DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

GoI for u
Its rather Twitter based Rudali for you.

India is set to clear a mega indigenous project to build three nuclear-powered attack submarines, which will be followed by approval for another three at a later stage, as part of the long-term plan to counter China’s expanding naval footprint in the Indian Ocean Region (IOR) and beyond.
But only three will be approved by the CCS in the first go, with the first indigenous SSN slated to roll out by around 2032 or so.

Lonewarrior

Tomahawk my friends
US and Tomahawks for you
IMG_20230316_191208.jpg
Rudram possibly ?
If it's 1 then shouldn't it be just Anti-Radiation Missile. And if 2/3 then when did we test it?
Storm Shadow, popeye, NASM-ER, Brahmos all are Long Range Stand-off Weapon.
BrahMos already mentioned
With 75km range how can NASM-ER be stand-off when we have 100kk range Spice
Don't think MBDA is going to let us integrated Storm Shadow on Sukhois
Popeye seems one probable option

johnj

BrahMos already mentioned
With 75km range how can NASM-ER be stand-off when we have 100kk range Spice
Don't think MBDA is going to let us integrated Storm Shadow on Sukhois
Popeye seems one probable option
There is no NASM ER, just a opinion, considering drdo may offer nasm sr improved long range multi mission missile version.
For Sukhois- both Popeye & Russian options are available.
I don't think IAF ordered any 100kk range Spice.
Drdo developed two standoff weapons. saaw & Glide Bomb with 100km range.

Chinese artillery sucks. Period
Most of their artillery is based on old Soviet D-30s so that's not some high bar to cross.

But still you would find they have more of mobile artillery than towed artillery. And also among those mobile artillery you would find a good number of them to be armoured/auto-loaded.

If you really want to see the trend then look at the example of Archer or RCH155
what happens if Archer loader mechanism kaputs in between. There is a reason why closed system Archer/RCH155 has not been export success. You can always go for Truck Mounted Artillery / SPH. Moreover in future you shall see drones with armored piercing ammo. So unless you have Autonomous SPH realized, there shall be risk with every platform. Also world over after ukraine war - you shall see army doctrines revised, counter drone doctrines being evolved along with tools.

Eagle Eye

Here's my wild card :

Lot of deals going for HAL : ALH, ALH-Marine, LSP- LCH, Dronier, HTT-40...

"Possible" import of 2 sq of rafale from france!

jai jaganath

Here's my wild card :

Lot of deals going for HAL : ALH, ALH-Marine, LSP- LCH, Dronier, HTT-40...

"Possible" import of 2 sq of rafale from france!
Ccs nahi hua hai
Hume apne icha ko laga dena higa
Warna atleast mujhe copium overdose hojayega

Master Chief

It's me, I'm the person who doesn't want ATAGS to get ordered...and before you brand me Western Bootlicker...I also don't want ATHOS to be ordered.

It feels so bad to induct these towed gun only to get bonked by some Chinese loitering munitions with random funny names like Sky Dragon 3 or Wind Fire 6.

In Ukraine M777s have an attrition rate of more than 20%.
There are places where MGS won't go.. So, we need the Guns.. and Caesar MGS is being hit by Kamikaze drones as well.. although MGS is more survivable.

We will have good EW .. don't worry so much about Dragon Farts 😉

Master Chief

China has a lot of truck mounted howitzers and by the looks of it we are also going in that direction.but loitering munitions has taken out a lot of SPG as well
Need better Anti Drone systems.. Anyway, in future wars Armies will be more prepares to tackle the drone menace, by observing the Ukraine war

@Chinmoy Can you explain the complete cycle of procurement in govt context - so that the confusion that pops up repeatedly on defence threads can be culled? I would then request @mods to make that post sticky in this sub forum - so that it can be referred - for any future confusion.

Lonewarrior

AON is like emergency purchase? Kind of guaranteed that it will pass CCS ?
@Chinmoy Can you explain the complete cycle of procurement in govt context - so that the confusion that pops up repeatedly on defence threads can be culled? I would then request @mods to make that post sticky in this sub forum - so that it can be referred - for any future confusion.
If I'm not wrong, which I think I'm absolutely given how complicated it is

1. AoN; whether the need is justified or not?
2. RFI; what you all have to offer?
3. RFP; we want these exact features
4. Trials; eliminating until 2-3 remains
5. L1 bidding; lowest price among those 2-3
6. CCS; are you ok with this specific deal?

In case where PSU delivers something according to the asked specs, instead of private firms; then 2, 3 and 5 are skipped.

Fatalis

If I'm not wrong, which I think I'm absolutely given how complicated it is

1. AoN; whether the need is justified or not?
2. RFI; what you all have to offer?
3. RFP; we want these exact features
4. Trials; eliminating until 2-3 remains
5. L1 bidding; lowest price among those 2-3
6. CCS; are you ok with this specific deal?

In case where PSU delivers something according to the asked specs, instead of private firms; then 2, 3 and 5 are skipped.
I feel AoN comes after RFI.