marks. For the next retest, lets aim for ADA and ADE alongside their budget belonging to HAL.

I wonder where the rot starts and where it ends and how many times will we have this same conversation.

Lonewarrior

any video of this new grenade being tested on range ? like how come there already are thousands of this in service but not much media on its performance etc
I've a bad news and a good news for you.

Bad news; found not much info, let alone video of it. Good news; found something interesting.

As of now the whole USP of Shivalik has been two things. First, being a multi-mode grenade where you can add a sleeve to get fragmentation. And second, it uses an advanced electromechanical fuze generally not used in legacy grenades.

But there is another grenade that does something very similar; a grenade called ALHAMBRA, manufactured by Spanish firm Instalaza (yup, the one we get our C90s from). It also has a similar screw on fragmentation sleeve. But most interestingly they claim that it's the only grenade to use an electromechanical fuzing system.

It weighs 400g, measures 100x65mm, has a lethal radius of 10m and delivers 3.5k pre-formed fragments.

And in case of Shivalik; weighs 490g, measures 139x63mm, has a lethal radius of 8m and delivers 3.8k pre-formed fragments.

Hope you can dig bit more about this.

Aditya Ballal

Bad news; found not much info, let alone video of it. Good news; found something interesting.

As of now the whole USP of Shivalik has been two things. First, being a multi-mode grenade where you can add a sleeve to get fragmentation. And second, it uses an advanced electromechanical fuze generally not used in legacy grenades.

But there is another grenade that does something very similar; a grenade called ALHAMBRA, manufactured by Spanish firm Instalaza (yup, the one we get our C90s from). It also has a similar screw on fragmentation sleeve. But most interestingly they claim that it's the only grenade to use an electromechanical fuzing system.

It weighs 400g, measures 100x65mm, has a lethal radius of 10m and delivers 3.5k pre-formed fragments.

And in case of Shivalik; weighs 490g, measures 139x63mm, has a lethal radius of 8m and delivers 3.8k pre-formed fragments.

Partial clip of it being thrown is here. But the explosion is not of it as pointed out by @Love Charger on the Small Arms Thread.

thanks for info, already found vdo of it but very tiktok-ish and with no visual over its explositon 😒 😒 😒 😒 at some other thread at here
as for alhambra grenade from instalaza, there seems to be this pic by their advert
1679942060381.png

from 2005 era
and this is their official website describing it in detail
1679942332713.png

1679942346883.png

doesn't look much like Shivalik but yeah who knows with all things here it is possbile that it was *ahem* inspired from this one

Lonewarrior

as for alhambra grenade from instalaza, there seems to be this pic by their advert
View attachment 198157
from 2005 era
and this is their official website describing it in detail
View attachment 198158
View attachment 198159
doesn't look much like Shivalik but yeah who knows with all things here it is possbile that it was *ahem* inspired from this one
Because in ALHAMBRA the fuze is nested inside the explosive body whereas in Shivalik it's mounted above it. That's why you get an additional height of 39mm.
5523329_untitled_jpegf00b416e41190686e1165a3b44a1bf51.jpeg

All mission objectives were achieved too hopefully we will see them soon in army can they be used in ficv program too?
Yaar by all logical means, this should be part of an RWS station on all APCs, IFVs and light armoured vehicles years ago.
But IA hai.

Meanwhile IN took a look at the BEL RWS for .50 cal M2s and now have made it THE anti drone system for small multicopter drones on ALL surface ships.

Difference dekh rahe ho?

NoobWannaLearn

Yaar by all logical means, this should be part of an RWS station on all APCs, IFVs and light armoured vehicles years ago.
But IA hai.

Meanwhile IN took a look at the BEL RWS for .50 cal M2s and now have made it THE anti drone system for small multicopter drones on ALL surface ships.

Difference dekh rahe ho?
Ji dekh rahe he and are just sad meanwhile I read a article last month that Javelin was getting considered for ficv and all upcoming armoured viechles I hope it was just a bunch of bullshit