DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

Lonewarrior

So it can also launch from Brahmose VLS??
Nyet Comrade...modularity is for Capitalist pigs.

BrahMos VLS uses cold launch method and Barak 8s are launched using hot launch method so sadly we can't use them. Moreover the article mentions BrahMos "composition" so most probably it has the same chemical formula as BrahMos boosters, nothing more than that.

Anandhu Krishna

Our procurement system is so deeply effed that one cannot even begin to fathom how we are able to make any acquisitions at all !
Just look at all the stupid steps -
Expression of interest (EOI)
RFP
AON
CDR
PDR
CCS
Contract signing
IOC
FOC

And to add to the above, endless trials in desert, mountains, jupiter, moon etc...etc...

Goddamn ! No wonder chinka is arming itself literally overnight compared to our snail's pace.
Its a matter of extreme shame that neither GoI, nor MoD babus nor gernails are interested in overhauling
this archaic and literally anti national system, which hobbles and straitjackets our armed forces, reducing us to begging for 10 here 25 there under emergency import category !
This clusterfu*k helps everybody in hinding corruption.

sameer3694

Anyone knows if this is true? This guy says two private sector MSME's- Lekha and Signaltron are being unfavorably sidelined by babus in the Tactical communications project. Any news in the mainstream media on this project?

samsaptaka

तस्मात् उत्तिष्ठ कौन्तेय युद्धाय कृतनिष्चय

Anyone knows if this is true? This guy says two private sector MSME's- Lekha and Signaltron are being unfavorably sidelined by babus in the Tactical communications project. Any news in the mainstream media on this project?
Could be true, but you can bet that it will never make it to MSM for sure. MSM is OWNED by dalals and chandigarh lobby

Poland increased defense spending to 5% of GDP, from 2.5% of GDP. That is increase of around 19 billion dollars a year, most of which will go to additional equipment purchase.
That's not sustainable. They can only do it for a couple years and that's it. Sooner or latter some people would be calling in their chips and the Polish government would be staring down the length of the barrel of a gun.

Fatalis

ERADS
1. ERSAM range 150+ km
2. XRSAM range 300+ km
Yes sir ji I had followed your posts regarding these two missiles but now it seems either they have changed the program name to PROGRAME LRSAM from XRSAM or this is something new and not related. Because both the programs are being called as Kusha.

ysonic

Yeah, co-axially. Put the slip ring around the hydraulic swivel. Canfield joints can also ensure tangle-free cables, multiple of them. Yes its a gimbal joint, but doesn't mean it can't be used for rotations as well.
Of course, A rotary joint is a mechanical device that allows the transfer of fluid, signal or gas between two or more rotating parts. It is commonly used in machinery that requires continuous rotation, such as turbines, printing presses, and machine tools. The principle behind the operation of a rotary joint is simple: it is designed to allow fluid, signal or gas to flow through a stationary part to a rotating part, without leaking or interrupting the flow.

Photon

Nyet Comrade...modularity is for Capitalist pigs.

BrahMos VLS uses cold launch method and Barak 8s are launched using hot launch method so sadly we can't use them. Moreover the article mentions BrahMos "composition" so most probably it has the same chemical formula as BrahMos boosters, nothing more than that.
Brahmose cold launch??

Fatalis

If I'm not wrong then there's no 100km ranged missile; only 35km, 70km and 150km ones.
It's going to bit confusing...

1. Barak 8, Barak MRAD and MRSAM are the same missile; 35km range.

2. Barak 8ER, Barak LRAD and LRSAM are the same missile with a range of 70km. Also a fun fact; it's almost impossible to visually distinguish from these and the previous ones as the change is in rocket motor.

3. Barak ER and ERSAM are the same missile; 150km ranged. Very easy to differentiate from other two because of the presence of a large booster motor.

Now to answer your question, Naval VLS can only accomodate 1 and 2 because 3 has a larger diameter than existing tubes. So without any big modification the maximum Navy can reach with Baraks is 70km.
1. Barak-MX which has Barak MRAD, LRAD and Barak-ER are all Israeli systems which they developed on their own and they hold the complete IP for that. Here, Barak-MRAD has 35km range, Barak-LRAD has 70km range and the Barak-ER has 150km range.

2. IA and IAF used to refer the 70km range SAM as the MRSAM where as IN used to call it as LRSAM. But now, it seems the tri-service has started calling the missile only as MRSAM. As of now, there is no confirmation that any of our armed forces operate Barak-8ER missile. So, we can say we do not have any 150km SAM. We only operate 70km range SAM.

3. I am not sure which ERSAM you are talking about? There was suppose to be a missile named ERSAM with a range of 150km which will become a part of ERADS. We can't say if it is related to Barak-ER or not.

Lonewarrior

2. IA and IAF used to refer the 70km range SAM as the MRSAM where as IN used to call it as LRSAM. But now, it seems the tri-service has started calling the missile only as MRSAM. As of now, there is no confirmation that any of our armed forces operate Barak-8ER missile. So, we can say we do not have any 150km SAM. We only operate 70km range SAM.

3. I am not sure which ERSAM you are talking about? There was suppose to be a missile named ERSAM with a range of 150km which will become a part of ERADS. We can't say if it is related to Barak-ER or not.
We are now undertaking development of our own 150km Barak-ER in the same way Israeli did.

Both this tender (whatever ER or XRSAM it is) and Barak ER uses almost identical booster

Lonewarrior

But Brahmose is launched with the ignition of solid booster from the canister then how?View attachment 196730
Ummmnn...actually the sequence are so fast it seems like it's hot launched.

Cold Gas Generator is fired, the missile is ejected upwards, as soon as it clears the VLS the solid rocket booster is fired (that's why it feels like hot launch), missile gains altitude and TVC in booster pitch downs the missile by 90°, inlet cover is seperated and missile gets boosted toward target.

Moreover you can see the gas genarator here
IMG_20230315_125222.jpg