DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

jik60

India haven't taken any side. We are neutral.

No, it's business. Air India is private airline. They are increasing their operations so they need jets. It's that simple.

Usually all airlines give 50:50 orders to both manufacturers because suppose if Airbus jet grounded due to engine issue than whole airline will bankrupt.

You will never sell chicken who give eggs of gold. Or better say you will never sell your crown jewel.
Otherwise Europe will go bankrupt.
The white masters are just milking Modiji of fortune. Without any provision of local assembly or offset sourcing its just big 👎for India atleast not a win-win one

Daksh7390

Civil aviation industry do not work like military, here profit is only concern and top on that there is only two companies which manufacturers big and efficient aircrafts.

If they don't want to give then they will not give and what else options do TATA have?

The reason we will never get high end technologies from the west is that West has shifted their industry for high end products only. It is a closely guarded technologies which they will not give to anyone. They do not manufactures cheap products.

We will never get an aero engine from outside. Period
You know why ?

GoI has sent 3000 cr on Aero engine development till date, but wastes 2.4 lakh cr every year on msp. Then they complain about delayed development.

Atleast provide the funding for the test facility to make a 110kN engine. The available test facilities are not at all sufficient.

Last year in GTRE webinar a retired Defence secretary had hounded the GoI for their absolute incompetence in the presence of DRDO chief. Yiet no concrete actions taken till now.

India is a poor country compared to America & France. We need jobs & investment. At this point if an Indian Private company has to spend 100 billion $ to buy Planes from a foreign company because of the incapacity of our domestic aerospace industry.

Should we celebrate that ?

Government has allotted 100 cr peanuts for our Aeroplane industry in PLI, that also only for drones.

It's Ok to not have the capacity. But we should have aleast started the process of funding a Commercial Aeroplane project like RTA. A decade has past since we have been waiting for such an effort.

flanker99

India haven't taken any side. We are neutral.

No, it's business. Air India is private airline. They are increasing their operations so they need jets. It's that simple.

Usually all airlines give 50:50 orders to both manufacturers because suppose if Airbus jet grounded due to engine issue than whole airline will bankrupt.

You will never sell chicken who give eggs of gold. Or better say you will never sell your crown jewel.
Otherwise Europe will go bankrupt.
With such a huge order and even more orders on anvil from multiple airlines govt needs to make sure there's an assembly line in the country so atleast part of the money stays here.
Btw west clearly doesn't think we are neutral no matter what there govts publicly say...if u look at theirs media reporting they are clearly making an enemy out of india where as we are just trying to keep out of the mess

vishnugupt

The white masters are just milking Modiji of fortune. Without any provision of local assembly or offset sourcing its just big 👎for India atleast not a win-win one
With such a huge order and even more orders on anvil from multiple airlines govt needs to make sure there's an assembly line in the country so atleast part of the money stays here.
Btw west clearly doesn't think we are neutral no matter what there govts publicly say...if u look at theirs media reporting they are clearly making an enemy out of india where as we are just trying to keep out of the mess
Don’t behave like Pakistani. World do not revolve around us. We can not bend everyone for everything.

Tell me what options do you have if you don’t want do deal in present form??
If you don’t buy then our aviation industry will suffer. TATA will left behind.

Nobody is milking us. This is simple business. TATA investing money to earn more money in future.

SwordOfDarkness

and what a depressing day for Indian military aviation :facepalm:
India is pushing #MakeinAmerica and #MakeinEurope with all its efforts :frusty:

One serious question would be: Are Americans, Europeans, and the lapdogs ready to share the engine tech in return for this or is it just the protection money for the neutrality in the RUS-UKR war ???
AIr India isnt a PSU anymore lmao.

SwordOfDarkness

Issue of Indian t90 at 5:45

T90 is fine, as long as you dont use it like an idiot without having a screen of IFVs/light infantry
Kontact 5 is not as good as relikt, but is good enough for our purpose, since our opponents have shitty ammo.

Inforgraphics show isnt a good source on tank info, would recommend the Cheiftain - Ex tanker, good at explaining stuff. One inaccuracy I picked up in my cursory glance - Vid claims T90 is less capable of surviving first shot because of "poor electronics", which makes no sense.

vishnugupt

You know why ?

GoI has sent 3000 cr on Aero engine development till date, but wastes 2.4 lakh cr every year on msp. Then they complain about delayed development.

Atleast provide the funding for the test facility to make a 110kN engine. The available test facilities are not at all sufficient.

Last year in GTRE webinar a retired Defence secretary had hounded the GoI for their absolute incompetence in the presence of DRDO chief. Yiet no concrete actions taken till now.

India is a poor country compared to America & France. We need jobs & investment. At this point if an Indian Private company has to spend 100 billion $ to buy Planes from a foreign company because of the incapacity of our domestic aerospace industry.

Should we celebrate that ?

Government has allotted 100 cr peanuts for our Aeroplane industry in PLI, that also only for drones.

It's Ok to not have the capacity. But we should have aleast started the process of funding a Commercial Aeroplane project like RTA. A decade has past since we have been waiting for such an effort.
You think like, After seeing Billions of dollars money suddenly a flying engine will appear from sky and will say “Kyla Hukm hai mere Aka”

India need to develop initial knowledge first then we can go full fledged otherwise all money will be eaten up in name of development and years later you will come with frustration and cursing everyone.

China invested heavily in engine development from decades and just succeeded recently.

flanker99

Don’t behave like Pakistani. World do not revolve around us. We can not bend everyone for everything.

Tell me what options do you have if you don’t want do deal in present form??
If you don’t buy then our aviation industry will suffer. TATA will left behind.

Nobody is milking us. This is simple business. TATA investing money to earn more money in future.
What nonsense how is this behaving like a pakistani?...mind ur words before u talk...the amount of money AI will spend on the orders is enough to buy every industry in Pakistan....and boing already had plans to assemble jets here before covid struck this is simply a chance to bring that back with proper govt incentives.

Fatalis

Just my opinion:

This 470 aircraft deal is done by a private airlines i.e Air India which comes under Tata.

People are hating this by saying we should have built the aircrafts here in India but this private company can decide from where they wanna buy and build it's their call and don't forget here we are not talking about some random company but Tata which must have thought and researched every bit before doing.

If they want to buy then they will buy and if they want to build then they will build.

Daksh7390

You think like, After seeing Billions of dollars money suddenly a flying engine will appear from sky and will say “Kyla Hukm hai mere Aka”

India need to develop initial knowledge first then we can go full fledged otherwise all money will be eaten up in name of development and years later you will come with frustration and cursing everyone.

China invested heavily in engine development from decades and just succeeded recently.
What a stupid argument.

The Gas Turbine engines will appear the same way as they appeared for America, Russian, EU or China. By investing in testing infrastructure for developing such Engines.

How the hell would you develop the knowledge if you don't even have the means to test & refine you design.

GTRE director has said that we are the only country in the World to have to send our Gas Turbine engines to foreign shores for testing. Thus compromising the technical data by literally handing them over to Foreign entities.

You guys still have the stomach to defend the government, in the face of such utter incompetence.

Rassil Krishnan

What a stupid argument.

The Gas Turbine engines will appear the same way as they appeared for America, Russian, EU or China. By investing in testing infrastructure for developing such Engines.

How the hell would you develop the knowledge if you don't even have the means to test & refine you design.

GTRE director has said that we are the only country in the World to have to send our Gas Turbine engines to foreign shores for testing. Thus compromising the technical data by literally handing them over to Foreign entities.

You guys still have the stomach to defend the government, in the face of such utter incompetence.
this issue will stay for some time until we get rich, we are doing all this while still trying to develop into a middle upper class or even upper class society. don't set your hopes so high.until then this will do. the engine will get tested and we will get to use it,be happy with that. i don't know why people dream above their station here.

there are areas where india punches below our weight, and defence research and strategic systems is not one of them imho. it is actually far better than the average for a country of our economic indicators. what is needed for our weight is a stronger foreign policy outlook and maybe some cunning.

WarmongerLSK

this issue will stay for some time until we get rich, we are doing all this while still trying to develop into a middle upper class or even upper class society. don't set your hopes so high.until then this will do. the engine will get tested and we will get to use it,be happy with that. i don't know why people dream above their station here.

there are areas where india punches below our weight, and defence research and strategic systems is not one of them imho. it is actually far better than the average for a country of our economic indicators. what is needed for our weight is a stronger foreign policy outlook and maybe some cunning.
Per capita logic doesn't make sense with the size of our economy. Just look at the amount of money spent on doles. Look at the amount of money left unspent by IA and IAF. A fraction of that could be going into a couple testbeds and other infrastructure. 3000Cr was the total amount spent till now on engines, laughable. Not sure if the Research org isn't asking or the Gov't isn't sanctioning though.

Daksh7390

I believe what's lacking here is only the intent. 6000cr investment in Gas Turbine engine is very much duable for GoI.

Cost evaluation -
Fan & compressor test facility - 650-700cr
High Air mass flow facility - 2000cr
High Altitude Test facility -4000cr
Flying Testbed - no data

Aerospace industry could have massively helped in the economic growth of India. Yiet we help the rich to get richer by selling to the poor.