DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

How does Spike ER achieves long range as no kind of external cooleing, and if it is cooled internally by Stirling engine or thermocouple then why use BCUs for MANPADS, as claimed spike er range suggests it's sensitive enough for acquiring target without use of any BCU. Also doesn't ground targets require more contrast than aircrafts for target acquisition.
Answer is Microbolometer.

But even in that case, spike failed in our summer trials.

skunk works

I can understand his pain, I can feel it through his words.🥺
You have to buy their products if you want them to setup in India.
Otherwise continue with samosa PSUs who claim to build everything from nail clippers to warp drive engines yet can't deliver shit on time.
Jobs too- its either private sector, or be ready for endless samosa PSU entrance exams with 10 gorillion candidates vying for 3 seats with 55% reservation included.

Gyyan

SPICE 250
Length of 1.8 m, Diameter 190mm, Total Weight of 130kg, out of which 75kg is a multipurpose warhead.
Uses GPS+INS for guidance and EO for engagement up to 100km.

SAAW
Length of 1.85 m, Diameter XXXmm, Total Weight of 125kg, out of which 72.5kg is a [🍆💦💥] warhead.
Uses GPS+INS+GAGAN for guidance and EO for engagement up to 100km.

And these are just specs, if I show you side by side pictures of them, you won't be able to tell the difference.

Now you tell me, how clean the slate was while designing this!?
Nice way to say PCMB 😂😂😂

SUPERPOWER

SPICE 250
Length of 1.8 m, Diameter 190mm, Total Weight of 130kg, out of which 75kg is a multipurpose warhead.
Uses GPS+INS for guidance and EO for engagement up to 100km.

SAAW
Length of 1.85 m, Diameter XXXmm, Total Weight of 125kg, out of which 72.5kg is a [🍆💦💥] warhead.
Uses GPS+INS+GAGAN for guidance and EO for engagement up to 100km.

And these are just specs, if I show you side by side pictures of them, you won't be able to tell the difference.

Now you tell me, how clean the slate was while designing this!?
If SAAW is somewhat extended version of SPICE 250 than what did our DRDO Saars invent !!!!.I saw one video where a DRDO magicians where doing a chest thumping on invention of SAAW...

Lonewarrior

If SAAW is somewhat extended version of SPICE 250 than what did our DRDO Saars invent !!!!.I saw one video where a DRDO magicians where doing a chest thumping on invention of SAAW...
Somewhat extended?
That 50mm increase in length compared to SPICE 250 would also be either because of addition of GAGAN or may be even more lame reasons like our EO or actuators may be not that efficient.

Anyways, on a serious note.

If in DRDO's vocabulary a SAP-HE warhead is called a Penetration Cum Blast warhead then would a Napalm bomb be termed a Creampie warhead?
Experts?
English 'cum', not Murican.

Lonewarrior

thebakofbakchod

Kuldeepm952

Previous governments were very socialists and one thing about socialism is that it is grossly inefficient and authoritarian.

PSU people work like civil servants (ie equivalent to bloody snails) and act arrogant entitled. There are 1825 PSU quarter of them nonfunctional. A fifth of our annual budgetary allocation (27 lac crore) goes in propping up PSUs. States have ratcheted up a liability of 50 lac crore in the last decade. PSU banks have NPAs totalling 9 lac crore. How revolting is that !

Here is a article by Dr. Anand Rangnathan for further reading : https://swarajyamag.com/ideas/public-sector-undertakings-a-tragedy-of-errors
While Norinco and rosboronexport and other companies laughing on you. Tell that to all the chinese and russian state corps that socialism is grossly inefficient. It's all about how things are handled.

Indian Private cos are not upto the tasks for many of the fields, only a few more invest, others are just screwdrivergiri, they can only be an addition while a balance has to been made to allow for economies of scale or otherwise just be happy with few overpriced gadgets.

Prashant12

Indian Army to buy 307 ATAGS howitzers for deployment along China, Pak border
Read more At:

jai jaganath

SilentlAssassin265

Indian Army to buy 307 ATAGS howitzers for deployment along China, Pak border
Read more At:
'To buy' , 'is set to buy', 'will be buying'
All this headlines means nobody knows if it ever will be bought

Prashant12

'To buy' , 'is set to buy', 'will be buying'
All this headlines means nobody knows if it ever will be bought
Ministry of Defence has received a proposal from Indian Army to buy 307 Advanced Towed Artillery Gun Systems (ATAGS) for deployment along the borders with China and Pakistan.
The proposal worth over USD 1 billion has been received from the Indian Army and is under discussion. It is expected to be cleared soon and sent for clearance by the Cabinet Committee on Security, defence officials told ANI.

Arjun Mk1A

View attachment 195249
Similar positioning of SAR panels. Similar positioning of SATCOM antenna. Similar distribution of antenna over the boom

If copying was what they're trying to do, then why don't try Eitan!

Utilizing the same TAPAS drone will not be feasible, I guess. Since IA and IAF have gained good understanding of capabilities of Heron drones and its potential. DRDO simply going to do a similar style UAV, with components developed from TAPAS.

Since DRDO is questioned for building things which is not required, this time they simply took a proven platform and building them. Now the question arises why re inventing the wheel but across Indian Defence Industry history we are notorious for reinventing the wheel for lot of program.